$247 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 25, 2015 Check-out: Jun 27, 2015

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
764 out of 764
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
therese s.
Business
N/A
Feb 18, 2015

Great long weekend get away

Loved it! Weather water people location. Food was good. Late night snack average if you like micro waves(not so good) or nachos(num)! Did not get free jewelry either no one knew what it was. Maya gray bus made use go back 4 hours before departure people confused on cancun time zone change. Staff though so kind and friendly yes I will go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John F.
Business
N/A
Feb 16, 2015

Great trip with friends

Great location, within walking distance to many different types of shopping. Very up to date after recent remodel. Food was great and there was plenty of bars to grab a drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adriann W.
Business
longview
Feb 14, 2015

Medical retreat

Rui was a nice place to stay while receiving medical treatment in Cancun. My only complaint is that all of the restaurants seem to serve the same food as the buffet just in a slightly different atmosphere. This got old very quickly seeing as we had planned to stay within the hotel for all 17nights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Italy Kate
Business
West Haven
Feb 14, 2015

Excellent!

This hotel was beautiful. Loved the staff and welcome drink. Pools were always cold but refreshing. The beach was absolutely beautiful. We never had to leave the hotel but it was nice that there was a mall right across the street. Would love to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kari B.
Business
N/A
Jan 25, 2015

Riu Cancun

The staff at this hotel were all very nice and the cleanliness of the hotel was exceptional. A few things that we didn't like: 1. We had to walk outside and through the pool area to get to our room, 2. The bed was considered a king, however, it was actually two double beds pushed together which wasn't very romantic for honeymooners, 3. We could not adjust the temperature of the room, 4. We could not see over our balcony because we were on the 2nd floor, 5. We were over the theater and it was extremely loud at night, 6. The food was terrible and my husband got food poisoning. The location was convenient with shopping and a grocery store across the street and the ferry dock was within walking distance. The hotel was extremely busy and it was difficult to find a lawn chair if you got up and around after 8 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bobby M.
Business
N/A
Jan 24, 2015

awsome family trip

ITs the only hotel I will stay at because of the great staff and the food in the hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bre.
Business
Lansing
Jan 21, 2015

spring break

Riu Cancun was a great hotel! The staff was very friendly and the location was perfect and the food was decent for being an all-inclusive resort! I will definitely be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Howard W.
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Nice place

Hotel was redone. Lobby was beautiful. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food was average , at best. The desserts especially tasted like freezer burn. The buffet was otherwise good, with plenty of choices and yes, made fresh. Italian restaurant was however disappointing, as was the steakhouse. The Japanese was the best. Service was excellent in all 3 places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johno142002
Business
Maplewood
Jan 6, 2015

riu

We had a great time,cant wait to go back.got treated like king and queen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate G.
Business
Andover
Jan 5, 2015

Great couples trip!

We stayed at the Riu Cancun from Aug 26th 2014 - Sep 5th 2014. They had just finished remodeling a few weeks before and my husband had been there a few years back. Wow, what a difference! When we originally booked our room, we were not able to choose bed preference so when we checked in we asked the people at the desk what they could do for us. After a couple of minutes, he came back and said they were upgrading us to a deluxe junior corner suite at no extra charge for our 10 day stay! What a nice surprise. The room was very spacious, very clean. The mini fridge was restocked about every other day and had a liquor dispenser above the mini fridge. The shower was huge and awesome! Dual sinks and a jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room. We did have some issues with our A/C that they finally figured out had to do with the sensor attached to our balcony door. They had to fix it a couple times. Although the room temperature was fairly comfortable throughout we couldn't get it much cooler than 21-22 degrees celsius. We absolutely LOVED the food. The buffet was amazing and massive. Always something super yummy!!! Their specialty restaurants were great as well. Sushi awesome. Steakhouse good. Italian amazing. We've been to all of the Riu's in Cancun. This particular hotel did not have the best bar service. We noticed that the outspoken, loud patrons got served before the quiet, patient guests. We did tip pretty much every time, but that didn't seem to matter. However, it did not ruin our trip. The pools were always a nice temperature, not too warm, not too cool. What is nice about the multiple pools is one has a bar to sit, chat and relax (and drink!) one has most of the activities (pool staff is super fun) and others are fairly quiet. There was nightly entertainment which was always fun - I can't say enough about the entertainment staff! Make sure if you are there during the Michael Jackson show you SEE IT! The beaches at all of the Riu's have always been very well maintained and as much of the seaweed/debris picked up as possible. Every where you look in the lobby and restaurants there are always people cleaning and working hard. They are so nice. OH - lastly - they have super amazing views from the hotel rooms however if you are put in a room on the 13th floor you pretty much just have a sky view due to a massive ledge! Other minor cons: Elevators were always busy with some wait times, floors in hotel room were often slightly damp/slippery which I've heard is not surprising in Cancun. Overall we would DEFINITELY recommend this resort to ANYONE. Fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The specialty restaurants require shoes (no sandals) and reservations, they have told us long pants as well and no tank tops for men (women get away with a lot more, but no swimsuits, etc for them) but my husband got away in khaki shorts once - but don't chance it just bring pants! They will only allow you to make reservations 2 days ahead of time and we got down there right when they opened and never had many more times to choose from then 6:30pm or 8:30pm so be prepared!

Back to menu Return to top