$352 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
687 reviews
awsome family trip

ITs the only hotel I will stay at because of the great staff and the food in the hotel was great. See full review

  • Bobby M.
  • Jan 24, 2015
Great couples trip!

We stayed at the Riu Cancun from Aug 26th 2014 - Sep 5th 2014. They had just finished remodeling a... See full review

  • Kate G.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Cancun All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with shower, double-sink, separate hydro-massage bathtube, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week. Reservation is required
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks. Reservation is required
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (687)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
687 out of 687
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
klshadow
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Apr 6, 2012

Great Place to stay.

We had a wonderful time at the RIU Cancun. VERY clean and I was very impressed on how friendly and helpful the staff were. The location of the hotel was perfect. Short walking distance to the market, Hard Rock cafe, Chili's and some clubs. We are planning to stay at the RIU on our next visit. I would highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen T
Business
New York
Apr 6, 2012

Great family trip!

The Riu Cancun was located in a nice safe area and unlike some other islands, we did not have to pass through poverty stricken areas to get to our hotel. Resorts were very close together but once inside it didn't matter. The pools were great and the sports and activities team was so fantastic that we felt like the whole place was just for us. There was a wide variety of fun activities for the whole family and lots of fun just to watch if you didn't feel like joining in. The rooms were just ordinary but clean. Beds were hard like others said, but fine. The two double beds were connected, which was a bit surprising to us. Had to jiggle our toilet handle after each flush so it would stop running. There were a ton of food choices, but pretty similar each day and the guacamole & chips were fantastic. Overall, the staff was very friendly and welcoming. The front desk staff wasn't overly friendly but everyone else was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring plenty of sunscreen and shaving cream...very expensive in the hotel gift shop. Check out Market 28 in downtown Cancun for some deals on silver and other Mexican items. Take bus R-2 from outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GabyL
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Hotel is just OK, but not for small kids. Night shows are nice.

** Check in: The hotel reception is a bit gloomy, feels old. They offer you fresh drinks when you get there. Nice touch. They give you a key for each towel which you have to guard with your life because you only get one and needs to be returned at the end of your stay. So be prepared to keep an eye on them. They close the towel hut at 6 so you are stuck "guarding" your wet towel until the next day if you didn't return it on time. ** Food: There is one buffet restaurant which we used for everything because the other one by the pool had greasy, dry food. The buffet had a huge selection and the food was acceptable for a buffet. We couldn't use 3 of the restaurant because you needed reservations 2 DAYS in advance! We were there for 3 so it was impossible. ** Rooms: They feel old, and outdated but clean and with a nice balcony. Beds are very small and they put the 2 beds together as one for us, a family of four. We had to order an extra small bed for our 6 yr old in order to be more comfortable. We paid extra for that bed. ** Pools: BEWARE if you have small kids. The only pool where they were safe was the size of a jacuzzi. There was one with a decent depth but the bar was there so too many drunk people to be around kids. The other pools are VERY deep. Not kid friendly at all. Women sunbathe topless with no restrictions. My husband ask someone from the staff if they could say something and he asked "what, you don't like it?" ** Shows: They have pretty decent shows at night. The girls enjoyed all 3 of them. The MC has a tendency to tell people that they work 12 hours a day (pity) and the "deserve" more respect and more applause. At their age, hanging out at the pool all day having fun doesn't seem very sacrificing. Nevertheless, they are very talented and most of them are nice. We had a good experience because we take things as they come and make the best of it. We woulnd't go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Perico's Restaurant. Even if you are staying at an all inclusive please go there. The waiters are amazing and they are super entertaining. It is really one of a kind. Lots happening everywhere. Fun for the whole family. Also, the crew of Samba 2 that leave from Playa Tortugas port are very nice if you want to go snorkeling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Becks1031
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Best Trip EVER!

According to my 13 and 15 yeard olds this was our best family vacation EVER! Everything at the Riu was wonderful...from the check-in to the amazing service from this site's rep David Castillo at the airport for our trip back home. Our on premise travel rep, also a David, went above and beyond to make our stay more fun. He took care of everything from transportation, selection of excursions (highly recommend Xel-Ha and a catamaran sailing trip to Isla de Mujeres) and general knowledge of the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the premises were spotless. Our favorite restaurant was the Brazilian Roditzio, just fabulous! The reviews about a small beach are nonsense! There is plenty of beach and as for the early shade at the pool, it only affects the line of chairs closest to the building...there are hundreds of others. As for getting a chair saved by 7:00 am, every day we were there were empty chairs even at noon! There are 4 pools and the beach so there were plenty to go around. I did wait in line for restaurant reservations in the morning but not once was there more than 6 people waiting and we always got the reservation we wanted. The Japanese place was excellent also. Another great thing about this property is there are not timeshare sales people anywhere! A huge plus not to be bothered while relaxing. Also, no vendors allowed by the pool...beach is a different story, but they were not pushy. All in all...we will definitely be back and are recommending this place to everyone as well as this site's travel services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything you forgot at home can be gotten at the drugstore across the street or the mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dlt218
Business
NYC
Apr 3, 2012

Mid price excellence

For a mid price property, this is very good. The property isn't too big and non personal, it is the opposite. The staff is excellent, they accept tips but don't expect them. The location is ideal, away from the noise and craziness but only by 7 minutes. Wish they had activities for teens at night - decreases temptations of the clubs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spooze
Business
Indianapolis
Apr 3, 2012

Perfect vacation

This was my first time in Cancun. And I was a little worried because of other reviews. The Hotel was very clean. Our Junior suite was large. We traveled with 2 14 year olds and the room design wa perfect. We could have added another child or two. The staff was attentive and brought up extra sheets quickly when asked. I never saw ants or bugs in my room. The mattress was firm but not uncomfortable. I have fibromyalgea and was worried about the reviews that talked about hard beds. I slept like a baby. The pool scuba instructor James was great. He taught the Kids carefully and we drilled emergencies underwater. I was so prepared when I did go scuba.The buffetts were huge! Lots of variety. You could custom your drinks as light or heavy as you would like. Your room was stocked with hard liquor and soft drinks or beer. The lobby of the hotels is beautiful. I always felt safe. The shops right accross the street had good prices without the haggeling of the market. I was never harrased by time share people. I snorkeled outside the hotel and did see a variety of fish but little coral. The kids took bread out and they swam around our feet. The location was excellant and with in a few blocks of some clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Sign up for the Japanese restraunt early in the morning. They take registartion for a few days out. It was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TracyandJason
Business
Hayden, AL 35079, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Fantastic Spring Break

My husband, myself, and our 2 boys (16 & 12) stayed at the Riu Cancun. It was fantastic. You couldn't ask for a better location. The staff were all friendly. The only complaint that I have is the beds are hard. Overall, this was a perfect vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The atv jungle tour and swimming in the cenote was a wonderful excursion. See Dave in the lobby. He was very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bmca
Business
Bloomington, IL, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Great value for the money

We loved the Riu Cancun. We went over Spring Break with two kids ages 11 and 14. They have tons of activities for all ages and great service. The location is absolutely AMAZING. If you choose to venture outside the hotel property you are walking distance to restuarants, flea markets, shopping and drug stores. The people are friendly, the drinks flow easily and the food is good considering it is all inclusive. The worst part are the rooms. The beds are hard, and the rooms are basic, but we didn't spend much time in them anyway. They are clean though with good views of the ocean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to many different restaurants and feel safe while doing it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dannyboy123
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Riu Rating

Excellent location, right near down town. Hotel was really nice, food was awesome. Overall great place to stay, only downside was the bed was not comfortable. All in all good deal especially the drinks and the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
not quite pleased
Business
Peoria, IL
Mar 27, 2012

Nice property except for rooms need updated

The hotel grounds, amenities and staff are very good. However, the rooms are in drastic need of renovation. The rooms and linens smell like mildew. I would return to this resort only after the rooms are renovated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top