Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
677 reviews
Fantastic getaway

The hotel is beautiful, it's gorgeous inside and out. Their staff is very friendly, they have an... See full review

  • Pink Lee
  • Sep 20, 2014
Birthday Trip

My overall experience was excellent. I have been going there for a few years and I was really... See full review

  • Sportsgal
  • Sep 18, 2014
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with shower, double-sink, separate hydro-massage bathtube, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Hotel Map

21.1368 -86.7484
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - 12 Miles
Area description
Right in front of Plaza Caracol Mall, one block from the Cancun Convention Center & 5 minutes walking from the discotheques zone.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week. Reservation is required
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks. Reservation is required
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (677)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
677 out of 677
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
armack
Business
toronto
May 4, 2012

No free wifi at Riu Cancun anymore !!

if your looking to go down and stay at the riu just keep in mind there is no free WiFi anymore !! Rui head office has decided to charge there guest's for the internet they do give you an hour and a half free a day from the time you first log on you will then have to wait 24 hours before you can get WiFi again and no access to email unless you pay the rate . also heard another rumor that Rui will now charge for beach towels if you decide to change your towel more then once a day Rui is starting to get real cheap i see this resort going down hill if they don't change there attitude

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Two Amigo's
Business
Bernardsville, New Jersey
May 3, 2012

Riu Cancun Vacation!

Well this was my first time to Cancun, everything was great! The flight there was good, the Hotel transportation picked us up from the airport with no problems. The Riu Cancun was beautiful, clean, and the staff was great. The food was excellent and the room was nice with a balcony overlooking the ocean. More for Adults and not so much for family's with children. Five Star in my book, will be going again, hopefully soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Must go to the Coco Bongo Club!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donttakekids
Business
Arlington, TX, USA
Apr 28, 2012

needs improvement but great for the money

lady at the dinner reservations desk was rude and unhelpful to me and my wife but was nice to the next 2 single guys that came up... electric went out for all day in rooms but was really no inconvience and not hotels fault. the double beds felt like got hit by truck when you wake up only thing this hotel really needs is new beds. has great beach the more expensive hotel next door has lousy beach with rocks... the riu palace...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

reserve early spots fill fast....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blue seas for me
Business
MA
Apr 27, 2012

Relaxing getaway

This hotel had everything that we wanted. The food was fabulous! All inclusive is the way to go. I have two teenagers and they loved the hotel as well as the food and the variety. The only thing negative was that I had read advertised that there was room service, and there was not. There was internet service, but I was told there was a charge for this. Another hotel guest told me that there was 90 minutes free/room per day for internet. I didn't even bother looking into this, as I was trying to "get away" from everything. So my advice would be to just confirm either way. Like I said, it wasn't a big deal for me, but may be for other people. There was a variety of people staying at the hotel. From young & older couples to singles groups of men and women. There were many families there as well with a variety of children's ages. The staff did a good job of trying to include my teens in the volleyball games, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cocobongofever
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 26, 2012

Great All-inclusive value hotel

I was impressed with the choices of alcoholic beverages, variety of dining options (including breakfast/lunch/dinner buffer), location (5 min walk from all the clubs/nightlife), room cleanliness, and hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco Bongo, Mandala, Ultra Sky, Sweet Lounge, Daddy O's= best places to party

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MN guy
Business
mn
Apr 24, 2012

Typical Cancun AI

This hotel was kinda what I expected for a Cancun AI. The pool had annoying techno music but sitting on the beach was nice with the waiters bringing drinks by. Rooms were nice and clean. Food was fine. Didnt blow me away but we found enough to eat that was good. Location was good and you could walk to coco bongo which was a ton of fun. I would give this resort 3.5 stars if I could. Although we had a nice time, would probably try a different resort next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We are old, 35, but we had a blast at cocobongo!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arthurk007
Business
Greenwood, SC, USA
Apr 22, 2012

not so happy with mayaland service

Real bad servise wait two hour in the lobby for fishing trip and then been tald it was cansel , sun set cruse they say i have to pay 10$ one way and find my way back , free lunch ? but they take money for a soda do not recomend to every one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alxp
Business
San Ramon, CA, USA
Apr 21, 2012

Will think twice

Overall the trip to Cancun was fine. It is a good thing we don't spend a lot of time in the room. The room was dated and beds were extremely uncomfortable. When we first arrived, there was this acrid smell, which took a day to clear out. We were woken up a number of times by loud obnoxious guests, and there were multiple altercations among the guests at the pool. Of course in an all inclusive, alcohol was flowing all day contributing to such behavior. Although we did not let these issues keep us from having a good time, I would really think twice about staying at another RIU hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bammett
Business
Canandaigua,New York
Apr 17, 2012

Great Family Vacation

Our stay at the Rui Cancun was amazing.Very clean and the food was incredible.The service was more than we expected, always being asked if we needed a drink. The main buffet resturant, Don Jaun, was all you needed,the staff were excellent!!!!! Daily poolside entertainment for the children and food and drinks from morning till night.We never seen one bug inside or out...Some reviews we read were on the negative side, I just can't imagine anyone not being satisfied here. Our kids are 17 and 21 and they had a blast...the nightly entertainment shows were great . I never made it to one because they begin at 9:45pm and I was bushed by then..the kids loved them. The pictures here on-line do no justice to this place....just beautiful!!!!! Early morning coffee is the only problem I had.....you can go to the sports bar and get it from a machine or they do have it set up in the lobby bar area also..fresh brewed!!!! great value for the dollar!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ky Girls
Business
Louisville, KY, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Beautiful beach and pools

Vacation with daughter for senior year trip; staff were wonderful and so accommodating; felt very safe; convenient to downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top