$232 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
672 reviews
Fantastic getaway

The hotel is beautiful, it's gorgeous inside and out. Their staff is very friendly, they have an... See full review

  • Pink Lee
  • Sep 20, 2014
Birthday Trip

My overall experience was excellent. I have been going there for a few years and I was really... See full review

  • Sportsgal
  • Sep 18, 2014
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1368 -86.7484
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - 12 Miles
Area description
Right in front of Plaza Caracol Mall, one block from the Cancun Convention Center & 5 minutes walking from the discotheques zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Cancun All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with shower, double-sink, separate hydro-massage bathtube, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.7 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves.
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week.
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (672)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
672 out of 672
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sexygirl
south carolina
Aug 5, 2012

Best vacation

We loved the hotel and it's amenities. We are already planning to go back next year and take our grown kids. The only things that disappointed was the check in and the front desk staff. Very unorganized and not really helpful. Didn't tell us about the 2 day reservation for two of the restaurants. We were lucky to be with friends that knew what to do. The food was great and the rest of the staff was very friendly, Our room could have been cleaned better, had to call to get it cleaned up twice. This place has the best beach with plenty of staff on hand with drinks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a night off from the resort and go to COCO Bongos. Don't go to carlos and charlies , Just stick with coco's, Pricey but worth every penny, Best show and dancing around there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tntwithkids
St. Louis
Aug 3, 2012

Cancun with 14-11 yar old

We had a great time with our son and daughter 11/14 years old. It was a great vacation for the value. The food was great better then some of the other hotels we have stayed at in Cancun. They really go out of there way to be helpful and make you feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Swimming with the dolphins was fabulous at Dreams! Do it if you can!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelly in her twenties
Chicago
Aug 1, 2012

Nice but lacking something

I just stayed at the Riu Cancun for 5 nights. Overall, my experience was good. The rooms were decent, we had a great view, the hotel was clean, and the beach was relly nice. The staff was also extremely nice, friendly, and fun. The people leading the entertainment were especially pleasant. However, we ate at all of the restaurants and all of the food was barely edible. The beds were very uncomfortable. We also had an unpleasant encounter with two bartenders who ignored us and said they wouldn't serve us. We told the manager about this and said she'd talk to them but had a very "customer is wrong" attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Randy st louis
st. louis
Jul 30, 2012

great place

I loved it!! that is all, even has a bus to take u too the clubs!! Great food, great bar, great place to have fun with friends or your girl friends!! Food was great too!! Atleast for me but to each its own preference

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for parting but the riu palace has music playing in there pool

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The sun family
Sacramento, California
Jul 27, 2012

the sun family

We had a good time.They should let people stay in the pools until 10 pm at least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

to take the bus when going to Down town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dropderf
Clarion, PA
Jul 24, 2012

RIU Cancun

Check-in - went reasonably well, one out of three rooms ready almost at arrival at 1 PM, other two where ready by 3 PM. Asked for second keys to each room, but told only one available - should consider a change to a card system. Wrist bands are uncomfortable to wear all week. Rooms - not fancy, but adequate, some difficulty with plumbing - friend fixed his own toilet. Food - able to eat at each specialty restaurant at least once. Don Juan had adequate preparation and variety. Beach - one of the best on this side of the shoreline. Not as wide as the less protected side on the other side of Dreams. Pools - not always monitored equally. Some times security was too restrictive, other times non-existant. Policy should be consistent. Smoking - way too lenient. This should be restricted - too much second hand smoke in all areas of the property. Entertainment - can be missed. The Elvis tribute did not come close to be enjoyable. Elevators - not enough capacity to handle hotel demand. They appear worn out, slow and almost impossible to catch a timely one. This caused people to overload, be rude and generally, made travel to upper floors an exhaustive walk. At times, only two out of the four elevators worked - difficult to bring luggage back to lobby for check out. Check - out - much confusion as clerk attempted to handle multiple parties and did not accomplish anything. Questioned why we only had one key per room at check out (see check in), very dissapointed that opportunity to have multiple keys was denied at check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

As long as you were at the Lobby by 8 AM for reservations, I was able to secure dining reservations for my party of nine for 4 nights of our trip. Reservations had to be made two days in advance, so eating at a specialty restaurant is impossible early in your stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joey the neck
nj
Jul 14, 2012

family trip

i have been to mexico 4 times now and every time i have gone its been a fun trip, the hotel and staff was great and i would go again,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
edane
des moines iowa
Jul 6, 2012

riu 2012

this hotel was amazing, i was so scared about how well this hotel would be like since the reviews, but don't listen to them, every thing they said was a lie!!! This hotel was really good and i had a great time with my family, i would really recommend this hotel to anyone! so, don't get scared of the reviews, and if you get scared to go trust me its an awesome hotel! so what are you waiting for!my only problem is that when you go far out to the ocean, be careful their are sea urchins and maybe stingrays because i saw some last i went to cancun. But the ocean was beautiful and file with fish. so get going and buy your tickets at Riu cancun and have a fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
miss heather anne
ny
Jul 6, 2012

fantastic family getaway

I went with my children in june/july. The hotel and staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
golfmastersung
Frederick, Maryland
Jul 2, 2012

THE BEST

Riu Cancun is excellent. Everything about it was wonderful. There were minor unexpected events during my stay, but the staff at Riu was always there to resolve the issues. I can see how everyone was working hard to please the visitors. Not once I witness a staff member being out of line or ignoring the visitors. My highlights are as follow: I got a free upgrade to junior suite with a beautiful view of the ocean. I was pampered with favorite drinks where ever I was hanging out. There were so many choice of food in buffet, my eyes were spinning. Riu Cancun's beach front had the best real estate, with best sand (sugar white powdery sand). I didn't need to take expensive snorkeling trip, because Riu Cancun beach front had plenty of marine life to see. Waves were perfect size: not to big and not to calm. It almost feel like wave pool at an amusement park. Very gentle. Every night, there were family entertaining shows. Night club with laser light show was incredible. Most of all, the food and drinks did not upset my stomach, all week. It really showed how clean the food and drinks were prepared. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone. You will be impressed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not try to over eat in buffet. Hotel has more food than you'll ever imagine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top