$251 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 14, 2014

Riu Cancun All Inclusive

4 stars
Kukulcan Blvd. L-5, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
679 reviews
Fantastic getaway

The hotel is beautiful, it's gorgeous inside and out. Their staff is very friendly, they have an... See full review

  • Pink Lee
  • Sep 20, 2014
Birthday Trip

My overall experience was excellent. I have been going there for a few years and I was really... See full review

  • Sportsgal
  • Sep 18, 2014
Modern, all-inclusive Cancun resort with disco and kids playground

The Riu Cancun is situated on the postcard-worthy, white sand beaches of the transparent, turquoise Caribbean Sea. The all-inclusive Yucatan peninsula resort caters to families and honeymooners with a disco, 24-hour sports bar, mini-club and playground for kids. There's also a spa, salon and sports and activities program for children and adults. Outdoor relaxation options include a terrace solarium shaded by umbrellas, a stretch of white sand beach and four pools -- one catering specifically to tots. A fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Organized sports and activities for children and adults
  • Beachfront location with four pools, one geared toward kids
  • Entertainment that includes themed shows, a nightclub and 24-hour sports bar
  • On-site spa and gym with sauna and Jacuzzi
Rooms

Rooms have marble floors and marble baths and are decorated in a contemporary Mexican style. Each of the 569 guest rooms has a king or two double beds, and some feature ocean views. Amenities include air conditioning, satellite TV, mini bar and liquor dispenser, in-room safe and balcony or terrace. Wireless Internet access is available (fees may apply). Suites offer a separate living room.

Features

The resort is located seven miles from downtown Cancun. The all-inclusive resort has manicured, tropical gardens, four pools -- one with a swim-up bar -- and direct beach access. Nightly entertainment, a tennis court and numerous on-site dining options give guests reasons to linger. The resort's close proximity to area nightlife proves a tempting diversion. Rooms with mini bars and private balconies or terraces offer a respite. A 24-hour sports bar is perfect for unwinding anytime.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Plaza Caracol shopping center (across the street)
  • Playa Chac Mool (1.2 mi/ 1.9 km)
  • Manchones Reef (2.4 mi/ 3.8 mi)
  • Puerto Morelos (2.5 mi/ 4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities for up to 250
  • Complimentary Internet service in the lobby and meeting rooms
Policies and fees

There must be least one person of 21 years or older in every room. The hotel reserves the right to refuse admission and may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. No student groups under 21 years or "spring breakers" are accepted.

Unless specified otherwise, the maximum occupancy is four people per room -- three adults plus one child or two adults plus two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in room must fit on existing bedding. Any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult must sleep in existing bedding.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1368 -86.7484
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport - 12 Miles
Area description
Right in front of Plaza Caracol Mall, one block from the Cancun Convention Center & 5 minutes walking from the discotheques zone.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Cancun All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Riu Cancun All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed, living room area with sofa, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat screen TV, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with shower, double-sink, separate hydro-massage bathtube, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.
Standard Room
Guest room include two double beds or one king bed with air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat Television, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restockable), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.
Junior Suite
Guest room include two double beds or one king size bed, ocean view, separate living room area, air conditioning, ceiling fan, satellite and local TV, flat televison, direct dial phone, minibar and liquor dispenser (restock able), personal safe, balcony or terrace, bathrooms with hair dryer and amenities kit, 110 v, telephone, radio alarm clock, Iron and ironing table.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.8 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 2 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 2.1 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 3.2 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.9 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.2 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.4 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.6 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 8 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Meeting facilities for groups up to 120 persons Free wireless Internet access (Lobby area and meeting rooms)

Dining

La Fiesta
Enjoy your favorite drink in this theater. Open at 6 PM. Lounge bar with delicious cocktails
La Mision bar
Serves refreshing beverages in the pool and beach areas.
La Punta
Interior Lobby bar and El Faro exterior lobby bar.
Kawachi
A la carte Japanese dinner restaurant with black furniture, white place mats, light-colored wood paneling. Reservations required. Dress code: Gentlemen are required to wear long trousers and shirts with sleeves. Reservation is required
Don Juan
Try our dishes in the main restaurant with international cuisine buffet style for lunch and dinner. Casual, air-conditioned dining room and open-air terrace.Non smoking sections available. Theme dinners served twice a week. Reservation is required
La Mision
Open-air Buffet snack bar restaurant during the day with views of the Caribbean Sea. Steakhouse and Mediterranean cuisine at night. After dinner, late night snacks. Reservation is required
Wet & Drinking Bar
Swim up bar with delicious cocktails and tropical drinks.
Pacha Disco
Dance and fun in this place with a great atmosphere.
Sports Bar
Open 24 hours for snacks and microwave-oven sandwiches. Sports on TVs. Coin-operated pool tables and video games. Computers with high-speed Internet connections (additional charge)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (679)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
679 out of 679
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wisco Badger
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 29, 2014

Great Spring Break Destination

We had an excellent time at this resort! This was our first all-inclusive trip and we were extremely satisfied for just under $1300/person (6 nights / flights included / traveling from WI). The staff was very friendly and helpful. Perfect location for young adults - many activities and night clubs close by. Overall, we were very happy with the Riu Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Book your dining reservations asap. They were booking two days in advance when we were on our trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom of Cotons
Business
Palm Bay, Florida
Dec 13, 2012

Short Getaway

We had a nice time at the Riu Cancun, too short. We did have a pet lizard in the room, must have come through the A/C. The lighting in the rooms was not very good and the bed was not the most comfortable we have slept on. The Customer Service girl who makes the dinner reservations was very nice and we got to eat in both the Steakhouse and the Brazilian Restaurant. Food in Don Juan's was very good and a great variety. The food by the pool was not the best. The entertainment staff work very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vigil
Business
NM
Dec 2, 2012

It was fantastic

It was very good, we enjoyed our trip. I would like to go again. I recommended it to people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mag2011
Business
chicago IL
Nov 19, 2012

This hotel is horrible!

Avoid ! The holte is old and infested with cackroaches!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chiksie
Business
santa clara, CA
Nov 8, 2012

A Dump in the name of 5 star...

The hotel is pretty old/run down. They have done a face lift and it looks good from the outside. But when you enter its a stale/old place. The rooms are terrible - bad colors/ terrible furniture. They do not even have key card access and hand out actual keys. I was very disappointed upon entering the hotel and even more in the room. The balcony is tiny. We paid 308$ per night for 3 people and did not even get an extra bed. A complete waste of money. The all inclusive plan - The buffet is decent. The restaurants are practically useless coz they need reservations 2 days in advance, no vegetarian options, the customer service desk staff only works until 4, making it even harder to make a reservation or get your questions answered. It works like a run down market with little assistance. They do not even help with local calls to work with car rentals and such. The entertainment/theater is another hoax. I wanted some entertainment and picked Riu just for this - but that too amateur. Overall, a vacation spoiler with an exorbitant price tag. At best I would give this room 50$ a night and a 2 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caramel coated
Business
Newyork
Nov 4, 2012

Cancun Jumpoff 2012

The hotel was ok. Could've been better. Beds were hard and the food got me sick. Best thing was the pools and they're spa services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the pubs are in walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MuriloST
Business
Ribeirão Preto, Brasil
Oct 31, 2012

Free up-grade do RIU Peninsula

By the time we were proceding the check-in, they offer us a free up-grade do RIU Pensinsula, a brand new resort from RIU. We've accepted and the experience was fastastic. Room, pools and restaurants, very good. Beach location not very good, we missed the availability of Coco Water and in the last day, in the Italian restaurant, the served me some meat too raw tha make me sick for a couple of days. Except for that, everything was perfect. Satff and cleanliness excelente.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 28, 2012

Perfect Getaway!

Excellent location for clubs, shopping, etc. Food is good, similiar to cruises. Excellent drinks, wine; however, only beer served was DosXX. I highly recommend the junior suites. Did not realize topless beach on premises. If I had children, I would consider another hotel. Otherwise, we plan to go back another time. Overall, great for couples and singles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right across the street and left of hotel facing street toward Coco Bongos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mmikep
Business
new jersey
Oct 25, 2012

to much smoking

There should be a smoking. And non smoking area not smoking thru out the resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
btgoss2
Business
Raleigh, NC
Oct 21, 2012

Top of the Line Vacation

I have to say, I can't imagine a vacation at a nicer hotel, with any friendlier staff, cleaner rooms, better food, etc.--especially for the price! Our vacation was perfect, and we have no complaints. The staff is extremely friendly, and they really seemed to enjoy serving us hand and foot the entire stay. This was our second trip here, and there will be more. Why try anywhere else??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

CoCo BONGO!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Cancun All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Cali Guy
Business
Martinez, California
Oct 5, 2012

Wonderful Vacation

My wife and I stayed here from 9/18 to 9/25 and loved every minute. I was a little weary about this resort after reading some poor reviews around the web. But after staying here, it is clear that all the negative reviews I have read were either by travelers who are extremely picky or just like to complain. The location is the best, just a short walk to party zone with Coco Bongos and other shops, restaurants and clubs. There was always something fun going on at the resort. A lot of games, music and just overall fun during the day. The entertainment staff was great putting on shows at night. The all inclusive food and drinks were great also, a lot to choose from. You could easily not eat the same thing twice. The beach here isn't the biggest, but there was never a problem with being too crowded and we were always able to find a lounge chair. The ocean was calm and warm and great to hang out in. The entire resort is extremely clean, including the rooms. There is constantly staff working to keep everything clean. They are also very friendly and always said Hello. The only thing for us that kept this from being a 5 star hotel is that there is no coffee pot in the room and there is no room service, but we're not going to complain about it. I could go on and on, but bottom line is this is a great place to stay in Cancun and it is definitely recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely go to the Japanese restaurant located there. There are some other themed restaurants but this one was the best. Reservations have to be made 2 days in advance, so plan according to your needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top