$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Ocean Spa Hotel - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan K.m. 3.5 Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Spa Hotel - All Inclusive

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Spa Hotel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fishers46038
Business
fishers, IN
Mar 15, 2013

Staff was horribly rude

On the first day, my girlfriend who is staying at different all inclusive hotel. She wanted to check out the hotel where I'm staying. As soon as we walked in, Wendy (front desk manager) rudely states that she cannot enter. I tried to explain that my girlfriend already has an all inclusive some place else. We proceeded to go check out the nearby pool, beach and my room. Within 45 minutes a security guard chases after us and escorted us out. I ended up staying most of my time at another hotel. The staff was friendlier and the food was better. You must realize that my all inclusive arm band had a different color. Yet I didn't get harassed in any way. I spoke to Santiago (manager). I explained how in the world they can control who I bring to my room. (I'm a single man on vacation). He goes on to explain about the policy and how it is intended to protect me from visitors. I'm a doctor and a timeshare owner. I've traveled all over the world. I've stayed in hostels that were much more accommodating than this. It's as if the entire staff are fearful of losing their job if they didn't implement their hostile style policies and forgot the importance of customer satisfaction. A terribly surreal experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Spa Hotel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
W.Eugene
Business
New York
Feb 21, 2013

Ocean Spa, Cancun, MX

We stayed in this hotel for 8 days, at the end of February, and basically it is good hotel and fits 3 star hotel rating. Plenty of hot sunshine. Food in restaurants and diner is good, mexican style basically, a lot of fruits and veggies. You can have kayaks and other boats for entertainment. The only con in this hotel that does not match a description, that you cannot swim in the sea surrounded this beachfront hotel, because it is located on the shellow side of the seabeach. You can walk for 100 yards from the beach and it was still shellow waters with a lot of weeds on the bottom. It is good for little kids. The only place you can swim in this hotel is one pool located by the diner. Overall it was good vacation...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Spa Hotel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mexico DF
Business
DF MEX
Feb 6, 2013

TERRIBLE HOTEL, Stay away!!!

The Hotel isTerrible!!, the worst Hotel in Cancun that I ever been. No Doctor in the Hotel, the TV room didnt work and they cannot fixed it in all my trip, no mini fridge in room, no towels in 2 days, the restroom door didnt work, so it should be always open, just 3 lights for all the room. Yo cannot lock your door, so the service people can open if they want, any time. The worst part, Vacation Club Presentation, you have to consider lost 4hrs of your day, if you dont want to take it, you have to pay 250USD. Please do NOT booked this Hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Spa Hotel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mazinke
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 7, 2013

Sincere Warning ... Stay Away!

I have thought very hard for at least one thing good to say about this place. I have come up with two employees, bell hop - Rudolpho and Front Desk - Carlos. Other than these two people this place should be placed on a WORST OF THE WORST list. 1. Sewage leaking from toilet. 2. Had to fight to get the jacuzzi room we paid for, in which the jacuzzi was broken, the windows did not lock and the stereo was blaring outside the window. 3. All inclusive is a joke: They ran out of red wine...not just a brand, all red wine. The food was inedible and no one cares, seriously, no one cares about servicing you, even the basic services such as bringing you a soda. Be ready to get it yourself and then have the staff tell you to your face that you need to tip them. 4. THIS IS A TIMESHARE PROPERTY, NOT A RESORT. They will harass you to attend their sales meeting. If you want to relax, this is not the place. 5. Went for a 55 minute massage, received a 30 minute massage and they tried to argue that we had to pay for 55 minute even though we were standing there talking to them within the hour we were suppose to be getting the massage. 6. THERE ARE NO WAVES AND ONLY SEAWEED on the oceanfront. If you are looking for the beautiful water and white sands, you will not get it here. Because our trip began so poor we decided to stay a couple extra days at another resort. Thankfully the other resorts we stayed at, (which were cheaper) Park Royal and the Westin Laguanamar, made our trip worth it. The lesson we learned: Listen to the reviews and realize that they are there for a reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Spa Hotel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
In the Doghouse
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jul 26, 2012

Cheap but definitely not worth the price. Stay away!

If you were intentionally making the wost hotel in the world, you probably would come up with something like this. The scenery and location are nice, but that's true of all the Cancun hotels and is not a reason to stay here. The place is physically falling apart and looks nothing like the photos, which don't reveal all the grime and filth. Our room was dirty and poorly cleaned and the staff were rude and made no effort to help out when we asked the simplest things (like directions.) It's cheap, but so much worse than the competition that you need to be insane to stay here. My wife still hasn't forgiven me for ruining our vacation by trying to save a few bucks by staying at this dump!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food is terrible here. Find a convenience store, buy some bread and meat and make some sandwiches. It'll taste much better than the slop they serve in the restaurant.

Review of Ocean Spa Hotel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cleveland Drummer
Business
Mentor, OH, USA
Jul 13, 2012

Awful Hotel!

We paid approximately $1000 USD which included an upgrade fee, for an all-inclusive package which was to include a King bed and Jacuzzi, etc. When we arrived at the hotel we were asked to wait in the lobby area. After an hour we still weren't checked into our room by the front desk and nobody had told us what was going on. Some time later we were told that there wasn't a room for us and that the hotel was over-booked. More than FIVE HOURS later, after the hotel tried to put us into a hotel that we weren't familiar with nor desired, we were told that there was a room but we'd have to wait for room service to get it ready. Then a concierge came over and asked us if we had been checked in then proceeded to try to sell us a time share. An hour later we were finally checked into a room. However, this room was not the room we paid for! The room we were given did not have a King bed or a Jacuzzi and was on the service road/parking area of the hotel. Further, the shower didn't work properly, room was dirty, the air conditioning leaked onto us while using the sink and there was a live cockroach in the room. We were told by the manager that he would try to find us the room we had paid for but that we'd have to arrive with our bags at the front desk every morning at 8am to see if our room was available! However, we were stuck in this horrible room for FOUR DAYS! On Thursday we were finally upgraded to a better room. However, we found this room had issues of its own. There was a plastic cover over the shower drain which we found was to keep the SMELL OF RAW SEWAGE from backing up into the room. With this cover off the room wreaked so bad that we had to open the window and patio door. The shower also did not work properly! I called the front desk but nothing was done. This room also had bed bugs! On Friday at 12:30AM, we were awakened by the sound of pounding above us. I called the front desk and they assured me it would be stopped, however, the pounding did not stop and in fact continued until 2:30AM! I called the front desk several times but the noise continued! As far as the food arrangements go, the woman at the scheduling stand gave us the wrong days and times for our Mexican and Italian dinners. As a result we were only able to eat non-buffet dinners twice! We were also shocked to find that the menus were taped over previous company menus and were in binders. The service was slow with the food being only slightly better. Also, the Therapeutic & Energetic juice bar that was advertised by the hotel's website was not available when we asked! As for the beach furniture...the cushions for the beds and chairs were rarely placed on time, sometimes well into the afternoon. Also, there were several features that were promoted about this hotel on your website that were not actually available at the Ocean Spa. They were only available at the sister hotels via shuttle!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Spa Hotel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TP12
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 29, 2012

doing construction

great customer service made p for the loud construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Spa Hotel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TP12
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Construction right now

Great customer service which made up of all the loud construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Spa Hotel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sion
Business
Glendale, CA, USA
Feb 17, 2012

friendly

The stuff are friendly and it was comfortable. I liked specially the bar, drink as much as you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

you can enjoy your meal and relax.

Review of Ocean Spa Hotel - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J Rodz20111
Business
Texas
Dec 29, 2011

Vacations

I did not like it. I was expeciting better rooms but they were really old and it had a bad smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top