$356 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Cancun-Chetumal KM 340, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
504 out of 504
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. MarkJ
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 8, 2013

Promises elegance, falls short

Moon palace is great in some respects, but falls short overall. I'll start with the good and move to the bad. Good: The restaurants offer fantastic options and variety. The food is spectacular and we never had a bad meal. The pool areas are also amazing. There are plenty of options if you want sun, shade or both. Bad: Everything in the room. We stayed in the Nizuc section and most of the rooms seam to be in disrepair. When it rained, we literally had water dripping into our jacuzzi and down our walls. We changed rooms once due to being placed on the ground floor and in a high traffic area, so we decided that we didn't want to go through that hassel again. Housekeeping was spotty and we were never quite sure if we would have a hand towel, or bath towel missing. The room service menu was weak. There are very limited and very mundane options. It seems like they are doing everything they can to get you out of your room, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, until it is pouring rain for 70% of your stay. Finally, the back entrance into the lobby was located next to the sewage vents, so when it rains, you have to cover your nose and walk quickly through the area. Disgusting. Last words: If you decide to come to Moon Palace, I highly suggest you make sure that your reservation is for the "Sunrise" section of the resort. It is much newer, much nicer and better maintained than the rest of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kakini2
Business
New York, NY
Jun 6, 2013

Good but not quite the luxury I was expecting...

The property is great but it's incredibly spread out, the room we were put in was in the furthest building from the lobby so it was a good 10-15 minute walk each way to get to the room which made it incredibly annoying since it was pouring rain the whole time we were there. You basically had to plan to be out of the room all day and take everything with you so you didn't have to go back until the end of the day. The rooms were nice but for some reason the cleaning staff didn't seem to ever replace our towels or soap so we kept having to call for more. The food was great, the first night we ate at the buffet in Sunrise and were disappointed by the food but the other nights we made a point to eat in the sit down restaurants and the food was amazing!! We did room service one of our last nights and it took over an hour to come and wasn't very good so I wouldn't recommend the room service. Overall a great experience and I would go back but would make sure to request a room that's in one of the buildings closer to the lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't do the buffet's for dinner, stick to the other restaurant options

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Outgoing Couple
Business
Santa Maria, CA
Jun 4, 2013

Weekend Excursion

First of all; arrived early; thought we could hopefully check in early, did not happen. When we did finally get in our room; it had mold and mildew and you could smell it; therefore my wife wasn't please; they could xchange our room until the next day. Next, the jaguzzi was leaking bad and would not turn off; fortunately their staff responded and cleaned our room late at night. Other than that; everything else was fine. The resort really needs to install an HVAC system with return air to remove the humid moisture from the rooms. Its no excuse for the amount of invested there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
faulkmcgowan
Business
Brooklyn New York
May 20, 2013

faulkmcgowan

my wife and i we had a boss time at the moon palace golf/spa resort the food was great and the compound it was very beauiful yes i will go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
0first0time0honeymooner0
Business
kansas city, mo
May 14, 2013

great food, subpar ocean

my only disappointment at this resort was that the beach and ocean are not the blue waters of the rest of the carribean. they are very full of seaweed and thus not that great to swim or take a dip in. but you do have free access to other palace resorts like the beach palace resort off the hotel zone in cancun, and the water there is absolutely perfect. however, the moon palace pools and everything else were very very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 to 3x per year traveler
Business
Connecticut
Apr 14, 2013

Decent place -concierge not worth it

Overall the hotel was nice - a little dated, you can tell its a little older. The rooms and balconies in the niszuc building were small. Does not compare to some of the newer more updated properties. The food at the pool grills were above ordinary - fresh sea bass, flank steaks, burgers, brick oven pizzas and staff out there were fantastic, happy to get you food and drinks. Restaurants were great also - loved the Japanese restaurant for their sushi and Japanese meals - Italian restaurant was great too, as was the spa. We paid for concierge service which was a total waste. We asked what extras we get for that but no one knew. Supposedly had special chairs and beach area but none could tell us where - very big waste of money. Hotel staff was great with everything else though. Resort credit is a joke - you can't use it anywhere or on anything decent. Lots of kids in this hotel. There are no "adult only" restaurants or pools, so if you are not traveling with kids be prepared to see crying tired kids at all hours of the night in the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check out all the grills by the pool - several do more than just burgers!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WICheesehead
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 8, 2013

Moon Palace...decent, but room for improvement.

Spent 8 days at Moon Palace over Easter. Extemely crowded (as you can imagine it would be) even for a resort of this size. Food was decent, resort ammenities are just ok, staff does an amazing job. Didn't care for the beach & the overall size of the place. Be prepared to walk miles every day just getting to/from your room & pool areas. Would consider returning but never again during spring break/Easter time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Best restaurants in my opinion were Momo's japanese, Barracuda steak house, & the Brazillian place (can't remember the name).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Norfolk Family
Business
Norfolk, VA
Apr 5, 2013

Great Family Vacation

My family and I stayed there for 4 nights. We have two little girls, 4 and 6. We loved the hotel, specially the pool area. All inclusive was great as we did not have the stress of sometimes finding something fast for little ones to eat. My 6 year old and I did the dolphin swim and loved it. Just beware of the resort credits as there are a lot of limitations on what you can do with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
unclebigdave
Business
wisconsin
Feb 18, 2013

great time

always a great place to go and relax. weather was perfect. staff was great. food is awesome with many real good places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

hibachi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saugerties traveler
Business
Saugerties. Ny
Feb 16, 2013

We've gone back seven times

Everyone is extremely friendly. It is enormous, so there are lots of options as to where you want to be...the beach, the pool, the quiet areas, the upbeat areas! Many many restaurants to choose from! We will definitely return next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top