$407 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

5 stars
Carretera Cancun-Chetumal KM 340, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
477 reviews
great vacation

Excellent. Staff went out of their way. Had a few minor hiccups but staff took care of everything. See full review

  • guest72581
  • Aug 2, 2014
Cancun Vacation

We stayed for 3 nights and had an excellent time! The hotel is close to the airport which was nice;... See full review

  • Cancun Crew
  • Aug 1, 2014
Located 5 miles of Cancun's airport. 123 acres of tropical foliage and white sand beach stretching nearly 2000 feet with a 27-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and offers luxurious rooms with double Jacuzzi and private balcony and most rooms overlook the spectacular Caribbean Sea

Recently honored with the prestigious 2013 AAA Four Diamond Award, The Resort is divided into 3 sections, Sunrise, Nizuc & Grand, each one with its own characteristics. Full fitness facilities, a kids club, restaurants featuring a wide variety of cuisines and an attentive service make of this resort a truly destination for travelers of all ages

Hotel Amenities-
Unlimited select tours
27-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course
15 restaurants, 12 bars and 4 swim-up bars>
8 outdoor pools including a pool at the Golf Club House with 6 Jacuzzi, 2 kiddie pools
Dive tank/water sports marina, scuba diving demonstration
2 fitness centers, Beauty salon, Spa facilities, Sauna/steam room
6 lit tennis, 2 basketball, 2 beach volleyball courts, pool volleyball, beach soccer
Yoga & Pilates, Meditation garden, climbing tower
Miniature golf course, bicycles and roller blades
Billiards, Ping-Pong, table games
Discotheque, piano in each lobby bar
Kids Club, Children's playground, supervised activities at the Kids Club (ages 4-12)
Daily activities
Theme parties or shows nightly
Concierge, Bell staff service and weddings services
Gift shops, travel agency, Car rental, doctor on call 24 hrs, golf carts on property, ice machines, taxis available 24 hrs
Dry cleaning and laundry service, wheelchairs on request, cribs and rollaway on request, golf packages and currency exchange
UNLIMITED LONG DISTANCE PHONE CALLS
Ideal location for wedding services

Honeymoon package-
Fruit basket
1 bottle of sparkling wine
1 romantic candlelight dinner
2 T-shirts
Use of services provided by the honeymoon desk
Late check-out (until 6 PM) may be requested and is subject to availability

All adults must be 18 years of age and older
Children under 18 years of age must travel and room with a parent/legal guardian (No exceptions)
-1 Chaperone (over 25 yrs old) for every 20 students
Proof of age required. All students will be required to provide their valid passports upon check-in
We might ask for an ID at any time. Underage drinking and providing alcohol to minors is punished by law
Introducing alcohol to the premises or taking it out from them is not allowed
Tape recorders, radios and any sound devices may not be used in the rooms, building or at the pool area; you will only be allowed to use them with headphones.
You will be financially and legally responsible for all damages and disruptions caused in the property
-A credit card guarantee is required upon check in to charge in the event of damage
-The hotel can and will suspend any or all of its services to guests who, in the hotel's opinion, display or enact improper conduct offensive and/or unacceptable and/or dangerous to others and/or themselves

Eat and Play at All Palace Resorts - When you stay at any of our Palace Resorts properties, you are welcome to enjoy the facilities and restaurants of Beach Palace, Sun Palace, Moon Palace, Playacar Palace, Isla Mujeres Palace and Cozumel Palace. Scheduled transportation is available at select resorts. (Some restrictions apply)

In an effort to streamline the guest transportation experience between resorts and recreational destinations, the following routes are in operation:
-Moon Palace to Wet n' Wild
-Moon Palace to Sun Palace and Beach Palace

Hotel Map

20.9876 -86.8302
Area served
Cancun, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN), Approximate driving time is 10 minutes and distance is 8.5 km (5.25 mi).
Area description
The Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort is located 10 minutes from the airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Deluxe Ocean View with Double Whirlpool and balcony/terrace
Each elegantly appointed guest room features;1 King bed or 2 double beds, In room Wine, Private Bath w/ shower Only. Screened terrace w/chairs and table. Seating Area. Liquor dispenser contains sodas, bottled water, juices % domestic beer.satellite TV.DVD Player, Ceiling fan , purified water. CHI bath amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital Safe (Laptop Size).Individually controlled A/C. Coffe Maker, Direct dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair dryer and straightener. Iron/ironing board. WiFi,24hrs Room Service and turndown service. non-smoking rooms available. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 4 guests including children ages 4-17. a maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4 guests. 484 Sq.Ft
Superior Deluxe Garden View with Double Whirlpool and balcony/terrace
Each elegantly appointed guest room features;1 King bed or 2 double beds, In room Wine, Private Bath w/ shower Only. Screened terrace w/chairs and table. Seating Area. Liquor dispenser contains sodas, bottled water, juices % domestic beer.satellite TV.DVD Player, Ceiling fan , purified water. CHI bath amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital Safe (Laptop Size).Individually controlled A/C. Coffe Maker, Direct dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair dryer and straightener. Iron/ironing board. WiFi,24hrs Room Service and turndown service. non-smoking rooms available. Garden View. Max Occupancy: 4 guests including children ages 4-17. a maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4 guests. 484 Sq.Ft
Junior Suite Golf Course with Double Whirlpool and terrace
1 King bed, In room Wine, Private Bath w/ shower Only. Screened terrace w/chairs and table. Seating Area. Liquor dispenser contains sodas, bottled water, juices % domestic beer.satellite TV.DVD Player, Ceiling fan , purified water. CHI bath amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital Safe (Laptop Size).Individually controlled A/C. Coffe Maker, Direct dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair dryer and straightener. Iron/ironing board. WiFi,24hrs Room Service and turndown service. Golf cart included for personal use. All non-smoking rooms. Golf View. Max Occupancy: 2 adults. 411 Sq.Ft
Concierge Level With double Whirlpool
Rooms with Ocean view and King bed. Double Whirlpool. Private Bath w/ shower only. Balcony. Liquor dispenser contains premium, upgraded brands of liquor. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite, DVD/CD Player. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Two (2) 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa, Private Beach Lounge Chair Area with Service, Exclusive Beach Bag (one per room/per stay), Aromatherapy menu. Digital safe. Individually-Controlled A/C. Espresso/Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock/Radio/IPOD Dock. Professional Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service from select restaurant's menu. Private candlelight dinner at select locations (once per stay), Nightly Petit Fours, Pillow Menu & Nightly Turndown Service. Exclusive Concierge Phone Service, Private Check-in & Out/ Late Check-out & Early Check-In (subject to availability)
484 sq ft
Deluxe Superior Deluxe Resort View with Double Whirlpool and balcony/terrace
Each elegantly appointed guest room features;1 King bed or 2 double beds, In room Wine, Private Bath w/ shower Only. Screened terrace w/chairs and table. Seating Area. Liquor dispenser contains sodas, bottled water, juices % domestic beer.satellite TV.DVD Player, Ceiling fan , purified water. CHI bath amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital Safe (Laptop Size).Individually controlled A/C. Coffe Maker, Direct dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair dryer and straightener. Iron/ironing board. WiFi,24hrs Room Service and turndown service. non-smoking rooms available. Resort View. Max Occupancy: 4 guests including children ages 4-17. a maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4 guests. 484 Sq.Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 2.2 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 3.7 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 4.2 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 6 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 6.2 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 8.4 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 9.5 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 9.6 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 10.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 11.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 12 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 12.2 mi

Dining

Palapa Fragata
Poolside restaurant/bar Cuisine-Seafood
Lunch buffet International-Noon - 4:30 pm
Dinner buffet- 6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Palapa Barracuda
Poolside restaurant/bar (Steak House)
Breakfast buffet International- 8:00 am - 11:00 am
Lunch buffet International- 11:30 am - 4:30 pm
Dinner a la carte- 6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code for dinner- Casual, wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
El Manglar
Location- Central lobby
Cuisine- Italian (dinner)
Breakfast buffet International,6:30 am - 11:30 am
Lunch buffet Int'l.: 12:30 pm -4:00 pm
Dinner buffet: 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual, wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed
Bugambilias
Location- Central lobby Cuisine -Mexican Breakfast buffet: 6:45 am - 11:00 am
Lunch buffet: 12:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Dinner a la carte: 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual, wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Palapa Delfines
Poolside restaurant/bar (Grill)
Lunch a la carte- 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner buffet- 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code for dinner- Casual, wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
La Trattoria
Located in the Golf Course
Open Daily. Breakfast & lunch buffet. Italian cuisine - dinner a la carte.
La Gondola
Location- Adjacent to lobby Cuisine- Italian
Breakfast buffet International- 7:00 am - 11:30 am
Dinner buffet- 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code- Casual, wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Arrecifes
Location- Central lobby Cuisine- Brazilian (dinner)
Breakfast buffet International: 7:00 am - 11:30 am
Lunch buffet Int'l. 11:30 am - 5:00 pm
Dinner a la carte 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual, wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Palapa Pelicanos
Poolside restaurant/bar (Sushi)
Lunch Int'l buffet: 12:30 pm - 4:00 pm
Dinner a la carte: 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual, wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Bambu
Located in the Golf Course
Open Daily. Oriental cuisine - dinner a la carte.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From the state-of-the-art Universal Boardroom to our grand Galactic Ballroom, our convention facilities are ready to meet your expectations. And, our talented and dedicated sales and conference service staff will be standing by to fulfill each of your business and incentive needs. Our Executive Business Center offers complete professional services, including private offices.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (477)

Ratings and reviews for Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 477
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
minnesota person
minnesota
Jul 19, 2010

Not what we expected.

The front desk staff was very rude along with the time share people. The wait staff was excellent! We traveled with two other couples, and they had turn down service eveynight and we had it only our first night. We had to call every day to have our refrigerator restocked our friends did not have to. Our maid replaced our dirty hand towels with ones that were still wet.!!! Maybe it was because our friends were on a different floor than us and just had better service. There was no swimming on the beach, it was full of weeds and smelled very bad. Be prepared to eat buffet food for breakfast and lunch everday. We will not return to any of the Palace Resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed in Key West
lexington, tennessee
Dec 26, 2009

Bad in the middle of what could be GREA

I loved the spa & steam room. However, the hotel charged for things that were not supposed to be charged. It was quite a hassle getting it straightened out.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. MarkJ
Sacramento, CA
Jun 8, 2013

Promises elegance, falls short

Moon palace is great in some respects, but falls short overall. I'll start with the good and move to the bad. Good: The restaurants offer fantastic options and variety. The food is spectacular and we never had a bad meal. The pool areas are also amazing. There are plenty of options if you want sun, shade or both. Bad: Everything in the room. We stayed in the Nizuc section and most of the rooms seam to be in disrepair. When it rained, we literally had water dripping into our jacuzzi and down our walls. We changed rooms once due to being placed on the ground floor and in a high traffic area, so we decided that we didn't want to go through that hassel again. Housekeeping was spotty and we were never quite sure if we would have a hand towel, or bath towel missing. The room service menu was weak. There are very limited and very mundane options. It seems like they are doing everything they can to get you out of your room, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, until it is pouring rain for 70% of your stay. Finally, the back entrance into the lobby was located next to the sewage vents, so when it rains, you have to cover your nose and walk quickly through the area. Disgusting. Last words: If you decide to come to Moon Palace, I highly suggest you make sure that your reservation is for the "Sunrise" section of the resort. It is much newer, much nicer and better maintained than the rest of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike from El Paso
El Paso, TX
Aug 11, 2013

Very Disappointed

We have stayed here several times and have enjoyed the staff and amenities, howeve this time was absolutely terrible. We had $500 in resort credit and could not use it because everything was booked. We tried to book a massage and had to pull teeth to get a reservation at 8:00pm!!! I actually took three couples with me and they were unable to book anything! I went from wanting a membership to probably not ever going back! Staff was very rude. Maybe they had a bad few days, but in talking with other people I believe the feelings were mutual...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BooToMoon
NJ
Aug 6, 2011

Moon Palace has gone downhill!

Let me preface by saying I have been to Moon Palace previously, in 2007. That stay was amazing with great amenities and cuisine. Fast forward to July 2011 and you can see the economic downturn has hit this resort HARD! FOOD:The biggest concern was with the food. The meat/poultry is so overly salted it is unedible. The smell coming from the restaurants made me gag! My husband and I got sick on the third day of our stay (we think from a hamburger) and couldn't find any bland, unsalted foods to eat we actually went up to Cancun to find food. Because our stomachs were so upset, we also couldn't drink alcohol after the third day so that money was also a waste. We are both on antibiotics now, having gone to the GI upon our return. Still waiting the results of the testing, but is presumed bacteria and parasites from the food. OCEAN:The ocean was swimmable last time, this time you were not allowed in. Taking the bus up to Cancun was a must, and is so beautiful. We wish you could stay for more than 4 hours, we even paid to get a cab back one day since we wanted more time there. SPA:$300 for spa service included was nice! However, the massages are not really for the allotted time they say. For example, I timed my 50 minute massage and was done after only 40 minutes. Grounds: They are well kept. Signs of aging are obvious. Rooms: They are beginning to age as well. Grout lines very dirty in the rooms. We were woken up by a horrible smell one night, which was the AC burning out. We could barely breathe in the room. Take advantage of using points to upgrade your room closer to the lobby, we are glad we did! On my last trip in 2007 we had towel art waiting us everynight, I guess that was one of the cutbacks as this time we just got new towels placed on our bed. One day we told housekeeping not to come to our room as we kept it pretty neat and didn't want them with our personal belongings, only to come back twice that day to see they had cleaned, then later had turned down the bed even though we had the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door. The housekeepers also knock on your door(even with the sign) at 8 am asking to clean. BEFORE YOU GO: Print out your own resort map, the ones in the rooms are outdated and don't include the Moon Grand section. Also, make sure to book your spa and excursions upon arrival so you get optimal time slots. Take advantage of the photo session with your points!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is very salty! Finding a healthy option is pretty impossible.

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kennard
Salida, Colorado
May 8, 2010

Not that great

The resort is nice, the food is ok but not the best that I have had, the resort staff go out of their way to serve you. The beach was very poor, covered with seaweed and little or no waves. It is more like a lake. It's best to stay at the hotel area in Cancun or Playacar if you want a nice beach, with seashells, etc. They really put the moves on you to buy a timeshare, lots of arm-twisting. Take lots of $1 bills for tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

All of the Yucatan attractions are great, plan on walking a great deal at the resort.

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
az
Dec 19, 2009

Cancun 2009

If I had a choice I would prefer going to a different resort. But the pools were nice and the beach grill had excellant turkey sandwiches!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The mexican resturant by the coffee shop was great. Staff was awesome and food was perfect. Best resturant and experiance the whole trip.

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Erica J
Michigan
Jan 28, 2014

The Good and the Bad

Overall we had a good experience, but wished I had figured out a few things prior to going. One is that the Sunrise building is the really nice one and where we were, Nizac, is not. In ours the lobby building was in need of some repair. The floors were uneven with them putting in granite along with carpet areas including the stairs. Not safe if you have children running around. Pieces of the wall were missing in parts or had holes around outlets etc. Not the best finishes. Sunrise was beautiful however. You should bring your own cup, as the drink cups by the pool are very small. Many people brought big mugs and the bartenders filled them with no problem. No canned beer at any bar. If you like draft you are ok, but if not you have to keep ordering cans from room service and bring them to the pool with you. Food was pretty good, best was the steak, Mexican place and the Caribbean. Service was excellent, nice pools and enough to do for a few days. We would go back if the price was right. Also, make sure to know which part you are in so when your shuttle takes you know which lobby to go to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed Vacationer
USA
Nov 20, 2011

Not the same place as last year

We stayed at Moon Palace last year, the same time of the year. We didn't receive the same level of service or offers this year. The staff was great but it seemed there were less workers - they were stretched too thin for how many guests were there. Last year, there weren't many others at the resort. This year, there were so many people but the staff wasn't increased to match the increased number of guests. We had to wait at restaurants; the wait staff also seemed to be minimal. None of the ice machines in our area were working. We had to order ice from room service. Also, the push to purchase extras was very aggressive. We couldn't use our resort credits for anything special unless we attended a 1 and half hour presentation. Not our idea of a good way to spend vacation. We left with more than $600 of resort credits unspent (out of $750 - we upgraded to an ocean view) because we couldn't use them on the stuff we wanted. The lobster dinner offered (that last year was a sunset cruise & lobster dinner but not now...) was booked so far ahead it wasn't within our time frame. Overall, we were disappointed with Moon Palace. They seem to be focusing on the time-share aspect rather than providing the vacation experience they gave us last year. We will say, however, that one night's event, the Beach Party, was excellent all the way around. The food was great; the music was great; the crowd interaction was great; but mostly the service that night was excellent...like last year! All in all, I doubt we return to Moon Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Anything really fun involves more money. Moon Palace isn't inexpensive and we went for the all inclusive aspect. This year they fell short, way short, of making it a truly ALL-INCLUSIVE.

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
whitey ford
monroe mi
Mar 14, 2012

Getting old

The moon is still a nice place and we like the way its spread out but the rooms at sunrise and nizuk are getting aged, they say they are upgrading them but the price is suppose to go way up. also getting to the golf course - spa side was a problem if you wanted to eat there twice we tried and waited and waited once we just gave up and went to the grand which has excellent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

skip the golf course and try the grand

Back to menu Return to top

Change search