$432 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Cancun-Chetumal KM 340, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
475 out of 475
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Speech
Business
ny
Aug 5, 2012

A lot to do but too commercialized

Nice resort but too many sales pitches trying to sell you everything under the sun. Also too large and too much walking and if you have any problem with that and have to depend on the golf carts for tranportation back and forth to the lobby, you could have a long wait at times. The staff was all very pleasant and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2 to 3x per year traveler
Business
Connecticut
Apr 14, 2013

Decent place -concierge not worth it

Overall the hotel was nice - a little dated, you can tell its a little older. The rooms and balconies in the niszuc building were small. Does not compare to some of the newer more updated properties. The food at the pool grills were above ordinary - fresh sea bass, flank steaks, burgers, brick oven pizzas and staff out there were fantastic, happy to get you food and drinks. Restaurants were great also - loved the Japanese restaurant for their sushi and Japanese meals - Italian restaurant was great too, as was the spa. We paid for concierge service which was a total waste. We asked what extras we get for that but no one knew. Supposedly had special chairs and beach area but none could tell us where - very big waste of money. Hotel staff was great with everything else though. Resort credit is a joke - you can't use it anywhere or on anything decent. Lots of kids in this hotel. There are no "adult only" restaurants or pools, so if you are not traveling with kids be prepared to see crying tired kids at all hours of the night in the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Check out all the grills by the pool - several do more than just burgers!

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
locomomo
Business
NJ
Jun 25, 2013

Higher Expectation

Notes:Our review is just our observations rather than complains. We go to vacations with a mindset of enjoying our times whether good or bad. Having traveled to different resort such as Prince, Now Jade, Fiesta Americana, etc. We had higher expectations for the Moon Palace resorts due to many positive reviews and some of our friends recommendations that have stayed in the Palace Resorts chain years ago. Overall Resort Feel: When we arrived many of the resort areas were under renovations and constructions and on few occasions we experienced power outages (one lasting for over 1 hour) Resort was clean and well maintained. The lobby wass big and the Teen Lounge was the main attraction for the kids. Overall Room Feel: Upon our arrival we noticed that the closet and hangers were all moldy, the safe box was not working and the AC was not cooling enough. We called front desk and asked to have another room and they told us everything was booked and that they will send someone to fix the problems. They send staffs to amend the things but only think that got fixed was the safe box. Since our stay was only 3 nights we did not further pursue and decided to take advantage of our time. (By the way, we found out the TV was not working but they send someone next day to fix) Overall Service: The things we love about Cancun is their hard working people and their service. No matter where we go service have always been excellent and in this resort is no exception. Amenities: We like the credit giveaway promotion. We also like the fact that some of the activities can be done right in the resort. Restaurants: ...We have no highlights... nothing special that we can mention, this is not to say that the food is bad but we have nothing worth mentioning... In other resort we can say we had tasted their unique ceviche or excellent fish tacos or huge T-Bone Steaks. But in Moon, We just found food to be average. Value: For the special rate we paid at the time it was a good value. It would be different if the promotional rate was not available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Todd 28 year anniversary
Business
Ohio
Jul 24, 2013

Anniversary @ Moon Palace

Pool area was dirtier than the last time we were there 6 years ago, with cups floating in the pool and around the pool area. It could have been cleaner. Still nice though. In the room the air conditioner was making a very loud "BANG" every time it shut off so the first night not much sleep, called the front desk and within 15 minutes a maintenance man was there and spent about ten minutes up in the ceiling and fixed the problem perfectly. So, problem resolution was very prompt and more than satisfactory. Very well taken care of on our Anniversary date with Champagne and a cake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yash P
Business
Michigan
Jun 6, 2014

Not so Fantastic

Hotel is located out side the Hotel Zone. Does not provide shuttle service. Taxis are expensive, it cost at least 35 dollars to and from Air Port and to the city. It is all inclusive Hotel which includes liquor. Price is good if you drink a lot and eat a lot and you go there with children. I understand children stay free?. Service was slow. Food was average. Got sick after eating Sea food. Will not recommend to health conscious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SB Mom
Business
Tampa, Fl
Apr 3, 2010

Spring Break

Love the hotel but my reservation was lost and I had to wait a long time with no communication about what was going on. Wound up having to stay in another place other than where my reservation was made. Lots of confusion about transportation. Disappointing at times. I had been there about 6 other times and this was not handled as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take part in the free activities. Find out abut them on your first day so you don't miss out. No one will find you to tell you about them. You have to dig in.

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trixie traveller
Business
baltimore md
May 3, 2010

huge place

we have taken many trips, none to cancun. This was also our first time staying at a palace resort. It was very nice, service was great! It wasn't near the hotel district and the beach is very grassy! not the sparkling blue water you would expect. we paid a little more for a little less time and it wasn't really worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

use shuttle

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo, OH
May 15, 2011

Moon Palace for a Wedding

We traveled to Moon Palace for a wedding of our friends. We've been to Mexico two other times - one for our own wedding and then our one year anniversary. This resort was HUGE compared to the first two we stayed at (Excellence Riviera and Secrets Capri). There are three complexes - like three separte resorts. There were golf carts all over to drive you between the complexes. When we got there we were in Nizuc and the rest of the wedding party were in Sunrise. We asked to transfer there and they were very accomodating. We were not able to use our resort credit to upgrade because of the switch but our room was fine. We were on the second floor and had a "garden view" but were still able to see the ocean. There were several restaurants to choose from. Breakfast was great. Lots of variety to choose from on the Buffets. We got room service for Breakfast and it was just OK. Somewhat disappointed in the fruit quality. Lunches were usually spent by the pool swim up bar & outdoor restaurant which was pretty good. Dinners were just average. The best dinner we had was at the Golf Course Restaurant. Also got room service late night and it was pretty good. We were able to use resort credits towards the spa and golf. Golf course was an 8 out of 10. The spa was nice, professional, good service. We also used resort credit toward a bottle of wine (that here in the states you can get for under $20) - it was $70 at the golf course restaurant. The wedding service we attended and reception after was beautiful and lots of fun. Seemed like they did a good job. The pools and grounds were beautiful. Lots of space to find your own corner to yourself. Drinks were a little on the weak side, but if you asked they'd add an extra shot. Overall, a good time, lots of fun, but not sure I'd go back to this resort. Like the smaller sized resorts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a golf cart to the restaurants at the golf course.

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zyklon Betty
Business
st louis
Jun 26, 2011

Not what it used to be...

Not what it used to be, the small touches are gone-the personal attention. Don't expect 5 star...or 4, or maybe 3 star food. Our biggest complaint. It was essentially old country buffet quality food at best, but for free...no real complaints. The pool closes at SEVEN PM!!! so be prepared for that let down. Watch leaving money on dressers as it will disappear and just remember to TIP!!! we saw at best 15-20% of people tipping. Come on!!!!! Thats what these people are living off of!! All together it was nice, but we won't return. We will look into other resorts first. All of the little complaints and changes are enough to add up to being disappointed at the change. If you've been before- prepare for let down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The flamingo mall has great souvenir shopping but BARGAIN!! plan on being able to pay 40-50% of what they tell you with just a little bit of bargaining!!! It's customary.. So why spend more than you have to.

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Dec 29, 2010

Great with a few big problems

This resort was great. Great food, AMAZING service. The customer service is incomparable to anywhere else and the staff really makes everyone feel welcomed and special. But, a few problems got in the way which were really annoying. First, in order to use the points that come with the package, you must sign up for events with an agent. BUT, that takes a very long time, especially because they have very limited openings. Also, there is a max of 150 points that could be used at the spa (basically equals 1 free massage). In order to make reservations for events for a party of 6, it took about two hours of talking with an agent, which is valuable time that could be spent elsewhere. The beach is gorgeous but the beach near the hotel zone is much prettier. A MAJOR problem that we had was the cleanliness of the hotel. There was this awful smell every time we walked to our hotel on the same path. At first we thought it was fertilizer. But, it was clearly a sewer problem. It smelled like feces which was extremely unappealing and Moon Palace really needs to do something about that problem. A touch of the scent was smelled (and tasted) in the hotel sink water as well. Also, the pillows and one blanket smelled like urine so we didn't use it. Although everything is organized, the cleanliness of the hotel was not very good at all. I absolutely hated the spa. Don't let the luxurious appearance of the spa fool you. They are extremely unexperienced. I've never gotten such a horrible manicure in my life. They don't cut your cuticles or anything. I got acrylic nails($50 dollars, waste of money), that came out looking horrible. The massage I got was not very good as well. It was extremely oily and the scent was overpowering I tried not to breathe at one point. Overall, the trip was okay. The food was great and customer service was good. But, I will definitely not be returning to moon palace for another trip to cancun. I can guarantee you another 5 star hotel will not have feces smell water and air with dirty sheets and a lousy spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top