$407 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

5 stars
Carretera Cancun-Chetumal KM 340, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
479 reviews
great vacation

Excellent. Staff went out of their way. Had a few minor hiccups but staff took care of everything. See full review

  • guest72581
  • Aug 2, 2014
Cancun Vacation

We stayed for 3 nights and had an excellent time! The hotel is close to the airport which was nice;... See full review

  • Cancun Crew
  • Aug 1, 2014
Posh Cancun resort along the Caribbean with Jacuzzi-outfitted rooms

The hotel is five miles from the airport and overlooks the Caribbean Sea. This luxurious property is punctuated by tropical foliage and flanked by an expansive, white sand beach. Rooms -- many of which overlook the shimmering, turquoise waters -- feature private, double Jacuzzis and balconies. A 27-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course and miniature golf course, plus eight outdoor pools -- including two kiddie pools -- provide options for all ages. 

At any of the Palace Resorts properties, guests are welcome to enjoy the facilities and restaurants of Beach Palace, Sun Palace, Playacar Palace, Isla Mujeres Palace and Cozumel Palace. Scheduled transportation is available at select resorts

Highlights
  • A 27-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course and mini golf course on the grounds
  • Luxurious rooms with private balconies and double Jacuzzis
  • Activities suited to all ages
Rooms

The property is divided into three sections, and there are eight different types of accommodations done up with white walls and sand-colored bedspreads and drapes. All feature private, double Jacuzzis and balconies and include one king or two double beds. There is also an iPod dock and DVD and CD players as well as 24-hour room service and wireless Internet. Guests receive two 25-minute massages at the beach spa, a private beach lounge chair with service and a pillow menu with nightly turndown service and petite fours. Guests can arrange one private, candlelit dinner at a select location during their stay. Golfers may want to check out the lavish, 1,296-square-foot, two-bedroom golf suites.

Dining

The all-inclusive Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort has 14 restaurants -- from Mexican to Italian, American and Asian. Margaritas and top-shelf wines and liquors are served from 12 bars, including six pool bars.

Recreation

A 27-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature golf course and mini golf course are augmented by eight outdoor pools -- including two kiddie pools -- and six Jacuzzis. There is a water sports marina. The landscape hosts a meditation garden, climbing tower, two fitness centers, a club for kids and a disco.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (10 minutes)
Attractions
  • Breathing Observation Bubble (5.5 mi./ 8.8 km)
  • Cancun Golf Club (6.6 mi/ 10.6 km)
  • Manchones Reef (8 mi/ 12.8 km)
Business
  • The Universal Ballroom has 55,850 square feet of flexible meeting space and can accommodate up to 5,000 attendees.
  • A second-floor venue has 36,000 square feet of conference space for up to 3,600 guests.
  • The 30-foot Galactic Ballroom hosts up to 3,000 people. There is a boardroom and business center.

Hotel Map

20.9876 -86.8302
Area served
Cancun, Mexico.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN), Approximate driving time is 10 minutes and distance is 8.5 km (5.25 mi).
Area description
The Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort is located 10 minutes from the airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive Rooms

Superior Deluxe Ocean View with Double Whirlpool and balcony/terrace
Each elegantly appointed guest room features;1 King bed or 2 double beds, In room Wine, Private Bath w/ shower Only. Screened terrace w/chairs and table. Seating Area. Liquor dispenser contains sodas, bottled water, juices % domestic beer.satellite TV.DVD Player, Ceiling fan , purified water. CHI bath amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital Safe (Laptop Size).Individually controlled A/C. Coffe Maker, Direct dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair dryer and straightener. Iron/ironing board. WiFi,24hrs Room Service and turndown service. non-smoking rooms available. Ocean View. Max Occupancy: 4 guests including children ages 4-17. a maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4 guests. 484 Sq.Ft
Superior Deluxe Garden View with Double Whirlpool and balcony/terrace
Each elegantly appointed guest room features;1 King bed or 2 double beds, In room Wine, Private Bath w/ shower Only. Screened terrace w/chairs and table. Seating Area. Liquor dispenser contains sodas, bottled water, juices % domestic beer.satellite TV.DVD Player, Ceiling fan , purified water. CHI bath amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital Safe (Laptop Size).Individually controlled A/C. Coffe Maker, Direct dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair dryer and straightener. Iron/ironing board. WiFi,24hrs Room Service and turndown service. non-smoking rooms available. Garden View. Max Occupancy: 4 guests including children ages 4-17. a maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4 guests. 484 Sq.Ft
Junior Suite Golf Course with Double Whirlpool and terrace
1 King bed, In room Wine, Private Bath w/ shower Only. Screened terrace w/chairs and table. Seating Area. Liquor dispenser contains sodas, bottled water, juices % domestic beer.satellite TV.DVD Player, Ceiling fan , purified water. CHI bath amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital Safe (Laptop Size).Individually controlled A/C. Coffe Maker, Direct dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair dryer and straightener. Iron/ironing board. WiFi,24hrs Room Service and turndown service. Golf cart included for personal use. All non-smoking rooms. Golf View. Max Occupancy: 2 adults. 411 Sq.Ft
Concierge Level With double Whirlpool
Rooms with Ocean view and King bed. Double Whirlpool. Private Bath w/ shower only. Balcony. Liquor dispenser contains premium, upgraded brands of liquor. Mini Bar contains sodas, bottled water & domestic beer. LCD TV w/ Satellite, DVD/CD Player. Purified Water. Chi Bath Amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Two (2) 25 Minute Massage at the Beach/Spa, Private Beach Lounge Chair Area with Service, Exclusive Beach Bag (one per room/per stay), Aromatherapy menu. Digital safe. Individually-Controlled A/C. Espresso/Coffee Maker. Direct Dial telephone. Alarm Clock/Radio/IPOD Dock. Professional Hair Dryer. Iron/ironing board. Wireless Internet. 24-Hour room service from select restaurant's menu. Private candlelight dinner at select locations (once per stay), Nightly Petit Fours, Pillow Menu & Nightly Turndown Service. Exclusive Concierge Phone Service, Private Check-in & Out/ Late Check-out & Early Check-In (subject to availability)
484 sq ft
Deluxe Superior Deluxe Resort View with Double Whirlpool and balcony/terrace
Each elegantly appointed guest room features;1 King bed or 2 double beds, In room Wine, Private Bath w/ shower Only. Screened terrace w/chairs and table. Seating Area. Liquor dispenser contains sodas, bottled water, juices % domestic beer.satellite TV.DVD Player, Ceiling fan , purified water. CHI bath amenities. Bathrobes & Slippers. Digital Safe (Laptop Size).Individually controlled A/C. Coffe Maker, Direct dial telephone, Alarm Clock, Hair dryer and straightener. Iron/ironing board. WiFi,24hrs Room Service and turndown service. non-smoking rooms available. Resort View. Max Occupancy: 4 guests including children ages 4-17. a maximum of 1 infant (ages 0-3) will be allowed to stay in the same room with 4 guests. 484 Sq.Ft

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 2.2 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 3.7 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 4.2 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 6 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 6.2 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 8.4 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 9.5 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 9.6 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 10.8 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 11.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 12 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 12.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From the state-of-the-art Universal Boardroom to our grand Galactic Ballroom, our convention facilities are ready to meet your expectations. And, our talented and dedicated sales and conference service staff will be standing by to fulfill each of your business and incentive needs. Our Executive Business Center offers complete professional services, including private offices.

Dining

Palapa Fragata
Poolside restaurant/bar Cuisine-Seafood
Lunch buffet International-Noon - 4:30 pm
Dinner buffet- 6:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Palapa Barracuda
Poolside restaurant/bar (Steak House)
Breakfast buffet International- 8:00 am - 11:00 am
Lunch buffet International- 11:30 am - 4:30 pm
Dinner a la carte- 6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Dress code for dinner- Casual, wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
El Manglar
Location- Central lobby
Cuisine- Italian (dinner)
Breakfast buffet International,6:30 am - 11:30 am
Lunch buffet Int'l.: 12:30 pm -4:00 pm
Dinner buffet: 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual, wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed
Bugambilias
Location- Central lobby Cuisine -Mexican Breakfast buffet: 6:45 am - 11:00 am
Lunch buffet: 12:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Dinner a la carte: 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual, wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Palapa Delfines
Poolside restaurant/bar (Grill)
Lunch a la carte- 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner buffet- 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code for dinner- Casual, wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
La Trattoria
Located in the Golf Course
Open Daily. Breakfast & lunch buffet. Italian cuisine - dinner a la carte.
La Gondola
Location- Adjacent to lobby Cuisine- Italian
Breakfast buffet International- 7:00 am - 11:30 am
Dinner buffet- 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code- Casual, wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Arrecifes
Location- Central lobby Cuisine- Brazilian (dinner)
Breakfast buffet International: 7:00 am - 11:30 am
Lunch buffet Int'l. 11:30 am - 5:00 pm
Dinner a la carte 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual, wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Palapa Pelicanos
Poolside restaurant/bar (Sushi)
Lunch Int'l buffet: 12:30 pm - 4:00 pm
Dinner a la carte: 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dress code: Casual, wet clothing or uncovered swimwear not allowed.
Bambu
Located in the Golf Course
Open Daily. Oriental cuisine - dinner a la carte.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (479)

Ratings and reviews for Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
479 out of 479
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed in Key West
lexington, tennessee
Dec 26, 2009

Bad in the middle of what could be GREA

I loved the spa & steam room. However, the hotel charged for things that were not supposed to be charged. It was quite a hassle getting it straightened out.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WindyCityHoosier
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Not Special

Although the staff was really friendly and wonderful, it's hard to make up for mediocre food and worn facilities. Although the grounds were beautiful, all the buildings have chipped or peeling paint (or paint that was not carefully applied, so you can see drips and splatters). We specifically booked this resort because of the family connecting rooms since we wanted to be able to put our kids to sleep early and still hang out and watch TV, etc. Interestingly, their full/double beds were very comfortable while our king was horribly hard and also missing part of the leg so it moved. The layout of the hallways with the tile floor make them echo so badly that anyone walking or talking softly sounds like they're in your room and yelling. Needless to say this isn't great for a restful vacation. Even the spa, although free with the resort credits, was nice on the surface until you realize you're relaxing in pool chairs prior to your service. Not very upscale. Overall, we paid a LOT of money and it was just an ok experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Asian restaurant in the Sunrise lobby had excellent food and service. Great sushi and cooked food. We though this was better overall than the Italian restaurant at the golf course.

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. MarkJ
Sacramento, CA
Jun 8, 2013

Promises elegance, falls short

Moon palace is great in some respects, but falls short overall. I'll start with the good and move to the bad. Good: The restaurants offer fantastic options and variety. The food is spectacular and we never had a bad meal. The pool areas are also amazing. There are plenty of options if you want sun, shade or both. Bad: Everything in the room. We stayed in the Nizuc section and most of the rooms seam to be in disrepair. When it rained, we literally had water dripping into our jacuzzi and down our walls. We changed rooms once due to being placed on the ground floor and in a high traffic area, so we decided that we didn't want to go through that hassel again. Housekeeping was spotty and we were never quite sure if we would have a hand towel, or bath towel missing. The room service menu was weak. There are very limited and very mundane options. It seems like they are doing everything they can to get you out of your room, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, until it is pouring rain for 70% of your stay. Finally, the back entrance into the lobby was located next to the sewage vents, so when it rains, you have to cover your nose and walk quickly through the area. Disgusting. Last words: If you decide to come to Moon Palace, I highly suggest you make sure that your reservation is for the "Sunrise" section of the resort. It is much newer, much nicer and better maintained than the rest of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike from El Paso
El Paso, TX
Aug 11, 2013

Very Disappointed

We have stayed here several times and have enjoyed the staff and amenities, howeve this time was absolutely terrible. We had $500 in resort credit and could not use it because everything was booked. We tried to book a massage and had to pull teeth to get a reservation at 8:00pm!!! I actually took three couples with me and they were unable to book anything! I went from wanting a membership to probably not ever going back! Staff was very rude. Maybe they had a bad few days, but in talking with other people I believe the feelings were mutual...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BooToMoon
NJ
Aug 6, 2011

Moon Palace has gone downhill!

Let me preface by saying I have been to Moon Palace previously, in 2007. That stay was amazing with great amenities and cuisine. Fast forward to July 2011 and you can see the economic downturn has hit this resort HARD! FOOD:The biggest concern was with the food. The meat/poultry is so overly salted it is unedible. The smell coming from the restaurants made me gag! My husband and I got sick on the third day of our stay (we think from a hamburger) and couldn't find any bland, unsalted foods to eat we actually went up to Cancun to find food. Because our stomachs were so upset, we also couldn't drink alcohol after the third day so that money was also a waste. We are both on antibiotics now, having gone to the GI upon our return. Still waiting the results of the testing, but is presumed bacteria and parasites from the food. OCEAN:The ocean was swimmable last time, this time you were not allowed in. Taking the bus up to Cancun was a must, and is so beautiful. We wish you could stay for more than 4 hours, we even paid to get a cab back one day since we wanted more time there. SPA:$300 for spa service included was nice! However, the massages are not really for the allotted time they say. For example, I timed my 50 minute massage and was done after only 40 minutes. Grounds: They are well kept. Signs of aging are obvious. Rooms: They are beginning to age as well. Grout lines very dirty in the rooms. We were woken up by a horrible smell one night, which was the AC burning out. We could barely breathe in the room. Take advantage of using points to upgrade your room closer to the lobby, we are glad we did! On my last trip in 2007 we had towel art waiting us everynight, I guess that was one of the cutbacks as this time we just got new towels placed on our bed. One day we told housekeeping not to come to our room as we kept it pretty neat and didn't want them with our personal belongings, only to come back twice that day to see they had cleaned, then later had turned down the bed even though we had the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door. The housekeepers also knock on your door(even with the sign) at 8 am asking to clean. BEFORE YOU GO: Print out your own resort map, the ones in the rooms are outdated and don't include the Moon Grand section. Also, make sure to book your spa and excursions upon arrival so you get optimal time slots. Take advantage of the photo session with your points!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food is very salty! Finding a healthy option is pretty impossible.

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kennard
Salida, Colorado
May 8, 2010

Not that great

The resort is nice, the food is ok but not the best that I have had, the resort staff go out of their way to serve you. The beach was very poor, covered with seaweed and little or no waves. It is more like a lake. It's best to stay at the hotel area in Cancun or Playacar if you want a nice beach, with seashells, etc. They really put the moves on you to buy a timeshare, lots of arm-twisting. Take lots of $1 bills for tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

All of the Yucatan attractions are great, plan on walking a great deal at the resort.

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Feb 16, 2011

Choose a different resort

This was my 7th trip to mexico and I was surprisingly disappointed with this hotel. The service was not all that great and on several instances they would tell us one thing and our friend who had another room something different. The staff seemed confused about rooms, points offered and general locations on their map of the hotel. The hotel was too big for the staff to know where anything was or how anything worked. A friend of mine also was charged for golf services that she did not sign up for. Somehow it was added to her room without her knowledge until the day of checkout. I was also disappointed in the food, everything seemed kind of repetitive where as the last few resorts I stayed at had phenomenal meals. The ocean and the beach were not the best either. Lots of seaweed and the ocean color was not as pretty as the cancun strip. We did have fun playing beach volleyball and the pools were gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The shows the hotel put on are pretty funny and entertaining.

Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
family from NJ
NJ
Jul 31, 2011

Service is great but not the food & room

Service was above average but the food was much below our expectations, our expectations being something on the mediocre level of Iberostar. Buffet selection is very limited and basic. For dinner I would recommend going to the Brazilian or the Caribbean. As for the the rooms, ones at Sunrise and Nizuk are very dated and smell their age. The grand is much nicer but far from most of the restaurants. They got the service right so they just need improve the food and the redo the older rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cdg
fl
Jul 25, 2011

Worst beach is whole Cancun/Riviera area

The hotel, the oms and all personel are great. The food could be better, specially the signature restaurants. The Beach is really bad...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Moon Palace Golf and Spa Resort All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Jun 14, 2011

Disappointing food

We were at the Moon Palace for a family wedding. It was a beautiful ceremony and I see the appeal for couples planning a wedding. From the standpoint of a vacationer, most of the restaurants were disappointing in the quality of food at the buffets or promptness of service for sit-down meals. We enjoyed putting our resort credits toward massages, jewelry, and tequila but chose not to go on any tours due to the hassle and restrictions of booking. Of the 4 all-inclusives where I've stayed, this was the least impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The oriental restaurant Momo no hana at Sunrise was excellent, as was los Caporales at Nizuc. Start here and do not waste your time with the dinner buffets, where food looks mass-produced and unappetizing.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search