$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Boulevard L.41, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHECCO27
Business
Wellington, FL, Stati Uniti
Oct 18, 2011

NICE FOR MY FAMILY

Good location, good quality food at Japanise and Argentina steak house, a little be expensive. Very clean and beautiful beach. The weather was not so good but I will back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raqui
Business
Geneva, Switzerland
Oct 18, 2011

Just a few things

Rosa in Las Ventanas and Eloy at the Front Desk were excellent staff members, very helpful. However, we encountered two staff members who need more training. One was at the Front Desk and one at the Information Desk. Eloy had made a copy of my passport to facilitate the changing of US dollars into pesos. When I approached the Front Desk during the second week of our stay in order to change money, just before setting off for a tour at 8 am, the clerk said he needed a copy of another page. When I said I was going to lodge a complaint, he first said he would change the money and when I walked away, he sent a bell boy to follow me and ask me my room number. My mistake was to talk to the staff in Spanish (I'm Swiss but I was born in Lima, Peru). I noticed that when US guests approached the staff and said jump, they said how high? Guests whether from Europe (as was our case, Mom is British) or from the US should be treated with the same courtesy and respect. Another incident involved someone manning the Information Desk. One evening we approached the Desk to request info re Hotel and Chinese restaurants. We were told we would have to pay if we went to one of the hotel restaurants. (We mentioned that we had already been to two of them). What did they think we would do? Walk out without paying? When info was given re a Chinese restaurant, which turned out to be excellent, we went twice, we were told it was for the locals and not for tourists. Locals have the same human right to dine where they please and so do tourists. Staff need to be cautious when referring to their fellow Mexicans. I was surprised that the Front Desk couldn't break a $100-bill and was so informed in a very discourteous manner. I was surprised that an American hotel wasn't able to comply with such a simple request. However, a curteous explanation would have been OK instead of trying to exert pressure to change the bill into pesos. Even when regulations dictate that the guest's requests cannot be complied with, a rude, arrogant answer is far from being the solution. The fee of $5 for the a usage of a computer in the Bussiness Center is far from being user friendly. Other Marriotts (Residence Inns for instance) don't charge and ask the guests to limit their use of the computers to 15 minutes. This is time enough to read your mail and print a boarding pass, for instance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the buses, they are frequent and drivers are very helpful. Go to the local markets, like Mercado 23, you can even have the heels on your shoes repaired there. Try some local food. It's far from being Taco Bell fare. Much of it is home made, prepared in clean surroundings and enriches your gourmet palate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beki
Business
Miami Beach, FL, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Love CasaMagna

Very good choice if you are going to spend your days exploring the Mayan ruins, underground cenotes, and all of the other adventures the area has to offer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pepper
Business
colorado
Nov 5, 2011

great location on the beach

We stayed just one night before our flight out. The place was deserted but the staff still treated us with professionalism and great attention. The location on the beach is great and it was nice there are restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fred's Restaurant across the street was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jayersgould
Business
Bay City, MI, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Beautiful Hotel, Great Location, Friendly Staff

The Marriott CasaMagna is located in the Hotel District of Cancun and has a wonderful pool and hot tub with poolside bar/food service. The hotel is beautiful and the staff works very hard to keep it spotless! Very clean and very friendly staff will do whatever they can to make your stay pleasant. Our room was a bit on the smaller side, but comfortable and quiet. I wish the rooms had coffeemakers, microwaves and refrigerators (it does have a minibar fridge, so you have to move some of that stuff out of the way if you want to use the fridge.) Other than that, it was a great bargain through Orb*tz and a high quality hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the bus to travel to local malls and restaurants. The cost is only 8 pesos (about 60 cents). It is fast and very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theel1
Business
Raleigh,NC
Nov 19, 2011

very nice inspite of one glitch...ants!

Overall the stay was very nice. We upgraded our room from the garden view to an ocean view for $29 per night. We woke up the first morning to ants on the floor and all over some of our luggage. We went down to tell the front desk and they promptly sent some one up to take of it. We woke up the 2nd morning to a few more and this time when we contacted the front desk they immediately offered to move us and upgrade us to their highest ocean view category. Very nice! From then on our stay was great! The staff was very nice and attentive to all of our needs. Would definitely recommend and would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 7, 2011

marriott cancun

The only disappointment (and strangeness) was that they claimed they didn't have any coffee makers available for our entire stay! Why don't they just go to Target and buy some coffee makers?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Savio's--great Italian across the street from the Marriott, complete with their own pet alligator!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Figgys
Business
Colorado
Dec 7, 2011

Great Hotel close to the action

My wife and I needed to get a few days off. I booked the Marriott CasaMagna and was delighted with the results. It was close to everything (clubs, restaurants, beaches, nightlife), and with an old world charm. Staff was courteous, attentive and looked to provide our every need. Though we had to pay an additional per night amount to face the beach and get a king sized bed, the room they gave us was worth every extra penny (small charge). Overlooked the beach and sea, and had a great and good-sized balcony to enjoy the goings-on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Tulum was great but not worth the guided tour. We drove for almost 2 hours. Upon getting there we had to pay for parking (not much). But the information booth gave us a confusing message where we paid ten times the entrance fee for a guided tour (very nice lady) but which wasn't worth it. Walk to the entrance and pay the $500 pesos to get in. Everything is explained on plaques in the site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cbk212
Business
New York, NY
Dec 16, 2011

Great Location! Great Value

When we first got there we were a little unhappy with the first room. All of the rooms have a "full" view of the ocean, but our first room also had a full view of the hotel next door (JW Marriott). We asked for an upgrade, and for an additional 29USD/night we were able to get a room with a FULL view of the ocean. After that everything was awesome. The staff was sooooooo helpful, and we felt very safe walking around. The food was a little more expensive then i would have figured (very close to NYC prices)...but in all i could not have asked for a better experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The luxury mall was not as cheap as they made it seem!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYADAV
Business
nashville, TN
Dec 28, 2011

great vacation hotel

perfect location, good restaurants, nice rooms. The beach access was wonderful..not crowded as the other all inclusive deals....walking distance for bus rides, food, convinience store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

mcDonald, dominos are near..thai restaurant at the hotel has tasty food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top