$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 18, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Boulevard L.41, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SweetpeaATL
Cancun Mexico
Dec 14, 2012

Great Experience

We had a great experience and the location was the best! They didn't have king size bed but the hotel upgraded us to an oceanview room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Vacation Traveler
Business
Simsbury, CT
Feb 27, 2011

A Family Paradise

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and we will return. The grounds are amazing, the buildings are open-air yet covered. The pool is great for children, at 4.5 ft. deep and sporting a volleyball net. Floating mats can be rented for the day. There is also a separate toddler pool. Adults, and kids, love the large jacuzzi. There are sufficient chairs but they could use a few more umbrellas. There are chairs on the beach as well, along with 40 or so palapas (Mexican umbrellas). The food at the pool is passable but not outstanding. The sandwiches sold in the small store inside the hotel are far better. Food and drinks are served pool-side and beach-side all day by friendly, efficient staff. La Capilla offers a large breakfast buffet daily, it includes pastries, breads, fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt, meats & cheeses, mexican specialties, sushi, and made to order omelets. Dinner is good but pricey. Champions is not worth visiting, the food is below par and expensive. Mikkado is nice, the food is good, the chefs are entertaining. Room Service is okay, we found it to be much better last year than this. They have just added Pizza to their menu in the store, you order and pick it up there, they said they will be adding it to Room Service once they've ramped up. The pizza was fantastic! The rooms are well appointed, with flat-screen TVs and comfortable beds. We stay in a 1-bedroom suite, which has a private bedroom, and a sofa-sleeper in the Living Area. The water pressure in the shower is great. The rooms do not have coffee makers, the store in the lobby sells coffee and tea all day long, along with an array of breakfast/lunch sandwiches, pastries, rolls, gelato & desserts. There is a 7-Eleven across the street; go there to purchase bottled water, soda, chips, etc. The prices are much lower than at the Hotel store. Also across the street is McDonalds, which we DON'T recommend; Aqua World, where you can do all kinds of tours and activities; and a not-to-be-missed restaurant named Savio's, which used to be La Dolce Vita. It has possibly the best Italian food I've ever tasted. We did the Jet Ski & Snorkel Tour via Aqua World. It's a 3-hour excursion, riding through the bay, out to the sea and snorkeling at the reef. The tour guide was great, there were many fish to be seen and the rental equipment was of decent quality. My husband also did a half-day fishing trip, during which they caught (and released) 3 sailfish and at least 10 30+lb amberjack. For a fun experience in dining visit Carlos & Charlie's. The food is good but the craziness is awesome! DO NOT visit Senor Frog's unless you enjoy loud music, so-so food and having tequila poured down your throat. Tourist Trap! If you're looking for adventure, choose the Selvatica Extremo Tour. It is rated #1 in Cancun and #3 in all of Mexico. Zip Lining, Tarzan Swinging, a Jeep Ride and Zip Lining into a cenote. An awesome 5-hour adventure that was worth every dime. The tour also includes a "light lunch", ours consisted of rice, beans & chips, and chicken with onions. Oddly, one of the best meals we had during the entire vacation! The gym is well stocked. Treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, weight machines & free-weights. Bring small bills with you, change is given only in Pesos. I can't say enough about this hotel. We befriended a first-time visiting family, they were as wowwed as we were and vowed they'd come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you arrive at the airport you will be approached by a "Transportation" person, who will ask if you need a cab. They will fill out the voucher you need to get a cab and will then attempt to sell you a visit to a time share. Cab fare from the airport is expensive, it is better to book transportation with your hotel, if possible. Cab fare TO the airport is inexpensive and will be the best way to return to the airport.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jan 16, 2011

Cancun

Overall it was nice. The hotel was very nice; however the beds were way too soft. The room's doors did not stop the noise from coming in from the hall or the room next to you. We would hear the noise all night long and made for some really bad nights of sleep. The restaurants were very nice we ate in almost all of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the bus. They have a great bus system.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jan 10, 2011

Another day in paradise

Breakfast was included. Would have paid for it. Other meals available as all inclusive but why bother with restaurants within walking distance. Good beach friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Berkeley
Business
Berkeley, CA
Jan 9, 2011

Berkeley

The hotel is very nice and cozy. Easy access to the beach. Very quiet room. Very clean. Nice view. What i didnt like is that you have to pay over 15$ for internet. Thats too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yoandjc
Business
new york
Jan 6, 2011

Beautiful hotel excellent food

wonderful trip. hotel is amazing. staff is so welcoming and make you feel relaxed. the beach is awesome. aminities are upscale for the price. 4 restaurants with extraordinary delicate and original meals. cancun clubs are close. nothing special to visit in cancun but Chichen Itza and Tulum pyramid are less than 2 hours drive. Playa Del Carmen is also a nice spot to hit during the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

For New year's eve we tried La Capilla Argentina the buffet was amazing at very fair price ($72)We also went to SaSi Thai the place is so romantic that we went back twice. Thai food is delicious and the chefdoes really care of clients. Staff is incredibly kind and helpful.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soling
Business
Moscow
Jan 6, 2011

Nice atmosphere

A nice week of relaxation after a tough year in January 2011 including a New year celebration. Comfortable and clean room, fantastic sea view, good restaurants in the hotel, a bit expencive but not more expencive than the restaurants around. Excellent bracfast, very quick and helpfull staff. The only complain - no robes and slippers in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 3, 2011

Sivley Vacation

The hotel was very nice and well maintained

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas,TX
Dec 29, 2010

CasaMagna is perfect for family vacation

We spent a lot of time right at the Hotel. CasaMagna is great place for families and kids. The kids loved the pool and the large hot tub. The Hotel is right on the beach and we were able to rent scuba gear, do para sailing and jet skis right there. Good Breakfast. Recommend getting Breakfast option as part of room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Dec 26, 2010

Cancun

Clean, convenient, nice service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cheynagal
Business
Irvine, CA
Nov 29, 2010

Thanksgiving holiday in Cancun

The hotel was very nice accommodations & right on the beach. It is nice that you can use their pool & also the JW Marriot's, right next door. Our hotel had the nicest sand on the beach. There is a bus stop on the street, right in front of the hotel, for easy access to downtown & other tourist attractions. Employees were all nice & helpful also. I had a delicious buffet breakfast included in my reservation. Nice that breakfast hours were 6:30-11:30am. No rush & it worked around my tour times. Delicious food at all the restaurants. A lot of variety. We had Thai, Argentina Steak House, Champion Sports Bar, plus the Southwest Restaurant at the JW Marriot next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

My nieces liked Wet & Wild Water Park the most! It had Dolphiaris, which is a dolphin interaction. The dolphin interaction was my favorite! It's expensive, but I think it was worth it. Heads-up. The interaction runs $100 & up per person & about $300 more for the Video DVD & all photos.

Back to menu Return to top