Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Boulevard L.41, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
254 reviews
Great getaway!

We loved our stay at the Marriott Casa Magna. We hardly ever left the hotel property. Our visit was... See full review

  • Erika O.
  • Jul 11, 2015
Girls Weekend

I stayed in this hotel about 2 weeks ago with a friend and it was amazing. As two females traveling... See full review

  • Lauren
  • Apr 6, 2015
Action-packed family resort in Cancun with beachfront setting

The six-story, U-shaped Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun welcomes families with a supervised club for children and complimentary family activities. The resort is located in the heart of the Cancun hotel zone and sports 219 yards of white sand beach. Garden, sunset or ocean-view rooms with balconies or patios are private respites. Thatched-roof palapas, a fitness center and spa provide engaging alternatives. There is an optional all-inclusive plan.

Guest rooms at the Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun are furnished with rattan chairs and have one king or two double beds. Expect balconies or patios that face the tropical grounds or ocean and pool. Pink marble bathrooms, CD clock radios, 32-inch flat-screen televisions, minibars and in-room safes round out the amenities. Suites are more spacious and feature separate living rooms with a pullout sofa bed. Wireless Internet access is available throughout the resort (fees apply).

Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun Rooms

Garden View Room
Guest room with one king bed or two double beds with a view of the resort grounds: balcony, computer/fax data port, mini-bar and in-room safe. 422.15 Square Feet
Ocean View Room
Guest room with one king bed or two double beds with an ocean view: balcony, computer/fax data port, mini-bar and in-room safe. 422.15 Square Feet
Premium Oceanfront Room
Guest room with two double beds with a panoramic ocean view, located directly over the white-sand beach with balcony, computer/fax data port, mini-bar and in-room safe. 422.15 Square Feet

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities

Hotel Map

21.0859 -86.7706
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
(CUN)Cancun International Airport
Area description
The Marriott CasaMagna Cancun is located on Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula on a beautiful stretch of Caribbean beach in the heart of Cancun's hotel district. The resort is two miles south of Cancun's convention center and shopping district and approximately a two-hour drive from several historic Mayan ruin sites and ecological parks. The CasaMagna Marriott is 10 miles from the Cancun International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Avenida Kukulkan: 0.8 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 1.6 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.8 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 4 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 4.3 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 4.5 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 4.6 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 5.3 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 5.8 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 6.3 mi

Dining

Champions Sports Bar and Restaurant
Champions is the best restaurant/sports bar in Cancun, whose concept combines casual dining, sports and excellent music. Its excellent design enables us to cater to groups large and small, wanting an unforgettable experience. We feature 32 television monitors, a 100" large screen viewing, 2 billiards tables, dance floor, our cheer-leaders offering excellent service, huge sports memorabilia display, live DJ and the best sporting events. Hours: 12:00 noon 2:00 am
Bahia Restaurant
Located in front of the beach, guests can enjoy traditional Mexican fare, seafood along with hamburgers and Hot Dogs, served in a great Caribbean setting. Drink service is available from the beach. Hours: 9:00am - 5:00pm
La Capilla Argentina Steakhouse
La Capilla Argentina is a casual family restaurant, which offers a Mexican style buffet for breakfast with a wide variety of dishes to enjoy. At night, our Steakhouse offers a great selection of the finest Angus and Choice quality cuts of imported beef. Imagine one of our enormous juicy steaks accompanied with the best Argentinean condiments. All our recipes have authentic Argentinean flavors that we are sure you will enjoy. You'll find a great selection of entres, side dishes and dishes to share. Breakfast Hours: 6:30am - 11:30am Dinner Hours: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Sasi Thai
Unique Thai specialties and cocktails, delight your sense with new flavors. Dinner only.
Mikado
Certainly you have always wanted to visit the Orient and find out its hidden secrets. Mikado offers you Surely you've always wanted to visit the Far East and discover its most hidden secrets. Mikado makes this dream come true! Our great Japanese and Thai regional recipes will tantalize all your senses. Experience the show that our chefs will put on for you as they prepare your favorite meals at our Teppan-Yaki tables. We also have tables for sushi and Thai dining. Hours: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Lobby Bar Las Ventana
Every evening you can enjoy a large menu of the highest quality drinks made for you while you listen to extraordinary melodies played by our piano man For the cigar lovers, enjoy the aroma that comes from our selected cigars made in front of you, where you can learn how our torcedores give shape to our millenary tobacco. Hours: 5:00pm - 12:00pm
La Isla Pool Bar
From the traditional hamburger to incredible designed recipes they are part of the big experience Our bartenders have used all their creativity to make the best drinks in town, for that reason you can not leave without tasting our traditional Margaritas or if you are more demanding, ask for our secret recipes. Open from 9:00am - 6:00pm (food service from 10:30am - 5:00pm)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 11,000 total square feet of flexible function space, including outdoor and patio areas. Elegant 8,712-square-foot Maya Ballroom dividing into eight sections, and accommodating 1,100 for receptions, 708 for banquets. Additional meeting rooms totaling 2,700 square feet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (254)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
254 out of 254
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arizona Nora
Business
Tempe, Arizona
Jul 26, 2010

Great family vacation

Amazing family vacation! The hotel is beautiful and immaculately maintained. Staff are friendly, helpful and professional. Location is absolutely beautiful, with the beach easily accessible, uncrowded and clean. The bus fare into town is less than a dollar per person, and buses run regularly throughout the day. We never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a bus, whether at 7am or 11pm. We participated in numerous tourist activities, including the Jungle Tour at Aqua World (a favorite featuring driving/riding a wave-runner and snorkeling), zip line and horseback riding through Extreme Adventure (lots of fun!) and visits to Chichen Itza, Isla Mujeres, and Tulum. The guided tours for our visits to Chichen Itza and Tulum made the experience incredibly informative and meaningful. The visit to Chichen Itza is best during an overcast or even rainy day because it gets very hot when sunny. We got lucky and it rained during our visit, so we enjoyed it thoroughly, thanks to the coolness it brought...the $10 umbrella and $3 ponchos we purchased at the entrance helped too. We visited Tulum on a sunny day, and though it was hot and humid, we were able to enjoy the beach at this site all the more. Be sure to use bug repellent for this visit! You'll also need it if you go horseback riding in the jungle, which I would also recommend. We got to take the horses into the water for a swim in a cenote! The trip to Isla Mujeres entailed a ferry ride to the island where we went snorkeling again and enjoyed a bit of shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The prices in Cancun and Isla Mujeres are high, so don't expect huge bargains. Offer half the initial asking price at the markets, and see what the vendors come down to. I didn't mind paying full price for handmade items made by individual street vendors themselves if it was cheaper than what I might pay at home, though they also usually price things higher than the cost they're willing to sell. Best deals I found were handmade bracelets ($1 each) and purses (under $10 each, varying by size...and vendor). Worst deal I found was water bottles at the hotel and airport for $6 per small bottle! And I thought Disneyland was expensive!

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Jul 25, 2010

Great Hotel

As a family we really enjoy our stay at this Marriott. The price was well worth it. the staff and services were icredible and we would gladly recommend others to stay here as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Never again Cancun
Business
Eastern US
Jul 23, 2010

Wonderful Hotel

This Hotel was wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KRISTYRAMIREZ
Business
PONCE,PUERTO RICO
Jul 16, 2010

AMAZING PLACE TO VISIT

CANCÚN IS AN AMAZING PLACE TO SPEND YOUR VACATION. THE HOTEL IS BEAUTIFUL, STAFF WAS FRIENDLY AND WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO HELP US WHEN NEEDED. WHILE IN CANCÚN, TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE BUS, IT´S SAFE AND CHEAP. ACTUALLY, WE ALSO TOOK A BUS TO GO TO PLAYA DEL CARMEN FOR LESS THAN $6.00 DOLLARS ROUNDTRIP AND TO COCROCUN (INTERACTIVE CROCODILE FARM) FOR LESS THAN $2.00 DOLLARS. VISIT XCARET, CHICHÉN ITZÁ, ISLA MUJERES AND MARKET 28. ALSO, TAKE A FEW MINUTES AND GO TO WALMART AND GET YOUR WATER AND SNACKS. WE WENT THE FIRST DAY WE WERE THERE BY BUS AND RETURN IN TAXI (CHARGE US $10.00 DOLLARS, NOT BAD AT ALL). BE AWARE THAT THE MINIMUM WAGE IN MÉXICO IS APPROX. $4.00 DOLLARS PER 8 HOURS A DAY, SO TIP IS EXPECTED AND DEFINITELY MOST OF THEM DESERVE IT. ALSO VISIT LA DESTILERÍA REST. THEY OFFER A TOUR($8.00 DOLLARS WITH 3 SHOTS OF TEQUILA AND MARGARITA INCLUDED) SHOWING YOU THE PROCESS OF MAKING TEQUILA. REQUEST ANDRES, HE IS THE BEST TOUR GUIDE. LOOK FOR THE TOURS ONLINE, COMPARE PRICES BUT DON´T COMMIT TO BUY UNTIL YOU ARRIVE THEY, HOWEVER BE AWARE OF THE TIMESHARE REPRESENTATIVES, YOU WILL FIND THEM EVERYWHERE (NOT AT CASA MAGNA HOTEL THOUGH). BOOK YOUR TRANSPORTATION AHEAD OF TIME, ROUNDTRIP IF POSSIBLE. WE USED MYCANCUNTOURS.COM ONLY ONE WAY BECAUSE WE WANTED TO KNOW IF THEY WERE GOOD. THE SERVICE WAS GREAT, THEY WERE ONTIME, HOWEVER WE WERE NOT ABLE TO RESERVE A VAN WITH THEM TO RETURN AND WE ENDED UP PAYING A TAXI THAT CHARGED US $47.00 DOLLARS (WE ONLY PAID $24 WITH THE OTHER COMPANY). OVERALL, CANCÚN IS A GREAT PLACE ANY KIND OF VACATIONING, WILL DEFINITELY RETURN THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

TAKE THE BUS, ONLY 7.5 PESOS (AROUND 65 CENTS). VERY SAFE AND RUNS 24 HRS A DAY. BRING A LOT OF SINGLES FOR TIPPING, BECAUSE IN MEXICO THEY WON´T EXCHANGE DOLLARS FOR DOLLARS, ONLY CHANGE DOLLARS TO PESOS. VISIT CROCOCUN, AN INTERACTIVE FARM FOR LESS THAN $25 DOLLARS.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EASshing
Business
nyc
Jul 13, 2010

A-MAZING

THE HOTEL WAS AMAZING. We did a little bit of everything. Ate at every restaurant (delicious and decently priced), swam in the pool, enjoyed the pool bar, laid on the beach, shopped in their gift stores, used their business center and even booked a package through their on-site travel agent. Being used to the US, there are some things that are a little different, like when requesting a late checkout you need to get a different keycard, etc etc but the staff is pretty informative and let's you know what you need to do. HIGHLY RECOMMEND: getting the breakfast included. it was the best breakfast bar i've ever experienced!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
napa ca.
Jul 12, 2010

family vacation

an excelent place for people to relax

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PJG
Business
Fremont, CA
Jul 10, 2010

Mexican Caribbean

The time in the pool was great, the staff had some interesting fun games to keep everyone engaged (like finding a marked tote in the bottom of the pool and exchanging for a surprise gift) at the same time it was a bit like "background noise" and you didn't really have to pay attention to. The breakfast buffet was perfect, and had all sorts of options - our rate included the treat and we wouldn't have it any other way. The hotel restaurants were pretty good, the thai being surprisingly good. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel, so you are free to go to other restaurants and bars, as they are plenty. The lobby is luxurious and the staff is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Try getting your tours downtown, they all will pick you up in your hotel and you will end up paying 50% less. Or go downtown to the ADO bus station (take the R1 bus in front of the hotel) and make your way to Playa del Carmen (to stroll there or to get the ferry to Cozumel for the day). It will cost you much less than what the tours charge, even the ones you get downtown.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alington, VA
Jul 8, 2010

Great Stay

We had a great stay at Marriott. We went to different day-trips everyday, so didn't spend much time during the day time; except the last day before we caught the fleight back. So, it was quiet and comfortable in the mornings and evenings. The hotel was designed really nicely -- simple but tasteful, valuing guests' comfort, instead of being overly flushy. We had breakfast at the hotel every morning. The service was excellent. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jul 6, 2010

Go to Punta Cana instead!

I was not impressed by Casa Magna. The hotel was clean and overall we received good service, but the hotel is starting to show its age. The pool bar was closed "under remodeling" and the closest bar/food place closed at 5PM. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean, but the beach was just pretty to look at but not good for going in the water. The waves are strong and the beach has a few drops, not very safe in our opinion. Prices in the hotel were very expensive for everything. We wanted to get massages but the prices were just unaffordable. Not sure I'll go to Cancun again, Punta Cana is by far a better choice for a beach vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Playa del Carmen for a day trip, now that's a beach area worth visiting and it is very close (about 45 minutes each way). You can also take a short ferry to Cozumel from Playa del Carmen if you want a little adventure on your trip (40 minutes each way). The Mayan ruins of chichen itza are also worth the drive which is about 2 1/2 hours each way from Cancun

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Collierville, TN
Jul 5, 2010

The good and not so good

The hotel is 4 star and very nice. I like the pool. However I find they never cleaned my bathtub well during my stay (6 days). Also, it is hard to control the shower temperature in my room, it is either too cold or too hot. It is very hard to get the temperature right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top