$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

4 stars
Kukulcan Boulevard L.41, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
380 reviews
Great Get a way

This was our second stay at the Marriott Casa.Magna. The location of the hotel is the best. The... See full review

  • birthday B
  • Jul 29, 2014
Wonderful Getaway!

The hotel was perfect! It was so much hotel for the value. The pool was great and the beach was... See full review

  • Beanie87
  • May 14, 2014
Action-packed family resort in Cancun with beachfront setting

The six-story, U-shaped Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun welcomes families with a supervised club for children and complimentary family activities. The resort is located in the heart of the Cancun hotel zone and sports 219 yards of white sand beach. Garden, sunset or ocean-view rooms with balconies or patios are private respites. Thatched-roof palapas, a fitness center and spa provide engaging alternatives. There is an optional all-inclusive plan.

 

Highlights
  • Spa with Vichy showers, massage and body treatments, hot and cold tubs and relaxation lounges
  • Complimentary family activities, from bingo to cooking classes, as well as a supervised club for kids
  • Signing privileges at the adjacent JW Marriott Cancun Resort and Spa and use of its business center
Rooms

Guest rooms at the Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun are furnished with rattan chairs and have one king or two double beds. Expect balconies or patios that face the tropical grounds or ocean and pool. Pink marble bathrooms, CD clock radios, 32-inch flat-screen televisions, minibars and in-room safes round out the amenities. Suites are more spacious and feature separate living rooms with a pullout sofa bed. Wireless Internet access is available throughout the resort (fees apply).

Features

This gracious getaway caters to families with countless activities -- from pool aerobics to beach volleyball and cooking classes -- as well a club for children. Guests have access to a spa, sauna, fitness pool, two lit tennis courts, five restaurants, a snack bar, deli and bars.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • AquaWorld (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Breathing Observation Bubble (2 mi/3.2 km)

 

Business
  • More than 11,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including outdoor and patio function areas
  • An elegant 8,712-square-foot ballroom accommodating 1,100 for receptions and 708 for banquets

Hotel Map

21.0859 -86.7706
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
(CUN)Cancun International Airport
Area description
The Marriott CasaMagna Cancun is located on Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula on a beautiful stretch of Caribbean beach in the heart of Cancun's hotel district. The resort is two miles south of Cancun's convention center and shopping district and approximately a two-hour drive from several historic Mayan ruin sites and ecological parks. The CasaMagna Marriott is 10 miles from the Cancun International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun Rooms

Premium Oceanfront Room
Guest room with two double beds with a panoramic ocean view, located directly over the white-sand beach with balcony, computer/fax data port, mini-bar and in-room safe. 422.15 Square Feet
Garden View Room
Guest room with one king bed or two double beds with a view of the resort grounds: balcony, computer/fax data port, mini-bar and in-room safe. 422.15 Square Feet
Ocean View Room
Guest room with one king bed or two double beds with an ocean view: balcony, computer/fax data port, mini-bar and in-room safe. 422.15 Square Feet

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Avenida Kukulkan: 0.8 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 1.6 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.7 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.8 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 1.9 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 4 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 4.3 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 4.5 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 4.6 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 5.3 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 5.8 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 6.3 mi

Dining

Champions Sports Bar and Restaurant
Champions is the best restaurant/sports bar in Cancun, whose concept combines casual dining, sports and excellent music. Its excellent design enables us to cater to groups large and small, wanting an unforgettable experience. We feature 32 television monitors, a 100" large screen viewing, 2 billiards tables, dance floor, our cheer-leaders offering excellent service, huge sports memorabilia display, live DJ and the best sporting events. Hours: 12:00 noon 2:00 am
Bahia Restaurant
Located in front of the beach, guests can enjoy traditional Mexican fare, seafood along with hamburgers and Hot Dogs, served in a great Caribbean setting. Drink service is available from the beach. Hours: 9:00am - 5:00pm
La Capilla Argentina Steakhouse
La Capilla Argentina is a casual family restaurant, which offers a Mexican style buffet for breakfast with a wide variety of dishes to enjoy. At night, our Steakhouse offers a great selection of the finest Angus and Choice quality cuts of imported beef. Imagine one of our enormous juicy steaks accompanied with the best Argentinean condiments. All our recipes have authentic Argentinean flavors that we are sure you will enjoy. You'll find a great selection of entres, side dishes and dishes to share. Breakfast Hours: 6:30am - 11:30am Dinner Hours: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Sasi Thai
Unique Thai specialties and cocktails, delight your sense with new flavors. Dinner only.
Mikado
Certainly you have always wanted to visit the Orient and find out its hidden secrets. Mikado offers you Surely you've always wanted to visit the Far East and discover its most hidden secrets. Mikado makes this dream come true! Our great Japanese and Thai regional recipes will tantalize all your senses. Experience the show that our chefs will put on for you as they prepare your favorite meals at our Teppan-Yaki tables. We also have tables for sushi and Thai dining. Hours: 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Lobby Bar Las Ventana
Every evening you can enjoy a large menu of the highest quality drinks made for you while you listen to extraordinary melodies played by our piano man For the cigar lovers, enjoy the aroma that comes from our selected cigars made in front of you, where you can learn how our torcedores give shape to our millenary tobacco. Hours: 5:00pm - 12:00pm
La Isla Pool Bar
From the traditional hamburger to incredible designed recipes they are part of the big experience Our bartenders have used all their creativity to make the best drinks in town, for that reason you can not leave without tasting our traditional Margaritas or if you are more demanding, ask for our secret recipes. Open from 9:00am - 6:00pm (food service from 10:30am - 5:00pm)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 11,000 total square feet of flexible function space, including outdoor and patio areas. Elegant 8,712-square-foot Maya Ballroom dividing into eight sections, and accommodating 1,100 for receptions, 708 for banquets. Additional meeting rooms totaling 2,700 square feet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (380)

Ratings and reviews for Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
380 out of 380
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, New York.
Mar 5, 2011

Beautiful property

Great location and beautiful property!The staff were friendly and helpful.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, New York.
Mar 5, 2011

Beautiful property

Great location and beautiful property!The staff were friendly and helpful.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy and Mike
Boston, MA
Feb 28, 2011

Simply wonderful

The hotel was stunning and the views from the room to the beach were beautiful (The best part was sleeping with the balcony doors open to let in the fresh breeze - not something you can do in February where we come from!) We had breakfast included in our package and it was a great deal since the buffet breakfast runs about $25 per person. It had everything you could possibly want, including omelets, french toast, pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, bagels and pastries of all kinds, Mexican soups, sushi, salman, fresh fruit, cheeses and cold cuts, Mexican hot chocolate (delicious!), quesadillas, fried bananas, chips, salsa and guacamole, a variety of different Mexican dishes (pork, chicken, tamales, etc) and various juices. We also ate one night at Sasi (their Thai restuarant) and at Sedona Grill (the JW Mariott restaurant right next door). Both were excellent although pricey (That said, you can pick up 15% off coupons from the travel agent located in the hotel lobby). We also booked a few day trips through the onsite travel agency- a day trip to Chinchen Itza (highly recommend this) and a 2.5 hour jungle cruise on the lagoon across the street from the hotel. We got to drive private motor boats that took us snorkeling. We took our 4 1/2 year old son with us and he loved everything (except the snorkeling). He REALLY loved the pool and was in it all day. He claims he liked this vacation even better than Disney World! We also took a short cab ride down to La Isla Shopping center, which is very nice and offers an array of shops and some lower price dining options. It's about a $10 cab ride from the hotel. Another thing we would recommend is spending a day at Isla Mujeres. The port is about a $15 cab ride from the hotel and the round-trip cost of the boat ride over to the island is $15 per adult. We went because we heard the ocean was much calmer over there and it truly was. We went to Playa Norte and our son was able to swim in the ocean the whole day (as opposed to the hotel, where the waves can be pretty rough). Another plus is that the cost of drinks and food at the island was much cheaper than at the hotel. You can use the lounge chairs and umbrellas of the various restaurants located on the beach in exchange for buying food/drinks from them. It was a bargain! We'll end by saying the service at the hotel was wonderful and everyone was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. (They are particularly nice to children). All in all, we had a truly wonderful vacation, highly recommend this hotel and Cancun in general, and can't wait to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to take in some mariachi music while dining, check out El Mortero. It's definitely touristy, but very fun.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy and Mike
Boston, MA
Feb 28, 2011

Simply wonderful

The hotel was stunning and the views from the room to the beach were beautiful (The best part was sleeping with the balcony doors open to let in the fresh breeze - not something you can do in February where we come from!) We had breakfast included in our package and it was a great deal since the buffet breakfast runs about $25 per person. It had everything you could possibly want, including omelets, french toast, pancakes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, bagels and pastries of all kinds, Mexican soups, sushi, salman, fresh fruit, cheeses and cold cuts, Mexican hot chocolate (delicious!), quesadillas, fried bananas, chips, salsa and guacamole, a variety of different Mexican dishes (pork, chicken, tamales, etc) and various juices. We also ate one night at Sasi (their Thai restuarant) and at Sedona Grill (the JW Mariott restaurant right next door). Both were excellent although pricey (That said, you can pick up 15% off coupons from the travel agent located in the hotel lobby). We also booked a few day trips through the onsite travel agency- a day trip to Chinchen Itza (highly recommend this) and a 2.5 hour jungle cruise on the lagoon across the street from the hotel. We got to drive private motor boats that took us snorkeling. We took our 4 1/2 year old son with us and he loved everything (except the snorkeling). He REALLY loved the pool and was in it all day. He claims he liked this vacation even better than Disney World! We also took a short cab ride down to La Isla Shopping center, which is very nice and offers an array of shops and some lower price dining options. It's about a $10 cab ride from the hotel. Another thing we would recommend is spending a day at Isla Mujeres. The port is about a $15 cab ride from the hotel and the round-trip cost of the boat ride over to the island is $15 per adult. We went because we heard the ocean was much calmer over there and it truly was. We went to Playa Norte and our son was able to swim in the ocean the whole day (as opposed to the hotel, where the waves can be pretty rough). Another plus is that the cost of drinks and food at the island was much cheaper than at the hotel. You can use the lounge chairs and umbrellas of the various restaurants located on the beach in exchange for buying food/drinks from them. It was a bargain! We'll end by saying the service at the hotel was wonderful and everyone was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. (They are particularly nice to children). All in all, we had a truly wonderful vacation, highly recommend this hotel and Cancun in general, and can't wait to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to take in some mariachi music while dining, check out El Mortero. It's definitely touristy, but very fun.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Vacation Traveler
Simsbury, CT
Feb 27, 2011

A Family Paradise

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and we will return. The grounds are amazing, the buildings are open-air yet covered. The pool is great for children, at 4.5 ft. deep and sporting a volleyball net. Floating mats can be rented for the day. There is also a separate toddler pool. Adults, and kids, love the large jacuzzi. There are sufficient chairs but they could use a few more umbrellas. There are chairs on the beach as well, along with 40 or so palapas (Mexican umbrellas). The food at the pool is passable but not outstanding. The sandwiches sold in the small store inside the hotel are far better. Food and drinks are served pool-side and beach-side all day by friendly, efficient staff. La Capilla offers a large breakfast buffet daily, it includes pastries, breads, fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt, meats & cheeses, mexican specialties, sushi, and made to order omelets. Dinner is good but pricey. Champions is not worth visiting, the food is below par and expensive. Mikkado is nice, the food is good, the chefs are entertaining. Room Service is okay, we found it to be much better last year than this. They have just added Pizza to their menu in the store, you order and pick it up there, they said they will be adding it to Room Service once they've ramped up. The pizza was fantastic! The rooms are well appointed, with flat-screen TVs and comfortable beds. We stay in a 1-bedroom suite, which has a private bedroom, and a sofa-sleeper in the Living Area. The water pressure in the shower is great. The rooms do not have coffee makers, the store in the lobby sells coffee and tea all day long, along with an array of breakfast/lunch sandwiches, pastries, rolls, gelato & desserts. There is a 7-Eleven across the street; go there to purchase bottled water, soda, chips, etc. The prices are much lower than at the Hotel store. Also across the street is McDonalds, which we DON'T recommend; Aqua World, where you can do all kinds of tours and activities; and a not-to-be-missed restaurant named Savio's, which used to be La Dolce Vita. It has possibly the best Italian food I've ever tasted. We did the Jet Ski & Snorkel Tour via Aqua World. It's a 3-hour excursion, riding through the bay, out to the sea and snorkeling at the reef. The tour guide was great, there were many fish to be seen and the rental equipment was of decent quality. My husband also did a half-day fishing trip, during which they caught (and released) 3 sailfish and at least 10 30+lb amberjack. For a fun experience in dining visit Carlos & Charlie's. The food is good but the craziness is awesome! DO NOT visit Senor Frog's unless you enjoy loud music, so-so food and having tequila poured down your throat. Tourist Trap! If you're looking for adventure, choose the Selvatica Extremo Tour. It is rated #1 in Cancun and #3 in all of Mexico. Zip Lining, Tarzan Swinging, a Jeep Ride and Zip Lining into a cenote. An awesome 5-hour adventure that was worth every dime. The tour also includes a "light lunch", ours consisted of rice, beans & chips, and chicken with onions. Oddly, one of the best meals we had during the entire vacation! The gym is well stocked. Treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, weight machines & free-weights. Bring small bills with you, change is given only in Pesos. I can't say enough about this hotel. We befriended a first-time visiting family, they were as wowwed as we were and vowed they'd come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you arrive at the airport you will be approached by a "Transportation" person, who will ask if you need a cab. They will fill out the voucher you need to get a cab and will then attempt to sell you a visit to a time share. Cab fare from the airport is expensive, it is better to book transportation with your hotel, if possible. Cab fare TO the airport is inexpensive and will be the best way to return to the airport.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Vacation Traveler
Simsbury, CT
Feb 27, 2011

A Family Paradise

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and we will return. The grounds are amazing, the buildings are open-air yet covered. The pool is great for children, at 4.5 ft. deep and sporting a volleyball net. Floating mats can be rented for the day. There is also a separate toddler pool. Adults, and kids, love the large jacuzzi. There are sufficient chairs but they could use a few more umbrellas. There are chairs on the beach as well, along with 40 or so palapas (Mexican umbrellas). The food at the pool is passable but not outstanding. The sandwiches sold in the small store inside the hotel are far better. Food and drinks are served pool-side and beach-side all day by friendly, efficient staff. La Capilla offers a large breakfast buffet daily, it includes pastries, breads, fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt, meats & cheeses, mexican specialties, sushi, and made to order omelets. Dinner is good but pricey. Champions is not worth visiting, the food is below par and expensive. Mikkado is nice, the food is good, the chefs are entertaining. Room Service is okay, we found it to be much better last year than this. They have just added Pizza to their menu in the store, you order and pick it up there, they said they will be adding it to Room Service once they've ramped up. The pizza was fantastic! The rooms are well appointed, with flat-screen TVs and comfortable beds. We stay in a 1-bedroom suite, which has a private bedroom, and a sofa-sleeper in the Living Area. The water pressure in the shower is great. The rooms do not have coffee makers, the store in the lobby sells coffee and tea all day long, along with an array of breakfast/lunch sandwiches, pastries, rolls, gelato & desserts. There is a 7-Eleven across the street; go there to purchase bottled water, soda, chips, etc. The prices are much lower than at the Hotel store. Also across the street is McDonalds, which we DON'T recommend; Aqua World, where you can do all kinds of tours and activities; and a not-to-be-missed restaurant named Savio's, which used to be La Dolce Vita. It has possibly the best Italian food I've ever tasted. We did the Jet Ski & Snorkel Tour via Aqua World. It's a 3-hour excursion, riding through the bay, out to the sea and snorkeling at the reef. The tour guide was great, there were many fish to be seen and the rental equipment was of decent quality. My husband also did a half-day fishing trip, during which they caught (and released) 3 sailfish and at least 10 30+lb amberjack. For a fun experience in dining visit Carlos & Charlie's. The food is good but the craziness is awesome! DO NOT visit Senor Frog's unless you enjoy loud music, so-so food and having tequila poured down your throat. Tourist Trap! If you're looking for adventure, choose the Selvatica Extremo Tour. It is rated #1 in Cancun and #3 in all of Mexico. Zip Lining, Tarzan Swinging, a Jeep Ride and Zip Lining into a cenote. An awesome 5-hour adventure that was worth every dime. The tour also includes a "light lunch", ours consisted of rice, beans & chips, and chicken with onions. Oddly, one of the best meals we had during the entire vacation! The gym is well stocked. Treadmills, ellipticals, bikes, weight machines & free-weights. Bring small bills with you, change is given only in Pesos. I can't say enough about this hotel. We befriended a first-time visiting family, they were as wowwed as we were and vowed they'd come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When you arrive at the airport you will be approached by a "Transportation" person, who will ask if you need a cab. They will fill out the voucher you need to get a cab and will then attempt to sell you a visit to a time share. Cab fare from the airport is expensive, it is better to book transportation with your hotel, if possible. Cab fare TO the airport is inexpensive and will be the best way to return to the airport.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Jan 16, 2011

Cancun

Overall it was nice. The hotel was very nice; however the beds were way too soft. The room's doors did not stop the noise from coming in from the hall or the room next to you. We would hear the noise all night long and made for some really bad nights of sleep. The restaurants were very nice we ate in almost all of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the bus. They have a great bus system.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Jan 16, 2011

Cancun

Overall it was nice. The hotel was very nice; however the beds were way too soft. The room's doors did not stop the noise from coming in from the hall or the room next to you. We would hear the noise all night long and made for some really bad nights of sleep. The restaurants were very nice we ate in almost all of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the bus. They have a great bus system.

Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jan 10, 2011

Another day in paradise

Breakfast was included. Would have paid for it. Other meals available as all inclusive but why bother with restaurants within walking distance. Good beach friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jan 10, 2011

Another day in paradise

Breakfast was included. Would have paid for it. Other meals available as all inclusive but why bother with restaurants within walking distance. Good beach friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top