$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

4 stars
View map of Kukulcan Boulevard L.41, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobbieBobby
Bayside, Queens, NY, USA
Dec 31, 2012

Excellent Hotel

This was an excellent hotel and a wonderful staff. Alberto in particular was very helpful in getting us dinner reservations and making sure that everything went smoothly. He is a real asset.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an Oxxo store nearby for coffee and snack items nearby. There is also a McDonalds and a Papa John's Pizza within easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MDFE
Business
Clarksville, Tennessee
Jul 9, 2012

A Place to Spend Your Money and be Pampered

This hotel was our first 4 star experience. If you have a lot of money to blow and want people to wait on you hand and foot, this is the place for you. It is American owned and located in the hotel zone, which is basically a long island that consists of hotels, American style food, and expensive name brand stores. If you want to enjoy Cancun by experiencing the local people, food and events, you should look into a hotel downtown or at least a Mexican owned hotel. Visually, the hotel is beautiful. All open, with chandeliers, marble and Mexican sculpture. The beach was okay, beige sand with fairly rough waves along the shore during June/July. The hotel staff were very nice, just be prepared that everyone you encounter from the moment you enter Mexico expects a tip, no matter what you are paying for their services. The morning buffet breakfast at La Capilla Argentina resturant, inside the hotel, is fantastic! There is also a japanese restaurant that was far too pricey, and a Sports Bar that had better prices than the other two places, but was far too greasy/fatty for our taste (but delicious, just really unhealthy). There are no microwaves or large fridges in the rooms, so if you plan on preparing your own food, bring an electric skillet and unload everything in the mini fridge to use the space for perishables. It was unclear if this was allowed, so there was some part of our stay spent worrying the hotel staff might "turn us in". Otherwise, you will be eating out for every meal during your stay, and it isn't cheap. The closest other restaurants were approximately $30 a plate for adults. The hotel does have a kid care, but it only runs from 9am to 4pm, and the parents must remain at the hotel ($35 a day). Or they also have babysitters, which charge $12/hr for one child, plus a $16 transportation fee. (Our babysitter said she was going to another appointment in the same hotel directly after ours, but I'm sure the other appointment paid the transportation fee too...)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MavsMom
Business
Sedalia MO
Jul 6, 2012

Wonderful Vacation

The hotel was obsolutely wonderful. The staff was very helpful and the service couldn't have been better. The bed & pillows were very comfortable. I would recommend it to everyone and would go there again. Only thing I would do different is go all-inclusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a small Mexican restaurant directly across from Senor Frogs with authentic Mexican food and very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lalito
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 3, 2012

Excellent stay

The staff was very cordial. Very help fool And informative

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
adob61
Business
Lewisville, Texas
Jun 22, 2012

Party in the Atrium

Planned stay is 9 days. Upon arrival the staff is helpful and nice assisting with tours and local information. But on Friday night they had an event in the atrium surrounded by hotel rooms beginning at 6p. First I was told it would be done a 9p then I was told it would be done at 10p. The music was so loud that we could not hear our TV. So for 4 hours of an assault on our senses listening to the type of music we do not listen to. The resort has plenty of spaces to have a party/music event. While here the Marriott Vacation Club people talked to us about buying a membership that will not be happening if this is how Marriott manages their properties. I am unable to recommend this resort and will not be returning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Chris
Business
Phgoenix, Arizona
Jun 21, 2012

Excellent Vacation!

The hotel was wonderful, though in many cases it could use a coat of paint and plaster in the hallways to my room. Otherwise, the people were great, the food, especially at the Argentenian Steak House, was outstanding! I wish I could take my Employees to this resort so they could learn lessons from the Staff at CasaMagna in what Customer Service is all about! My 4th trip to Cancun, 2nd to CasaMagna and just as wonderful experience as the last one I had at CasaMagna!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Argentinian Steak House. If in season, call ahead. Otherwise, they are great about seating you. Little to No Wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymooner J
Business
San Jose, California
Jun 17, 2012

Not what I expected from Marriott

Our first night we were upgrading to a suite for our honeymoon for the cost of $275, which they said was a discount but I differ. When we got to the room it was not a great room. It was small in every room especially the bathroom and bed room. Next time I will check out the room before I upgrade. The room had dust which was never cleaned our whole stay. The next mistake was the $50 daily credit which was not registered into their system. We found out with a waiter chasing us down for the bill. I had to talk to the manager to fix this error they apologized and gave me back the cash that I paid and that is all. They could have given the waiter a big tip for chasing us down. Thanks Marroitt I will not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
btvs fan
Business
Fairfax, VA
Jun 5, 2012

Majestic!

The hotel comes with good surprises, it maybe looking mediocre from the outside (compared to the other resorts) but the interior is majestic and it connects to the sister hotel the J.W. Marriott. The staff is great, you really feel safe in there, plus they have 4 restaurants in the vicinity. It is also closer to the airport for quick departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenience Stores are nearby this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cyndi R.
Business
New JERSEY
Jun 1, 2012

Marriott CasaMagna

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel the staff was excellent. Very clean room. The pool area is really nice and a few feet away is a white sand beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

YOu have the Champion Grill and the Japanese place right outside the doors of Marriott CasaMagna to the left and right. when you walk of the property right across the street there is a Crab house and a McDonalds. To get to the any of the club activities it is a good 3 miles to the right past the JW Marriot. You can get the bus for about 75cents or a taxi from $10- $14 to the activites or walk. They have a very nice mall on the way to activites/club locations. A Ruth Chris steakhouse (YUMMY) going towards activites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Louis and Victor
Business
Chicago
May 30, 2012

GLBT Travelers?

The hotel was very nice and I think overall I am content that my partner and I chose to stay at this Marriot. The main reason we chose this particular Marriot was because the review of the hotel stated: "This property is affiliated with the International Gay & Lesbian Travel Association (IGLTA) and welcomes lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) guests." Well to be entirely honest; if this was a hotel that welcomes GLBT guests, I'd hate to see what a hotel would look like that didn't welcome them. I mean I don't know what the criteria is to become affiliated with IGLTA, but I didn't see a single other GLBT guest and I didn't like the funny look the front desk staff gave me when my partner and I were checking in. Granted, the Marriot is owned by Mormons, which that alone should be enough warning. I think if we could do it all over again, we would have sought out a more GLBT-popular hotel. On the other hand, the gay scene in Cancun is pretty lacking in general. We went to one gay club and at 12 o'clock on a Friday night, there were 12 people. If you're a straight couple, this resort might be a good fit for you. But if you're a GLBT couple, PDA at your own risk if plan on going. The extent of this Marriot's IGLTA's affiliation is one of a "don't ask, don't tell" approach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott CasaMagna Resort Cancun

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ellec
Business
San Juan, PR
May 28, 2012

Good hotel for people without kids

The Hotel is nice looking, has a good location and a great value, however it is not suited for kids or families that are looking for some extra fun. Due to low season there were no activities, thus too quiet for our taste. There was nothing to do in addition to having a drink by the jacuzzi/pool side. The kids club is $35per day (until like 2PM) or $16 an hour for every kid you have. Nice, but not part of the hotel package. The restaurants have good reviews. Overall a good place but should not be recommended by Disney as a place for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask different "tour guides" for the trips out to Explor or XCARET. Never buy from the first one you talk to. You can find deals for under $100 for entrance only if you shop around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top