$316 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

5 stars
Blvd. Kukulkan 12.5 km, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
408 reviews
End of Summer Couples Getaway

We returned from Live Aqua on August 23 after a 4 night, 5 day stay. This was our 11th trip to... See full review

  • Checked Out Couple
  • Aug 25, 2014
Great getaway

Friendly staff, great food (especially for an all inclusive). See full review

  • DBR2014
  • Aug 24, 2014
Celeb-chef restaurants at exclusive beachfront getaway in Cancun

The Live Aqua Cancun is a 371-room, nine-floor oasis on the Yucatan Peninsula. The resort has Mayan-inspired architecture with modern touches. The haute regional cuisine, exotic dining venues, posh bars and lounges and a spa informed by Mayan rituals are nice touches. Features include the shore club with cabanas and hammocks, eight outdoor pools (one adults only), Jacuzzis, 24-hour business center and fitness facility. Guest rooms get fancy with pillow and aromatherapy menus.

 

Highlights
  • Spacious rooms with aromatherapy Live Aqua Cancun
  • Shore club featuring cabanas, hammocks, sun beds, swings and massage tables
  • Three restaurants from star chefs and a wine and tequila bar
Rooms

All 371 modern guest rooms at Live Aqua Cancun feature one king or two double beds, flat-screen satellite TVs, gaming stations and in-room broadband Internet service. Many have balconies with ocean views. Suites feature upgrades such as Bose home theaters, nightly turndown service and Molton Brown bath amenities as well as pullout sofas in living rooms. Aqua club floor rooms include private check-in and check-out, flat-screen plasma TVs and access to the fifth-floor club lounge.

Dining

Vacationers at Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only can indulge in mouth-watering varieties of cuisines creativeley prepared through three different concepts. Patrons can feast on the robust flavors of the Mediterranean, Mexico and Asia, combined with the fresh seafood dishes at Azur Restaurant. Guests can also have local signature cuisines served in the contemporary kitchen setting of Mb Restaurant. The Coffee Corner, Le Cevicheria and pool club serves refreshing drinks, cappuccino, latte, american coffee and herbal teas as well as snacks and salsas.

Recreation

Live Aqua Cancun is outfitted with a shore club for beachside lounging, eight pools, a Mayan-inspired spa and a fitness center with more than 30 workout stations, yoga classes and aerobics. A game room and many nearby activities, such as golfing, sailing and snorkeling, ensure guests will not want for action.

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (8.8 mi/14.1 km)

 

Attractions
  • La Isla shopping mall (Across the street)
  • Interactive Aquarium (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cancun Golf Club (1.6 mi/ 2.5 km)
Business
  • 16 meeting spaces in 15,300 square feet with audiovisual equipment
  • Business center

 

Policies and fees
  • CHECK OUT TIME: 12:00 pm

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.1068 -86.7636
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport
Area description
This sophisticated beachfront resort lies along white sand beaches, across the street from La Isla Shopping Mall and walking distance from some of the best restaurants in the city.20 minutes from Cancun International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only Rooms

Aqua Suite with terrace
Each Suite incorporates the essential element of water in our everyday lives within its 646 SQF of pure design. The signature suite offers 2 large rooms decorated with the most exquisite Live Aqua Unlimited touch, plus a hydrotherapy and chromotherapy jacuzzi located in the inner area of the suite that invites you to extend your stay in the room. Feel free in your own private terrace that offers an infinite view of the Caribbean Sea, have a moon lit dinner, witness the beauty of dawn, be the artist of your own experience. 1 king size bed, plush Bedding with Egyptian Cotton Sheets, "iHome" docking station DVD Players, mini-bar with snacks, beer and softh drinks, liquors available thru room service, Aromatherapy Kits, In room "Javapot" coffee makers, Radio, Hair dryer and Complimentary Toiletries, Designer amenities in the Suites, High-Speed Internet Access, In-Room Safe, 32" Flat-screen TV, daily Turn-down Service, Welcome Amenities, Access to the Aqua Club.
Tierra Suites with two Balconies
Earth is the origin of life, and in this suite fullness is born and this space embodies tastefulness on a grand scale with its 753 SQF and two oceanfront balconies. The Earth suite offers two completely separate rooms, one bedroom with king size bed and a living room, both with spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea Front. One king size bed, plush Bedding with Egyptian Cotton Sheets, "iHome" docking station DVD Players, mini-bar with snacks, beer and softh drinks, liquors available thru room service, Aromatherapy Kits, In room "Javapot" coffee makers, Radio, Hair dryer and Complimentary Toiletries, Designer amenities in the Suites, High-Speed Internet Access, In-Room Safe (Laptop Compatible with AC connection inside), Iron/Ironing Board, 32" Flat-screen TV, daily Turn-down Service, Welcome Amenities, Multi-line Phone. Access to the Aqua Club is included.
Deluxe Oceanfront with Balcony
Ocean view with balcony or terrace accommodation as selected with the following in-room amenities: One king size bed or two double beds, plush Bedding with Egyptian Cotton Sheets, "iHome" docking station DVD Players, mini-bar with snacks, beer and softh drinks, liquors available thru room service, Aromatherapy Kits, In room "Javapot" coffee makers, Radio, Hair dryer and Complimentary Toiletries, Designer amenities in the Suites, High-Speed Internet Access, In-Room Safe (Laptop Compatible with AC connection inside), Iron/Ironing Board, 32" Flat-screen TV, daily Turn-down Service, Welcome Amenities, Multi-line Phone
Ocean View with Balcony
The peaceful ambience of our Deluxe Ocean View rooms makes your stay an experience that will completely overcome all your senses. Immerse yourself in an enchantment of sensorial delights which will make you succumb to the experience. Water is a vital element of these rooms with an infinite view of the Caribbean Sea in these deluxe chambers that offers the following amenities: Mini-bar with snacks, beer and soft drinks, liquors available through room service, "Javapot" coffee makers, Complimentary High-Speed Internet Access, In-Room Safe, two-line telephones with messaging system, daily Turn-down Service and Beach Bag & Sandals for in-Hotel use. The bathroom becomes a natural Hydrotherapy Spa area, equipped with tub and separate shower. Finally, wrap up in Egyptian cotton sheets, breathe a custom made menu of Aromatherapy or soak in a bubble bath together with exquisite handmade soaps and amenities. These Rooms are available with king size bed or two double beds.
Viento Suites with 2 Balconies
Wind represents the flow and this 650 SQF Suite is made for you to enjoy the details of the clear tone interiors, exquisite furnishings and harmonious decor in addition to the spectacular view of the Caribbean Sea with its two balconies. One king size bed, plush Bedding with Egyptian Cotton Sheets, "iHome" docking station DVD Players, mini-bar with snacks, beer and softh drinks, liquors available thru room service, Aromatherapy Kits, In room "Javapot" coffee makers, Radio, Hair dryer and Complimentary Toiletries, Designer amenities in the Suites, High-Speed Internet Access, In-Room Safe (Laptop Compatible with AC connection inside), Iron/Ironing Board, 32" Flat-screen TV, daily Turn-down Service, Welcome Amenities, Multi-line Phone. Access to the Aqua Club is included
Deluxe Garden View with Balcony
Feel the relaxation and peacefulness flow through your veins in our luscious Deluxe Garden View Rooms. Delight yourself in perfect balance and harmony, admiring views of the resort's lush gardens or dazzling Hotel Zone. Located in the Spa, Lobby and Mezzanine levels of the hotel, these cozy rooms offer the following amenities: Mini-bar with snacks, beer and soft drinks, liquors available through room service, "Javapot" coffee makers, Complimentary High-Speed Internet Access, In-Room Safe (Laptop Compatible with AC connection), two-line telephones with messaging system, Iron/Ironing Board, daily Turn-down Service and Beach Bag & Sandals for in-Hotel use. The bathroom becomes a natural Hydrotherapy Spa area, equipped with tub and separate shower. Finally, wrap up in Egyptian cotton sheets, breathe a custom made menu of Aromatherapy or soak in a bubble bath together with exquisite handmade soaps and amenities. These Rooms are available with king size bed or two double beds.
Aqua Club Oceanfront with Balcony
Ocean view with balcony accommodation as selected with the following in-room amenities: One king size bed or two double beds, plush Bedding with Egyptian Cotton Sheets, "iHome" docking station DVD Players, mini-bar with snacks, beer and softh drinks, liquors available thru room service, Aromatherapy Kits, In room "Javapot" coffee makers, Radio, Hair dryer and Complimentary Toiletries, Designer amenities in the Suites, High-Speed Internet Access, In-Room Safe (Laptop Compatible with AC connection inside), Iron/Ironing Board, 32" Flat-screen TV, daily Turn-down Service, Welcome Amenities, Multi-line Phone

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Interactive Aquarium: 0.2 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 0.3 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 0.9 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 3 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 3.1 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 3.4 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 3.4 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.6 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 5.3 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 5.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 5.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 7.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has 16 meeting rooms available for a minimum of 5 people and a maximum of 1, all of them equipped with the most modern and sophisticated technology in light and sound equipment. The total size of the rooms is 15,300 square feet, and the largest room size is 1,288 square meters. Technical equipment available, pinboard, sound equipment, screen, dance floor, microphones, and voltage in function room area: 440 volts, 2220 volts or 110 volts. 60 cycles

Dining

VARENNA
Outdoors venue to enjoy Italian meals under the shade of a big tree. Give pleasure to your palate with delicious pastas, panini, salads, calzoni and, of course, pizzas that innovate by combining selected ingredients in a special way, but traditionally cooked in a unique brick oven. Open from noon to 5:00 pm.
AZUR
Featuring one of the worlds best Italian Chefs - Celebrity Chef Franco Madalozzo with a combination of fresh ocean breeze, cooing turquoise waves, the sounds of the sea that bring peace, and the touch the soft white sand. Feel the pleasure of outdoor enjoyment. Freedom of movement exists in every corner, as the desire to taste and enjoy delicious dishes. The white and blue are present in every detail. Azur, one of the restaurants within the concept of Aqua Live Cancun with a combination of Mediterranean and Asian flavors, where the stars are the Latin American ceviche and snack trendy.
Category: Al Fresco Restaurant
Specialties: Family style dinner, Italian specialties
Dress Code: Casual
No reservations required for this Restaurant
MB
Mb acronym evokes the initials of creative flair and innovative chef Michelle Bernstein - Iron Chef Winner - it is a culinary gift for those who want to experience the depths of culinary art in an array of dishes in the style New American Cuisine. Mb captivates by its welcoming and discreet design and subtle elegance, that is complicit in a letter from Latin and Asian influences that always surprise, this restaurant has the aroma of fresh ingredients, pure ingredients. It's like tasting a bit of the entire world, enjoy one of Cancuns finest restaurants as part of your All Inclusive experience.
Category: Creative cuisine
Menu: A la carte
Cuisine: New American Cuisine
Dress Code: Resort - Chic (no shirts, no flip flops)
No children allowed in this restaurant
IN ROOM DINNING
Available 24 hrs a day, featuring an extensive menu with cuisine from around the world.
SIETE
Materialize over the 7 imposing columns, the colorful and memorable historical spirit of a space that celebrates everything and anything meaning Mexico: Restaurante Siete.
The name Seven takes its name out of the seven columns decorated with pop-art, showing 7 of the most important Mexican icons of popular culture. Enjoy specialties from around the world overlooking the pristine waters of the Caribbean.
Category: Buffet Restaurant.
Specialties: International cuisine featuring Mexican specialties
Dress Code: Casual
No reservations required for this Restaurant
EGOS BAR
A playful area, unique, quirky and hip, where the senses are filled with intensity. Hence the energy emanates to the rhythm of house music and fun every night is a promise, a hip club within the premises of the Hotel so you can enjoy great nights as a part of our limitless experience.
No children allowed on the club.
AKA BAR
It has a sublime selection of Mexican and international wines, cocktails specially designed for Live Aqua and as a tribute to the agave legacy, an exquisite selection of fine tequilas and mescal, Located between the MB and Seven restaurants, a space that evokes the bars of Soho in New York where the renowned "mixologists" Steve Olson presents a perfect combination of wine, tequila and spirits
HIDDEN GARDEN
Asiatic Cuisine; An avant-garde concept that fuses exquisite oriental flavours to give life to a unique proposal of Live Aqua. A feast to the senses; Profound, enigmatic, fascinating.
SUSHI STATION
Sushi rolls; besides our menu there is the option to choose the ingredients to create your own and enjoy.
SEA CORNER
Seafood; ceviches and coktails; salsas and beer in an open-air palapa by the swimming pools with views of the Caribbean. Open daily from midday until late.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (408)

Ratings and reviews for Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 408
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Yadi BB
Hollidaysburg, PA
Feb 15, 2014

Empty Promises

My husband and I went to Live Aqua for our honeymoon. We stayed for a total of 9 nights and 10 days. The food is less than sub-par and the managers are full of empty promises about accommodations that they will make for you the next time around. The service is absolutely horrible. We had issues our entire stay, but to be specific, one night we sat in a restaurant that had ten servers, only two tables, and we waited for 45 minutes for a piece of cake (we only stopped in for dessert). The server 'forgot' to bring us our waters and only came with our cake after I went to find him. The pool area is too small for the amount of people staying in the hotel. So, if you would like to get a spot at the pool, be sure to be up at the crack of dawn to secure your spot! A good night's sleep is hard to come by due to the noise of other guests (whether it is due to their fighting in their drunken stupor in the hallway or workers carrying room service), and if you think that footing the extra bill for the rooms furthest from the elevators will curtail this, don't bother, because we did and had just as many problems. That brings me to the fact that if you think you're buying an all-inclusive, be very aware of the fact that this specific place has TONS of hidden surcharges. Oh, and if you are going on vacation to relax and not be bothered constantly by people trying to sell you something, don't go here. There wasn't an hour of the day that we weren't bombarded by their staff trying to get us to go to their '90 minute breakfast about their point program...' NO, I do NOT want to buy anything from you! I am simply trying to enjoy my husband on my honeymoon! I am not sure what they didn't get about that. However, they didn't and kept trying to talk us into it. Can you say annoying?! Yes, it was. Very. The room was clean. The beach and ocean was beautiful. That is about all I have to say=)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
INgirl
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 6, 2011

Not a great experience

This hotel made you sign your name for every drink or meal, which is not normal for an all-inclusive resort. Could have easily given us a wristband at check-in! They were more worried about you filling these slips out then making sure you had a good time. The service was slow and unfriendly. Also, the food was awful. The nightlife at this resort was very limited and pretty much nonexistent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 22, 2011

Disappointing

This is our 3rd "All Inclusive" in Mexico. We have gone [...]5 star each time.Pros: (1) Beautiful property(2) Beautiful beach(3) Amazing bartender in the Adults Only Lounge; (4) You will get the 5-star all inclusive experience that you paid for, as long as you're willing to complain each and every step of the way.Cons: The hotel nickel and dimes you every possible way it can. From my experience, "All Inclusive" means every single thing included except as noted on the website. For Live Aqua, the website said spa treatments are additional. In the past we stayed at Secrets and Zoetry, where every single thing besides spa was included. Here is an itemized list of our complaints:(1) When making our reservation, we paid additional for the "Adults Only" floor and lounge. Upon check-in, we were not given a room on the adults only floor because none were available. Also, we were not given access to the Adults Only lounge. The Adults Only lounge is a must for couples, it is quiet, has a full bar, serves breakfast lunch dinner and snacks, very attentive bartenders, and you can order your room service here. When we checked in, we had to plead our case for over one hour before we were finally granted access to the Adults Only Lounge for the week. (2) There are only 2 real restaurants to eat dinner at. One is called MB, and it was ALREADY booked for 4 of our 7 nights upon check-in. The part that really upset me was that on Wednesday night, MB was completely rented out to a convention. As in, we paid all inclusive money for the week, and then Live Aqua went on to rent out an entire restaurant for the night. This is ridiculous.(3) There is no top notch steak on the menu. Fillet Mignon is for room service only. Do we really want to sit in our room and eat dinner? No, we want to enjoy the atmosphere of a 5 star dinner. Any 5 star all inclusive should have a top quality steak on the restaurant menu.(4) You can order lobster tail any night you want to, but you have to pay extra, twenty-five per person, to get it. Again, all inclusive, anything on the menu should be free.(5) The cabanas. You need to rent them for fifty or seventy-five per day. Of course, we complained about this and were given free access to them for the week.(6) Lunch. The only lunch you can get at ANY restaurant is deep-fried beach food. Nachos, tacos, etc. (7) The fish. Very fishy tasting, even the white fish. (8) Nightlife in the resort. There is none, be prepared for the one bar in the resort to close at 10pm on certain nights (Sun, Mon, Tues, Wed). Since we were on vacation, we expected every day and night to be treated as a Saturday.(9) Receipts. They make you wait and sign receipts for every meal. You don't end up paying for the meals at the end, but this is just inconvenient.We would have enjoyed our stay at Live Aqua, provided that we got everything we had to complain about, without having to actually complain. I don't think any 5 Star Hotel should nickel and dime you at all, especially to the extent that Live Aqua did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Call 2-3 weeks prior to your check-in to reserve MB for the week. It isn't that great of a restaurant, but when we checked-in it was already booked for 4 of our 7 nights.

Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jtoon
Shreveport, LA, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Live Aqua but Dead Food

Well this was our first stay at this resort. Overall the resort itself is nice. But very lacking in food options. There menu never changes from day to day. Same old thing. Plus 3 times the buffet was closed for private parties. So we decided to go out to eat. There is a Dominos pizza across the street. Thank god. Plus the pool heater did not work. Cold as heck. Will we stay there again. NO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
From Rochester New York
rochester new york
May 25, 2011

third stay was a bummer

this was our third stay at Aqua and our first stay since it changed to all inclusive - we were not impressed - the food was disappointing and also the service - the refrig in the room was never restocked the whole time we were there and the management was very pushy trying to get you to meet with a representatives at breakfast - not sure what they were trying to sell - we will not be going back to this hotel on our next visit to Cancun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
unhappy in MO
MO
Mar 9, 2011

Aqua

I think the atmosphere was good, but when we got there they gave us the wrong room that we paid extra for. It was all inclusive but not really easy to get to a bar etc. My husband and I both got sick from something at the resort. They also try to sell you a timeshare upon arival. Overall I wish I had my time and money back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MX Traveller
Macomb, MI
Feb 20, 2011

Gorgeous Hotel - Horrible Service

First off, my wife and I have traveled to Mexico extensively and know what to expect in Mexican resorts. The resort is very pretty to look at: a modern, glass resort that certainly looks 5-star on the surface. But it's all show and no go. Housekeeping is a disaster! Every day, and I mean EVERY day, they would forget to replace towels, soap, water, etc. We would be out of the room on many days until 4:30pm and find the room still untouched. At evening turn-down, many guests were furious because they were still knocking on doors to do turndown at 9:30pm. Pool service was abysmal; taking easily an hour to get something to eat or drink. They claim bar service starts at 10am at the pool. That's when they start their meeting - it's usually 11 or 11:30am before they start service. If you attempt to go to the bar on your own, you will wait 20 min. as the pool waiters take preference. As for food, we thought it was pretty good, though despite usually opening the doors to the restaurant on time, it takes them an easy hour to get food out and service going at the buffet. Good luck getting reservations at MB. It will take several days to get a reservation. When you do finally get one, you will be easily waiting 2-3 hours to complete your meal. If you are used to buffets in MX resorts and have Olive Garden tastes, you'll like it. Otherwise, while the food is tasty, you will get bored quickly and there is certainly nothing exquisite about the cuisine. There simply aren't enough options nor service people to handle all of the guests and you will likely eat off property a lot. They only seem top allow 6-10 tables per seating for resort guests at MB, the rest appear to be for walk-ins. We took the time to politely speak with Alma, a supervisor at the front desk, but she mainly made excuses and nothing really changed after speaking to her - including forgetting my wife's birthday, which I had e-mailed and planned in advance. In the end, Aqua won't ruin your vacation, but there are many other places for the same money that are far superior. Live Aqua is not ready for prime time. P.S. We tipped often and well - they'll gladly take your money but service will not improve. Don't bother. The whole invoicing for every service (versus an all-inclusive bracelet) is probably the biggest mistake. It eats into the service time and infuriates the guests. You'll see bills for a $90 breakfast buffet for 2 in hopes of getting a tip for that amount. Even if you get a bowl of fruit, you get an insanely high bill to sign, which you don't pay (it's included), but is very tacky. The spa was very expensive and the massages and services were weak. Nothing about this place is anything beyond mediocre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sanjayvkumar
fremont ca
Dec 13, 2012

Disappointed with the credit

This review is for primarily for the 400$ credit offer that is being advertised Just the resort, I would have given 4 or maybe even 5 stars. What brings it down to 3 is the offer when we booked on this website. We booked a 4 night stay for a deluxe ocean front room for 330$ a night average, and we got a resort credit of 400$ + a complimentary sunset cruise. The cruise runs only a couple days a week, and when we called to confirm our schedule, they say it was canceled - no one told us about this until we called to find out. That one I'll let go. Its the resort credit that disappoints - we got a 400$ credit out of which: 1) 25$ is for making phone calls to the US - it gives you only 7 minutes of talk time -now thats a joke 2) 30$ for reserving a cabana - it costs 100$ to reserve a cabana if you dont have a suite - a ridiculous 100$ that no one would be willing to spend. so thats a waste 3) 50$ for a romantic dinner setup for 2 - again it costs 220$ for that dinner - imagine going into an all-inclusive resort and paying 170$ on top of what you already paid - less than 0.5% of the people would be willing to do that. again a big waste 4) 60$ for lobster dinner. this one is alright. we didnt use this because we were vegetarian, but let our friends use ours. 5) 85$ for spa credit - this one is worth all the money. It costs 110$ for a 50 minute massage (yes it is pricey) but the massage was wonderful and they do accept the 85$ credit without any issues 6) 150$ for a room upgrade - this caused us the most distress. We had asked for an upgrade a couple of weeks ago. Yes, the resort did mention that they were running near full capacity, so we werent assured. However, when we got there, the front desk staff treated us with contempt, and gave us the last preference in terms of using these credits to upgrade. Every day, they asked us to come back the next day, citing that all rooms were taken. In the end our 150$ was used to upgrade us from ocean view suite on 1st floor to AK lounge access suite on the 5th floor - at a cost of 75$ per night. In reality, the pricing difference is 25$ - so they bloated the price difference just to make it sound like they are doing a favor. In my opinion, we didnt deserve to be treated that way, especially when they knew, we had the credit, would want to maximize it, and there was nothing wrong with that. And expectedly, you cannot transfer between two credits - understandable I guess, otherwise one would use all of it for spa or room upgrades, etc. So yeah, overall a great resort for a trip, but the 400$ credit is almost meaningless and practically useless unless you are willing to spend a lot more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
YMVT
Houston, TX
May 28, 2013

Great Hotel, Poor Food & Service

Great hotel and location. However, we felt that the food was very poor in quality and lacked variety. Also, we did not enjoy waiting for an hour for a table at dinner time. Service has really declined at this resort since our visit last year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe Dino
Los Angeles, Ca
Jun 22, 2014

3rd Trip to Live Aqua

This was our third trip to Live Aqua and wow this hotel has changed. No more food service and drink service by the pools and beach you have to wait 30-40 min for a drink if you wait on them. They have minimal staff now because change of management. The hotel has different staff and that's all they care about our tips and although we are generous tippers we still never received the service to justify tips. One day we found a long hair in one of our tacos and trying to get rid of the plate was almost inpossiblie my wife speaks perfect Spanish and asked a worker about the plate and he told her to take it to the bar to drop it off. Won't return next year and over all terrible stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay some where else.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search