$597 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

5 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulkan 12.5 km, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
447 out of 447
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
artygirl
Austin, TX
Jan 21, 2013

Excellent food for an all inclusive

Live Aqua was wonderful. They have all the amenities (great gym, spa, hot tub, etc.). Most all inclusive dining options didn't require reservations, which is one of the main issues I have with all-inclusive resorts. Dining was great, especially the poolside restaurant (try the goat cheese mussels, they're amazing). The bartenders were all friendly; they offered comparable drink suggestions when my go-to vacation drink, mojitos, was impossible to make when they ran out of mint. Our not ocean view room still had a significant ocean view from the terrace. Best of all, 24/7 room service was included. The only problem was that the affiliated tour guide (Gray tour lines, I think?) at the hotel was super pushy-- he called us all the time, tried to shorten his work time by making us come schedule tours when it was convenient for him (4-6 pm only)... but that's not a knock on the hotel. He also screwed up our airport shuttle arrival time, almost causing us to miss our flight. Hotel= awesome, this website's affiliated tour company, not so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Perfect getaway finder
Business
New Jersey
Feb 9, 2014

Nice staff, just no follow through

Wound up leaving due to aur conditioning not working and some other issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 30, 2010

Aqua Cancun

We could every little noise from the hall way echo through our rooms. It was very hard to sleep after 6 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Parilla in downtown Cancun was an exceptional Mexican dinner at very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hershey, PA
Feb 25, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros: beautiful hotel, staff is very nice, very modern, infinity pools, food & drinks are also really good (loved the egos bar!), up-to-date gym Cons: they make you sign your check after each meal & drink (probably to keep track of how much you spent) but its unnerving to do this at an all inclusive; everyone wants TIPs and they shouldn't at an all inclusive! also, no activities at the hotel- no nighttime events, no water sports,...gotta leave the premise and pay for all this. Finally, there is no orientation- no map, welcome or other information given when you sign in. Overall: really nice hotel but we won't be going back because there are many other all inclusives that give you a better deal- more activities, more restaurants (only 3 here) & are not "tip" hungry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

at the hotel, you need reservations to get into their 2 restaurants which are always booked... we were inititally upset that we couldn't eat at either restaurant b/c they were full but all you have to do is walk up to the restaurant and they'll seat you! unbelieveable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Guy Thats Not Very Hard to Please
Business
Detroit
Mar 24, 2011

Decent, quiet getaway

Its hard to complain about a week in Mexico after months of a Michigan winter. The stay at Aqua was pretty nice, and thats it. The rooms were clean, not new, but not crusty old. If you are going to enjoy great food, dont go to Aqua. The food was average at best, and it usually came to the table at room temperature. Most nights, it took forever for the entrees to come out (at both restaurants). The staff was courteous and accommodating 90% of the time. The only times they were not, was by the pool during the day. The staff is somewhat scarce. We tipped a waiter $10 USD, and he looked at it, and walked away with a grin. This was not the case in the dining rooms however. I enjoyed the 7 days there. Its a decent place to relax. No loud partiers, no loud annoying music. But at the same time, not a lot of excitement. Would I go back to Aqua? Probably not, unless the price was really really right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do NOT tip according to the price on the bill. The fake bill prices are inflated.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tee12
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Sep 16, 2011

not so fun

should be for honey mooners only there are not much to do inside the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tee12
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Sep 16, 2011

not so fun

not much to do only food there are no fun or showes or thinks you can do becide eating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Underwhelmed.
Business
Connecticut
Nov 25, 2011

Underwhelming.

Hotel itself is beautiful. However, beware..we booked an oceanfront room and what we got was a view that was largely treetop. Intially we were told that we couldn't change rooms because the hotel was full to capacity. Not true - the hotel looked like it was only running at about 50-60%, Complained on day two again and was finally moved to a "real" ocean view room after a half day wait. The food was by far the biggest disappointment. We are from being food snobs ..yet my husband and I were really unimpressed with the food at all of the onsite locations. Long waits, tepid dishes, underspiced foods to dubious tasting fish and beef carpaccio. And I could go on...... Blah!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mbjd
Business
Northeast
Feb 22, 2012

Nice Property

Couple small issues. Room wasn't cleaned daily until early evening. Shower only worked for a few minutes than turned off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco Bongo is a Must when in Cancun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sanjayvkumar
Business
fremont ca
Dec 13, 2012

Disappointed with the credit

This review is for primarily for the 400$ credit offer that is being advertised Just the resort, I would have given 4 or maybe even 5 stars. What brings it down to 3 is the offer when we booked on this website. We booked a 4 night stay for a deluxe ocean front room for 330$ a night average, and we got a resort credit of 400$ + a complimentary sunset cruise. The cruise runs only a couple days a week, and when we called to confirm our schedule, they say it was canceled - no one told us about this until we called to find out. That one I'll let go. Its the resort credit that disappoints - we got a 400$ credit out of which: 1) 25$ is for making phone calls to the US - it gives you only 7 minutes of talk time -now thats a joke 2) 30$ for reserving a cabana - it costs 100$ to reserve a cabana if you dont have a suite - a ridiculous 100$ that no one would be willing to spend. so thats a waste 3) 50$ for a romantic dinner setup for 2 - again it costs 220$ for that dinner - imagine going into an all-inclusive resort and paying 170$ on top of what you already paid - less than 0.5% of the people would be willing to do that. again a big waste 4) 60$ for lobster dinner. this one is alright. we didnt use this because we were vegetarian, but let our friends use ours. 5) 85$ for spa credit - this one is worth all the money. It costs 110$ for a 50 minute massage (yes it is pricey) but the massage was wonderful and they do accept the 85$ credit without any issues 6) 150$ for a room upgrade - this caused us the most distress. We had asked for an upgrade a couple of weeks ago. Yes, the resort did mention that they were running near full capacity, so we werent assured. However, when we got there, the front desk staff treated us with contempt, and gave us the last preference in terms of using these credits to upgrade. Every day, they asked us to come back the next day, citing that all rooms were taken. In the end our 150$ was used to upgrade us from ocean view suite on 1st floor to AK lounge access suite on the 5th floor - at a cost of 75$ per night. In reality, the pricing difference is 25$ - so they bloated the price difference just to make it sound like they are doing a favor. In my opinion, we didnt deserve to be treated that way, especially when they knew, we had the credit, would want to maximize it, and there was nothing wrong with that. And expectedly, you cannot transfer between two credits - understandable I guess, otherwise one would use all of it for spa or room upgrades, etc. So yeah, overall a great resort for a trip, but the 400$ credit is almost meaningless and practically useless unless you are willing to spend a lot more money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Live Aqua Cancun - All Inclusive Adults Only

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mbigfish
Business
NY
Mar 15, 2013

Not a 5 star experince

The hotel is a very nice looking and clean hotel. The staff was very nice but the service at the pool and the beach was poor no matter how much you tip them. The food in all the restaurants was fair. Hard to get hot food. I was not happy about the limited selection of beers. The exchange rate was poor at the hotel. The room was nice but not up to 5 star standards. This hotel was poor value. Not going to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top