$389 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

5 stars
Kukulcan Boulevard KM 14.5, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
117 reviews
Great Stay

Hotel is beautiful and staff is great. I would def recommend this hotel. See full review

  • JDerkack
  • Oct 10, 2014
excellent hotel

great experience. if anything i feel that the staff are too attentive to my needs. They are... See full review

  • gunny12
  • Aug 19, 2014
Sophisticated, oceanfront Cancun resort and spa with luxury amenities

The JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa is on the Caribbean Sea and offers the utmost in luxury. The tranquil resort has a swanky, three-story Mayan-inspired health spa with fitness center and heated swimming pool. The JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa also has indoor and outdoor spa tubs, an indoor pool with lap lanes and a quiet swimming pool. Distinguished guest rooms have private balconies and ocean views. A lagoon-style scuba diving pool, club-level rooms and tennis courts are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Three-story, 35,000-square-foot spa providing massage therapy, scrubs and facials
  • Several pools, indoor and out, including one that is designated "quiet" and another for laps
  • Club-level rooms with pillow menus and spa toiletries

 

Rooms

All of the elegant 448 guest rooms at the 15-story JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa have a king or two double beds fitted with luxury bedding and ocean views with a private balcony or terrace. The rooms also have 32-inch flat-panel TVs, luxurious bathrooms with soaking tub, shower and double sinks as well as wireless Internet service (fees apply). Suites are more spacious. Club-level rooms have pillow menus and a lounge serving a hot buffet breakfast, midday snacks, hors d'oeuvres, desserts and cocktails.

 

Dining

Several dining venues at the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa cater to an array of tastes, be it the Southwestern grill or the gourmet Mediterranean trattoria dispensing upscale Italian fare. A Japanese restaurant with teppanyaki tables, Argentinean steakhouse and Thai eatery are also on site. Drinking options range from brews at a sports bar to a lobby lounge turning out classic and creative cocktails.

Recreation

The JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa has a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, free weights and classes as well as two free-form outdoor pools, a 20-foot dive pool with artificial reef, a pool for children and spa pool. Also on site is a club for kids and tennis court. Nearby AquaWorld arranges parasailing flights, fishing trips, fishing excursions, scuba diving and snorkeling (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Luxury Avenue (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (1.5 mi/1.6 km)
  • La Isla shopping and nightlife (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • 20,299 square feet of function space spanning 12 meeting rooms, an exhibition space and a grand ballroom
  • High-speed and wireless Internet in meeting areas
  • Catering
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa Rooms

Puerta al Mar - Deluxe Ocean View Room
Celebrate each day of your vacation high above Cancun’s sundrenched beaches when you select a Puerta al Mar guestroom. Toast the Caribbean Ocean and its seemingly-endless horizon with cocktails for two on your balcony. Let the ocean soothe you into the luxury of 5-Diamond resort sleep when you sink into a king bed or two double beds outfitted with tropical-weight comforter(s). Your guestroom provides 43.5 square meters (467 square feet) of superb living space and all of the amenities you have come to expect from a world class resort, including: • Wireless Internet connection (surcharges) • 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV with cable programming and pay movies • Ipod Station • Minibar • Bathrobes and slippers • Bathroom with dual vanity sinks • Scale • Vanity mirror • In-room digital safe • Individual climate control
Estrella del Mar - Deluxe Grand Ocean Front Suite
Your spacious and elegantly furnished terrace inspires you to spend every moment outdoors, enjoying the ocean and pool view, but 1344 square feet of superbly appointed interiors, complete with separate living and dining rooms, bring you inside, perhaps to entertain guests or for the simple joy of lounging. Your days in the sun will make the coolness and comfort of your king bed, in Revive signature bedding, absolutely irresistible. After a night of sleeping beneath a down comforter and 300-thread-count cotton linens, you will be ready to make the most of every amenity the JW Marriott Resort and Spa has to offer. • Wireless Internet connection (surcharges) • One and a half bathrooms • 32- inch flat-screen LCD TV with cable programming and pay movies • iPod station • Walk-in closet • Wet bar and minibar • Bathroom with dual vanity sinks • Bathrobes & slippers • Scale • Vanity mirror • In-room digital safe • Individual climate control • Double balcony
Las Olas - Ocean View Room
Views of Cancun’s lively beach scene and the blue of the Caribbean Ocean are yours to delight in when you select a Las Olas guestroom. Step out onto your balcony each morning to a Mayan sunrise and coffee for two at your cocktail table. Dream the night away in 5-Diamond luxury upon a king bed or two double beds outfitted with tropical-weight comforter(s). Thoughtful amenities in your 43.5 meter guestroom (467 feet) include: • Wireless Internet connection (surcharges) • 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV with cable programming and pay movies • iPod Station • Minibar • Bathrobes and slippers • Bathroom with dual vanity sinks • Scale • Vanity mirror • In-room digital safe • Individual climate control
Las Brisas Suite - JW Luxury Suite
Sunshine, ocean breezes and 5-Diamond luxury define your Cancun experience when you select a Las Brisas Suite as the setting for your next vacation. Begin and end each day overlooking the turquoise water from the elegance of your furnished terrace. Step indoors to unwind in sumptuous surroundings, measuring 785 feet, where French doors open into a living room designed in the contemporary JW Marriott style. Slip into extravagant slumber upon a king bed outfitted with our renowned Revive signature bedding that includes a soft down comforter and 300-threadcount cotton linens. • Wireless Internet connection (surcharges) • 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV with cable programming and pay movies • iPod Station • Minibar • Bathroom with dual vanity sinks • Bathrobes and slippers • Scale • Vanity mirror • In-room digital safe • Individual climate control • Separate living room with sofa bed and Flat screen TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Avenida Kukulkan: 0.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.7 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 1.7 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 4.1 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 4.4 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 4.4 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 4.5 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 5.2 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 5.8 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 6.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel has nine meeting rooms, a grand ballroom and creative catering and professional meeting planners to handle all details.

Dining

Gourmet Deli
This restaurant provides meals and snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hours: 6:00 am – 10:00 pm
Gustino Italian Grill
Serving fresh seafood and specialty cuisines. Hours: 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Beach Walk Market Place
Poolside service offering sandwiches, snacks and drinks. Hours: 9:00 am to 6:00 pm
Simply Seafood
Seafood restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hours: 6:30 am – 11:00 pm Closed for lunch through October 27, 2009. Closed for dinner through September 30, 2009.
Lobby Bar
A sophisticated setting for cocktails and conversations. Hours: 4:00 pm to 12:00 am
Room Service
Room service is available 24 hours a day!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bobbob
Business
Sheridan, WY
Aug 7, 2014

Disappointed!!!

We have stayed at JW Marriott several times. This stay was not like the others. The service was horrible and the rooms were dirty and run down. We had reserved two double rooms. When we checked in we were told all they had were single rooms with a love seat foldout, that we could move the next day. There were no sheets for the fold outs. We had to wait until after 11 that night for sheets. The next day we had to get nasty to get the rooms we had reserved. There was trash around the outside pool. The only thing about this motel that is 5 star is the price!!! No more than a 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Bch
Aug 9, 2010

Poor Services

I was not happy with JW Marriott. I felt like we were being mistreated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
expected more
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 29, 2010

Somewhat disappointing

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were spacious. The rooms could have been cleaner. In one of our two rooms, it looked like someone had sprayed all four walls with champagne...Our rooms also smelled of cigar smoke when we checked in. Our bellman called the front desk to alert them, but no one ever came to fix the problems. The food at the onsite restaurants was good, but service was incredibly slow.... The pool/beach area is very clean, well maintained and beautiful. Wi-fi and business center services were very expensive. The spa is pretty, service was okay, but nothing special. Overall, it was certainly not awful, but I do not think I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pelusa
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 14, 2012

Marritot in Cancun Mexico

It was okay. But I am sorry the price after staying here is just to high. You can get the same if not better for less. Also my other biggest problem was location. With in the hotel there is not much to do or offer. You need to either walk to the take the city bus. The hotel does not offer a shuttle. I am sorry to say but for my next visit because I will be going back to Cancun. I will not be staying in the same hotel. Cancun and Mexico I fell in love with and can't wait until my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Donna O.
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 17, 2012

Family Vacation

The staff was for the most part great. Prices were high and our room was not cleaned very well. I did not like the location. Nothing to do directly outside the hotel, or at the beach. I was NOT told that I had to reserve the shuttle to the airport. I wouls not stay at this Marriott again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BE Chicago
Business
Chicago
Dec 11, 2012

Sleepy JW Marriott

Stayed at the JW around Dec 6-10. It was a nice hotel, but below my expectations for a JW Marriott, especially a Resort property located on the Yucatan. My newspaper did not show up, despite two separate requests on two separate days. Food service was very good at the Argentine Steakhouse at the adjacent Casa Magna Marriott property (coming from a Chicago Steak conossiouer). The resort was too sleepy for my liking, like where is everyone sleepy. I am a Gold member of Marriott and chose the Marriott b/c I thought I knew what to expect. however in hindsight, I would have chosen a different property that had a bit more energy. Pricing for a la carte (ie drinks) is outrageous, as expensive as you would pay at a Marriott in NYC or Seattle. Maid service was very good, no complaints about the cleanliness of our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the R1 or R2 buses into Cancun or Playa Tortugas, rather than hiring the hotel's car. The buses stop constantly, right in front of the Hard Rock hotel (next to the JW Marriott). Cost is about 8-9 pesos ($0.75 US).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wkanton
Business
Jw Marriott
Mar 9, 2014

Good do better

Had multiply problems with house keeping. Got trap in a broken elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harry's restaurant across the street and a short walk from the hotel was fabulous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montreal
Jan 10, 2010

nice property

very nice property... obviously struggling financially, thus the big discounts on rooms... strategy seems to be to charge exorbitant prices for everything once you get there.. ..get the cheap room and then just take the bus (70 cents/person) down the road for all meals, snacks, etc..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

free wifi at the nearby mall... save yourself the $15 dollar a day hotel charge..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Dec 27, 2010

JW has seen better days

This was my 3rd time at the JW. While I was there I had breakfast at the hotels restaurant (big mistake). The waiter came to my table after I had been sitting for about 7-10 min. Making faces. Then took our order, but didn't write it down. So as you can imagin yeah he got the order wrong. Long story short he argued with my table for a while that we had order what he brought. Then finally gave an upset look and walked away and brought what we had ordered. He didn't wait on us, instead he sent someone else. The hotel is looking rundown, restrooms in the pool area have missing faucets and smell. Oh but be carefull when buying tours from the agency inside the hotel, they gave me a price in dollars but when they billed my credit card they increased the price. I asked for a refund on the card and offered to pay in dollars for the original price that they quoted, but they refused. Make sure that if you need a taxi you ask for [...], very friendly and reliable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kukulcan plaza has a great mexican restaurant, with live maricahi music at night, it's call Tequila or something like that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Claud1512
Business
McAllen Texas
May 19, 2014

Expensive

First of all I was under the impression that I booked an all inclusive hotel and it wasn't!! This hotel charges you for everything including wifi! Great for retired wealthy couples but not good for young adults wanting to party! Food and alcoholic beverages are beyond expensive!! I did not enjoy my stay at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top