$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 26, 2014

JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

5 stars
Kukulcan Boulevard KM 14.5, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
117 reviews
Great Stay

Hotel is beautiful and staff is great. I would def recommend this hotel. See full review

  • JDerkack
  • Oct 10, 2014
excellent hotel

great experience. if anything i feel that the staff are too attentive to my needs. They are... See full review

  • gunny12
  • Aug 19, 2014
Sophisticated, oceanfront Cancun resort and spa with luxury amenities

The JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa is on the Caribbean Sea and offers the utmost in luxury. The tranquil resort has a swanky, three-story Mayan-inspired health spa with fitness center and heated swimming pool. The JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa also has indoor and outdoor spa tubs, an indoor pool with lap lanes and a quiet swimming pool. Distinguished guest rooms have private balconies and ocean views. A lagoon-style scuba diving pool, club-level rooms and tennis courts are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Three-story, 35,000-square-foot spa providing massage therapy, scrubs and facials
  • Several pools, indoor and out, including one that is designated "quiet" and another for laps
  • Club-level rooms with pillow menus and spa toiletries

 

Rooms

All of the elegant 448 guest rooms at the 15-story JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa have a king or two double beds fitted with luxury bedding and ocean views with a private balcony or terrace. The rooms also have 32-inch flat-panel TVs, luxurious bathrooms with soaking tub, shower and double sinks as well as wireless Internet service (fees apply). Suites are more spacious. Club-level rooms have pillow menus and a lounge serving a hot buffet breakfast, midday snacks, hors d'oeuvres, desserts and cocktails.

 

Dining

Several dining venues at the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa cater to an array of tastes, be it the Southwestern grill or the gourmet Mediterranean trattoria dispensing upscale Italian fare. A Japanese restaurant with teppanyaki tables, Argentinean steakhouse and Thai eatery are also on site. Drinking options range from brews at a sports bar to a lobby lounge turning out classic and creative cocktails.

Recreation

The JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa has a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, free weights and classes as well as two free-form outdoor pools, a 20-foot dive pool with artificial reef, a pool for children and spa pool. Also on site is a club for kids and tennis court. Nearby AquaWorld arranges parasailing flights, fishing trips, fishing excursions, scuba diving and snorkeling (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Luxury Avenue (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (1.5 mi/1.6 km)
  • La Isla shopping and nightlife (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • 20,299 square feet of function space spanning 12 meeting rooms, an exhibition space and a grand ballroom
  • High-speed and wireless Internet in meeting areas
  • Catering
  • Business center

Hotel Map

21.0875 -86.7704
Area served
Cancun, Mexico
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
The JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa is located in the heart of Cancun’s hotel district, on a beautiful stretch of Caribbean beach on Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. The JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa is adjacent to the Marriott CasaMagna Cancun Resort; the two resorts are connected by a “Skywalk.” Just two miles south of the Convention Center and shopping district, and approximately eleven miles from the Cancun International Airport, the resort is a two-hour drive from several historic Mayan ruin sites and ecological parks.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa Rooms

Puerta al Mar - Deluxe Ocean View Room
Celebrate each day of your vacation high above Cancun’s sundrenched beaches when you select a Puerta al Mar guestroom. Toast the Caribbean Ocean and its seemingly-endless horizon with cocktails for two on your balcony. Let the ocean soothe you into the luxury of 5-Diamond resort sleep when you sink into a king bed or two double beds outfitted with tropical-weight comforter(s). Your guestroom provides 43.5 square meters (467 square feet) of superb living space and all of the amenities you have come to expect from a world class resort, including: • Wireless Internet connection (surcharges) • 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV with cable programming and pay movies • Ipod Station • Minibar • Bathrobes and slippers • Bathroom with dual vanity sinks • Scale • Vanity mirror • In-room digital safe • Individual climate control
Estrella del Mar - Deluxe Grand Ocean Front Suite
Your spacious and elegantly furnished terrace inspires you to spend every moment outdoors, enjoying the ocean and pool view, but 1344 square feet of superbly appointed interiors, complete with separate living and dining rooms, bring you inside, perhaps to entertain guests or for the simple joy of lounging. Your days in the sun will make the coolness and comfort of your king bed, in Revive signature bedding, absolutely irresistible. After a night of sleeping beneath a down comforter and 300-thread-count cotton linens, you will be ready to make the most of every amenity the JW Marriott Resort and Spa has to offer. • Wireless Internet connection (surcharges) • One and a half bathrooms • 32- inch flat-screen LCD TV with cable programming and pay movies • iPod station • Walk-in closet • Wet bar and minibar • Bathroom with dual vanity sinks • Bathrobes & slippers • Scale • Vanity mirror • In-room digital safe • Individual climate control • Double balcony
Las Olas - Ocean View Room
Views of Cancun’s lively beach scene and the blue of the Caribbean Ocean are yours to delight in when you select a Las Olas guestroom. Step out onto your balcony each morning to a Mayan sunrise and coffee for two at your cocktail table. Dream the night away in 5-Diamond luxury upon a king bed or two double beds outfitted with tropical-weight comforter(s). Thoughtful amenities in your 43.5 meter guestroom (467 feet) include: • Wireless Internet connection (surcharges) • 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV with cable programming and pay movies • iPod Station • Minibar • Bathrobes and slippers • Bathroom with dual vanity sinks • Scale • Vanity mirror • In-room digital safe • Individual climate control
Las Brisas Suite - JW Luxury Suite
Sunshine, ocean breezes and 5-Diamond luxury define your Cancun experience when you select a Las Brisas Suite as the setting for your next vacation. Begin and end each day overlooking the turquoise water from the elegance of your furnished terrace. Step indoors to unwind in sumptuous surroundings, measuring 785 feet, where French doors open into a living room designed in the contemporary JW Marriott style. Slip into extravagant slumber upon a king bed outfitted with our renowned Revive signature bedding that includes a soft down comforter and 300-threadcount cotton linens. • Wireless Internet connection (surcharges) • 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV with cable programming and pay movies • iPod Station • Minibar • Bathroom with dual vanity sinks • Bathrobes and slippers • Scale • Vanity mirror • In-room digital safe • Individual climate control • Separate living room with sofa bed and Flat screen TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Avenida Kukulkan: 0.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.7 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 1.7 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 4.1 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 4.4 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 4.4 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 4.5 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 5.2 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 5.8 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 6.2 mi

Dining

Gourmet Deli
This restaurant provides meals and snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hours: 6:00 am – 10:00 pm
Gustino Italian Grill
Serving fresh seafood and specialty cuisines. Hours: 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Beach Walk Market Place
Poolside service offering sandwiches, snacks and drinks. Hours: 9:00 am to 6:00 pm
Simply Seafood
Seafood restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hours: 6:30 am – 11:00 pm Closed for lunch through October 27, 2009. Closed for dinner through September 30, 2009.
Lobby Bar
A sophisticated setting for cocktails and conversations. Hours: 4:00 pm to 12:00 am
Room Service
Room service is available 24 hours a day!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel has nine meeting rooms, a grand ballroom and creative catering and professional meeting planners to handle all details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Ray
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Mar 28, 2014

Wedding

We stayed at JW since it was very close to Ritz because we had a wedding to go there and I'm so happy we did stay at JW beaccuse not only I saved my self money but hotel setting and pool area and over all was much better and nicer then Ritz. Ritz was just too quiet and too slow for Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harry's restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JR 37
Business
Chicago
Apr 12, 2014

Has everything you need

It was great overall. Amenities: It had everything that we needed Location: Great. Right on the beach. Cleanliness: Bertha did a good job. Room was always spotless. Also gave chocolate. Room comfort: No complaints Staff: very friendly and helpful. They are all bilingual which is a good thing for me because my Spanish sucks. Value: I thought the massage is overpriced ($160 for deep tissue) and some of the food items were overpriced at the restaurants. I did not realize that we can get 10% discount until the last day which was too late because we went out to a restaurant down the street. As far as the food, the breakfast at sedona's restaurant is excellent. THey have good options. THe food at the thai food is not all that great in my opinion. I am used to good thai food here in Chicago. I thought champion's sports bar had poor food quality also. The chips and salsa at sedonas was amazing. THe mexican food at sedonas is amazing. The sandwiches at the gift shop is standard along with the ice cream there. I did not eat at the Japanese place as I only like eating sushi here in Chicago. I did not eat at the Argentinian steakhouse. We did end up going to restaurants down the street that were solid (blue gecko, le bastil???-don't know how to spell it). I would stay here again. We had an ocean's view on the 11th floor that was beautiful. We had our own balcony which was nice. There is free wireless in the lobby which is important to me since I am addicted to my email/internet. THe beach was beautiful. The waves were nice. THe sand was very clean. The pools were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There are coupons in a booklet that the concierge have for 10% off at all the restaurants in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yascen
Business
Irvine, California
Apr 27, 2014

Great Hotel

It was our first trip to Cancun and we fell in love with Cancun, the beach, Mayan Ruins, and this hotel as well. First of all, Staff were very helpful and always smiling. We upgraded to a luxury suite and it was amazing. If you can, I would recommend upgrading to a suite as well. It was on the second floor with a separate living area and two balconies that had a nice ocean view. There are different restaurants for different taste. You should definitely try them all and they are not too expensive but if you want to spend less, you can always walk to the Kukulcan Plaza which is about 20-25min walking distance. Make sure you wear a hat if you plan walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Wifi is not free but they provide complimentary internet at the pool area. Our suite was on the second floor and that's why we used the pool area's internet in our room. It was Ok in our room but it might not be fine in every single second floor room. So if possible, try to get a suite on the first floor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El Conquistador
Business
Paw Paw, MI
Apr 8, 2009

Great place to stay

We had a great stay after we got the right room. They said they only had rooms with king size beds available but we could upgrade to a suite for $80 per night. After showing them our printed reservation, they magically found a "two queen bed" room for our family. After that, everything was fantastic. Quiet rooms, all with views of the ocean. Beautiful pools. Very friendly staff. The only bad thing was if you wanted a chair next to the pool you need to go down and claim a spot before 7:00am or they will all be gone. Some spots had towels on for the entire time I was there (8-2) and no one showed up and the staff will not remove the belongings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the public bus to get around town. You can go anywhere in Cancun for 7 pesos (about 60 cents) per person. The bus stops just north of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston. TX
Dec 28, 2010

Fabulous Trip thanks to Cheap Tickets

Great trip. I would watch the weather because evey day about 2 it got very cloudy and windy, so if you want a Tan, get out from 9-1. We have been to the JW 4 times, love the hotel, the Lobby Bar has a live singer and they play great songs and the Margueritas and Cosmos are great. The beds are comfy, but definitely upgrade to an Ocean View ad get the travel round trip, the service is excellent and the Van's are very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at La Madonna in in La Isala Shopping Center ($9 cab ride) and definitely eat at Harry's (fabulous ad near the hotel)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BellaLA
Business
los angeles, california
Nov 25, 2011

This Is The Life

So we normally are not big chain hotel people but after this stay we are reformed! A pest infestation in a palapa hut south of playa del carmen left us homeless on our one week vacation-- at least cell phone service/internet worked and we searched for a hotel and found JW Marriott Cancun. As soon as we got to the hotel, we knew we were in the right place--the doormen were welcoming and (so friendly the whole trip,) the well manicured grounds-- even the scent of the cool, grand lobby was perfect. Our room was immaculate, the bed was so comfy, the luxurious clean sheets, the soft towels and the wonderful balcony overlooking the most gorgeous crystal blue waters of the carribbean sea! Priceless. We sunned all day in the "adults only" part of the beach with food and drink service-- cold drinks and great food. The pool area is huge and expansive there is a place and a beach chair for everyone! We ate al fresco overlooking the sea at the breakfast buffett (it was complimentary with our internet deal) every morning. We had a rental car and it was free valet and easy to access when we went "out on the town" at night. The hotel is relatively quiet at night. We had such a good time. We will be back (on a couples trip or with the whole family) for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service is accessible at all hours and we took advantage of the BEST BANANA SPLITS WORLD WIDE (the vanilla & strawberry ice cream, the nuts, the chocolate sauce, the whipped cream!) every single night to eat in bed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack23
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Great Winter Getaway

Easy to get to, clean, wonderful staff and restaurants. Beautiful beach and excellent escape from New York winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mary margaret
Business
Poquoson, VA, USA
Feb 9, 2012

couples getaway

Right on target for a luxury hotel.All rooms have a decent ocean view.Hotel staff very pleasant and accomodating.Pool area is inviting with plenty of lounge chairs.Breakfast buffet worth the approximate $25 if you have an appetite. Italian restaurant beautifully lit with candles and saxophonist to serenade you during dinner. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fred's Seafood was exquisite-request outdoor seating at sunset.Ride the local bus-comes by every few minutes,economical and very convenient.We loved Cancun - locals were very friendly without being pushy.They like Americans!Plenty to do or you can choose just to lounge by the turquoise waters with a cocktail and good book.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler from CT
Business
Connecticut
Feb 26, 2012

February 2012

Great hotel. Pool facilities are amazing, beach is nice although does have some waves which make swimming more challenging. Incredibly friendly staff. The doorman even remembered my last name and would use it to greet us. Rooms are comfortable, clean, nice view of the ocean, pools. The three restaurants are very good although expensive. 320 pesos for adult buffet breakfast. Meals for 4 would usually run more than 100 dollars. The hotel is unfortunately away from most outside restaurants and other things unless you take a bus which we did not do. You can also eat at the Marriott Casa Magna which is next door and charge to your room. However there is a McDonald, Papa John pizza and a XOXO convenience store which takes credit cards (7-Eleven does not) just five minutes down the street. You can save money by stocking up on snacks and drinks. Will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Subitodave
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Cancun

Very clean, excellent restaurants, fantastic beach and pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Gray Line Mayaland tour to Chichen Iza was an unbelievable trip. The tour guide (Carlos Muñoz) was the finest guide we have ever had. Its not often that you get a tour guide with a phd in anthropology.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top