$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

5 stars
View map of Kukulcan Boulevard KM 14.5, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middle age couple f
Business
Rochester NY
Jan 27, 2011

Quality as expected

First trip to Cancun - hotel offered the same high quality of all the Marriotts we stayed in. Restaurants were wonderful. Day Trip to Mayan ruins - Chicchinitza- was the highlight (as the weather was a bit cool). We arranged it right at the hotel. Don't go into the city - unless you like being accosted by vendors. Stay on the strip - the shopping and entertainment there is wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 2, 2011

Great Hotel

Overall a great hotel. Pool is huge with varying temperatures. Beach is great, but already showing signs of erosion since being rebuilt. The one complaint we had was room service coming after 4pm each day. We've stayed at the Ritz, Meridien, and FAGCB and would recommend the JW above them for the value and service you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
expected more
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 29, 2010

Somewhat disappointing

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were spacious. The rooms could have been cleaner. In one of our two rooms, it looked like someone had sprayed all four walls with champagne...Our rooms also smelled of cigar smoke when we checked in. Our bellman called the front desk to alert them, but no one ever came to fix the problems. The food at the onsite restaurants was good, but service was incredibly slow.... The pool/beach area is very clean, well maintained and beautiful. Wi-fi and business center services were very expensive. The spa is pretty, service was okay, but nothing special. Overall, it was certainly not awful, but I do not think I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
expected more
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 29, 2010

Somewhat disappointing

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were spacious. The rooms could have been cleaner. In one of our two rooms, it looked like someone had sprayed all four walls with champagne...Our rooms also smelled of cigar smoke when we checked in. Our bellman called the front desk to alert them, but no one ever came to fix the problems. The food at the onsite restaurants was good, but service was incredibly slow.... The pool/beach area is very clean, well maintained and beautiful. Wi-fi and business center services were very expensive. The spa is pretty, service was okay, but nothing special. Overall, it was certainly not awful, but I do not think I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston. TX
Dec 28, 2010

Fabulous Trip thanks to Cheap Tickets

Great trip. I would watch the weather because evey day about 2 it got very cloudy and windy, so if you want a Tan, get out from 9-1. We have been to the JW 4 times, love the hotel, the Lobby Bar has a live singer and they play great songs and the Margueritas and Cosmos are great. The beds are comfy, but definitely upgrade to an Ocean View ad get the travel round trip, the service is excellent and the Van's are very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at La Madonna in in La Isala Shopping Center ($9 cab ride) and definitely eat at Harry's (fabulous ad near the hotel)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston. TX
Dec 28, 2010

Fabulous Trip thanks to Cheap Tickets

Great trip. I would watch the weather because evey day about 2 it got very cloudy and windy, so if you want a Tan, get out from 9-1. We have been to the JW 4 times, love the hotel, the Lobby Bar has a live singer and they play great songs and the Margueritas and Cosmos are great. The beds are comfy, but definitely upgrade to an Ocean View ad get the travel round trip, the service is excellent and the Van's are very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at La Madonna in in La Isala Shopping Center ($9 cab ride) and definitely eat at Harry's (fabulous ad near the hotel)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Dec 27, 2010

JW has seen better days

This was my 3rd time at the JW. While I was there I had breakfast at the hotels restaurant (big mistake). The waiter came to my table after I had been sitting for about 7-10 min. Making faces. Then took our order, but didn't write it down. So as you can imagin yeah he got the order wrong. Long story short he argued with my table for a while that we had order what he brought. Then finally gave an upset look and walked away and brought what we had ordered. He didn't wait on us, instead he sent someone else. The hotel is looking rundown, restrooms in the pool area have missing faucets and smell. Oh but be carefull when buying tours from the agency inside the hotel, they gave me a price in dollars but when they billed my credit card they increased the price. I asked for a refund on the card and offered to pay in dollars for the original price that they quoted, but they refused. Make sure that if you need a taxi you ask for [...], very friendly and reliable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kukulcan plaza has a great mexican restaurant, with live maricahi music at night, it's call Tequila or something like that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Oct 22, 2010

JW Marriott does it again

Relaxed Went on day trip to Chichenitza It was devoid of crowds and felt lonely It was an excellent trip and was among the best trips I have taken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Hacienda Sisal was one fine Mexican restaurant a 10 minute walk from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago,il
Sep 26, 2010

100% recommendable

simple to say it was great!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 9, 2010

Awesome Experience!

This was my 2nd stay at the JW Marriott Cancun and the hotel was awesome. I utilized the SPA services and it was definitely a wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top