$389 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

5 stars
Kukulcan Boulevard KM 14.5, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
117 reviews
Great Stay

Hotel is beautiful and staff is great. I would def recommend this hotel. See full review

  • JDerkack
  • Oct 10, 2014
excellent hotel

great experience. if anything i feel that the staff are too attentive to my needs. They are... See full review

  • gunny12
  • Aug 19, 2014
Sophisticated, oceanfront Cancun resort and spa with luxury amenities

The JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa is on the Caribbean Sea and offers the utmost in luxury. The tranquil resort has a swanky, three-story Mayan-inspired health spa with fitness center and heated swimming pool. The JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa also has indoor and outdoor spa tubs, an indoor pool with lap lanes and a quiet swimming pool. Distinguished guest rooms have private balconies and ocean views. A lagoon-style scuba diving pool, club-level rooms and tennis courts are added amenities.

Highlights
  • Three-story, 35,000-square-foot spa providing massage therapy, scrubs and facials
  • Several pools, indoor and out, including one that is designated "quiet" and another for laps
  • Club-level rooms with pillow menus and spa toiletries

 

Rooms

All of the elegant 448 guest rooms at the 15-story JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa have a king or two double beds fitted with luxury bedding and ocean views with a private balcony or terrace. The rooms also have 32-inch flat-panel TVs, luxurious bathrooms with soaking tub, shower and double sinks as well as wireless Internet service (fees apply). Suites are more spacious. Club-level rooms have pillow menus and a lounge serving a hot buffet breakfast, midday snacks, hors d'oeuvres, desserts and cocktails.

 

Dining

Several dining venues at the JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa cater to an array of tastes, be it the Southwestern grill or the gourmet Mediterranean trattoria dispensing upscale Italian fare. A Japanese restaurant with teppanyaki tables, Argentinean steakhouse and Thai eatery are also on site. Drinking options range from brews at a sports bar to a lobby lounge turning out classic and creative cocktails.

Recreation

The JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa has a fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, free weights and classes as well as two free-form outdoor pools, a 20-foot dive pool with artificial reef, a pool for children and spa pool. Also on site is a club for kids and tennis court. Nearby AquaWorld arranges parasailing flights, fishing trips, fishing excursions, scuba diving and snorkeling (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)

 

Attractions
  • Luxury Avenue (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Hilton Golf Course (1.5 mi/1.6 km)
  • La Isla shopping and nightlife (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • 20,299 square feet of function space spanning 12 meeting rooms, an exhibition space and a grand ballroom
  • High-speed and wireless Internet in meeting areas
  • Catering
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa Rooms

Puerta al Mar - Deluxe Ocean View Room
Celebrate each day of your vacation high above Cancun’s sundrenched beaches when you select a Puerta al Mar guestroom. Toast the Caribbean Ocean and its seemingly-endless horizon with cocktails for two on your balcony. Let the ocean soothe you into the luxury of 5-Diamond resort sleep when you sink into a king bed or two double beds outfitted with tropical-weight comforter(s). Your guestroom provides 43.5 square meters (467 square feet) of superb living space and all of the amenities you have come to expect from a world class resort, including: • Wireless Internet connection (surcharges) • 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV with cable programming and pay movies • Ipod Station • Minibar • Bathrobes and slippers • Bathroom with dual vanity sinks • Scale • Vanity mirror • In-room digital safe • Individual climate control
Estrella del Mar - Deluxe Grand Ocean Front Suite
Your spacious and elegantly furnished terrace inspires you to spend every moment outdoors, enjoying the ocean and pool view, but 1344 square feet of superbly appointed interiors, complete with separate living and dining rooms, bring you inside, perhaps to entertain guests or for the simple joy of lounging. Your days in the sun will make the coolness and comfort of your king bed, in Revive signature bedding, absolutely irresistible. After a night of sleeping beneath a down comforter and 300-thread-count cotton linens, you will be ready to make the most of every amenity the JW Marriott Resort and Spa has to offer. • Wireless Internet connection (surcharges) • One and a half bathrooms • 32- inch flat-screen LCD TV with cable programming and pay movies • iPod station • Walk-in closet • Wet bar and minibar • Bathroom with dual vanity sinks • Bathrobes & slippers • Scale • Vanity mirror • In-room digital safe • Individual climate control • Double balcony
Las Olas - Ocean View Room
Views of Cancun’s lively beach scene and the blue of the Caribbean Ocean are yours to delight in when you select a Las Olas guestroom. Step out onto your balcony each morning to a Mayan sunrise and coffee for two at your cocktail table. Dream the night away in 5-Diamond luxury upon a king bed or two double beds outfitted with tropical-weight comforter(s). Thoughtful amenities in your 43.5 meter guestroom (467 feet) include: • Wireless Internet connection (surcharges) • 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV with cable programming and pay movies • iPod Station • Minibar • Bathrobes and slippers • Bathroom with dual vanity sinks • Scale • Vanity mirror • In-room digital safe • Individual climate control
Las Brisas Suite - JW Luxury Suite
Sunshine, ocean breezes and 5-Diamond luxury define your Cancun experience when you select a Las Brisas Suite as the setting for your next vacation. Begin and end each day overlooking the turquoise water from the elegance of your furnished terrace. Step indoors to unwind in sumptuous surroundings, measuring 785 feet, where French doors open into a living room designed in the contemporary JW Marriott style. Slip into extravagant slumber upon a king bed outfitted with our renowned Revive signature bedding that includes a soft down comforter and 300-threadcount cotton linens. • Wireless Internet connection (surcharges) • 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV with cable programming and pay movies • iPod Station • Minibar • Bathroom with dual vanity sinks • Bathrobes and slippers • Scale • Vanity mirror • In-room digital safe • Individual climate control • Separate living room with sofa bed and Flat screen TV

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Avenida Kukulkan: 0.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.6 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.7 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 1.7 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 4.1 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 4.4 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 4.4 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 4.5 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 5.2 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 5.8 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 6.2 mi

Dining

Gourmet Deli
This restaurant provides meals and snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hours: 6:00 am – 10:00 pm
Gustino Italian Grill
Serving fresh seafood and specialty cuisines. Hours: 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Beach Walk Market Place
Poolside service offering sandwiches, snacks and drinks. Hours: 9:00 am to 6:00 pm
Simply Seafood
Seafood restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Hours: 6:30 am – 11:00 pm Closed for lunch through October 27, 2009. Closed for dinner through September 30, 2009.
Lobby Bar
A sophisticated setting for cocktails and conversations. Hours: 4:00 pm to 12:00 am
Room Service
Room service is available 24 hours a day!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel has nine meeting rooms, a grand ballroom and creative catering and professional meeting planners to handle all details.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shridhar
chicago, IL
Dec 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel

It was an excellent experience. This hotel has great amenities, including gorgeous pool, spa and restaurants. Food is little expensive but in line with 5 star hotel prices. Concierge, pool and room service staff, restaurant staff, all were courteous and attentive. Receptionist at front desk could have been little more cheerful but that did not stop us from having a lot of fun at this great hotel. Just a note, this is not a party hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 20, 2011

Great family vacation

This was my second stay at the JW Marriott. The service, the facilities and the room were wonderful. Great value. Good for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Don
Business
Champaign, IL
Feb 18, 2011

Great Property

1. The staff was fantastic - always willing to assist and always welcoming. 2. The food and service in the restaurants were top notch. 3. My wife and I relaxed by the pool or at the beach and this property and staff were well suited to serve us hand and foot. 4. This trip was also for business and this is where the property falls short. If you are going to charge for WiFi then it should be available in the rooms, lobby, restaurants and pool side. I had to be in the lobby to get a connection and even then it was painfully slow. I don't mind paying, but if you are going to charge outrageous fees then the service or product must be the absolute best. Consequently the extra I paid for a suite so I could have an office to work in was wasted. As well, I would have loved to have been on my balcony looking at and listening to the ocean while working on my computer. 5. I understand the reduced occupancy has caused properties to charge for everything, but I think rooms should be equipped with coffee makers as American travelers are accustomed when traveling in the U.S. The earliest I could get coffee, without ordering room service and waking my wife, was 6am at the gift shop. 6. I loved the lobby bar. I am an early riser and the lounge chairs became my office from 4am to 7am every day. Once the sun rose the view across the pool to the ocean was incredible. After a day in the sun I loved returning to the lobby bar for a Mojito and delicious bar snacks provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Feb 12, 2011

JW Marriott Cancun

The JW Marriott in Cancun is a gorgeous hotel - There are 3 resteraunts on the campus and everything is as pictured - Clean Pools, Gorgeous lobbies, Beautiful Rooms and Fabulous beachfront. Services rendered where quick & very courteous. Our room was always kept in tip top shape with the cleaning staff. Never were we left without - as the staff is very attentive. There is even a "learn to snorkel" poolway!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Cancun has a mecca of things to do for the sightseeing active traveler. The campus of JW does have a group that can situate you in a tour or adventure and there are many avenues to "go places" in Cancun - such as the group that brings you from the airport. ALWAYS book through your hotel ([...]) as you will be getting RELIABLE and sure service. Cancun Hotel Zone has bus service that is a terrific way to go up & down the zone for resteraunts, entertainment or shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nubian Natalie
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 11, 2011

First Class and Relaxing!!

I traveled with my sisters and aunts (ages 29 thru 71). It was a wonderful and relaxing experience. The staff at the hotel were a delight and very attentive. The food was delicious. There was something for everyone. Although we did not travel with children, we did see and thought on our next trip to bring our children. The only thing we regretted is that we did not stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Mikado restaurant at the Marriott Hotel which is next door to the J.W. Marriott. Bon Appetit!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middle age couple f
Business
Rochester NY
Jan 27, 2011

Quality as expected

First trip to Cancun - hotel offered the same high quality of all the Marriotts we stayed in. Restaurants were wonderful. Day Trip to Mayan ruins - Chicchinitza- was the highlight (as the weather was a bit cool). We arranged it right at the hotel. Don't go into the city - unless you like being accosted by vendors. Stay on the strip - the shopping and entertainment there is wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 2, 2011

Great Hotel

Overall a great hotel. Pool is huge with varying temperatures. Beach is great, but already showing signs of erosion since being rebuilt. The one complaint we had was room service coming after 4pm each day. We've stayed at the Ritz, Meridien, and FAGCB and would recommend the JW above them for the value and service you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
expected more
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Dec 29, 2010

Somewhat disappointing

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were spacious. The rooms could have been cleaner. In one of our two rooms, it looked like someone had sprayed all four walls with champagne...Our rooms also smelled of cigar smoke when we checked in. Our bellman called the front desk to alert them, but no one ever came to fix the problems. The food at the onsite restaurants was good, but service was incredibly slow.... The pool/beach area is very clean, well maintained and beautiful. Wi-fi and business center services were very expensive. The spa is pretty, service was okay, but nothing special. Overall, it was certainly not awful, but I do not think I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston. TX
Dec 28, 2010

Fabulous Trip thanks to Cheap Tickets

Great trip. I would watch the weather because evey day about 2 it got very cloudy and windy, so if you want a Tan, get out from 9-1. We have been to the JW 4 times, love the hotel, the Lobby Bar has a live singer and they play great songs and the Margueritas and Cosmos are great. The beds are comfy, but definitely upgrade to an Ocean View ad get the travel round trip, the service is excellent and the Van's are very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at La Madonna in in La Isala Shopping Center ($9 cab ride) and definitely eat at Harry's (fabulous ad near the hotel)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Dec 27, 2010

JW has seen better days

This was my 3rd time at the JW. While I was there I had breakfast at the hotels restaurant (big mistake). The waiter came to my table after I had been sitting for about 7-10 min. Making faces. Then took our order, but didn't write it down. So as you can imagin yeah he got the order wrong. Long story short he argued with my table for a while that we had order what he brought. Then finally gave an upset look and walked away and brought what we had ordered. He didn't wait on us, instead he sent someone else. The hotel is looking rundown, restrooms in the pool area have missing faucets and smell. Oh but be carefull when buying tours from the agency inside the hotel, they gave me a price in dollars but when they billed my credit card they increased the price. I asked for a refund on the card and offered to pay in dollars for the original price that they quoted, but they refused. Make sure that if you need a taxi you ask for [...], very friendly and reliable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kukulcan plaza has a great mexican restaurant, with live maricahi music at night, it's call Tequila or something like that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Oct 22, 2010

JW Marriott does it again

Relaxed Went on day trip to Chichenitza It was devoid of crowds and felt lonely It was an excellent trip and was among the best trips I have taken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Hacienda Sisal was one fine Mexican restaurant a 10 minute walk from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top