$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

5 stars
View map of Kukulcan Boulevard KM 14.5, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Subitodave
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Cancun

Very clean, excellent restaurants, fantastic beach and pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Gray Line Mayaland tour to Chichen Iza was an unbelievable trip. The tour guide (Carlos Muñoz) was the finest guide we have ever had. Its not often that you get a tour guide with a phd in anthropology.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Okepat64
Business
Dallas
Mar 7, 2012

Quick weekend

Great staff. Restaurants OK, extensive breakfast buffet. Great gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ldavid
Business
Montreal, QC, Canada
Mar 6, 2012

Relaxing romantic vacation

Great for peace and quiet! I would not recommend if you are looking for a party environment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Join the Club 91. You get free meals (breakfast and dinner very good! Lunch average) for 50$ a head and free drinks from 6-10. Worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler from CT
Business
Connecticut
Feb 26, 2012

February 2012

Great hotel. Pool facilities are amazing, beach is nice although does have some waves which make swimming more challenging. Incredibly friendly staff. The doorman even remembered my last name and would use it to greet us. Rooms are comfortable, clean, nice view of the ocean, pools. The three restaurants are very good although expensive. 320 pesos for adult buffet breakfast. Meals for 4 would usually run more than 100 dollars. The hotel is unfortunately away from most outside restaurants and other things unless you take a bus which we did not do. You can also eat at the Marriott Casa Magna which is next door and charge to your room. However there is a McDonald, Papa John pizza and a XOXO convenience store which takes credit cards (7-Eleven does not) just five minutes down the street. You can save money by stocking up on snacks and drinks. Will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mary margaret
Business
Poquoson, VA, USA
Feb 9, 2012

couples getaway

Right on target for a luxury hotel.All rooms have a decent ocean view.Hotel staff very pleasant and accomodating.Pool area is inviting with plenty of lounge chairs.Breakfast buffet worth the approximate $25 if you have an appetite. Italian restaurant beautifully lit with candles and saxophonist to serenade you during dinner. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fred's Seafood was exquisite-request outdoor seating at sunset.Ride the local bus-comes by every few minutes,economical and very convenient.We loved Cancun - locals were very friendly without being pushy.They like Americans!Plenty to do or you can choose just to lounge by the turquoise waters with a cocktail and good book.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack23
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Great Winter Getaway

Easy to get to, clean, wonderful staff and restaurants. Beautiful beach and excellent escape from New York winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Funny money
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Fun in the sun!

We enjoyed our stay at the JW. It was a great choice for the holidays. The decor at the lobby was great with a huge Christmas tree and life size gingerbread house. It made the lobby smell great. The restaurants at the JW were excellent. We particularly enjoyed the Italian for dinner and Sedona grill for breakfast. The pool and beach area were very nice. Although we would like to see more amenities for children such as water slides or beach activities/events. Also, it would be great to upgrade the kids club as its dated and sub-par as compared to Hyatt kids and Ritz kids programs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the restaurants downtown Cancun. Great deals and local food... La Parrilla and La Habichuela are must do's...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BellaLA
Business
los angeles, california
Nov 25, 2011

This Is The Life

So we normally are not big chain hotel people but after this stay we are reformed! A pest infestation in a palapa hut south of playa del carmen left us homeless on our one week vacation-- at least cell phone service/internet worked and we searched for a hotel and found JW Marriott Cancun. As soon as we got to the hotel, we knew we were in the right place--the doormen were welcoming and (so friendly the whole trip,) the well manicured grounds-- even the scent of the cool, grand lobby was perfect. Our room was immaculate, the bed was so comfy, the luxurious clean sheets, the soft towels and the wonderful balcony overlooking the most gorgeous crystal blue waters of the carribbean sea! Priceless. We sunned all day in the "adults only" part of the beach with food and drink service-- cold drinks and great food. The pool area is huge and expansive there is a place and a beach chair for everyone! We ate al fresco overlooking the sea at the breakfast buffett (it was complimentary with our internet deal) every morning. We had a rental car and it was free valet and easy to access when we went "out on the town" at night. The hotel is relatively quiet at night. We had such a good time. We will be back (on a couples trip or with the whole family) for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service is accessible at all hours and we took advantage of the BEST BANANA SPLITS WORLD WIDE (the vanilla & strawberry ice cream, the nuts, the chocolate sauce, the whipped cream!) every single night to eat in bed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Expected more out of JW

Service was not the best - attitude of people was not on par with a JW. Some were good. Concierge was pathetic... Would rather chat away on the phone and laugh and giggle rather than help. Directions/choices of the concierge left a lot to be desired. Food was ok at the Grill.. But choices were limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarcosNG
Business
Mexico
Sep 10, 2011

Excelent

Worth every each cent$ you pay! The bad part was just one restaurant open and the menu a litlle limited

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top