$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

5 stars
View map of Kukulcan Boulevard KM 14.5, Hotel Zone, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BE Chicago
Business
Chicago
Dec 11, 2012

Sleepy JW Marriott

Stayed at the JW around Dec 6-10. It was a nice hotel, but below my expectations for a JW Marriott, especially a Resort property located on the Yucatan. My newspaper did not show up, despite two separate requests on two separate days. Food service was very good at the Argentine Steakhouse at the adjacent Casa Magna Marriott property (coming from a Chicago Steak conossiouer). The resort was too sleepy for my liking, like where is everyone sleepy. I am a Gold member of Marriott and chose the Marriott b/c I thought I knew what to expect. however in hindsight, I would have chosen a different property that had a bit more energy. Pricing for a la carte (ie drinks) is outrageous, as expensive as you would pay at a Marriott in NYC or Seattle. Maid service was very good, no complaints about the cleanliness of our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the R1 or R2 buses into Cancun or Playa Tortugas, rather than hiring the hotel's car. The buses stop constantly, right in front of the Hard Rock hotel (next to the JW Marriott). Cost is about 8-9 pesos ($0.75 US).

Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Funny money
Business
Raleigh, NC, USA
Oct 14, 2012

Great location

Excellent service and location. I recommend this hotel to anyone. the pool area is fun and beach are fantastic... Also, the restaurants on site were very good...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sokrmom
Business
Medford, Oregon
Aug 8, 2012

Very clean, slow front desk, no upgrades

We had a very good (not great) time at the JW Marriott. We are Marriott gold members and they offered no upgrades. It took 3 times giving them our Marriott Rewards # for them to even add it to our reservation. The staff at Champions at the Casa Magna next door went above and beyond for us and opened the doors early so we could watch an Olympic event. The front desk check in process was super slow and every time we went to the front desk for anything it took forever. The restaurant staff at the Sedona Grill was very friendly as well as the pool staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus instead of a cab. It is a great value and very easy to get around. The drivers are very helpful in stopping where you need to get off.

Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ATL Whitney
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jul 30, 2012

Excellent service

The only thing I would improve upon is the rooms. The room was comfortable and clean, but the secondary furniture , such as the couch was a little worse for the wear. Service was awesome throughout the resort. The restaurants all provided excellent food as well as excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

They give out coupons to all of the restaurants for 10 -15% off. I think if you ask nicely you'll be able to get these at the front desk.

Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MrDimitri
Business
Nc
Jul 21, 2012

Perfect family vacation!

Our family of 4 stayed there in July for a week . This was the best hotel, best vacation ever! Expensive but worth every dollar! Fantastic amenities, beach, swimming pool, restaurants etc. Can't say enough good things and can't wait to go back!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Father
Business
San Antonio
Jul 16, 2012

Awesome hotel

Enjoyed it but seems to be ridiculous in it's prices. Might be taking advantage of it's customers. Otherwise, beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Donna O.
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 17, 2012

Family Vacation

The staff was for the most part great. Prices were high and our room was not cleaned very well. I did not like the location. Nothing to do directly outside the hotel, or at the beach. I was NOT told that I had to reserve the shuttle to the airport. I wouls not stay at this Marriott again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louis 1
Business
AZ
Jun 17, 2012

Great location

We had a great time. Its clean & safe. Everything is close and Its a Hotel friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hate flying
Business
WallaWalla Washington
May 26, 2012

Excellent hotel

The hotel was great across the board. The only things we penalized it for was that there wasn't many restaurants within walking distance. The hotel restaurants were good but they were pricy for what you got. The other thing that bugged us was the sales pitches. This seems to happen everywhere in cancun but we didn't expect it from the transportation company (45 minutes) and the hotel (90 minutes). We did decline these after some pressure but it did put a damper on the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Crab House has good food and great service and is a short walk from the hotel. You can get great seafood just about anywhere.

Review of JW Marriott Cancun Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pelusa
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 14, 2012

Marritot in Cancun Mexico

It was okay. But I am sorry the price after staying here is just to high. You can get the same if not better for less. Also my other biggest problem was location. With in the hotel there is not much to do or offer. You need to either walk to the take the city bus. The hotel does not offer a shuttle. I am sorry to say but for my next visit because I will be going back to Cancun. I will not be staying in the same hotel. Cancun and Mexico I fell in love with and can't wait until my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top