$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
189 reviews
My favorite hotel on the best beach in Cancun

Have returned to this hotel more than once a year for the past ten years. It is on the best beach,... See full review

  • Bedro
  • Aug 4, 2014
On Vacation from Boston

Let me say this, I have traveled to many destinations and have stayed at many hotels in my life... See full review

  • N.R.
  • Jul 29, 2014
Tropical Cancun beach retreat near the convention center and nightlife

The tranquil, upscale InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is steps from the sparkling Caribbean Sea. The resort is convenient for both leisure and business travelers with an address near the convention center and nightlife. Two outdoor pools, a whirlpool, massage services and a 24-hour fitness center are met by offerings such as water sports, two restaurants, two bars and a casual cafe. Contemporary guest rooms feature ocean, garden or lagoon views and are swathed in marble with Herman Miller chairs, rain showers and ambient lighting.

 

Highlights
  • Modern guests rooms decked in marble with Herman Miller chairs and garden, lagoon or ocean views
  • Two pools, one of which is adults only, as well as five whirlpools
  • Palm and palapa-punctuated beach overlooking Isla Mujeres
  • InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is near the convention center and nightlife

 

Rooms

Each of the 289 guest rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort have one king or two double beds and are adorned in marble and tile with expansive windows or balconies facing the ocean, lagoon or verdant grounds. Additional amenities include direct-dial telephones, air-conditioning, mini bars and bathrooms with shower-bathtubs and vanity mirrors. Renovated rooms also feature iHome radios, Melitta coffee machines, LCD TVs, rain showers and Herman Miller chairs as well as ambient LED lighting. Club-level rooms on a private floor feature continental breakfast.

 

Features

The beachfront InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort has two outdoor pools, five whirlpools and a 24-hour fitness center. The resort is near the convention center and the entertainment district in downtown Cancun. Offerings include water sports, wireless Internet service and massage services. Two restaurants, one specializing in Caribbean seafood, and a tequila bar pouring more than 600 labels completes the experience.

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (15 mi/24 km)

 

Attractions
  • Cancun Golf Club (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (5 mi/8 km)
  • AquaWorld (5 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting spaces accommodating up to 450 theater-style
  • Three meeting rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort
  • Exhibit space
  • Business center with high-speed Internet access, computer, photocopying, printing and secretarial services

Hotel Map

21.1355 -86.7543
Area served
Cancun.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)- 15 miles or 25 minutes.
Area description
The perfect location on the very heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, next to a 18- hole professional Golf Course, 5 minutes walking distance from shopping malls, restaurants and the best nightlife: a mile away from Cancun's Convention Center and nested on the best beach in the destination.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View Smoking/Non Smoking
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms are located on the ground floor with large terrace are spacious (51sqm/549sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology these are Non Smoking /smoking rooms marble floor deluxe amenities bathroom hs internet in room safe i home deck led light lamp tv cable
Deluxe Lagoon View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the amazing hotel strip and lagoon rooms are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the stunning Caribbean Sea are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Club Room Lagoon View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer an amazing view over the hotel strip and lagoon are spacious (34sqm/366sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Club Room Ocean View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer from their balcony an amazing view over the Caribbean Sea are spacious (60sqm/645sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Junior Suite
Junior Suites are generous in size (65m2/700sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea or the Lagoon and hotel strip and hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar balcony complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Deluxe Suite
The new Deluxe Suites are generous in size (68m2/730sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea. The suites feature the latest in design, comfort and technology. Complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.5 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.9 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 4.9 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.2 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 7.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.2 mi

Dining

El Caribeno
Fully renovated, this restaurant offers a casually elegant atmosphere and delicious seafood dishes as well as a dazzling view of the beach and ocean.
Cana Brava
Located next to the beach, this is a casual Snack Bar with an extensive menu, from a traditional hamburger to a fresh seafood cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (189)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 189
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
daniel271
Köln, Deutschland
Dec 25, 2011

Nice hotel,bad service, tryed to chage you for everything

It is a nice hotel with really nice hotel rooms and a beautiful beach, good located at the beach. The Service is really bad, they gave us the wrong room without a terrace and twin bets, after I went to the receiption, they gave us a room with a terrace looking to a wall, but we had booked with a view. The terrace was without anything (table, chair...), so we could not use it. At the pool they tryed charging us for pool towels. So it took two hours till I was at the beach - checking in (very slow, 15-20 minutes), having the right room and having pool towels without paying money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Oct 6, 2009

Ok trip

The staff and service was phenomenal but the beds suck so bad, I was truly considering leaving the hotel and renting at another for the duration of my stay. Beds killed my back and I did not have one good night's rest !!!! I'm pretty sure I will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wichita,KS
Oct 30, 2009

Fair

Always felt like they were trying to sell me something. Did not feel peaceful. Bartender at beach bar was rude and unfriendly. NO drink specials or happy hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chef Don
Houston
Aug 14, 2009

The greatest of all paradise

Both me and my wife had fun made the best out of everything there were some problem with somr of the staff,but mostly me and my lovly wife enjoy our 30year honeymoon.we would had love to have coffee before going to breakfast we always do but some staff would not sell it to us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

some of the local have great cheap food

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lorielam
Atlanta, GA
Mar 23, 2010

Decent hotel but street noise

The hotel was decent and clean, the staff friendly, the bed comfortable and the room nice for the price. Also the beachfront was lovely. However, the room we got in our package deal faced the "lagoon side" in the new tower but was really facing the busy main drag in the hotel zone, which was (sleeplessly) loud with speeding buses and cars all night. When we asked to have our room changed to a quieter location, the only option offered was also facing the lagoon (street), two floors up---equally as loud! That was a dealbreaker for us and we will not return to this hotel unless the oceanfront rooms are a real deal. We didn't hear noise complaints from our friends who stayed in those rooms. Oh, and you pay for every cup of coffee you drink in the room and cannot bring your own because of the specialized coffeemakers they have. Not a dealbreaker, but annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a bus stop right in front of this hotel and the fare is cheap----7.5 pesos one way.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Mar 5, 2010

Better than expected, a work in progess

The hotel is doing renovations at a slow pace. I lucked out with a great modern updated ocean front room. Unfortunately the free upgrade to club level was not available. I also was surprised at check out that the 20% discount on food and beverage was not applied. Had to force Ana at check out to go through all receipts and give the discount. Was not a great experience at the end but the week was pretty darn good. The beach is the best and the room was very nice. Rain shower head with tiled walk in shower, separate toilet, and separate sink. The hallways are tiled so it can be noisy. The windows open wide and are the size of the entire room. Flat screen 42inch television. The pools are nice but unheated. This is not a hotel in my opinion if you are looking for a party on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus stop right outside the front doors. Use the buses to anyplace in hotel zone and downtown (7 pesos). Also grocery store across the street.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
deborahthedancer
Little Rock, AR
Nov 29, 2009

Holiday Inn Affiliated hotel

The music at the pool was progressive jazz and it sounded like the record was stuck. It was very annoying. There were too many children and the noise from constuction was just about as bad. They need two pools operating. One for adults only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EL EXIGENTE
MIAMI
Mar 15, 2011

excellent service at the Restaurants and

we did not get the room that was reserved . We had to wait over one hour to get the king size bed that we originally requested ( after a lot of going back and forth with an unpleasant front desk ). NO WAY TO GREET A GUEST AFTER A LONG TRIP AND THE CORRESPONDING AIRPORT HASSLES !!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Relaxed Satisfied Mell
Cancun, Mexico
Dec 6, 2013

Relaxing affordable short notice birthday trip.

It was my first time in Mexico and every one was very friendly. The hotel was quiet and relaxing like I hoped not really busy and everyone was very friendly at the Intercontinental Presidente hotel. My boyfriend didn't speak a lick of Spanish so it was really hard for home to communicate but, they tried there best to help him in English. I knew a little enough to get me by and what I didn't know they accommodated me in English. Overall my stay was great. The beach was the best part I went off of reviews and they were spot on. The beach was clean, water was clear, and waves were calm just like I imaged.... Beautiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay somewhere else if you expect entertainment this is a quiet relaxing hotel.....

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time in Cancun
Folsom CA
Dec 13, 2009

Check everything!

Not the best experience at this hotel. Everything started off well enough with a nice bellman who let us know that the water and coffee is "on the house" for the first night(more on this in a second). From the outset, we noticed that the air conditioner in our room did not work. A few hours later we asked the front desk to have someone look at the unit for us, only to be told that everything was fine. I wanted to tell him that the thermostat was stuck on 80 degrees but he did not speak English and he left before I could tell him anything else. The next day we asked another service person to look at the AC again and this time they actually fixed it. Nevertheless, we asked for another room since the first one had hard granite flooring. Turns out all of the rooms have hard granite flooring. Furthermore, the walls are paper thin. Closing doors down the hall sound as if it is your own door closing. Needless to say we heard "everything" the neighbors were doing. Be on alert for charges when you are at the hotel. We were told that dining at the hotels restaurant includes a 20% discount off the bill. Very nice perk. Nevertheless, even though we told the waiter what room we were in when ordering, they never bothered to deduct the 20% discount from our bill until we pointed it out to them. This happened every time. The most annoying thing was when we checked out, we discovered there was a charge for the coffee and the water from the first night. I tried explaining to the front desk person how one of their employees told me that it was free to no avail. He happened to be on duty that morning and even when she confirmed what he had told us, she still said she couldn't do anything about it. She first told us there was no such policy. Then when she talked to the bellman, she said that the policy didn't start until the day we left. It was not a lot of money. They just didn't get that when we rely on something one of their employees says, they should honor it. I won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't try to do your tours on the cheap. You really do get what you pay for. We did the Xcaret trip at the regular level and it was just an unpleasant experience. We upgraded our package to Chichen Itza and were extremely satisfied.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search