$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 18, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 2, 2011

Beautiful Beach

We've been to Cancun many times, but chose to stay at this hotel for the first time because of the beautiful beach. And it didn't disappoint! They have the widest stretch of beautiful white sand and calm water. There are also two pools where we relaxed. Things did not go smoothly at our arrival when we found that they overbooked the Club level rooms, which we had booked. The "upgraded" room they wanted to put us into instead was not nearly as nice and had no terrace. Fortunately, my husband eventually found the right people to talk to and we spent two nights in a suite in the older tower, then moved to the club level when someone checked out. The Club was definitely worth the extra expense, with modern rooms, a terrace with a spectacular view, and outstanding service from Club concierge Gregorio and the whole staff. Every morning, we'd enjoy breakfast in the club diningroom and every evening, we'd enjoy hors d'oeuvres and wine or coffee. They also have two computers for club guests, so I was able to check emails and check in for our flight home. We ordered drinks at the beach or pool and liked the outside patio for a casual lunch while looking out at the beach. We attended a fun and festive New Year's Even dinner at the hotel with good food and a great live band. Our table had people from Brazil and Canada and we became fast friends. In my ratings, it's hard to give a rating for staff because it was inconsistent. The people at check-in were not good, but most everyone else was great. They seem to have a terrific senior management team, which saved the day. Overall, I would recommend this hotel IF you can get the room situation the way you want. Once we did, we had no complaints. We will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can easily walk to Plaza Caracol for silver and souvenirs. They have a Starbucks and Haagen Dazs if you want to sit and relax and a good Italian-Swiss restaurant called Casa Rolandi. We like their margarita pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margarita Expert
Business
Traverse City, MI.
Mar 16, 2011

RELAX AND RELAX

Cancun InterContinental has the BEST BEACH. Staff knew why we were there.Very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Apr 7, 2011

The best Beach

Excellent beach with the best service staff! Newly renovated rooms were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheMaggards
Business
Richmond, Ky
Jul 27, 2009

Stayed here for Honeymoon...fantastic!!!

My husband and I just stayed there for our honeymoon. We couldn't have been any more pleased with our stay and I don't think we could have picked a better resort to stay at. All of the staff was very helpful and friendly. Unlike the other posts, we did'nt have anyone in the lobby trying to sell us timeshares. We did sit down and book at tour on a sail boat to the Isle of Mujeres via Albatros. It was our favorite part of the trip! I definitely recommend it to anyone visiting! The restaurants at the hotel all had great food, we ate there the majority of the time. The outside bar is FANTASTIC and had a great bartender. I would definitely recommend anyone to go here, we have already started planning a trip back next summer. The room has a mini bar that has everything you would want to drink and to snack on. Prices aren't that bad, but I would suggest going right down the street to the little store and buying your own snacks. Also, I wouldn't exchange my money at the hotel, the exchange rate was pretty low, we found much better exchange rates out in town. The pools were great, the adult pool was even better!! Perfect for honeymooners that don't want to be around screaming children. Also, one of our favorite features of the hotel was the beach side service. They were very helpful & brough you anything and everything that you wanted. We had a great, amazing, wonderful stay & we can't wait to go back to the resort!! It was just about 8-10 minute walk to anywhere you needed to go, the location was fantastic! It was definitely the best beach in cancun. They also have parasailing, jet skis, sail boats, scuba diving, etc at the hotel. We definitely enjoyed ourselves!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Famman
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 28, 2009

Great Beach for Family Vacation

The Presidente is a good hotel at the top nothern part of the hotel strip. It's located close to shopping areas, clubs and restaurants. The rooms were a good and clean. We noticed that the hotel is one of olders ones on the strip but it did not lack in service compared to newer hotel on the strip. It was a good fit for our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids, 8 and 3). One really nice part of the hotel is it's beach...it was what we wanted for cancun, clear beach, with white soft sand, no waves, it seemed like your own personal pool in the ocean. Our kids enjoyed this very much. The hotel also has two pools, one which is pretty large for families and a smaller one where only adults can enjoy. Our overall experience was pleasent and we had no issue with the hotel and the staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing you need to watch out for are the timeshare and package specialist that want to waste a couple minutes of your time. They can seem very pushy, we just ignored and past them by. Our room had a view to the lagoon and at times, specially in the early morning hours you can here some noise from the clubs accross the lagoon. If you are a deep sleeper then this will not be an issue. We were very satisfied for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 13, 2007

perfect for beachgoers:

the presidente has the best beach around hands down. this is the main reason we chose this resort.we weren't dissappointed. the pool water was relatively warm, so having the pristine water by the beach was a blessing. activities (jet skiing, parasailing, etc. were right in our vicinity. we were really glad we did not have an all-inclusive resort because we able to try a lot of the restaurants in the hotel zone. all of our destinations were easily accessed by the bus system. acommadations were fine: clean room, great air conditioning, in-room safe, and free internet service in the business center. the only thing that bothered us a little bit was the persistent people in the lobby trying to get us to join the club associated with the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

carlos and charlies, hard rock, senior frogs, rainforest cafe and other entertainment venues were within walking distance, but for the small bus fare why walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Satisfied NYer
Business
NY, NY
Jul 27, 2009

Amazing Hotel & Beach, Will Be Back

LOVED IT ALL. I gotta say, this is my 2nd time to the Intercontinental Hotel Cancun and I am just amazed by both the low price but the spectacular amenities that it offers. First off, the beach is SPECTACULAR. There is nothing like it in the Caribbean which is why this was voted #1 Cancun beach several times over. Sugar soft sand, no waves (beach is basically an amazing pool) and the water is crystal clear, shallow, and warm. Second, the VIEW. Get the Club Deluxe room and be prepared to be wowed by the most amazing views of the beach and ocean. Amazingly clear blue water and vast stretches of turquoise tinged reefs 1 mile out. Take the FREE k_ayak from the hotel and boat out for 30 mins, dive in, and just be wowed by the clear splendor. Get the goggles from the Supermarket across the street since they can't give you snorkel goggles when you k_ayak. 3rd, BREAKFAST WAS HUUUGE! Get the Club Deluxe room and breakfast is included for free. I ate so much during b-fast that I couldn't even eat dinner. By late evening, I would go to the Tequila bar, get some national drinks like margaritas and tequila sunrises, have some yummy unlimited finger foods, and call it a day. You will not be disappointed here. I plan on coming back this winter AND June 2010.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need water or just want to buy snacks, cross the Kulkulcan Blvd. in front of the hotel, head towards the right 1-2 blocks (5 mins on foot) and head on into the" Xpress" supermarket. Lots of food, soda, snacks, and etc. for the whole family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manumillo
Business
Long Beach, CA. USA
Sep 15, 2009

Aug 29 - Sep 5 09 Unbeatable location

We needed a place where we could detoxify from day to day stress! After having our flight to Cancun delayed for more than 3 hours, we were ready to explode, but as soon as we got to the hotel, we were greatly surprised by the friendliness of their staff! When we got to our room (it was at night) we had a great view of the beach and we could see on the horizon the lights of Isla Mujeres... The first morning, when we woke up, the view was beyond of what simple words could describe! You TRULY HAVE to BE THERE to experience it! We were on the ninth floor and it was more than amazing! We could not believe the ocean's diferent shades of blue!!!! It was just what the DR ordered for us! Thank you to El Presidente Intercontinental, CocoTours Marina and their wonderful Staff for an amazing stay! While there, make sure to stop by their marina, CocoTours. From their manager,[...], to all their staff, highly recomended tours and water amenities that should also be experienced! Once again, unless you go there, you will not understand the intensity of what I am trying to convey in these paragraphs with words! So, if you can, DO GO THERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The marina staff @ CocoTours made the stay an amazing experience! At first, my gf was afraid of going on one of their seadoos (might be the way I usually drive cars :)) but, by the end of our trip, she was driving her own seadoo! Extremly friendly and patient staff that works with you :) Two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amanda fll
Business
Ft lauderdale , florida
Sep 10, 2009

Great location, beautiful views.

I was not there for a vacation, but have lived here before. the Presidente is the perfect location for travelling either downtown to great restaurants, or the hotel zone for partying and good food as well. the beach is beautiful. I actually prefer this side because the view is spectacular. even at night to see the lights of Isla and the pirate ships on the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Sr Frogs is always great place for fun. The entertainer is a personal friend of mine, [...]. they lived up the crowd with funny anecdotes and great music and dancing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luz super mom
Business
houston tx
Aug 7, 2009

fantastic family getaway

good hotel spend most of the time outside i only used fot sleep and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top