$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
192 reviews
My favorite hotel on the best beach in Cancun

Have returned to this hotel more than once a year for the past ten years. It is on the best beach,... See full review

  • Bedro
  • Aug 4, 2014
On Vacation from Boston

Let me say this, I have traveled to many destinations and have stayed at many hotels in my life... See full review

  • N.R.
  • Jul 29, 2014
Tropical Cancun beach retreat near the convention center and nightlife

The tranquil, upscale InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is steps from the sparkling Caribbean Sea. The resort is convenient for both leisure and business travelers with an address near the convention center and nightlife. Two outdoor pools, a whirlpool, massage services and a 24-hour fitness center are met by offerings such as water sports, two restaurants, two bars and a casual cafe. Contemporary guest rooms feature ocean, garden or lagoon views and are swathed in marble with Herman Miller chairs, rain showers and ambient lighting.

 

Highlights
  • Modern guests rooms decked in marble with Herman Miller chairs and garden, lagoon or ocean views
  • Two pools, one of which is adults only, as well as five whirlpools
  • Palm and palapa-punctuated beach overlooking Isla Mujeres
  • InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is near the convention center and nightlife

 

Rooms

Each of the 289 guest rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort have one king or two double beds and are adorned in marble and tile with expansive windows or balconies facing the ocean, lagoon or verdant grounds. Additional amenities include direct-dial telephones, air-conditioning, mini bars and bathrooms with shower-bathtubs and vanity mirrors. Renovated rooms also feature iHome radios, Melitta coffee machines, LCD TVs, rain showers and Herman Miller chairs as well as ambient LED lighting. Club-level rooms on a private floor feature continental breakfast.

 

Features

The beachfront InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort has two outdoor pools, five whirlpools and a 24-hour fitness center. The resort is near the convention center and the entertainment district in downtown Cancun. Offerings include water sports, wireless Internet service and massage services. Two restaurants, one specializing in Caribbean seafood, and a tequila bar pouring more than 600 labels completes the experience.

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (15 mi/24 km)

 

Attractions
  • Cancun Golf Club (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (5 mi/8 km)
  • AquaWorld (5 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting spaces accommodating up to 450 theater-style
  • Three meeting rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort
  • Exhibit space
  • Business center with high-speed Internet access, computer, photocopying, printing and secretarial services

Hotel Map

21.1355 -86.7543
Area served
Cancun.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)- 15 miles or 25 minutes.
Area description
The perfect location on the very heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, next to a 18- hole professional Golf Course, 5 minutes walking distance from shopping malls, restaurants and the best nightlife: a mile away from Cancun's Convention Center and nested on the best beach in the destination.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View Smoking/Non Smoking
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms are located on the ground floor with large terrace are spacious (51sqm/549sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology these are Non Smoking /smoking rooms marble floor deluxe amenities bathroom hs internet in room safe i home deck led light lamp tv cable
Deluxe Lagoon View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the amazing hotel strip and lagoon rooms are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the stunning Caribbean Sea are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Club Room Lagoon View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer an amazing view over the hotel strip and lagoon are spacious (34sqm/366sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Club Room Ocean View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer from their balcony an amazing view over the Caribbean Sea are spacious (60sqm/645sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Junior Suite
Junior Suites are generous in size (65m2/700sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea or the Lagoon and hotel strip and hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar balcony complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Deluxe Suite
The new Deluxe Suites are generous in size (68m2/730sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea. The suites feature the latest in design, comfort and technology. Complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.5 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.9 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 4.9 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.2 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 7.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.2 mi

Dining

El Caribeno
Fully renovated, this restaurant offers a casually elegant atmosphere and delicious seafood dishes as well as a dazzling view of the beach and ocean.
Cana Brava
Located next to the beach, this is a casual Snack Bar with an extensive menu, from a traditional hamburger to a fresh seafood cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Mar 13, 2011

watch out for the welcome package!

The hotel was really nice, and had better beaches than any of the others we saw. The only problem and tour people trying to sell you stuff in the lobby. We had our transportation through Gray Line, and they were great, no pressure sales and we did a catamaran cruise though them which was awesome. Beware of any of the others though, especially if they offer something for free. They are relentless and quite annoying, just don't make eye contact and keep walking. I'm sure thats a problem in all the the resorts though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street there is a awesome local little burrito restaurant. Its really cheap and quick and delicious, an must go for anyone staying at the Intercontinental Presidente.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
sunnyvale, ca
Dec 27, 2010

best beach ever

the best part of this hotel is the beach,its awesome, I loved it. our room was very clean and neat with modern style,room service was great and staff were very polite ( except the receptionist girl at night shift who was kind of indifferent and annoying) the downside was staircase from hotel to the beach, if you have a kid with stroller and you want to take it to the beach its going to be tough. there is no wheelchair path to the ground level so you have to carry your stroller + baby + all your stuff down and up and its more than 10 steps... beach resturant's food ( snack resturant or sth like this) was great but the big resturant's food was horrible and very pricy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jan 2, 2011

Beautiful Beach

We've been to Cancun many times, but chose to stay at this hotel for the first time because of the beautiful beach. And it didn't disappoint! They have the widest stretch of beautiful white sand and calm water. There are also two pools where we relaxed. Things did not go smoothly at our arrival when we found that they overbooked the Club level rooms, which we had booked. The "upgraded" room they wanted to put us into instead was not nearly as nice and had no terrace. Fortunately, my husband eventually found the right people to talk to and we spent two nights in a suite in the older tower, then moved to the club level when someone checked out. The Club was definitely worth the extra expense, with modern rooms, a terrace with a spectacular view, and outstanding service from Club concierge Gregorio and the whole staff. Every morning, we'd enjoy breakfast in the club diningroom and every evening, we'd enjoy hors d'oeuvres and wine or coffee. They also have two computers for club guests, so I was able to check emails and check in for our flight home. We ordered drinks at the beach or pool and liked the outside patio for a casual lunch while looking out at the beach. We attended a fun and festive New Year's Even dinner at the hotel with good food and a great live band. Our table had people from Brazil and Canada and we became fast friends. In my ratings, it's hard to give a rating for staff because it was inconsistent. The people at check-in were not good, but most everyone else was great. They seem to have a terrific senior management team, which saved the day. Overall, I would recommend this hotel IF you can get the room situation the way you want. Once we did, we had no complaints. We will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can easily walk to Plaza Caracol for silver and souvenirs. They have a Starbucks and Haagen Dazs if you want to sit and relax and a good Italian-Swiss restaurant called Casa Rolandi. We like their margarita pizza.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margarita Expert
Traverse City, MI.
Mar 16, 2011

RELAX AND RELAX

Cancun InterContinental has the BEST BEACH. Staff knew why we were there.Very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago
Apr 7, 2011

The best Beach

Excellent beach with the best service staff! Newly renovated rooms were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheMaggards
Richmond, Ky
Jul 27, 2009

Stayed here for Honeymoon...fantastic!!!

My husband and I just stayed there for our honeymoon. We couldn't have been any more pleased with our stay and I don't think we could have picked a better resort to stay at. All of the staff was very helpful and friendly. Unlike the other posts, we did'nt have anyone in the lobby trying to sell us timeshares. We did sit down and book at tour on a sail boat to the Isle of Mujeres via Albatros. It was our favorite part of the trip! I definitely recommend it to anyone visiting! The restaurants at the hotel all had great food, we ate there the majority of the time. The outside bar is FANTASTIC and had a great bartender. I would definitely recommend anyone to go here, we have already started planning a trip back next summer. The room has a mini bar that has everything you would want to drink and to snack on. Prices aren't that bad, but I would suggest going right down the street to the little store and buying your own snacks. Also, I wouldn't exchange my money at the hotel, the exchange rate was pretty low, we found much better exchange rates out in town. The pools were great, the adult pool was even better!! Perfect for honeymooners that don't want to be around screaming children. Also, one of our favorite features of the hotel was the beach side service. They were very helpful & brough you anything and everything that you wanted. We had a great, amazing, wonderful stay & we can't wait to go back to the resort!! It was just about 8-10 minute walk to anywhere you needed to go, the location was fantastic! It was definitely the best beach in cancun. They also have parasailing, jet skis, sail boats, scuba diving, etc at the hotel. We definitely enjoyed ourselves!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Famman
Long Beach, CA
Jul 28, 2009

Great Beach for Family Vacation

The Presidente is a good hotel at the top nothern part of the hotel strip. It's located close to shopping areas, clubs and restaurants. The rooms were a good and clean. We noticed that the hotel is one of olders ones on the strip but it did not lack in service compared to newer hotel on the strip. It was a good fit for our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids, 8 and 3). One really nice part of the hotel is it's beach...it was what we wanted for cancun, clear beach, with white soft sand, no waves, it seemed like your own personal pool in the ocean. Our kids enjoyed this very much. The hotel also has two pools, one which is pretty large for families and a smaller one where only adults can enjoy. Our overall experience was pleasent and we had no issue with the hotel and the staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing you need to watch out for are the timeshare and package specialist that want to waste a couple minutes of your time. They can seem very pushy, we just ignored and past them by. Our room had a view to the lagoon and at times, specially in the early morning hours you can here some noise from the clubs accross the lagoon. If you are a deep sleeper then this will not be an issue. We were very satisfied for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 13, 2007

perfect for beachgoers:

the presidente has the best beach around hands down. this is the main reason we chose this resort.we weren't dissappointed. the pool water was relatively warm, so having the pristine water by the beach was a blessing. activities (jet skiing, parasailing, etc. were right in our vicinity. we were really glad we did not have an all-inclusive resort because we able to try a lot of the restaurants in the hotel zone. all of our destinations were easily accessed by the bus system. acommadations were fine: clean room, great air conditioning, in-room safe, and free internet service in the business center. the only thing that bothered us a little bit was the persistent people in the lobby trying to get us to join the club associated with the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

carlos and charlies, hard rock, senior frogs, rainforest cafe and other entertainment venues were within walking distance, but for the small bus fare why walk

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Satisfied NYer
NY, NY
Jul 27, 2009

Amazing Hotel & Beach, Will Be Back

LOVED IT ALL. I gotta say, this is my 2nd time to the Intercontinental Hotel Cancun and I am just amazed by both the low price but the spectacular amenities that it offers. First off, the beach is SPECTACULAR. There is nothing like it in the Caribbean which is why this was voted #1 Cancun beach several times over. Sugar soft sand, no waves (beach is basically an amazing pool) and the water is crystal clear, shallow, and warm. Second, the VIEW. Get the Club Deluxe room and be prepared to be wowed by the most amazing views of the beach and ocean. Amazingly clear blue water and vast stretches of turquoise tinged reefs 1 mile out. Take the FREE k_ayak from the hotel and boat out for 30 mins, dive in, and just be wowed by the clear splendor. Get the goggles from the Supermarket across the street since they can't give you snorkel goggles when you k_ayak. 3rd, BREAKFAST WAS HUUUGE! Get the Club Deluxe room and breakfast is included for free. I ate so much during b-fast that I couldn't even eat dinner. By late evening, I would go to the Tequila bar, get some national drinks like margaritas and tequila sunrises, have some yummy unlimited finger foods, and call it a day. You will not be disappointed here. I plan on coming back this winter AND June 2010.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need water or just want to buy snacks, cross the Kulkulcan Blvd. in front of the hotel, head towards the right 1-2 blocks (5 mins on foot) and head on into the" Xpress" supermarket. Lots of food, soda, snacks, and etc. for the whole family.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manumillo
Long Beach, CA. USA
Sep 15, 2009

Aug 29 - Sep 5 09 Unbeatable location

We needed a place where we could detoxify from day to day stress! After having our flight to Cancun delayed for more than 3 hours, we were ready to explode, but as soon as we got to the hotel, we were greatly surprised by the friendliness of their staff! When we got to our room (it was at night) we had a great view of the beach and we could see on the horizon the lights of Isla Mujeres... The first morning, when we woke up, the view was beyond of what simple words could describe! You TRULY HAVE to BE THERE to experience it! We were on the ninth floor and it was more than amazing! We could not believe the ocean's diferent shades of blue!!!! It was just what the DR ordered for us! Thank you to El Presidente Intercontinental, CocoTours Marina and their wonderful Staff for an amazing stay! While there, make sure to stop by their marina, CocoTours. From their manager,[...], to all their staff, highly recomended tours and water amenities that should also be experienced! Once again, unless you go there, you will not understand the intensity of what I am trying to convey in these paragraphs with words! So, if you can, DO GO THERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The marina staff @ CocoTours made the stay an amazing experience! At first, my gf was afraid of going on one of their seadoos (might be the way I usually drive cars :)) but, by the end of our trip, she was driving her own seadoo! Extremly friendly and patient staff that works with you :) Two thumbs up!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search