$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
190 reviews
My favorite hotel on the best beach in Cancun

Have returned to this hotel more than once a year for the past ten years. It is on the best beach,... See full review

  • Bedro
  • Aug 4, 2014
On Vacation from Boston

Let me say this, I have traveled to many destinations and have stayed at many hotels in my life... See full review

  • N.R.
  • Jul 29, 2014
Tropical Cancun beach retreat near the convention center and nightlife

The tranquil, upscale InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is steps from the sparkling Caribbean Sea. The resort is convenient for both leisure and business travelers with an address near the convention center and nightlife. Two outdoor pools, a whirlpool, massage services and a 24-hour fitness center are met by offerings such as water sports, two restaurants, two bars and a casual cafe. Contemporary guest rooms feature ocean, garden or lagoon views and are swathed in marble with Herman Miller chairs, rain showers and ambient lighting.

 

Highlights
  • Modern guests rooms decked in marble with Herman Miller chairs and garden, lagoon or ocean views
  • Two pools, one of which is adults only, as well as five whirlpools
  • Palm and palapa-punctuated beach overlooking Isla Mujeres
  • InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is near the convention center and nightlife

 

Rooms

Each of the 289 guest rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort have one king or two double beds and are adorned in marble and tile with expansive windows or balconies facing the ocean, lagoon or verdant grounds. Additional amenities include direct-dial telephones, air-conditioning, mini bars and bathrooms with shower-bathtubs and vanity mirrors. Renovated rooms also feature iHome radios, Melitta coffee machines, LCD TVs, rain showers and Herman Miller chairs as well as ambient LED lighting. Club-level rooms on a private floor feature continental breakfast.

 

Features

The beachfront InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort has two outdoor pools, five whirlpools and a 24-hour fitness center. The resort is near the convention center and the entertainment district in downtown Cancun. Offerings include water sports, wireless Internet service and massage services. Two restaurants, one specializing in Caribbean seafood, and a tequila bar pouring more than 600 labels completes the experience.

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (15 mi/24 km)

 

Attractions
  • Cancun Golf Club (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (5 mi/8 km)
  • AquaWorld (5 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting spaces accommodating up to 450 theater-style
  • Three meeting rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort
  • Exhibit space
  • Business center with high-speed Internet access, computer, photocopying, printing and secretarial services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View Smoking/Non Smoking
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms are located on the ground floor with large terrace are spacious (51sqm/549sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology these are Non Smoking /smoking rooms marble floor deluxe amenities bathroom hs internet in room safe i home deck led light lamp tv cable
Deluxe Lagoon View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the amazing hotel strip and lagoon rooms are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the stunning Caribbean Sea are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Club Room Lagoon View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer an amazing view over the hotel strip and lagoon are spacious (34sqm/366sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Club Room Ocean View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer from their balcony an amazing view over the Caribbean Sea are spacious (60sqm/645sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Junior Suite
Junior Suites are generous in size (65m2/700sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea or the Lagoon and hotel strip and hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar balcony complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Deluxe Suite
The new Deluxe Suites are generous in size (68m2/730sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea. The suites feature the latest in design, comfort and technology. Complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.5 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.9 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 4.9 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 7.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.2 mi

Dining

El Caribeno
Fully renovated, this restaurant offers a casually elegant atmosphere and delicious seafood dishes as well as a dazzling view of the beach and ocean.
Cana Brava
Located next to the beach, this is a casual Snack Bar with an extensive menu, from a traditional hamburger to a fresh seafood cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GT_Marketing
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 18, 2010

Great location, room needs to be updated

We just got back from a 3-day weekend at this hotel. It is in a great location, easy walking distance to Forum and other shopping / restaurants, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel and an easy bus ride to downtown Cancun. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beach is beautiful, hotel provides plenty of chairs, tables, umbrella shades for hotel guests. What I did not like this hotel was our room. The carpet in the hallway to our room was old and needed to be replaced. It is obvious in our room that the hotel is 20 years old. There was an in-room safe, but no lock on the in-room safe. I think there is a nicer wing to this hotel, but I did not get to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time in Cancun
Business
Folsom CA
Dec 13, 2009

Check everything!

Not the best experience at this hotel. Everything started off well enough with a nice bellman who let us know that the water and coffee is "on the house" for the first night(more on this in a second). From the outset, we noticed that the air conditioner in our room did not work. A few hours later we asked the front desk to have someone look at the unit for us, only to be told that everything was fine. I wanted to tell him that the thermostat was stuck on 80 degrees but he did not speak English and he left before I could tell him anything else. The next day we asked another service person to look at the AC again and this time they actually fixed it. Nevertheless, we asked for another room since the first one had hard granite flooring. Turns out all of the rooms have hard granite flooring. Furthermore, the walls are paper thin. Closing doors down the hall sound as if it is your own door closing. Needless to say we heard "everything" the neighbors were doing. Be on alert for charges when you are at the hotel. We were told that dining at the hotels restaurant includes a 20% discount off the bill. Very nice perk. Nevertheless, even though we told the waiter what room we were in when ordering, they never bothered to deduct the 20% discount from our bill until we pointed it out to them. This happened every time. The most annoying thing was when we checked out, we discovered there was a charge for the coffee and the water from the first night. I tried explaining to the front desk person how one of their employees told me that it was free to no avail. He happened to be on duty that morning and even when she confirmed what he had told us, she still said she couldn't do anything about it. She first told us there was no such policy. Then when she talked to the bellman, she said that the policy didn't start until the day we left. It was not a lot of money. They just didn't get that when we rely on something one of their employees says, they should honor it. I won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't try to do your tours on the cheap. You really do get what you pay for. We did the Xcaret trip at the regular level and it was just an unpleasant experience. We upgraded our package to Chichen Itza and were extremely satisfied.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cancun travelers
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 14, 2010

Has Cancun priced itself out of reach?

Presidente is undergoing an almost completed renovation that has been badly needed. But almost is the key word. We stayed on the "club" level where the rooms are hotel spa quality. Upgraded fixtures, marble showers, separate tubs, heavy glass doors and spa type lighting. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were average at best and, although we had a suite, the only sitting area in the room was a very uncomfortable couch. The club floor was supposed to have included breakfast buffet. But that was unfinished so we didn't have that or the afternoon wine and snacks. But the hotel did immediately write-off the breakfasts we had at the main restaurant when requested and gave us a 20% discount on other food and drink purchases. The maids and front desk personnel were great. The bellhops promised two important things that they absolutely did not do - make tee times and have flowers brought to the room for our anniversary. Very disappointing. Presidente has only one restaurant and it has the typical breakfast buffet. The main menu items are extremely pricey and not well prepared. The breakfast buffet itself is $20 per person and there is no carving station - just omelettes, fruit, juices and some other buffet type entrees. Very pricey. Cancun itself seems to have priced itself out of the market. We were there for Valentine's Day and President's Day weekend - usually very full. We went to several of our favorite restaurants which were half full at best. The beach was empty. The cab drivers had no fares. But rather than trying to reduce prices to attract tourists, it seems that prices have been raised. We liked getting into places easily, but we didn't like the prices. We have been going to Cancun for over 25 years and we'll go again because we love the beach and the weather. We'll just spend less time and do less because of the prices. Presidente is an average hotel on a great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try to hook up with one cab driver to take you where you want to go. Cabs are very expensive and having one driver can save you money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia PA USA
May 9, 2009

Great Beach- Hotel needs remodeling

This hotel is on the best beach in Cancun! Presidente is consistently good overall. However, this hotel is is dire need of a remodel and updating of the guest rooms and public areas. The rooms are small but comfortable. Ocean view is somewhat obstructed on the lower floors of the "non tower" building. Ask for a room above the 4th floor. While there, there was only one restaurant open. There is a nice beachside restaurant that was closed during my stay. There are nice lobby and beachside bars. One thing that was annoying is that the hotel nickels and dimes you for everything. There is inroom coffee maker but you pay for the coffee and the water!! I am used to the high prices of hotel food and beverage but felt the food was not that great and the prices were very high- even for hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A ten minute walk to entertainement and restaurants. Avoid taxi as they will charge you $15 to go 5 minutes. If you dont want to walk- take the bus----really---- its cheap, safe and runs continuously throughout the tourist areas of Cancun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 1, 2010

Weekend Getway

Hotels looks nice. Check in and out was easy. close to a grocery store and mom/pop fast authentic Mexican food. Easy 20 minute walk to restaurants and entertainment. Bus stop right out front to get around inexpensively. Not a lot of people staying at hotel so quiet and lots of room. Rooms are nice even lagoon view. Room service staff were nice and breakfast food was very good. They forgot some items we ordered but ran down to get what we needed. Friendly staff. Not a lot of night life at this hotel. Very quiet. Would have been nice to have some activities at the hotel to entertain the guests. There were water related activities like wave runners and such you could rent for a fee. Beach was clean and sand was very soft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dine out at the local restaurants. You can save money and enjoy people watching. also the grocery store across the street is reasonable. Sun screen is very expensive at the stores so pack what you can and try purchasing away from hotel zone. We did not go on the day trips. We like to be on our own schedule. You can take the shuttle to Isla Mujeres and rent a golf cart all day for $40 and explore the island on your own. Port Juares shuttle is less than one by hotel zone. We had fun taking the bus into downtown Cancun and looking around. Explore on your own and you can have fun at your own pace! Ask the locals where they would go if they were to have fun on the island. We really enjoyed our day on Isla Mjueres. Spend a whole day there exploring and you will not regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dr drew
Business
worcester ma
Feb 20, 2010

good price

night life is the bomb. the hotel seems run down or very old considering its a intercontinetal hotel. i have been to many intercontinetal hotels and all of them the class was 5 stars compared to this one which i give maybe a 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viva Pancho Villa
Business
Da Bears
Sep 12, 2014

The Never Ending Honeymooners

When they say check-in is at 3pm, they mean it! We got there at 11am No problem!! In the mean time we/you can take the bus (R1 R2) outside the hotel to Mercado 27 (which the bus driver will announce) and ate real authentic Mex food at "El Cejas" for cheap. Hotel will let you roam the place until 3pm which the grounds are well kept. Check in/out was a breeze. Both pools not very deep at 4ft and water was hot. Beach front chairs fill up quickly. Room was clean everyday. Bed was kinda hard. Air-con was good. Nice pristine waters. 10min walk to Downtown Party Town! Nothing blocking the sun until 7pm which was great. Also plenty of shaded areas. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street 2min walk is a Mini mart (Da Beer), pharmacy and some good hold me over food locals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael Anthony
Business
SF, California
Jun 3, 2009

family getaway

Relaxing and perfect beach location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charly's girl
Business
Massapequa, NY
Jun 23, 2009

Great Home away fro home

My third time in Cancun and the first at the Presidente. Very quiet location away from the club zone with easy access to shops, restaurants with a great beach. Spectacular swimming pool and what a great sunset. Great shops and restaurant with friendly and efficient staffing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the shopping area , and a bus stop in front of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 23, 2009

Cancun Fun

We traveled with our kids. The beach and service were great and we took a 15 minute stroll to restaurants and entertainment in the evenings. We did eat at the Hotel 2 nights and found that it cost slightly less there with our 20% discount than in restaurants. The staff were very helpful and really looked after us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We took day trips away from the hotel as it was fairly quiet and had a great time but it isn't cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top