$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 26, 2015 Check-out: Jun 28, 2015

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cancun travelers
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 14, 2010

Has Cancun priced itself out of reach?

Presidente is undergoing an almost completed renovation that has been badly needed. But almost is the key word. We stayed on the "club" level where the rooms are hotel spa quality. Upgraded fixtures, marble showers, separate tubs, heavy glass doors and spa type lighting. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were average at best and, although we had a suite, the only sitting area in the room was a very uncomfortable couch. The club floor was supposed to have included breakfast buffet. But that was unfinished so we didn't have that or the afternoon wine and snacks. But the hotel did immediately write-off the breakfasts we had at the main restaurant when requested and gave us a 20% discount on other food and drink purchases. The maids and front desk personnel were great. The bellhops promised two important things that they absolutely did not do - make tee times and have flowers brought to the room for our anniversary. Very disappointing. Presidente has only one restaurant and it has the typical breakfast buffet. The main menu items are extremely pricey and not well prepared. The breakfast buffet itself is $20 per person and there is no carving station - just omelettes, fruit, juices and some other buffet type entrees. Very pricey. Cancun itself seems to have priced itself out of the market. We were there for Valentine's Day and President's Day weekend - usually very full. We went to several of our favorite restaurants which were half full at best. The beach was empty. The cab drivers had no fares. But rather than trying to reduce prices to attract tourists, it seems that prices have been raised. We liked getting into places easily, but we didn't like the prices. We have been going to Cancun for over 25 years and we'll go again because we love the beach and the weather. We'll just spend less time and do less because of the prices. Presidente is an average hotel on a great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try to hook up with one cab driver to take you where you want to go. Cabs are very expensive and having one driver can save you money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia PA USA
May 9, 2009

Great Beach- Hotel needs remodeling

This hotel is on the best beach in Cancun! Presidente is consistently good overall. However, this hotel is is dire need of a remodel and updating of the guest rooms and public areas. The rooms are small but comfortable. Ocean view is somewhat obstructed on the lower floors of the "non tower" building. Ask for a room above the 4th floor. While there, there was only one restaurant open. There is a nice beachside restaurant that was closed during my stay. There are nice lobby and beachside bars. One thing that was annoying is that the hotel nickels and dimes you for everything. There is inroom coffee maker but you pay for the coffee and the water!! I am used to the high prices of hotel food and beverage but felt the food was not that great and the prices were very high- even for hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A ten minute walk to entertainement and restaurants. Avoid taxi as they will charge you $15 to go 5 minutes. If you dont want to walk- take the bus----really---- its cheap, safe and runs continuously throughout the tourist areas of Cancun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 1, 2010

Weekend Getway

Hotels looks nice. Check in and out was easy. close to a grocery store and mom/pop fast authentic Mexican food. Easy 20 minute walk to restaurants and entertainment. Bus stop right out front to get around inexpensively. Not a lot of people staying at hotel so quiet and lots of room. Rooms are nice even lagoon view. Room service staff were nice and breakfast food was very good. They forgot some items we ordered but ran down to get what we needed. Friendly staff. Not a lot of night life at this hotel. Very quiet. Would have been nice to have some activities at the hotel to entertain the guests. There were water related activities like wave runners and such you could rent for a fee. Beach was clean and sand was very soft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dine out at the local restaurants. You can save money and enjoy people watching. also the grocery store across the street is reasonable. Sun screen is very expensive at the stores so pack what you can and try purchasing away from hotel zone. We did not go on the day trips. We like to be on our own schedule. You can take the shuttle to Isla Mujeres and rent a golf cart all day for $40 and explore the island on your own. Port Juares shuttle is less than one by hotel zone. We had fun taking the bus into downtown Cancun and looking around. Explore on your own and you can have fun at your own pace! Ask the locals where they would go if they were to have fun on the island. We really enjoyed our day on Isla Mjueres. Spend a whole day there exploring and you will not regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dr drew
Business
worcester ma
Feb 20, 2010

good price

night life is the bomb. the hotel seems run down or very old considering its a intercontinetal hotel. i have been to many intercontinetal hotels and all of them the class was 5 stars compared to this one which i give maybe a 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lorielam
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 23, 2010

Decent hotel but street noise

The hotel was decent and clean, the staff friendly, the bed comfortable and the room nice for the price. Also the beachfront was lovely. However, the room we got in our package deal faced the "lagoon side" in the new tower but was really facing the busy main drag in the hotel zone, which was (sleeplessly) loud with speeding buses and cars all night. When we asked to have our room changed to a quieter location, the only option offered was also facing the lagoon (street), two floors up---equally as loud! That was a dealbreaker for us and we will not return to this hotel unless the oceanfront rooms are a real deal. We didn't hear noise complaints from our friends who stayed in those rooms. Oh, and you pay for every cup of coffee you drink in the room and cannot bring your own because of the specialized coffeemakers they have. Not a dealbreaker, but annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a bus stop right in front of this hotel and the fare is cheap----7.5 pesos one way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MEmartinez03
Business
Los Gatos, CA
Jun 11, 2009

Great beach area - not the best location

Jet skiing was located right out side of the back of the hotel -- very convenient! Went to a theme park, Xcaret, about 30 minutes away. i wish there was free internet access-- this made the trip difficult having to pay for only one computer to have access. it would have been nice to have a better selection of room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

use the bus system (pick ups across the street and right in front of the hotel) rather than taking a taxi. Bus only costs 75 pesos per person which will save you a bundle on going to downtown / shopping / clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Mar 5, 2010

Better than expected, a work in progess

The hotel is doing renovations at a slow pace. I lucked out with a great modern updated ocean front room. Unfortunately the free upgrade to club level was not available. I also was surprised at check out that the 20% discount on food and beverage was not applied. Had to force Ana at check out to go through all receipts and give the discount. Was not a great experience at the end but the week was pretty darn good. The beach is the best and the room was very nice. Rain shower head with tiled walk in shower, separate toilet, and separate sink. The hallways are tiled so it can be noisy. The windows open wide and are the size of the entire room. Flat screen 42inch television. The pools are nice but unheated. This is not a hotel in my opinion if you are looking for a party on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus stop right outside the front doors. Use the buses to anyplace in hotel zone and downtown (7 pesos). Also grocery store across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wootang
Business
Seattle
Aug 29, 2011

hotel was okay

This is my first time at the hotel. I find it that the staff at the front desk was a bit rude. I've been to many hotels in the world but they were not friendly at all. I asked the lady (Marie) at the front desk to make a pizza delivery call for me due to language difference and she asked me to pay for the local call. 13 pesos wasn't much but we didn't know there was a phone in the internet room we can call for free. She didn't guide us there. The concierge wasn't all that much of a help. Sometimes there wasn't ever anyone there to help us get around Cancun. I wouldn't order lunch or dinner for room service. It seems like everything comes out of the freezer....the only thing fresh is the breakfast. There's a drug store and 4 local places to eat across the street on the right of the hotel. My friends and I would go there and do all of my simple shopping. It's cheaper than the gift shop inside of the hotel. The pool and beach area is nice. There was hardly anyone in Cancun so August is a good time to go vacation. While the room/resort was nice....I wouldn't stay there again. The front desk staff was just horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viva Pancho Villa
Business
Da Bears
Sep 12, 2014

The Never Ending Honeymooners

When they say check-in is at 3pm, they mean it! We got there at 11am No problem!! In the mean time we/you can take the bus (R1 R2) outside the hotel to Mercado 27 (which the bus driver will announce) and ate real authentic Mex food at "El Cejas" for cheap. Hotel will let you roam the place until 3pm which the grounds are well kept. Check in/out was a breeze. Both pools not very deep at 4ft and water was hot. Beach front chairs fill up quickly. Room was clean everyday. Bed was kinda hard. Air-con was good. Nice pristine waters. 10min walk to Downtown Party Town! Nothing blocking the sun until 7pm which was great. Also plenty of shaded areas. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street 2min walk is a Mini mart (Da Beer), pharmacy and some good hold me over food locals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. Kimminy
Business
Oakland
Jul 4, 2014

Relaxing, low key option with great beach

Would be a good, safe option for solo female travelers. Disappointed that our refurbished room had a damp mildew smell that clung to our clothes and luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Casual grill on site offered the best, most economical dining option. Food was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top