$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
190 reviews
My favorite hotel on the best beach in Cancun

Have returned to this hotel more than once a year for the past ten years. It is on the best beach,... See full review

  • Bedro
  • Aug 4, 2014
On Vacation from Boston

Let me say this, I have traveled to many destinations and have stayed at many hotels in my life... See full review

  • N.R.
  • Jul 29, 2014
Tropical Cancun beach retreat near the convention center and nightlife

The tranquil, upscale InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is steps from the sparkling Caribbean Sea. The resort is convenient for both leisure and business travelers with an address near the convention center and nightlife. Two outdoor pools, a whirlpool, massage services and a 24-hour fitness center are met by offerings such as water sports, two restaurants, two bars and a casual cafe. Contemporary guest rooms feature ocean, garden or lagoon views and are swathed in marble with Herman Miller chairs, rain showers and ambient lighting.

 

Highlights
  • Modern guests rooms decked in marble with Herman Miller chairs and garden, lagoon or ocean views
  • Two pools, one of which is adults only, as well as five whirlpools
  • Palm and palapa-punctuated beach overlooking Isla Mujeres
  • InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is near the convention center and nightlife

 

Rooms

Each of the 289 guest rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort have one king or two double beds and are adorned in marble and tile with expansive windows or balconies facing the ocean, lagoon or verdant grounds. Additional amenities include direct-dial telephones, air-conditioning, mini bars and bathrooms with shower-bathtubs and vanity mirrors. Renovated rooms also feature iHome radios, Melitta coffee machines, LCD TVs, rain showers and Herman Miller chairs as well as ambient LED lighting. Club-level rooms on a private floor feature continental breakfast.

 

Features

The beachfront InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort has two outdoor pools, five whirlpools and a 24-hour fitness center. The resort is near the convention center and the entertainment district in downtown Cancun. Offerings include water sports, wireless Internet service and massage services. Two restaurants, one specializing in Caribbean seafood, and a tequila bar pouring more than 600 labels completes the experience.

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (15 mi/24 km)

 

Attractions
  • Cancun Golf Club (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (5 mi/8 km)
  • AquaWorld (5 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting spaces accommodating up to 450 theater-style
  • Three meeting rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort
  • Exhibit space
  • Business center with high-speed Internet access, computer, photocopying, printing and secretarial services

Hotel Map

21.1355 -86.7543
Area served
Cancun.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)- 15 miles or 25 minutes.
Area description
The perfect location on the very heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, next to a 18- hole professional Golf Course, 5 minutes walking distance from shopping malls, restaurants and the best nightlife: a mile away from Cancun's Convention Center and nested on the best beach in the destination.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View Smoking/Non Smoking
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms are located on the ground floor with large terrace are spacious (51sqm/549sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology these are Non Smoking /smoking rooms marble floor deluxe amenities bathroom hs internet in room safe i home deck led light lamp tv cable
Deluxe Lagoon View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the amazing hotel strip and lagoon rooms are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the stunning Caribbean Sea are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Club Room Lagoon View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer an amazing view over the hotel strip and lagoon are spacious (34sqm/366sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Club Room Ocean View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer from their balcony an amazing view over the Caribbean Sea are spacious (60sqm/645sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Junior Suite
Junior Suites are generous in size (65m2/700sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea or the Lagoon and hotel strip and hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar balcony complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Deluxe Suite
The new Deluxe Suites are generous in size (68m2/730sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea. The suites feature the latest in design, comfort and technology. Complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.5 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.9 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 4.9 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.2 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 7.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.2 mi

Dining

El Caribeno
Fully renovated, this restaurant offers a casually elegant atmosphere and delicious seafood dishes as well as a dazzling view of the beach and ocean.
Cana Brava
Located next to the beach, this is a casual Snack Bar with an extensive menu, from a traditional hamburger to a fresh seafood cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
danblue1
Boston
Mar 5, 2009

5 star beach and pool..Rooms 2 star

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort The Best Beach and pool in Cancun hands down.They updated the exterior of the hotel.But the rooms need to be updated badly.They Look like the 80's.And the hallway rugs need to be replaced.I would stay here again if I couldn't find a better deal at a newer hotel.This hotel is not up to InterContinental standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cancun travelers
Denver, CO
Feb 14, 2010

Has Cancun priced itself out of reach?

Presidente is undergoing an almost completed renovation that has been badly needed. But almost is the key word. We stayed on the "club" level where the rooms are hotel spa quality. Upgraded fixtures, marble showers, separate tubs, heavy glass doors and spa type lighting. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were average at best and, although we had a suite, the only sitting area in the room was a very uncomfortable couch. The club floor was supposed to have included breakfast buffet. But that was unfinished so we didn't have that or the afternoon wine and snacks. But the hotel did immediately write-off the breakfasts we had at the main restaurant when requested and gave us a 20% discount on other food and drink purchases. The maids and front desk personnel were great. The bellhops promised two important things that they absolutely did not do - make tee times and have flowers brought to the room for our anniversary. Very disappointing. Presidente has only one restaurant and it has the typical breakfast buffet. The main menu items are extremely pricey and not well prepared. The breakfast buffet itself is $20 per person and there is no carving station - just omelettes, fruit, juices and some other buffet type entrees. Very pricey. Cancun itself seems to have priced itself out of the market. We were there for Valentine's Day and President's Day weekend - usually very full. We went to several of our favorite restaurants which were half full at best. The beach was empty. The cab drivers had no fares. But rather than trying to reduce prices to attract tourists, it seems that prices have been raised. We liked getting into places easily, but we didn't like the prices. We have been going to Cancun for over 25 years and we'll go again because we love the beach and the weather. We'll just spend less time and do less because of the prices. Presidente is an average hotel on a great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try to hook up with one cab driver to take you where you want to go. Cabs are very expensive and having one driver can save you money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KimRulz
Colorado
Sep 14, 2009

InterContinental Presidente Hotel Review

The room floors were made of a dirty looking, textured tile and I'm fairly certain they were filthy. Additionally, the beds were so hard you literally bounced right off of them. Lastly, what is so difficult about continental breakfast? We were told by the front desk clerk there was indeed a free continental breakfast but when we ate there the next morning they chased us halfway through the hotel demanding that we pay the $70 or charge it to our room. We tried to explain what we were told to no avail. Every other hotel in the world offers continental breakfast and I think they should fall in line. With all that I've described I'm never too concerned w/my hotel accomodations when I travel b/c I just need a bed and a bathroom as I'm rarely in my room. As for breakfast, we found a Starbucks about a block from the hotel and had our breakfast there every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car and drive to Chichen Itza. We only paid $45 for our rental car instead of an organized group tour price of approx. $60-80 pp. Isla Majeres (maybe Majorca) is not worth your time, money or effort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dr drew
worcester ma
Feb 20, 2010

good price

night life is the bomb. the hotel seems run down or very old considering its a intercontinetal hotel. i have been to many intercontinetal hotels and all of them the class was 5 stars compared to this one which i give maybe a 3 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wootang
Seattle
Aug 29, 2011

hotel was okay

This is my first time at the hotel. I find it that the staff at the front desk was a bit rude. I've been to many hotels in the world but they were not friendly at all. I asked the lady (Marie) at the front desk to make a pizza delivery call for me due to language difference and she asked me to pay for the local call. 13 pesos wasn't much but we didn't know there was a phone in the internet room we can call for free. She didn't guide us there. The concierge wasn't all that much of a help. Sometimes there wasn't ever anyone there to help us get around Cancun. I wouldn't order lunch or dinner for room service. It seems like everything comes out of the freezer....the only thing fresh is the breakfast. There's a drug store and 4 local places to eat across the street on the right of the hotel. My friends and I would go there and do all of my simple shopping. It's cheaper than the gift shop inside of the hotel. The pool and beach area is nice. There was hardly anyone in Cancun so August is a good time to go vacation. While the room/resort was nice....I wouldn't stay there again. The front desk staff was just horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Basel Jasasra
Oklahoma
Jan 17, 2014

Family vacation

They gave us a room in the first floor it seems like in basement ,we asked to change it and pay extra money the guy at the front desk Salvador was very rude he did not help us at all we asked to talk to the manager they send us the bellman instead the room smells bad, it was raning one night all the water came to the room we called no body came, it was a very bad experience with this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat out side the hotel it is a better food and cheaper there is a restaurant name bambino they have sea food buffet for $18 a person it was great. Don't take taxis use the bus it is only a 1 doller it takes u any where

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Mar 5, 2010

Better than expected, a work in progess

The hotel is doing renovations at a slow pace. I lucked out with a great modern updated ocean front room. Unfortunately the free upgrade to club level was not available. I also was surprised at check out that the 20% discount on food and beverage was not applied. Had to force Ana at check out to go through all receipts and give the discount. Was not a great experience at the end but the week was pretty darn good. The beach is the best and the room was very nice. Rain shower head with tiled walk in shower, separate toilet, and separate sink. The hallways are tiled so it can be noisy. The windows open wide and are the size of the entire room. Flat screen 42inch television. The pools are nice but unheated. This is not a hotel in my opinion if you are looking for a party on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus stop right outside the front doors. Use the buses to anyplace in hotel zone and downtown (7 pesos). Also grocery store across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
mexico city
Nov 7, 2010

Nice rooms, poor guest services

I booked an ocean view room and I was given a street view room, I had to argue and spend almost 45 minutes at the reception area to get the room I had booked. The rooms are remodeled but are not properly clean. The service at el Crobeño restaurant is kind of slow. It seems that the employees are still working under the same old culture that this hotel used to have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza Caracol

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spring break lyfe
WA
Mar 29, 2014

An 'okay' stay

Considering the price. And the free of charge extra bed. But you cant expect much out of it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time in Cancun
Folsom CA
Dec 13, 2009

Check everything!

Not the best experience at this hotel. Everything started off well enough with a nice bellman who let us know that the water and coffee is "on the house" for the first night(more on this in a second). From the outset, we noticed that the air conditioner in our room did not work. A few hours later we asked the front desk to have someone look at the unit for us, only to be told that everything was fine. I wanted to tell him that the thermostat was stuck on 80 degrees but he did not speak English and he left before I could tell him anything else. The next day we asked another service person to look at the AC again and this time they actually fixed it. Nevertheless, we asked for another room since the first one had hard granite flooring. Turns out all of the rooms have hard granite flooring. Furthermore, the walls are paper thin. Closing doors down the hall sound as if it is your own door closing. Needless to say we heard "everything" the neighbors were doing. Be on alert for charges when you are at the hotel. We were told that dining at the hotels restaurant includes a 20% discount off the bill. Very nice perk. Nevertheless, even though we told the waiter what room we were in when ordering, they never bothered to deduct the 20% discount from our bill until we pointed it out to them. This happened every time. The most annoying thing was when we checked out, we discovered there was a charge for the coffee and the water from the first night. I tried explaining to the front desk person how one of their employees told me that it was free to no avail. He happened to be on duty that morning and even when she confirmed what he had told us, she still said she couldn't do anything about it. She first told us there was no such policy. Then when she talked to the bellman, she said that the policy didn't start until the day we left. It was not a lot of money. They just didn't get that when we rely on something one of their employees says, they should honor it. I won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't try to do your tours on the cheap. You really do get what you pay for. We did the Xcaret trip at the regular level and it was just an unpleasant experience. We upgraded our package to Chichen Itza and were extremely satisfied.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search