$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
danblue1
Business
Boston
Mar 5, 2009

5 star beach and pool..Rooms 2 star

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort The Best Beach and pool in Cancun hands down.They updated the exterior of the hotel.But the rooms need to be updated badly.They Look like the 80's.And the hallway rugs need to be replaced.I would stay here again if I couldn't find a better deal at a newer hotel.This hotel is not up to InterContinental standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chef Don
Business
Houston
Aug 14, 2009

The greatest of all paradise

Both me and my wife had fun made the best out of everything there were some problem with somr of the staff,but mostly me and my lovly wife enjoy our 30year honeymoon.we would had love to have coffee before going to breakfast we always do but some staff would not sell it to us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

some of the local have great cheap food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
deborahthedancer
Business
Little Rock, AR
Nov 29, 2009

Holiday Inn Affiliated hotel

The music at the pool was progressive jazz and it sounded like the record was stuck. It was very annoying. There were too many children and the noise from constuction was just about as bad. They need two pools operating. One for adults only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barbarasuncatcher
Business
South of Boston, Ma.
Mar 10, 2009

Value

Stay away from people trying to set up "excursions!" If you want to do something, just ask the Orbitz person!!! Otherwise you might be setup for a timeshare nightmare, even though they say it is not! Fortunetly, we didn't, we just met someone there that did. They said 90 minutes, she was whith them for 4 hours! OUCH, & that is valuable vacation time! It was a place to stay at for value & cleaniness, don't get the all inclusive. Cheaper to get the 20% off everything & go eat outside the resort some days. Shopping outside the resort, just haggle the price, & you will usually get what you want. Bus was easy to learn, but you pay when you get on!!! Make sure you know the peso or you might get ripped off. The adult pool was nice & quiet, & good service. Grocery store you can walk to from resort, buy your water & soft drinks there,& maybe your munchies. Room service was really good, & not expensive. This is a Value place to stay, great just to sit in the sun & relax. No frills. No balcony was upsetting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I wouldn't get the all inclusive!!! Not always appetizing,to most Americans (saw some complaints). Glad we didn't. I strongly recommend Lorenzillo's which is 180pesos round trip taxi ride. The food there is perfect & fantastically presented! We ate there 2 nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo, OH
Mar 10, 2009

Great Beach Access

Hotel and staff we very nice overall.The beach area was fantastic for the location. Only down side was all dining was buffet style except for outside sandwich/pizza shack. I would stay there again but would prefer menu dining for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Efficient bus transportation system will take you anywhere in the hotel zone for $1.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 12, 2010

Nice hotel for couples

Nice hotel, but, if you have kids bring a cooler for drinks/snacks, movie player.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You must go to the Coco Bongo night club for their show. It was well worth the money and all the drinks are on the house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GT_Marketing
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 18, 2010

Great location, room needs to be updated

We just got back from a 3-day weekend at this hotel. It is in a great location, easy walking distance to Forum and other shopping / restaurants, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel and an easy bus ride to downtown Cancun. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beach is beautiful, hotel provides plenty of chairs, tables, umbrella shades for hotel guests. What I did not like this hotel was our room. The carpet in the hallway to our room was old and needed to be replaced. It is obvious in our room that the hotel is 20 years old. There was an in-room safe, but no lock on the in-room safe. I think there is a nicer wing to this hotel, but I did not get to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time in Cancun
Business
Folsom CA
Dec 13, 2009

Check everything!

Not the best experience at this hotel. Everything started off well enough with a nice bellman who let us know that the water and coffee is "on the house" for the first night(more on this in a second). From the outset, we noticed that the air conditioner in our room did not work. A few hours later we asked the front desk to have someone look at the unit for us, only to be told that everything was fine. I wanted to tell him that the thermostat was stuck on 80 degrees but he did not speak English and he left before I could tell him anything else. The next day we asked another service person to look at the AC again and this time they actually fixed it. Nevertheless, we asked for another room since the first one had hard granite flooring. Turns out all of the rooms have hard granite flooring. Furthermore, the walls are paper thin. Closing doors down the hall sound as if it is your own door closing. Needless to say we heard "everything" the neighbors were doing. Be on alert for charges when you are at the hotel. We were told that dining at the hotels restaurant includes a 20% discount off the bill. Very nice perk. Nevertheless, even though we told the waiter what room we were in when ordering, they never bothered to deduct the 20% discount from our bill until we pointed it out to them. This happened every time. The most annoying thing was when we checked out, we discovered there was a charge for the coffee and the water from the first night. I tried explaining to the front desk person how one of their employees told me that it was free to no avail. He happened to be on duty that morning and even when she confirmed what he had told us, she still said she couldn't do anything about it. She first told us there was no such policy. Then when she talked to the bellman, she said that the policy didn't start until the day we left. It was not a lot of money. They just didn't get that when we rely on something one of their employees says, they should honor it. I won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't try to do your tours on the cheap. You really do get what you pay for. We did the Xcaret trip at the regular level and it was just an unpleasant experience. We upgraded our package to Chichen Itza and were extremely satisfied.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cancun travelers
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 14, 2010

Has Cancun priced itself out of reach?

Presidente is undergoing an almost completed renovation that has been badly needed. But almost is the key word. We stayed on the "club" level where the rooms are hotel spa quality. Upgraded fixtures, marble showers, separate tubs, heavy glass doors and spa type lighting. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were average at best and, although we had a suite, the only sitting area in the room was a very uncomfortable couch. The club floor was supposed to have included breakfast buffet. But that was unfinished so we didn't have that or the afternoon wine and snacks. But the hotel did immediately write-off the breakfasts we had at the main restaurant when requested and gave us a 20% discount on other food and drink purchases. The maids and front desk personnel were great. The bellhops promised two important things that they absolutely did not do - make tee times and have flowers brought to the room for our anniversary. Very disappointing. Presidente has only one restaurant and it has the typical breakfast buffet. The main menu items are extremely pricey and not well prepared. The breakfast buffet itself is $20 per person and there is no carving station - just omelettes, fruit, juices and some other buffet type entrees. Very pricey. Cancun itself seems to have priced itself out of the market. We were there for Valentine's Day and President's Day weekend - usually very full. We went to several of our favorite restaurants which were half full at best. The beach was empty. The cab drivers had no fares. But rather than trying to reduce prices to attract tourists, it seems that prices have been raised. We liked getting into places easily, but we didn't like the prices. We have been going to Cancun for over 25 years and we'll go again because we love the beach and the weather. We'll just spend less time and do less because of the prices. Presidente is an average hotel on a great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try to hook up with one cab driver to take you where you want to go. Cabs are very expensive and having one driver can save you money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia PA USA
May 9, 2009

Great Beach- Hotel needs remodeling

This hotel is on the best beach in Cancun! Presidente is consistently good overall. However, this hotel is is dire need of a remodel and updating of the guest rooms and public areas. The rooms are small but comfortable. Ocean view is somewhat obstructed on the lower floors of the "non tower" building. Ask for a room above the 4th floor. While there, there was only one restaurant open. There is a nice beachside restaurant that was closed during my stay. There are nice lobby and beachside bars. One thing that was annoying is that the hotel nickels and dimes you for everything. There is inroom coffee maker but you pay for the coffee and the water!! I am used to the high prices of hotel food and beverage but felt the food was not that great and the prices were very high- even for hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A ten minute walk to entertainement and restaurants. Avoid taxi as they will charge you $15 to go 5 minutes. If you dont want to walk- take the bus----really---- its cheap, safe and runs continuously throughout the tourist areas of Cancun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top