$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 14, 2015 Check-out: Mar 17, 2015

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
196 reviews
Cancun Getaway

We loved staying here and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It's just a short walk to shops... See full review

  • Stefni
  • Feb 14, 2015
A Very Pleasant Surprise

We stayed in a club-level ocean-view room with a balcony. The entire experience exceeded our... See full review

  • Lenny J.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Tropical Cancun beach retreat near the convention center and nightlife

The tranquil, upscale InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is steps from the sparkling Caribbean Sea. The resort is convenient for both leisure and business travelers with an address near the convention center and nightlife. Two outdoor pools, a whirlpool, massage services and a 24-hour fitness center are met by offerings such as water sports, two restaurants, two bars and a casual cafe. Contemporary guest rooms feature ocean, garden or lagoon views and are swathed in marble with Herman Miller chairs, rain showers and ambient lighting.

 

Highlights
  • Modern guests rooms decked in marble with Herman Miller chairs and garden, lagoon or ocean views
  • Two pools, one of which is adults only, as well as five whirlpools
  • Palm and palapa-punctuated beach overlooking Isla Mujeres
  • InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is near the convention center and nightlife

 

Rooms

Each of the 289 guest rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort have one king or two double beds and are adorned in marble and tile with expansive windows or balconies facing the ocean, lagoon or verdant grounds. Additional amenities include direct-dial telephones, air-conditioning, mini bars and bathrooms with shower-bathtubs and vanity mirrors. Renovated rooms also feature iHome radios, Melitta coffee machines, LCD TVs, rain showers and Herman Miller chairs as well as ambient LED lighting. Club-level rooms on a private floor feature continental breakfast.

 

Features

The beachfront InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort has two outdoor pools, five whirlpools and a 24-hour fitness center. The resort is near the convention center and the entertainment district in downtown Cancun. Offerings include water sports, wireless Internet service and massage services. Two restaurants, one specializing in Caribbean seafood, and a tequila bar pouring more than 600 labels completes the experience.

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (15 mi/24 km)

 

Attractions
  • Cancun Golf Club (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (5 mi/8 km)
  • AquaWorld (5 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting spaces accommodating up to 450 theater-style
  • Three meeting rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort
  • Exhibit space
  • Business center with high-speed Internet access, computer, photocopying, printing and secretarial services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View Smoking/Non Smoking
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms are located on the ground floor with large terrace are spacious (51sqm/549sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology these are Non Smoking /smoking rooms marble floor deluxe amenities bathroom hs internet in room safe i home deck led light lamp tv cable
Deluxe Lagoon View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the amazing hotel strip and lagoon rooms are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the stunning Caribbean Sea are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Club Room Lagoon View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer an amazing view over the hotel strip and lagoon are spacious (34sqm/366sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Club Room Ocean View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer from their balcony an amazing view over the Caribbean Sea are spacious (60sqm/645sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Junior Suite
Junior Suites are generous in size (65m2/700sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea or the Lagoon and hotel strip and hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar balcony complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Deluxe Suite
The new Deluxe Suites are generous in size (68m2/730sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea. The suites feature the latest in design, comfort and technology. Complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.5 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.9 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 4.9 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 7.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.2 mi

Dining

El Caribeno
Fully renovated, this restaurant offers a casually elegant atmosphere and delicious seafood dishes as well as a dazzling view of the beach and ocean.
Cana Brava
Located next to the beach, this is a casual Snack Bar with an extensive menu, from a traditional hamburger to a fresh seafood cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (196)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wootang
Business
Seattle
Aug 29, 2011

hotel was okay

This is my first time at the hotel. I find it that the staff at the front desk was a bit rude. I've been to many hotels in the world but they were not friendly at all. I asked the lady (Marie) at the front desk to make a pizza delivery call for me due to language difference and she asked me to pay for the local call. 13 pesos wasn't much but we didn't know there was a phone in the internet room we can call for free. She didn't guide us there. The concierge wasn't all that much of a help. Sometimes there wasn't ever anyone there to help us get around Cancun. I wouldn't order lunch or dinner for room service. It seems like everything comes out of the freezer....the only thing fresh is the breakfast. There's a drug store and 4 local places to eat across the street on the right of the hotel. My friends and I would go there and do all of my simple shopping. It's cheaper than the gift shop inside of the hotel. The pool and beach area is nice. There was hardly anyone in Cancun so August is a good time to go vacation. While the room/resort was nice....I wouldn't stay there again. The front desk staff was just horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephenman
Business
Calabasas, Ca
Aug 21, 2009

Good Beach, Mediocer Hotel

This hotel was ok. I liked that it was on the beach. The pool was big and felt warm when you got into it. The location was ok, the Hyatt Regency Cancun was better. Sometimes very noisty. Overall hotel wasn´t bad, but I wouldn´t pay to stay here again unless it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KimRulz
Business
Colorado
Sep 14, 2009

InterContinental Presidente Hotel Review

The room floors were made of a dirty looking, textured tile and I'm fairly certain they were filthy. Additionally, the beds were so hard you literally bounced right off of them. Lastly, what is so difficult about continental breakfast? We were told by the front desk clerk there was indeed a free continental breakfast but when we ate there the next morning they chased us halfway through the hotel demanding that we pay the $70 or charge it to our room. We tried to explain what we were told to no avail. Every other hotel in the world offers continental breakfast and I think they should fall in line. With all that I've described I'm never too concerned w/my hotel accomodations when I travel b/c I just need a bed and a bathroom as I'm rarely in my room. As for breakfast, we found a Starbucks about a block from the hotel and had our breakfast there every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car and drive to Chichen Itza. We only paid $45 for our rental car instead of an organized group tour price of approx. $60-80 pp. Isla Majeres (maybe Majorca) is not worth your time, money or effort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
danblue1
Business
Boston
Mar 5, 2009

5 star beach and pool..Rooms 2 star

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort The Best Beach and pool in Cancun hands down.They updated the exterior of the hotel.But the rooms need to be updated badly.They Look like the 80's.And the hallway rugs need to be replaced.I would stay here again if I couldn't find a better deal at a newer hotel.This hotel is not up to InterContinental standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chef Don
Business
Houston
Aug 14, 2009

The greatest of all paradise

Both me and my wife had fun made the best out of everything there were some problem with somr of the staff,but mostly me and my lovly wife enjoy our 30year honeymoon.we would had love to have coffee before going to breakfast we always do but some staff would not sell it to us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

some of the local have great cheap food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
deborahthedancer
Business
Little Rock, AR
Nov 29, 2009

Holiday Inn Affiliated hotel

The music at the pool was progressive jazz and it sounded like the record was stuck. It was very annoying. There were too many children and the noise from constuction was just about as bad. They need two pools operating. One for adults only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barbarasuncatcher
Business
South of Boston, Ma.
Mar 10, 2009

Value

Stay away from people trying to set up "excursions!" If you want to do something, just ask the Orbitz person!!! Otherwise you might be setup for a timeshare nightmare, even though they say it is not! Fortunetly, we didn't, we just met someone there that did. They said 90 minutes, she was whith them for 4 hours! OUCH, & that is valuable vacation time! It was a place to stay at for value & cleaniness, don't get the all inclusive. Cheaper to get the 20% off everything & go eat outside the resort some days. Shopping outside the resort, just haggle the price, & you will usually get what you want. Bus was easy to learn, but you pay when you get on!!! Make sure you know the peso or you might get ripped off. The adult pool was nice & quiet, & good service. Grocery store you can walk to from resort, buy your water & soft drinks there,& maybe your munchies. Room service was really good, & not expensive. This is a Value place to stay, great just to sit in the sun & relax. No frills. No balcony was upsetting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I wouldn't get the all inclusive!!! Not always appetizing,to most Americans (saw some complaints). Glad we didn't. I strongly recommend Lorenzillo's which is 180pesos round trip taxi ride. The food there is perfect & fantastically presented! We ate there 2 nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo, OH
Mar 10, 2009

Great Beach Access

Hotel and staff we very nice overall.The beach area was fantastic for the location. Only down side was all dining was buffet style except for outside sandwich/pizza shack. I would stay there again but would prefer menu dining for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Efficient bus transportation system will take you anywhere in the hotel zone for $1.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cancun 2009
Business
San Fernando Valley, CA
Sep 8, 2009

Good price for the hotel

For the price that we paid, this hotel was okay. The service and attentiveness from the staff was superb. The hotel is much older than the rest of the hotels in the hotel zone and the rooms show it. The furniture need to get replaced, the beds are hard, the bathrooms have a funky smell in them, there are no fans in the bathroom either! Apparently we stayed in the taller tower which is newer than the lower tower which is currently under renovation (which started a couple days ago) but if the taller tower is newer, I could only imagine how horrible the lower tower is! The hotel lobby has been remodeled and looks very nice, but the rest of the rooms in the hotel definitely need some attention. The Caribeno restaurant is great! Great selection of food for the breakfast buffet and excellent service. The pool is hot....not warm but hot! Not sure why since the beach is warm most of the time and I would think that you would like a cool pool to get into after you're done with the beach. The beach is great for kids. No waves, just like a big open swimming pool. Water is very clear, different shades of blues and turquoises, white powdery sand, chairs under the palapas. We headed out to chichen itza, xcaret, xel ha, isla mujeres, playa del carmen, the rest of the hotel zone and downtown cancun. I would consider staying here again only if the price is right. I would think I would rather pay a little more and get a better/newer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are debating whether to do xcaret or xel ha, definitely go for xcaret. Sure xel ha is all inclusive and you can eat as often as you'd like and the price is cheaper but there is a lot more to do and see at xcaret than at xel ha. Xel ha is just a big snorkeling place that really doesn't have that many fish to look at anymore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 12, 2010

Nice hotel for couples

Nice hotel, but, if you have kids bring a cooler for drinks/snacks, movie player.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You must go to the Coco Bongo night club for their show. It was well worth the money and all the drinks are on the house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top