$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 16, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
190 reviews
My favorite hotel on the best beach in Cancun

Have returned to this hotel more than once a year for the past ten years. It is on the best beach,... See full review

  • Bedro
  • Aug 4, 2014
On Vacation from Boston

Let me say this, I have traveled to many destinations and have stayed at many hotels in my life... See full review

  • N.R.
  • Jul 29, 2014
Tropical Cancun beach retreat near the convention center and nightlife

The tranquil, upscale InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is steps from the sparkling Caribbean Sea. The resort is convenient for both leisure and business travelers with an address near the convention center and nightlife. Two outdoor pools, a whirlpool, massage services and a 24-hour fitness center are met by offerings such as water sports, two restaurants, two bars and a casual cafe. Contemporary guest rooms feature ocean, garden or lagoon views and are swathed in marble with Herman Miller chairs, rain showers and ambient lighting.

 

Highlights
  • Modern guests rooms decked in marble with Herman Miller chairs and garden, lagoon or ocean views
  • Two pools, one of which is adults only, as well as five whirlpools
  • Palm and palapa-punctuated beach overlooking Isla Mujeres
  • InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is near the convention center and nightlife

 

Rooms

Each of the 289 guest rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort have one king or two double beds and are adorned in marble and tile with expansive windows or balconies facing the ocean, lagoon or verdant grounds. Additional amenities include direct-dial telephones, air-conditioning, mini bars and bathrooms with shower-bathtubs and vanity mirrors. Renovated rooms also feature iHome radios, Melitta coffee machines, LCD TVs, rain showers and Herman Miller chairs as well as ambient LED lighting. Club-level rooms on a private floor feature continental breakfast.

 

Features

The beachfront InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort has two outdoor pools, five whirlpools and a 24-hour fitness center. The resort is near the convention center and the entertainment district in downtown Cancun. Offerings include water sports, wireless Internet service and massage services. Two restaurants, one specializing in Caribbean seafood, and a tequila bar pouring more than 600 labels completes the experience.

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (15 mi/24 km)

 

Attractions
  • Cancun Golf Club (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (5 mi/8 km)
  • AquaWorld (5 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting spaces accommodating up to 450 theater-style
  • Three meeting rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort
  • Exhibit space
  • Business center with high-speed Internet access, computer, photocopying, printing and secretarial services

Hotel Map

21.1355 -86.7543
Area served
Cancun.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)- 15 miles or 25 minutes.
Area description
The perfect location on the very heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, next to a 18- hole professional Golf Course, 5 minutes walking distance from shopping malls, restaurants and the best nightlife: a mile away from Cancun's Convention Center and nested on the best beach in the destination.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View Smoking/Non Smoking
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms are located on the ground floor with large terrace are spacious (51sqm/549sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology these are Non Smoking /smoking rooms marble floor deluxe amenities bathroom hs internet in room safe i home deck led light lamp tv cable
Deluxe Lagoon View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the amazing hotel strip and lagoon rooms are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the stunning Caribbean Sea are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Club Room Lagoon View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer an amazing view over the hotel strip and lagoon are spacious (34sqm/366sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Club Room Ocean View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer from their balcony an amazing view over the Caribbean Sea are spacious (60sqm/645sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Junior Suite
Junior Suites are generous in size (65m2/700sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea or the Lagoon and hotel strip and hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar balcony complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Deluxe Suite
The new Deluxe Suites are generous in size (68m2/730sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea. The suites feature the latest in design, comfort and technology. Complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.5 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.9 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 4.9 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 7.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.2 mi

Dining

El Caribeno
Fully renovated, this restaurant offers a casually elegant atmosphere and delicious seafood dishes as well as a dazzling view of the beach and ocean.
Cana Brava
Located next to the beach, this is a casual Snack Bar with an extensive menu, from a traditional hamburger to a fresh seafood cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brooklinedad
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

A nice quiet getaway...this time sans kids!

We loved just about everything at this hotel. Ocean view room was as promised. Excellent contemporary design and use of space. We went after the spring break peak and while the place was quiet, just about all the amenities were available as if it was packed. ( plenty of wait staff at the beach and bar etc). They had a 2 for one breakfast buffet which in Mexico goes above and beyond the make your own omelette to include enchiladas, fried plantain and other Mexican specialties plus the best French toast I've tasted. Fodors guide suggests this is the best beach on cancun and I would agree if you like clear Calm aqua water with a wide powder white sand beach. We also liked the fact that prob 75% of guests were either Spanish speaking or other international locations. It was fun practicing and learning Spanish from a delightfuL staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La habichuela restaraunt wAs awesome dining experience in hotel zone. Note mondays Wednesday's and fridAys they have an elaborate Mayan dance. RestAurant itself an architectural wonder don't be fooled by neighboring dominos pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
daniel271
Business
Köln, Deutschland
Dec 25, 2011

Nice hotel,bad service, tryed to chage you for everything

It is a nice hotel with really nice hotel rooms and a beautiful beach, good located at the beach. The Service is really bad, they gave us the wrong room without a terrace and twin bets, after I went to the receiption, they gave us a room with a terrace looking to a wall, but we had booked with a view. The terrace was without anything (table, chair...), so we could not use it. At the pool they tryed charging us for pool towels. So it took two hours till I was at the beach - checking in (very slow, 15-20 minutes), having the right room and having pool towels without paying money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JJLN
Business
Philadelphia, Pa, Usa
Aug 30, 2011

NIGHTMARE IN MEXICO!!!

TOURIST TRAP STAY AWAY!!!! WAY OVER PRICED YOU CAN A GET A NEWER AND BETTER HOTEL IN CANCUN ... WITH OUT THE INFALTED US PRICES $5 FOR A CAN OF BEER?? CUSTOMER SERVICES WAS BELOW A 1 STAR !! ANY HOTEL YOU STAY AT IS ON THE BEACH YOU GET THE SAME VIEW EVERYWHERE... TIP GO TO THE SUPER MARKET AND BUY SOME GROCERYS :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TACO FACTORY GREAT TACOS FOR A GREAT PRICE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JJLN
Business
Philadelphia, Pa, Usa
Aug 29, 2011

NIGHTMARE IN MEXICO!!!

This is a tourist trap, Mexico has finally become the US everything is overpriced, can beer is $5 us dollars, they lour you in with there 5 * rating, then they wouldn't comp my kids meal "hot dog" and french fries, because I ordered it from the bartender off the same menu?? You can find a 3 or 4 * hotel or for that fact a Villa for $95 a night for 2 adults & 2 kids with a kitchen, hit the super markets, you will save a bunch! Inter con president e if I could give less than one star I would! DISAPPOINTED!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get a room with a kitchen, hit the super markets buy your food and save a bunch, Don't let them rip you off ....The Taco Factory is a great affordable place to eat in Cancun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois USA
Feb 16, 2009

Pass on the Presidente

I called the hotel in advance to book golf. I was told the concierge was busy and to send an e-mail. Several e-mails were never returned. That was a clue of things to come. On arrival, room was hot, air conditioning did not work. Lamp light sockets broken, electrical wall plates broken, get the picture. Food in the restaurants was just a hair above Old Country Buffet. No service at all at dinner buffet, did not clear plates, could not get my check. Then, they added a 14% gratuity for buffet service that was awful. The next morning, I awoke to find that the maid had removed the coffee packet from the room, and left the one I used the morning before. Called desk and asked for one that never came. The beach was very nice, and beach service was attentive. Pool and outside common areas were nice. But, you can do better -- pass this place up!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Riviera Cancun Golf Course was fabulous. New course set in mangrove estuary blended well with natural surroundings. The staff knew my name when I arrived and could not have been more attentive. Every need was met. Course was challenging but fair and well kept. Played on a Saturday -- there were only 12 people on the course all day -- it felt like my own private course. I am told that Saturdays are a travel day for the crowds hence the private course feel. Other days it is booked up. Golf was followed with a wonderful meal included in the greens fees. Full menu dinner -- had fabulous pan seared grouper, fresh vegatables, staff that was friendly and met my every need. Everything here is new and top shelf. Transportation to and from hotel also included.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Aug 16, 2009

You may want to skip this one!

Our flight was delayed by a day and we called to inform the hotel. They reminded us that we would be charged-ok. We arrived next day and neither of our two rooms were ready-did get credit for them but very inconvenient. Had to wait until after 4:30 pm to get into our rooms. Not close to each other and we had asked to be (different wings!) Major construction zone directly under one room-could NOT sleep during day after long excursions!!!!!Loud, LOUD noises from 9am-6pm every day!!!!!Every time we had to remind the restaurant/bar staff about the 20% discount on food/beverages. Not much choice for dinner at restaurant. Chairs in all restaurants not accomodating for large people. One room did not have a safe, bathroom scale or rug on floor in vanity area. Other room did but worse view. We paid extra for better views-not really worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Chitchen Itza and Isla Mujereas-Wonderful!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Oct 6, 2009

Ok trip

The staff and service was phenomenal but the beds suck so bad, I was truly considering leaving the hotel and renting at another for the duration of my stay. Beds killed my back and I did not have one good night's rest !!!! I'm pretty sure I will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bella from statefarm insurance
Business
chicago il
Jun 10, 2010

cancun vacation just average

while there we went to visit the mayan ruins- we took a ferry to the isla mujeres- traveled by bus to the shopping areas.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

do not book any activities thru hotel very expensive- take a walk and book it thru a reputable facility much cheaper!! dont be afraid to take the bus- ask the driver to let you know when you arrive at your destination-ask the locals or hotel staff for directions on how to get to shopping centers-restaurants etc...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston
Nov 19, 2010

IT IS TERRIBLE AND CHEATING

When I booked the hotel, it indicated that we will be upgraded to renovated room for free [...]. However, we didnt know we were put in the old part of the hotel, which is defintely not renovated rooms, till the last day i acceidentally ran into the renovated part of the hotel. It is not what I purchased! The room is terrible and servies is bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yakima,Washington
Aug 5, 2009

Location is excellent, beach is perfect

After 3 days of using the refrigerator, hotel locked the refrigerator door, took out my 3 snacks and water indicating that it is not a refrigerator, is a snack bar used by the hotel only, not for guest. suggested to management to put up a sign, snack bar is actually a vending machine. hotel removed water and coffee on the third day as i did not buy any water/cofee in 3 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to malls, night clubs, shopping, public transportation can be taken outside the hotel .75 cents per person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee
Dec 31, 2008

money hungry hotel

The stay at the intercontinental presidente was very disapointing. The hotel is old and needs a face lift. Breakfast was a $10. mimnimum at the restaurant and the hotel charged $5. for the packet of cafe in our room. The hotel charged us for room cleaning each day. I will never stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top