$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
325 reviews
Great stay!!

I will definitely stay here again. The service was fantastic. The location was close to night... See full review

  • Stefni
  • Jun 14, 2014
Awesome !!

The hotel is super clean and well maintained , service from front desk to housekeeping was... See full review

  • RASTA LOVERS
  • Mar 30, 2014
Tropical Cancun beach retreat near the convention center and nightlife

The tranquil, upscale InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is steps from the sparkling Caribbean Sea. The resort is convenient for both leisure and business travelers with an address near the convention center and nightlife. Two outdoor pools, a whirlpool, massage services and a 24-hour fitness center are met by offerings such as water sports, two restaurants, two bars and a casual cafe. Contemporary guest rooms feature ocean, garden or lagoon views and are swathed in marble with Herman Miller chairs, rain showers and ambient lighting.

 

Highlights
  • Modern guests rooms decked in marble with Herman Miller chairs and garden, lagoon or ocean views
  • Two pools, one of which is adults only, as well as five whirlpools
  • Palm and palapa-punctuated beach overlooking Isla Mujeres
  • InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is near the convention center and nightlife

 

Rooms

Each of the 289 guest rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort have one king or two double beds and are adorned in marble and tile with expansive windows or balconies facing the ocean, lagoon or verdant grounds. Additional amenities include direct-dial telephones, air-conditioning, mini bars and bathrooms with shower-bathtubs and vanity mirrors. Renovated rooms also feature iHome radios, Melitta coffee machines, LCD TVs, rain showers and Herman Miller chairs as well as ambient LED lighting. Club-level rooms on a private floor feature continental breakfast.

 

Features

The beachfront InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort has two outdoor pools, five whirlpools and a 24-hour fitness center. The resort is near the convention center and the entertainment district in downtown Cancun. Offerings include water sports, wireless Internet service and massage services. Two restaurants, one specializing in Caribbean seafood, and a tequila bar pouring more than 600 labels completes the experience.

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (15 mi/24 km)

 

Attractions
  • Cancun Golf Club (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (5 mi/8 km)
  • AquaWorld (5 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting spaces accommodating up to 450 theater-style
  • Three meeting rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort
  • Exhibit space
  • Business center with high-speed Internet access, computer, photocopying, printing and secretarial services

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View Smoking/Non Smoking
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms are located on the ground floor with large terrace are spacious (51sqm/549sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology these are Non Smoking /smoking rooms marble floor deluxe amenities bathroom hs internet in room safe i home deck led light lamp tv cable
Deluxe Lagoon View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the amazing hotel strip and lagoon rooms are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the stunning Caribbean Sea are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Club Room Lagoon View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer an amazing view over the hotel strip and lagoon are spacious (34sqm/366sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Club Room Ocean View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer from their balcony an amazing view over the Caribbean Sea are spacious (60sqm/645sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Junior Suite
Junior Suites are generous in size (65m2/700sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea or the Lagoon and hotel strip and hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar balcony complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Deluxe Suite
The new Deluxe Suites are generous in size (68m2/730sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea. The suites feature the latest in design, comfort and technology. Complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.1355 -86.7543
Area served
Cancun.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)- 15 miles or 25 minutes.
Area description
The perfect location on the very heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, next to a 18- hole professional Golf Course, 5 minutes walking distance from shopping malls, restaurants and the best nightlife: a mile away from Cancun's Convention Center and nested on the best beach in the destination.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.5 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.9 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 4.9 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.2 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 7.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.2 mi

Dining

El Caribeno
Fully renovated, this restaurant offers a casually elegant atmosphere and delicious seafood dishes as well as a dazzling view of the beach and ocean.
Cana Brava
Located next to the beach, this is a casual Snack Bar with an extensive menu, from a traditional hamburger to a fresh seafood cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Too Picky For My Own Good
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Wonderful hotel

First, the "bad": This hotel is not as big and bustling with activity and fun as some of the newer resorts on the Island. The subdued and dignified European ambiance may not be what you're looking for in an boisterous family getaway. The breakfast buffet is not as varied as it might be and you'll get bored after a 3-day stay, although everything is wonderfully prepared. I didn't like the design of the hotel and it's easy to get assigned to one far, far, away from the elevator, which makes getting up to your room and back again something of a chore. Now, the good, which includes everything else: This is an Intercontinental Hotel. We received a remarkable level of service. The room was spotless. The staff is polite, professional, experienced, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful. It's difficult to describe how absolutely lovely the beach is. The location is in the exact middle of the Hotel Zone (please be aware that Google Maps accidentally locates the hotel on the southern tip of the island -- it is instead very near the tip of the "7"). There is a small supermarket within walking distance. When I go back to Cancun, I'll stay here again, and I can recommend this hotel with absolute confidence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The supermarket is a great place to buy beer and snacks. Beware of the prices on the fancy tequila.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Naka2
Boston, ma
May 11, 2013

Pleasant surprise

We went a few weeks after the spring break crowds. Mostly went for relaxation and to see some ruins Mayan ruins. Tours were very easy to schedule from vendor in the lobby. The room was a garden view and newly renovated and pleasantly updated. The lobby feels fancy but not stuffy. The staff are very nice, helpful, and friendly. They have a fantastic beach and 2 smaller pools that are very clean and have wonderful lighting at night. Drink prices are definitely cheaper than the states but I would say average priced...I recommend the piña colada highly....Also midweek seemed to have less people and some mornings it felt like we had a private beach...I would definitely stay here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seaqueen
Katy,tx
Aug 30, 2012

great place!

The staff were great! My only complaint was the inside of hotel is hot like there is no A/C .And the a/c in our room only got cool around 5am.Other than that I would stay again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChristinaMarie1023
New York, NY
Aug 28, 2012

My Dream Vacation!

I just returned from a 6 day vacation in Cancun Mexico with my best friend. We stayed at the Intercontinental Presidente, or 'El Presidente' as the locals refer to it. Outside it is simply structured, but once you enter, the lobby is grand and beautiful. The concierge staff was very friendly, attentive, and informative when asked for things like: restaurant recommendations, directions, good walking routes, and etc... Antonio became one of our friends while we were there. He always greeted us at the door with a smile, helped us with anything we needed, and knew us on a first name basis. Delia, who also worked with the hotel, helped plan and confirm some of the tours we went on. She was an absolute sweetheart. She was very warm and welcoming and gave us some great advice about getting to know the neighborhood. The resort itself is in a great location. It is within walking distance to the everything: Malls, stores, restaurants, bars, and clubs. My friend and I walked EVERYWHERE! We only took the bus once to go downtown which was a fun experience. The room itself was a beauty. It was very clean, modern, and spacious. Kind of like a studio apartment. The view was breathtaking, overlooking both the pools and the beautiful and private white sandy beach. The food at the hotel was surprisingly amazing and very fresh. I'm a vegetarian, and my friend is a vegan. Every special dietary need was meet with care and consideration. Overall, I must say, my stay here was a near perfect one. I fell in love with Mexico, it's culture, it's history, it's food, and the amazing people. If you are looking for a great resort to stay at that's in a perfect location, and offers great hospitality, this is my recommendation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Please visit Hacienda El Mortero (A Great Classic Mexican Restaurant) where the food is great, and the live entertainment is splendid. Please also visit Natura which is an organic, vegan/vegetarian friendly restaurnat across the street from Senor Frogs on the Entertainment Strip. The ambiance is very peaceful, the food is fresh, and decadent. And the fresh coconuts are unlike anything I've ever seen or tasted before! Finally for a great night out with great food, and a fun experience, please visit Carlos and Charlies where the food comes with a conga line, some singing, and a dance! The staff here is so pleasant, upbeat, and will do anything to make you smile.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brooklinedad
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

A nice quiet getaway...this time sans kids!

We loved just about everything at this hotel. Ocean view room was as promised. Excellent contemporary design and use of space. We went after the spring break peak and while the place was quiet, just about all the amenities were available as if it was packed. ( plenty of wait staff at the beach and bar etc). They had a 2 for one breakfast buffet which in Mexico goes above and beyond the make your own omelette to include enchiladas, fried plantain and other Mexican specialties plus the best French toast I've tasted. Fodors guide suggests this is the best beach on cancun and I would agree if you like clear Calm aqua water with a wide powder white sand beach. We also liked the fact that prob 75% of guests were either Spanish speaking or other international locations. It was fun practicing and learning Spanish from a delightfuL staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La habichuela restaraunt wAs awesome dining experience in hotel zone. Note mondays Wednesday's and fridAys they have an elaborate Mayan dance. RestAurant itself an architectural wonder don't be fooled by neighboring dominos pizza

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Too Picky For My Own Good
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Wonderful hotel

First, the "bad": This hotel is not as big and bustling with activity and fun as some of the newer resorts on the Island. The subdued and dignified European ambiance may not be what you're looking for in an boisterous family getaway. The breakfast buffet is not as varied as it might be and you'll get bored after a 3-day stay, although everything is wonderfully prepared. I didn't like the design of the hotel and it's easy to get assigned to one far, far, away from the elevator, which makes getting up to your room and back again something of a chore. Now, the good, which includes everything else: This is an Intercontinental Hotel. We received a remarkable level of service. The room was spotless. The staff is polite, professional, experienced, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful. It's difficult to describe how absolutely lovely the beach is. The location is in the exact middle of the Hotel Zone (please be aware that Google Maps accidentally locates the hotel on the southern tip of the island -- it is instead very near the tip of the "7"). There is a small supermarket within walking distance. When I go back to Cancun, I'll stay here again, and I can recommend this hotel with absolute confidence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The supermarket is a great place to buy beer and snacks. Beware of the prices on the fancy tequila.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BFE3
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 21, 2012

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Needed one extra night accomodation in Cancun. This Resort was an incredible value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Break Surpriser
Raleigh, NC, USA
Mar 15, 2012

THE place to stay in Cancun

If you're looking for as much seclusion as possible from the bustling Cancun hotel zone the Presidente Intercontinental is the place to be. It's at the end of the hotel zone strip which affords travellers a bit more relaxation as well as the best beach in Cancun. Unbeknownst to me prior to the trip (and the sail boat ride we took right off of the hotel's beach!), most of the other hotels have tiny beaches or rocky ones. However, there is much more to the hotel than Cancun's best beach. The service is exemplary and the staff there will do its best to cater to your every need. Whether you're going for a romantic getaway (like us :- ) or a family trip, the Presidente will definitely satisfy your expectations if not exceed them. The only drawback for me was the hard beds, but in my 15 trips to Mexico hard beds have been the norm regardless of where you stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the R1 or R2 bus! Great for a bit of cultural immersion in the ultra-touristy Cancun area.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billmidwest
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Great family vacation spot

Older hotel on probably the best beach in Cancun. We stayed on the Club Level and these rooms were very nicely renovated, and the breakfast and happy hour were very convenient and a good value. Would reccomend this for a family with small children, but get the Club Level rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Playa Carmen for a nice stroll and great authentic Mayan food.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bedro
Pasadena, CA, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Best Hotel & Location in Cancun

Retired couple,we have vacationed in Cancun yearly for 31 years. We have stayed specifically at hotel Presidente Intercontinental for the past eight years because we have found it to be the best overall resort on the absolute best beach in Cancun. This year the rooms have been remodled to include the most up to date conveniences and are very beautiful. All the many palapas and beach lounges have been replaced and are beautiful. The General Manager Nathalie Urban has all functions of the hotel running smoothly, efficiently and very customer friendly. The food and drinks in the two beachfront restaurants are excellent. The service in the restaurants and on the beach is excellent. Room service is excellent. The word "no" is not in the vocabulary at this hotel. Any reasonable request will attempt to be granted. For instance if you call room service and want something that is not on the room service menue but is on for instance the dinner menue the answer will be "of course we will prepare it for you". If you are at one of the two restaurants and request a dish only offered at their other restaurant, then your server will run over to the other restaurant ant get it for you. Service personnel have a great attitude. I very much admire that this is a well managed , efficient and customer friendly hotel, and it is on the best beach in Cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Cambalache Argentine Steak House La Habichuela Sunset or Presidente International Hotel restaurants

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
g13n
Cupertino, California
Jan 22, 2012

Perfect family getaway

We had earlier booked Celuisma Maya Caribe, but then checked out of the hotel after the first night, it was terrible. This hotel I should say is one of the best value for its price. My only complaint is that there's no free Internet in the room, but then if you're coming to have fun, why bother ;-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

La Isla Shopping Village is pretty close by and is a fantastic shopping destination.

Back to menu Return to top