InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
190 reviews
My favorite hotel on the best beach in Cancun

Have returned to this hotel more than once a year for the past ten years. It is on the best beach,... See full review

  • Bedro
  • Aug 4, 2014
On Vacation from Boston

Let me say this, I have traveled to many destinations and have stayed at many hotels in my life... See full review

  • N.R.
  • Jul 29, 2014
Tropical Cancun beach retreat near the convention center and nightlife

The tranquil, upscale InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is steps from the sparkling Caribbean Sea. The resort is convenient for both leisure and business travelers with an address near the convention center and nightlife. Two outdoor pools, a whirlpool, massage services and a 24-hour fitness center are met by offerings such as water sports, two restaurants, two bars and a casual cafe. Contemporary guest rooms feature ocean, garden or lagoon views and are swathed in marble with Herman Miller chairs, rain showers and ambient lighting.

 

Highlights
  • Modern guests rooms decked in marble with Herman Miller chairs and garden, lagoon or ocean views
  • Two pools, one of which is adults only, as well as five whirlpools
  • Palm and palapa-punctuated beach overlooking Isla Mujeres
  • InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is near the convention center and nightlife

 

Rooms

Each of the 289 guest rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort have one king or two double beds and are adorned in marble and tile with expansive windows or balconies facing the ocean, lagoon or verdant grounds. Additional amenities include direct-dial telephones, air-conditioning, mini bars and bathrooms with shower-bathtubs and vanity mirrors. Renovated rooms also feature iHome radios, Melitta coffee machines, LCD TVs, rain showers and Herman Miller chairs as well as ambient LED lighting. Club-level rooms on a private floor feature continental breakfast.

 

Features

The beachfront InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort has two outdoor pools, five whirlpools and a 24-hour fitness center. The resort is near the convention center and the entertainment district in downtown Cancun. Offerings include water sports, wireless Internet service and massage services. Two restaurants, one specializing in Caribbean seafood, and a tequila bar pouring more than 600 labels completes the experience.

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (15 mi/24 km)

 

Attractions
  • Cancun Golf Club (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (5 mi/8 km)
  • AquaWorld (5 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting spaces accommodating up to 450 theater-style
  • Three meeting rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort
  • Exhibit space
  • Business center with high-speed Internet access, computer, photocopying, printing and secretarial services

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View Smoking/Non Smoking
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms are located on the ground floor with large terrace are spacious (51sqm/549sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology these are Non Smoking /smoking rooms marble floor deluxe amenities bathroom hs internet in room safe i home deck led light lamp tv cable
Deluxe Lagoon View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the amazing hotel strip and lagoon rooms are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the stunning Caribbean Sea are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Club Room Lagoon View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer an amazing view over the hotel strip and lagoon are spacious (34sqm/366sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Club Room Ocean View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer from their balcony an amazing view over the Caribbean Sea are spacious (60sqm/645sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Junior Suite
Junior Suites are generous in size (65m2/700sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea or the Lagoon and hotel strip and hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar balcony complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Deluxe Suite
The new Deluxe Suites are generous in size (68m2/730sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea. The suites feature the latest in design, comfort and technology. Complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.1355 -86.7543
Area served
Cancun.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)- 15 miles or 25 minutes.
Area description
The perfect location on the very heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, next to a 18- hole professional Golf Course, 5 minutes walking distance from shopping malls, restaurants and the best nightlife: a mile away from Cancun's Convention Center and nested on the best beach in the destination.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.5 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.9 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 4.9 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 7.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.2 mi

Dining

El Caribeno
Fully renovated, this restaurant offers a casually elegant atmosphere and delicious seafood dishes as well as a dazzling view of the beach and ocean.
Cana Brava
Located next to the beach, this is a casual Snack Bar with an extensive menu, from a traditional hamburger to a fresh seafood cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Centennial,Co
Apr 27, 2009

Great Beach and Friendly Service

The food and the service on the beach was delicious and not very expensive (from the hotel). The beach was wonderful. All though not exactly walking distance to most of the action the buses are very convienent. Taxis are not too expensive either. We really had fun going to Isla Mujeres and exploring on golf carts and mopeds. I would definitely consider staying at Presidente InterContinental again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus to WalMart to stock up on sun screen, water etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Apr 26, 2009

Excellent beach

Very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAP2452
Business
Tannersville, PA
Apr 23, 2009

Extraordinary price..

Hotel staff was excellent. Very friendly, helpful and attentive to our needs. Location very good and the beach the best in Cancun. Food was great for the price and did received 20% off from bill. On the second day there while walking around town, I broke my left foot and had to be in bed for the rest of the vacation...9 days and 8 nights. My real problem was that the hotel is not handicapped friendly. My family and I had many difficulties when trying to go to eat, beach or pool with me and especially with a leg cast and crutches. There is no special needs ramps or elevator to assist people with these needs to enjoy the facilities. In spite of my predicament while vacationing in Cancun and staying at this hotel, I will highly recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Since I had an accident and could not be off my feet for too long, my family had to stay at the hotel with me.The Caribeno restaurant's food was delicious and fresh. My family ate there many times during breakfast and dinner. Lunch was next to the beach and the best of all was the 20% discount they gave us for all the meals. I ate in my room many times and the service and food was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los angeles,ca
Apr 22, 2009

Excellent! Had a wonderful time!

The hotel is located near the heart of Cancun. There are shops and restaraunts only a couple blocks down. Not to mention all the great clubs and bars. The beach was also one of the nicest beaches you can find. The water was crystal clear. Staff was also very friendly. BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK in my opinion!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Food in cancun was delicious. I ate chicken fajitas day after day!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mountain Matt
Business
5280, Mile Hi City
Apr 22, 2009

FANTASTIC BEACH AND WATER !!

We picked this hotel based on the desriptions of the beach and water and we were not disappointed, big beach with great water. The pools were nice, not too crowded and they have an adult pool which was very quiet. We picked the option that included a room upgrade and ocean view from floor #6, as well as an all you can eat breakfast, this was a great choice, breakfast is great, we had on the floor as well as at both restaurants. Hotel and grounds were spotless, service was good and not too many time share reps. A few nights we stayed late at the pool and ate the room service, full menu and great food. Walk less then a mile for great steak house and other places to eat and drink. The gym cold have been bigger, could have had a few more activities like the ping pong trables at the pool. Only complaint is very minor, they seem to have many packages and not everyone is always familiar and there were times we were charged the wrong amount, but it was fixed. We were alosx told we would have free drinks with our package during 7-9 at nigt and later told that was not the case, we did not pursue. I would go back in a heartbeat and buy same package,the staff was good, the breakfast was great, local convenience store right across the street. The beds were a little hard, but I have found that at most all resorts in Cancun. Went to Isla De Meuraras ( sp) my advice is unless it's a great day to snorkle, rent a golf cart or scooter for 2 hrs. The place you can stop and snorkle, zip line etc. would be ok on great swimming days, but kinda pricey for cafetria food, watered down drinks and a small swimming area. If not, 2 hrs is more then eneough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Only buy the inclusive breakfast, lots of good food close to walk too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duds and his hot Fiance
Business
Minnesota
Apr 22, 2009

Young Couples "Romantic Getaway"

We mostly spent time on the beach and in the pool, as well as out on the hammock, but we did take a few short spells into town. It was our first time in Mexico and we were obviously a couple of amateurs because we didn't get to see a much of the place. We took an Orbitz Concierge suggested trip to Coba to see the Ruins and had a great time, I would suggest at least try listening to what those guys say. Overall we were Satisfied by the Hotel, but would more then likely stay somewhere else the next time around just because everything was simple (even though it was nice) there just wasnt much too it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I read about it before we left, and its one of the reasons we picked it in the end. I am talkin about the small market just outside and down the street from the hotel. We were able to eat there pretty much everyday and buy all our bottled water from there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, KS
Apr 7, 2009

Great Beach, Great Value!

We went for vacation for four nights. The intercontinental is a great value. The beach is by far the best on Cancun - BELIEVE IT! The beach on the ocean side was too rough all four days; our beach was perfect! There are plenty of chairs and shade at any time of day. The beach service from the bar is great; they have flags you can put up but the waiters came around very regularly. The food from the beach menu is really good; great pizza, shrimp tacos, guacamole, salsa, and sandwiches; also great mixed drinks like pina coladas, daiquiris, etc. We ate out each nite to get some variety. The pools are also great but the weekend we were there there were lots of kids in the big pool so a little noisy but didn't bother us. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with a great view on ocean side. This is an older hotel, so the hallways are a little dated; the carpet was stained and worn some but kept clean and the maid service was good. No problems with hot water like I've read about at other hotels. In addition, the hotel uses only purified water so no worries about GI distress. Overall, a very well maintained property for the age. I was impressed that the front desk staff indeed honored our 20% discount and free breakfast offered by Orbitz with no question, although occasionally the bar staff did not catch it but they cheerfully corrected it when we pointed it out. I don't understand the previous comments about breakfast - It was GREAT, served from 0630 to 1100, and a great value when purchased in the package. Great variety of fresh fruits, pastires, hot dishes, quesadillas, and eggs made to order. The tequila bar is very sleek and modern but relaxed. Overall, this is a GREAT VALUE for the money - not the fanciest place in cancun, but for what we wanted (beach, drinks, snacks) it was great and we all agreed we would be back. In addition, the resorts immediately to the East are fancy, but believe the comments about the shade in the afternoon and there is practically NO BEACH at either of the Riu resorts and very narrow at the Fiesta Americana. Make sure you tip the wait staff and bell personnel. In addition, Mexican people in general value politeness; you will get a lot farther if are polite and considerate at all times; your service will suffer if you are seen as demanding or rude. I did not see any security problems in Cancun as long as you stay in the Hotel Zone. We walked everywhere we went with no worries whatsoever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Its about a 10-15 walk to most of the larger bars and restaurnats at the North end of the Hotel Zone which didn't bother us at all. Walked to Starbucks every AM across form the Riu. For dinner, try the Seahorse Cafe with Jimmy Ricardo; we enjoyed it so much the first nite we went back again. Not very busy but good food and drinks. Also recommend La Padilla in the city. Went to Carlos N'Charlies the first nite and did not enjoy it - TOO LOUD and INCESSANT whistle blowing by the staff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Koolkid1976
Business
Meriden, CT
Apr 2, 2009

The Presidente of hotels

We chose the neighboring hotel—Ambiance Villas—in 2008 because all the reviews said it was the best beach in Cancun. It was. At the time we spotted the more upscale InterContinental Presidente, which shared the same beach, so it was a no-brainer to choose it in 2009 when the cost was almost the same as Ambiance. The Presidente can’t be beat. The currency exchange rate offered at the hotel was second only to the bank, and the difference was minuscule. The food was excellent! We don’t do all-inclusive because we like to dine at different restaurants. We had little desire to dine elsewhere. Continental breakfast was less than $10 per person, and Buffet breakfast was less than $20 per person. Dinner and desert were excellent as well. Customer service is top notch. The mini-bar in the room won’t cost you an arm and a leg. They have two pools, both of which are less than 5ft deep. One is for kids. There are 3 internet connected computers that you can use for free. Most other hotels charge you! The lobby and Tequila Bar look very upscale. The rooms are not super fancy, but they are nice and the beds are comfortable. Listen, you could always spend more and go to an All-inclusive fancier place like the Rui, but that does not guarantee you a better time. It does not guarantee you’ll save money since the food is so cheap. And you certainly can’t count on a better beach front. You can hope for similar, but not better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Tips: Don’t be boring and spend all your time in the hotel. Book at least a couple activities. You can do it online at cancunfuntours.com before you leave, or at the hotel when you arrive. See Chichen Itza. Cozumel. Isla Mujeres. If you love souvenir shopping, prices at these places will be lower than at the flea market. You get better deals if you go shopping with pesos instead of dollars. Have a calculator with you—or know how to use the one on your phone—to convert back and forth between currencies to see if you really are getting a deal. Take the bus if you can. It will cost you 60cents as opposed to $6 for a cab. The bus makes sudden swift movements, so sit or grab something ASAP when you get on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South New Jersey
Mar 31, 2009

Cancun 2/19/09 x 1 week

The hotel was definitely a 4 star. Enjoyed the pool and the beach and food/bev on the beach. The gym was very nice. Staff were very attentive & polite and always looking to help. Rooms are nice and everything was very clean. Hotel overall was very comfortable and a nice location. Their beach was PERFECT - further down not as nice and further toward ocean is too rough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus downtown for dinner, shopping, to exchange money, etc. Visit their two large grocery stores (one is also a dept store). Definitely take a day trip to Isla Mujeres and/or Cozumel and rent a jeep or golf cart to tour the island. Very beautiful and serene.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dawn traveler
Business
green bay,wi
Mar 28, 2009

food not so good

The hotel was beautiful, very clean and friendly staff. The food availability was bad, no verity. There were only 3 restarents and on any given night only one was open,so if you bring children plan to eat outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top