$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
192 reviews
My favorite hotel on the best beach in Cancun

Have returned to this hotel more than once a year for the past ten years. It is on the best beach,... See full review

  • Bedro
  • Aug 4, 2014
On Vacation from Boston

Let me say this, I have traveled to many destinations and have stayed at many hotels in my life... See full review

  • N.R.
  • Jul 29, 2014
Tropical Cancun beach retreat near the convention center and nightlife

The tranquil, upscale InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is steps from the sparkling Caribbean Sea. The resort is convenient for both leisure and business travelers with an address near the convention center and nightlife. Two outdoor pools, a whirlpool, massage services and a 24-hour fitness center are met by offerings such as water sports, two restaurants, two bars and a casual cafe. Contemporary guest rooms feature ocean, garden or lagoon views and are swathed in marble with Herman Miller chairs, rain showers and ambient lighting.

 

Highlights
  • Modern guests rooms decked in marble with Herman Miller chairs and garden, lagoon or ocean views
  • Two pools, one of which is adults only, as well as five whirlpools
  • Palm and palapa-punctuated beach overlooking Isla Mujeres
  • InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is near the convention center and nightlife

 

Rooms

Each of the 289 guest rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort have one king or two double beds and are adorned in marble and tile with expansive windows or balconies facing the ocean, lagoon or verdant grounds. Additional amenities include direct-dial telephones, air-conditioning, mini bars and bathrooms with shower-bathtubs and vanity mirrors. Renovated rooms also feature iHome radios, Melitta coffee machines, LCD TVs, rain showers and Herman Miller chairs as well as ambient LED lighting. Club-level rooms on a private floor feature continental breakfast.

 

Features

The beachfront InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort has two outdoor pools, five whirlpools and a 24-hour fitness center. The resort is near the convention center and the entertainment district in downtown Cancun. Offerings include water sports, wireless Internet service and massage services. Two restaurants, one specializing in Caribbean seafood, and a tequila bar pouring more than 600 labels completes the experience.

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (15 mi/24 km)

 

Attractions
  • Cancun Golf Club (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (5 mi/8 km)
  • AquaWorld (5 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting spaces accommodating up to 450 theater-style
  • Three meeting rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort
  • Exhibit space
  • Business center with high-speed Internet access, computer, photocopying, printing and secretarial services

Hotel Map

21.1355 -86.7543
Area served
Cancun.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)- 15 miles or 25 minutes.
Area description
The perfect location on the very heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, next to a 18- hole professional Golf Course, 5 minutes walking distance from shopping malls, restaurants and the best nightlife: a mile away from Cancun's Convention Center and nested on the best beach in the destination.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View Smoking/Non Smoking
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms are located on the ground floor with large terrace are spacious (51sqm/549sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology these are Non Smoking /smoking rooms marble floor deluxe amenities bathroom hs internet in room safe i home deck led light lamp tv cable
Deluxe Lagoon View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the amazing hotel strip and lagoon rooms are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the stunning Caribbean Sea are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Club Room Lagoon View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer an amazing view over the hotel strip and lagoon are spacious (34sqm/366sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Club Room Ocean View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer from their balcony an amazing view over the Caribbean Sea are spacious (60sqm/645sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Junior Suite
Junior Suites are generous in size (65m2/700sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea or the Lagoon and hotel strip and hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar balcony complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Deluxe Suite
The new Deluxe Suites are generous in size (68m2/730sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea. The suites feature the latest in design, comfort and technology. Complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.5 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.9 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 4.9 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.2 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 5.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 7.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.2 mi

Dining

El Caribeno
Fully renovated, this restaurant offers a casually elegant atmosphere and delicious seafood dishes as well as a dazzling view of the beach and ocean.
Cana Brava
Located next to the beach, this is a casual Snack Bar with an extensive menu, from a traditional hamburger to a fresh seafood cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
192 out of 192
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey in tex
Houston, TX
May 27, 2009

Good Experience

I had a nice time in this hotel. I recommend mostly for family or low key people who dont want to be in the middle of stuff or for those looking for a good value. The exterior is not quite as nice as many of the other hotels, but inside and the pool/beach area were very nice and well maintained. We had a nice 1st floor room with a patio and hammock. The bed was a little hard for my friends taste, but I thought it was ok. Furniture was standard hotel fare and the bathroom was quite nice stone accents and the like. The food was pretty good at the restaurants here. The breakfast buffet was excellent and its worth getting on orbits ($7 or whatever it is per day) because price there is much higher (about 3 times). The orbizs rep there had packages for tours, and the prices were very negotiable so may want to wait to book these things in person. Maids were good and leaving 20 pesos they even folded cloths and arranged things for you. Roomservice was was ok. The service was slow and the food was pretty good (better than most room service but still not that good). The front desk was very attentive, but a little stingy on what bills they would exchange (I broght money direct from the bank in the states and they would not accept some for minor tares and such). The pools and beach were excellent as were the grounds. Pool/beach side service was not great, but ordering yourself from the bar was not too inconvenient. The bus was right outside and frequent. Avoid taxis if possible because they overcharge (and hail from street not from hotel for cheaper negotiable rates). Location is pretty good. Not too far from Hotel zone stuff or town, but not in the middle of things either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Try eating in town at some of the patio cafes along the sidestreets of Ave. Tulum. Ask at hotel which bus and the trip is 75 cents (about 4 miles away). The food and drinks are good as is service and its much cheaper.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eagan, MN
May 27, 2009

InterContinental Presidente Review

The staff were great, always very friendly. The beach and pool areas are awesome. I was on the traffic side of hotel, and it was very noisy, tough to sleep, not good sound proofing, make sure to request rooms on the beach side of hotel. The bathroom was very small with poor lighting. The fitness center was OK, nothing much but good enough for keeping in shape while on vacation, the temperature could have been set cooler. Was not a big room and got pretty stuffy, when doing cardio. Based on the price I would certainly go again. Was in walking distance of several nice restaurants, night clubs, and shopping areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Registered nurse
seatle, WA
May 11, 2009

very nice vacation

We wanted to have quiet relaxed time off and we had it. Hotel was much older compare to others around, but not too bad. Our room was on the first floor, cirtains were old, floor did not seem clean and was very cold, air-conditioner was noisy and woke us up when sleeping,but furniture was nice, service was good. Bathroom was small, and I saw a little leasart on the wall after turning the light on. The beach area was very nice and not crouded, ocean was calm, no waves. We had a very nice time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffet was excelent, one breakfast was enough for the whole day.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Dummy
Oak Forest, Il
May 9, 2009

Blow me

Accomodations were very nice, just make sure that you don't purchase too many pesos at the hotel, they will not exchange for you at check out. Great view of "safe" side, and of the lagoon. Kaitlin loved it!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia PA USA
May 9, 2009

Great Beach- Hotel needs remodeling

This hotel is on the best beach in Cancun! Presidente is consistently good overall. However, this hotel is is dire need of a remodel and updating of the guest rooms and public areas. The rooms are small but comfortable. Ocean view is somewhat obstructed on the lower floors of the "non tower" building. Ask for a room above the 4th floor. While there, there was only one restaurant open. There is a nice beachside restaurant that was closed during my stay. There are nice lobby and beachside bars. One thing that was annoying is that the hotel nickels and dimes you for everything. There is inroom coffee maker but you pay for the coffee and the water!! I am used to the high prices of hotel food and beverage but felt the food was not that great and the prices were very high- even for hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A ten minute walk to entertainement and restaurants. Avoid taxi as they will charge you $15 to go 5 minutes. If you dont want to walk- take the bus----really---- its cheap, safe and runs continuously throughout the tourist areas of Cancun

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Carolyn
Eugene, Oregon
May 8, 2009

A beautiful spot.

Our stay coincided with the Swine Flu scare, so the resort/hotel was fairly empty. Such a shame, as it has such beautiful grounds and wonderful service. As we were among the very few staying there at the time, it was a little surreal. The only downside to this hotel, from our point of view, is that it is at the edge of the hotel zone, and the distance to the busy restaurants and shops was more than those of us in our 70's was comfortable with on foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cancun
May 2, 2009

The true review

Wish there were balaconies

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Italian restaurant is wonderful

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flamingolover
Mechanicsburg, PA
May 2, 2009

Won't stay anywhere else in Cancun

The Presidente may be an older hotel, but we had a room that had recently been remodeled and was just super. As a middle aged couple, my husband and I just wanted to be able to relax and enjoy the beach and this was the best place to do that. There was no noisy bar scene, dance clubs, etc. We barely knew there was even anyone else on our floor. If we wanted a night out a short bus ride took us to the action. The beach was gorgeous and clean and never crowded. The staff at the hotel was so gracious and helpful. We had no one attempt to sell us timeshares as I had read in so many other reviews. The only negative that I would say about the hotel is the limited restaurant selection but again a short bus ride took us to many other restaurants. I will definitely go back to the Presidente; it all depends on what you are looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cancun'n Candice
Brooklyn, NY
May 2, 2009

Great resort in a great location!!

I loved the Intercontinental Presidente! The staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were small but clean and everything worked properly. I loved the beach and the drink service was pretty good. The better you tip, the faster your drinks come. The location was great, you can hop on a bus and in 5 minutes you have night life, great restaurants and shops. Carlos & Charlie's was the best! Overall this was a great introduction to a vacation in cancun. Can't wait to come back. I went parasailing on the resort as well as Jet skiing. I paid $50 usd for each activity and had a great time. DO NOT CHANGE ALL OF YOUR US CURRENCY TO PESOS. They sometimes prefer the usd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The buses come non-stop, 5 minute drive gets you to nightlife, shopping and restaurants.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Centennial,Co
Apr 27, 2009

Great Beach and Friendly Service

The food and the service on the beach was delicious and not very expensive (from the hotel). The beach was wonderful. All though not exactly walking distance to most of the action the buses are very convienent. Taxis are not too expensive either. We really had fun going to Isla Mujeres and exploring on golf carts and mopeds. I would definitely consider staying at Presidente InterContinental again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus to WalMart to stock up on sun screen, water etc.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search