$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brooklinedad
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

A nice quiet getaway...this time sans kids!

We loved just about everything at this hotel. Ocean view room was as promised. Excellent contemporary design and use of space. We went after the spring break peak and while the place was quiet, just about all the amenities were available as if it was packed. ( plenty of wait staff at the beach and bar etc). They had a 2 for one breakfast buffet which in Mexico goes above and beyond the make your own omelette to include enchiladas, fried plantain and other Mexican specialties plus the best French toast I've tasted. Fodors guide suggests this is the best beach on cancun and I would agree if you like clear Calm aqua water with a wide powder white sand beach. We also liked the fact that prob 75% of guests were either Spanish speaking or other international locations. It was fun practicing and learning Spanish from a delightfuL staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La habichuela restaraunt wAs awesome dining experience in hotel zone. Note mondays Wednesday's and fridAys they have an elaborate Mayan dance. RestAurant itself an architectural wonder don't be fooled by neighboring dominos pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luz super mom
Business
houston tx
Aug 7, 2009

fantastic family getaway

good hotel spend most of the time outside i only used fot sleep and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eaglerockmark
Business
Los angeles, CA
Aug 7, 2009

Vacation to Cancun

Hotel wasnice and staff were friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

go across the street and to the left for food, very inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yakima,Washington
Aug 5, 2009

Location is excellent, beach is perfect

After 3 days of using the refrigerator, hotel locked the refrigerator door, took out my 3 snacks and water indicating that it is not a refrigerator, is a snack bar used by the hotel only, not for guest. suggested to management to put up a sign, snack bar is actually a vending machine. hotel removed water and coffee on the third day as i did not buy any water/cofee in 3 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to malls, night clubs, shopping, public transportation can be taken outside the hotel .75 cents per person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deatsville Daredevil
Business
Alabama
Aug 3, 2009

Nice Vacation

Hotel: The room was small but accommodating for two people. Three or more people would be cramped in this room. It has all the basic things you will need but it was not plush and luxurious. The prices are marked up very high in the hotel store and mini-bar. You will find much lower prices in the convenience stores located in various places in the hotel zone. So, when you are out at the mall shopping, buy a bottle of water for 50 cents instead of $3.00 at the hotel. The restaurant was good but limited. You will find more variety and better options by dining away from the hotel. The beach at the hotel is large and nice but the hotel is located on an inlet from the Caribbean Sea. So, there are no waves. It is like being on a lake where the water is very smooth. Avoid the time share and condo sales people. You do not have to deal with them. Beach: You will need to stay on the main strip in the hotel zone in order to be on "The Beach" where waves actually break in front of the beach behind the hotel. Beware! There are many very large rocks on the beach and in the water where the waves break. You do not just walk out into the water without surveying where these rocks are located or you will get all cut up and abraded. The flip side is that the turquoise water is very beautiful and there are nice waves. The water can get deep quickly and can be powerful so take precautions. But, once you figure it out, the water is so nice you will not want to get out of it. Unlike some of the Florida beaches I have visited, there is not really any evidence of many fish swimming around in the water. This, and the fact the water is so clean and clear, I never really felt threatened or had any fear that sharks might be an issue while being in the water. I may not have been any safer with regard to sharks but I certainly did not have the fear or awareness of them like I do when in the Florida waters. Transportation: Do not rent a car unless you plan on driving outside the hotel zone to attractions or destinations away from Cancun. The cost for two people taking the bus for one week was less than $25. We (two people)took the bus an average of two times per day. Renting a car for the week will be $250 or more plus the hassle and frustration of finding parking. Shopping: There are five key places to consider when shopping in Cancun: Caracol Mall, The Forum, Flamingo's, La Isla, and Luxury Avenue. Restaurants: Too many to mention! You should not have any problem finding good places to eat. Your problem rather will be deciding where to eat because you will not be able to eat at all the places in a week's time. Street Vendors: Beware the Street Vendors! Everybody, everywhere in Cancun is going to try and sell you something. Keep your game face on and either ignore them or politely just say "No Gracias". Else, you are going to take a lot of expensive taxi rides, visit expensive attractions and have a lot of stuff like seashells and necklaces to pack in your suitcase for the return trip home. Just Say NO and you will be fine! If this is what you want, then you will be in Cancun Heaven. Attractions: There are a lot of them. However, our objective on our first trip to Cancun was to keep the "Vacation Quotient" as high as possible. We achieved this by not buying things and by not buying things to do while there. Instead, we took what Cancun had to offer and made the best out of it. Final Result: Mission Accomplished! The Vacation Quotient was high. And, my girlfriend is already looking into booking our next trip to Cancun (this year, not for next year!). Thanks to Cancun, I will never see the Florida panhandle and Alabama beaches the same again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't fall into the trap that you must pay for and do a lot of recreational activities in Cancun in order to have a good time and enjoy yourself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First timer in Cancun
Business
Florida
Aug 2, 2009

Beautiful Beach

The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful. It is overall an excellent hotel, if anything a little dated but you probably won't be spending too much time in your room. The negative are the salespeople along the edge of the lobby. They will scope you out as soon as you get there and try very hard to give you discounts and a free breakfast in exchange for "an hour and a half of your time". I was not interested at all and found myself having to fend off these salespeople just about everywhere I went including Walmart. If you are not interested at all just tell them up front that you don't have a credit card... that rules you out. Besides that I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, the beach, the beautiful pools. (One is set aside for adults only). And of course the beach. After walking up and down along the beaches I would say this is one of the most beautiful and calm beaches along the hotel zone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
HOUSTON TEXAS
Jul 30, 2009

great location

THE STAY WAS VERY NICE BUT AS I MENTIONED SOME OF THE STAFF WERE UNFRIENDLY SPECIALLY THE BREAKFAST RESTAURANT MANAGER HE WAS NOT HELPFULL. THE HOTEL DOORWAY CARPET NEED TO BE CHANGED IT SMELLS KIND A BAD. BUT ITS BEACH IS THE BEST IN THE AREA WITHOUT A DOUBT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
smilesrme
Business
Loveland, Colorado
Jul 30, 2009

A Perfect Stay

Was a great way to celebrate my 50th birthday in Cancun! My friend and I chose to stay at the Presidente because of the great value and the amazing beach. This hotel and beach experience did not disappoint. The hotel is very clean, did not have any musty smells and the lobby area was attractive and open. Our room was a nice size and very comfortable. We were amazed at the storage areas for our belongings. We also appreciated the good working A/C in the room. I chose to bring coffee, filters and creamer from home as I had read that they charge for the coffee in the room as well as a service fee. It was a wise choice to do so and it tastes better than hotel coffee! We had great maid service with clean towels daily. We tipped her at the end of our stay. Previous reviews stated that the hallways were dark and musty. While they did looked aged a bit, my friend and I did not think it was a problem at all. The beach itself is picture perfect. White sand, comfortable chaise lounges, palapos for shade and a delightful waterfront was just right for us. The staff is hardworking and polite. The workout room is updated and clean with great machines and weights. We traveled by the local bus, a cheap and easy way to get around. For two gals traveling by ourselves, we felt safe even at night. Market 28 is a great place to haggle and shop. Walmart is close by (Market 28) for very reasonably priced water. Do beware of the hawkers selling their packages and excursions. A polite "no" will do. We did buy tickets (at the pier) for the Carribbean Carnival, a catamaran ride over to Isla Murejes for dinner and a show. It was a nice excursion, but the drinks seemed watered down; the dinner was delicious. We ate at local little places. Across the street from the hotel is a little strip mall where there are three little roadside cafes. Very good and very reasonable in price. It was a great stay in Cancun, very relaxing and beautiful water to enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jul 29, 2009

excellent beach

Great location and the best staff on the best beach in cancun!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Abundant choices of restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Famman
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 28, 2009

Great Beach for Family Vacation

The Presidente is a good hotel at the top nothern part of the hotel strip. It's located close to shopping areas, clubs and restaurants. The rooms were a good and clean. We noticed that the hotel is one of olders ones on the strip but it did not lack in service compared to newer hotel on the strip. It was a good fit for our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids, 8 and 3). One really nice part of the hotel is it's beach...it was what we wanted for cancun, clear beach, with white soft sand, no waves, it seemed like your own personal pool in the ocean. Our kids enjoyed this very much. The hotel also has two pools, one which is pretty large for families and a smaller one where only adults can enjoy. Our overall experience was pleasent and we had no issue with the hotel and the staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing you need to watch out for are the timeshare and package specialist that want to waste a couple minutes of your time. They can seem very pushy, we just ignored and past them by. Our room had a view to the lagoon and at times, specially in the early morning hours you can here some noise from the clubs accross the lagoon. If you are a deep sleeper then this will not be an issue. We were very satisfied for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheMaggards
Business
Richmond, Ky
Jul 27, 2009

Stayed here for Honeymoon...fantastic!!!

My husband and I just stayed there for our honeymoon. We couldn't have been any more pleased with our stay and I don't think we could have picked a better resort to stay at. All of the staff was very helpful and friendly. Unlike the other posts, we did'nt have anyone in the lobby trying to sell us timeshares. We did sit down and book at tour on a sail boat to the Isle of Mujeres via Albatros. It was our favorite part of the trip! I definitely recommend it to anyone visiting! The restaurants at the hotel all had great food, we ate there the majority of the time. The outside bar is FANTASTIC and had a great bartender. I would definitely recommend anyone to go here, we have already started planning a trip back next summer. The room has a mini bar that has everything you would want to drink and to snack on. Prices aren't that bad, but I would suggest going right down the street to the little store and buying your own snacks. Also, I wouldn't exchange my money at the hotel, the exchange rate was pretty low, we found much better exchange rates out in town. The pools were great, the adult pool was even better!! Perfect for honeymooners that don't want to be around screaming children. Also, one of our favorite features of the hotel was the beach side service. They were very helpful & brough you anything and everything that you wanted. We had a great, amazing, wonderful stay & we can't wait to go back to the resort!! It was just about 8-10 minute walk to anywhere you needed to go, the location was fantastic! It was definitely the best beach in cancun. They also have parasailing, jet skis, sail boats, scuba diving, etc at the hotel. We definitely enjoyed ourselves!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top