$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brooklinedad
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

A nice quiet getaway...this time sans kids!

We loved just about everything at this hotel. Ocean view room was as promised. Excellent contemporary design and use of space. We went after the spring break peak and while the place was quiet, just about all the amenities were available as if it was packed. ( plenty of wait staff at the beach and bar etc). They had a 2 for one breakfast buffet which in Mexico goes above and beyond the make your own omelette to include enchiladas, fried plantain and other Mexican specialties plus the best French toast I've tasted. Fodors guide suggests this is the best beach on cancun and I would agree if you like clear Calm aqua water with a wide powder white sand beach. We also liked the fact that prob 75% of guests were either Spanish speaking or other international locations. It was fun practicing and learning Spanish from a delightfuL staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La habichuela restaraunt wAs awesome dining experience in hotel zone. Note mondays Wednesday's and fridAys they have an elaborate Mayan dance. RestAurant itself an architectural wonder don't be fooled by neighboring dominos pizza

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Oct 6, 2009

Ok trip

The staff and service was phenomenal but the beds suck so bad, I was truly considering leaving the hotel and renting at another for the duration of my stay. Beds killed my back and I did not have one good night's rest !!!! I'm pretty sure I will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Oct 6, 2009

Ok trip

The staff and service was phenomenal but the beds suck so bad, I was truly considering leaving the hotel and renting at another for the duration of my stay. Beds killed my back and I did not have one good night's rest !!!! I'm pretty sure I will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raquelconti
Business
Mexico
Sep 16, 2009

The Best Beach in Cancun

The hotel has a good location and the most beutiful beach in Cancun. Friendly staff and a nice bar and restaurant. The hotel also has a gym!! And it is a good one!. Ahh, and you have access to internet and print documents for free =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is in Kulkulcan street, and in it are all the night clubs and bar. A nice restaurant with a beutiful view is Lorenzillo´s a nice place!! I recomend it a lot! Speccially for dinner

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
manumillo
Business
Long Beach, CA. USA
Sep 15, 2009

Aug 29 - Sep 5 09 Unbeatable location

We needed a place where we could detoxify from day to day stress! After having our flight to Cancun delayed for more than 3 hours, we were ready to explode, but as soon as we got to the hotel, we were greatly surprised by the friendliness of their staff! When we got to our room (it was at night) we had a great view of the beach and we could see on the horizon the lights of Isla Mujeres... The first morning, when we woke up, the view was beyond of what simple words could describe! You TRULY HAVE to BE THERE to experience it! We were on the ninth floor and it was more than amazing! We could not believe the ocean's diferent shades of blue!!!! It was just what the DR ordered for us! Thank you to El Presidente Intercontinental, CocoTours Marina and their wonderful Staff for an amazing stay! While there, make sure to stop by their marina, CocoTours. From their manager,[...], to all their staff, highly recomended tours and water amenities that should also be experienced! Once again, unless you go there, you will not understand the intensity of what I am trying to convey in these paragraphs with words! So, if you can, DO GO THERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The marina staff @ CocoTours made the stay an amazing experience! At first, my gf was afraid of going on one of their seadoos (might be the way I usually drive cars :)) but, by the end of our trip, she was driving her own seadoo! Extremly friendly and patient staff that works with you :) Two thumbs up!

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KimRulz
Business
Colorado
Sep 14, 2009

InterContinental Presidente Hotel Review

The room floors were made of a dirty looking, textured tile and I'm fairly certain they were filthy. Additionally, the beds were so hard you literally bounced right off of them. Lastly, what is so difficult about continental breakfast? We were told by the front desk clerk there was indeed a free continental breakfast but when we ate there the next morning they chased us halfway through the hotel demanding that we pay the $70 or charge it to our room. We tried to explain what we were told to no avail. Every other hotel in the world offers continental breakfast and I think they should fall in line. With all that I've described I'm never too concerned w/my hotel accomodations when I travel b/c I just need a bed and a bathroom as I'm rarely in my room. As for breakfast, we found a Starbucks about a block from the hotel and had our breakfast there every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car and drive to Chichen Itza. We only paid $45 for our rental car instead of an organized group tour price of approx. $60-80 pp. Isla Majeres (maybe Majorca) is not worth your time, money or effort.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amanda fll
Business
Ft lauderdale , florida
Sep 10, 2009

Great location, beautiful views.

I was not there for a vacation, but have lived here before. the Presidente is the perfect location for travelling either downtown to great restaurants, or the hotel zone for partying and good food as well. the beach is beautiful. I actually prefer this side because the view is spectacular. even at night to see the lights of Isla and the pirate ships on the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Sr Frogs is always great place for fun. The entertainer is a personal friend of mine, [...]. they lived up the crowd with funny anecdotes and great music and dancing.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cancun 2009
Business
San Fernando Valley, CA
Sep 8, 2009

Good price for the hotel

For the price that we paid, this hotel was okay. The service and attentiveness from the staff was superb. The hotel is much older than the rest of the hotels in the hotel zone and the rooms show it. The furniture need to get replaced, the beds are hard, the bathrooms have a funky smell in them, there are no fans in the bathroom either! Apparently we stayed in the taller tower which is newer than the lower tower which is currently under renovation (which started a couple days ago) but if the taller tower is newer, I could only imagine how horrible the lower tower is! The hotel lobby has been remodeled and looks very nice, but the rest of the rooms in the hotel definitely need some attention. The Caribeno restaurant is great! Great selection of food for the breakfast buffet and excellent service. The pool is hot....not warm but hot! Not sure why since the beach is warm most of the time and I would think that you would like a cool pool to get into after you're done with the beach. The beach is great for kids. No waves, just like a big open swimming pool. Water is very clear, different shades of blues and turquoises, white powdery sand, chairs under the palapas. We headed out to chichen itza, xcaret, xel ha, isla mujeres, playa del carmen, the rest of the hotel zone and downtown cancun. I would consider staying here again only if the price is right. I would think I would rather pay a little more and get a better/newer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are debating whether to do xcaret or xel ha, definitely go for xcaret. Sure xel ha is all inclusive and you can eat as often as you'd like and the price is cheaper but there is a lot more to do and see at xcaret than at xel ha. Xel ha is just a big snorkeling place that really doesn't have that many fish to look at anymore.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Well rested city family
Business
Washington DC
Sep 7, 2009

Wonderful stay at the InterContinental

We enjoyed the beautiful beach and walking along the coastline. The pool and jacuzzis were fun for the kids. The room was nicely renovated and the floor was peacefully quiet. Easy check in/out and no one constantly hasseling you to purchase things or buy a timeshare. Location and laid back atmosphere make this hotel superb. Hotel needs to reopen their Kids Club though - we would have even happily paid to get a little rest from entertaining the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a rental car and go out and see Cancun, Riviera Maya, and all of the infamous archeological wonders. It is very easy to drive in Cancun and its surroundings.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Valderee
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 4, 2009

What you expect

A nice, clean hotel. Cheerful and helpful concierges, a variety of services. In short, everything you expect from a five-star hotel. A few caveats - you can't really walk anywhere (this IS Cancun), crossing the street can be risky, and there is no airport shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephenman
Business
Calabasas, Ca
Aug 21, 2009

Good Beach, Mediocer Hotel

This hotel was ok. I liked that it was on the beach. The pool was big and felt warm when you got into it. The location was ok, the Hyatt Regency Cancun was better. Sometimes very noisty. Overall hotel wasn´t bad, but I wouldn´t pay to stay here again unless it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top