InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
190 reviews
My favorite hotel on the best beach in Cancun

Have returned to this hotel more than once a year for the past ten years. It is on the best beach,... See full review

  • Bedro
  • Aug 4, 2014
On Vacation from Boston

Let me say this, I have traveled to many destinations and have stayed at many hotels in my life... See full review

  • N.R.
  • Jul 29, 2014
Tropical Cancun beach retreat near the convention center and nightlife

The tranquil, upscale InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is steps from the sparkling Caribbean Sea. The resort is convenient for both leisure and business travelers with an address near the convention center and nightlife. Two outdoor pools, a whirlpool, massage services and a 24-hour fitness center are met by offerings such as water sports, two restaurants, two bars and a casual cafe. Contemporary guest rooms feature ocean, garden or lagoon views and are swathed in marble with Herman Miller chairs, rain showers and ambient lighting.

 

Highlights
  • Modern guests rooms decked in marble with Herman Miller chairs and garden, lagoon or ocean views
  • Two pools, one of which is adults only, as well as five whirlpools
  • Palm and palapa-punctuated beach overlooking Isla Mujeres
  • InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is near the convention center and nightlife

 

Rooms

Each of the 289 guest rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort have one king or two double beds and are adorned in marble and tile with expansive windows or balconies facing the ocean, lagoon or verdant grounds. Additional amenities include direct-dial telephones, air-conditioning, mini bars and bathrooms with shower-bathtubs and vanity mirrors. Renovated rooms also feature iHome radios, Melitta coffee machines, LCD TVs, rain showers and Herman Miller chairs as well as ambient LED lighting. Club-level rooms on a private floor feature continental breakfast.

 

Features

The beachfront InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort has two outdoor pools, five whirlpools and a 24-hour fitness center. The resort is near the convention center and the entertainment district in downtown Cancun. Offerings include water sports, wireless Internet service and massage services. Two restaurants, one specializing in Caribbean seafood, and a tequila bar pouring more than 600 labels completes the experience.

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (15 mi/24 km)

 

Attractions
  • Cancun Golf Club (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (5 mi/8 km)
  • AquaWorld (5 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting spaces accommodating up to 450 theater-style
  • Three meeting rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort
  • Exhibit space
  • Business center with high-speed Internet access, computer, photocopying, printing and secretarial services

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View Smoking/Non Smoking
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms are located on the ground floor with large terrace are spacious (51sqm/549sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology these are Non Smoking /smoking rooms marble floor deluxe amenities bathroom hs internet in room safe i home deck led light lamp tv cable
Deluxe Lagoon View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the amazing hotel strip and lagoon rooms are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the stunning Caribbean Sea are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Club Room Lagoon View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer an amazing view over the hotel strip and lagoon are spacious (34sqm/366sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Club Room Ocean View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer from their balcony an amazing view over the Caribbean Sea are spacious (60sqm/645sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Junior Suite
Junior Suites are generous in size (65m2/700sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea or the Lagoon and hotel strip and hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar balcony complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Deluxe Suite
The new Deluxe Suites are generous in size (68m2/730sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea. The suites feature the latest in design, comfort and technology. Complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.1355 -86.7543
Area served
Cancun.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)- 15 miles or 25 minutes.
Area description
The perfect location on the very heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, next to a 18- hole professional Golf Course, 5 minutes walking distance from shopping malls, restaurants and the best nightlife: a mile away from Cancun's Convention Center and nested on the best beach in the destination.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.5 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.9 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 4.9 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 7.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.2 mi

Dining

El Caribeno
Fully renovated, this restaurant offers a casually elegant atmosphere and delicious seafood dishes as well as a dazzling view of the beach and ocean.
Cana Brava
Located next to the beach, this is a casual Snack Bar with an extensive menu, from a traditional hamburger to a fresh seafood cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Socorro
Business
Burbank, CA
Jul 21, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price.

Very pleasant. we took e few tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
anna maria, fl
Jul 20, 2009

Great place to stay!

The location was great...the beach beautiful. I thought they could've done a better job at showing what amenities were available. I never saw any non-motorized water toys-kayaks,floats,etc. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was way too pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a little plaza across the street with a supermarket-cheap beer/liquor/breakfast items/snacks. And also a couple of nice cafes for some good, cheap, local food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hubby & I
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 16, 2009

We're staying here again next year!

This was our first trip to Cancun for our Anniversary. We loved it! After reading about the hotels and locations, it was important that the hotel was facing north vs east of the "hotel zone" This made a difference on the beach, there were no waves, very relaxing, we even fell asleep one evening on the beach chairs w/out a worry. The halls were a bit outdated, but didn't bother me (touch of paint could fix it) The rooms were in great condition, nothing like the halls, clean and cool temp. We're going back again next year and staying at the same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is a bus stop in front of and across from the hotel. Its cheaper then a taxi and most tourist places are not far from the hotel, just tell the driver where you want to go and he'll let you know where to get off. There is a little snack store across too. I recommend booking your excursions/tours while in the U.S. We were completely satisfied w/ the shuttle service, snorkeling, submarine ride, and Chichen Itza Tour we booked through a different source. Cheaper then what is offered through the vendors while in Cancun. BTW bring mosquito repellent in case you attract them

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Capt Max
Business
Florida
Jul 16, 2009

Weekend getaway

3 nights, went windsurfing, plenty of margaritas at the pool and my palapa, volleyball on the beach, great weather, 8-10 minutes to offsite bars, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast was great, made to order omelettes, fresh fruit, mimosas, overlooking the beach, nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Jul 9, 2009

Shear's @ Cancun

Breakfast was okay but other meals were awful. Orbitz rep was not good either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 7, 2009

Rooms did not match lobby

The location is great. The lobby and the pool/beach are perfect and the staff was very friendly. HOWEVER, once you go upstairs to the rooms, it's like you're in a different hotel. Apparently, the renovation of the hotel ended on the first level. The hallways were old and dirty. Dirty carpet and old plaster on the walls. The room was average, but the bathroom was very outdated with a very small tub. The room did not at all match the first level of the hotel. Aside from that, we had a great time. It wasn't crowded at all (maybe cause we went in July), and the food at the hotel restaurants was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel on a Budge
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 2, 2009

July Stay in Cancun..

The hotel location was great. The strip of beach was small but it had the best water and the water was so calm you could lay in the water, great for kids and families. The bathroom could have been updated the tub looked outdated. Service was great but I did feel that the "Presidente Club" people were annoying as they tried to sell the club, but after affirmatively telling them we were not interested they stopped. The hotel is closed to shops within a 10 minute walk, or 5 min bus ride. There is a small market across the stree where you can purchase food. No mini fridge or microwave so you are basically forced to eat out or at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, US
Jul 2, 2009

Great location and great beach

My trip to Cancun was for bussiness reasons but staying one more day for fun at this hotel make it worth it. Great beach, lots of chairs and space for kids to play in the sand and the beach looks like a pool. Clean room,comfy beds, nice toileteries and even ocean view just because it was available! I would have like some kind of breakfast included deal so I could have start my day just at this site and enjoyed the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Authetic good mexican seafood at the Mocambo at the Old Pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SPC
Business
Shelby Township, MI
Jul 1, 2009

Incredible Vacation Spot!

This was an unbelievably relaxing, enjoyable location. The food was great, the room was perfect, and the beach was amazing! Every meal we had was well prepared and presented by the amiable staff. Our room had a balcony (highly recommended) and faced the pools, beach, and water. The beach itself has to be the best in Cancun. No rocks, large, plenty of seats, umbrella's, and palm trees. I was totally impressed with this hotel, and will be back again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Upgrading to the Executive Club level (@$40/night)is really an exceptional bargain. You get free buffet breakfast (6-10 am) and free drinks/hors d'ourves (7-8:30 pm) every day of your stay. You get an 850 sq. ft. room with a balcony (like having an extra room) facing the ocean, and the view is fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Now a Family Man
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 29, 2009

Beautiful, but staff a little unpleasant

The staff at the desk wasn't the friendliest, at times rather rude. You could tell they catered to wealthy spanish speaking individuals and not the average Joe America wanting to have a nice vacation. The beach was perfect for family, with shallow waters and calm waters. The pool was nice. The bar/waiter staff could have been more friendly helpful. They also jad the attitiude of us not being wealthy spanish speaking indivisduals. VERY close to the clubs and center of town. About 15-20 minute walk to clubs. We stayed on the beach and pool the entire time. The shower ceiling had black mold all over it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Market 28 or Mercado 28.....this palce has one seafood restaurant in the center that is great. All the locals go. The owner is always there watching the employees and customers. I don't know the name of it. I think it has blue awnigns. There is a bunch of tourist shopping in the market, good for negotiating price on good shtuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top