$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cancun 2009
Business
San Fernando Valley, CA
Sep 8, 2009

Good price for the hotel

For the price that we paid, this hotel was okay. The service and attentiveness from the staff was superb. The hotel is much older than the rest of the hotels in the hotel zone and the rooms show it. The furniture need to get replaced, the beds are hard, the bathrooms have a funky smell in them, there are no fans in the bathroom either! Apparently we stayed in the taller tower which is newer than the lower tower which is currently under renovation (which started a couple days ago) but if the taller tower is newer, I could only imagine how horrible the lower tower is! The hotel lobby has been remodeled and looks very nice, but the rest of the rooms in the hotel definitely need some attention. The Caribeno restaurant is great! Great selection of food for the breakfast buffet and excellent service. The pool is hot....not warm but hot! Not sure why since the beach is warm most of the time and I would think that you would like a cool pool to get into after you're done with the beach. The beach is great for kids. No waves, just like a big open swimming pool. Water is very clear, different shades of blues and turquoises, white powdery sand, chairs under the palapas. We headed out to chichen itza, xcaret, xel ha, isla mujeres, playa del carmen, the rest of the hotel zone and downtown cancun. I would consider staying here again only if the price is right. I would think I would rather pay a little more and get a better/newer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are debating whether to do xcaret or xel ha, definitely go for xcaret. Sure xel ha is all inclusive and you can eat as often as you'd like and the price is cheaper but there is a lot more to do and see at xcaret than at xel ha. Xel ha is just a big snorkeling place that really doesn't have that many fish to look at anymore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Well rested city family
Business
Washington DC
Sep 7, 2009

Wonderful stay at the InterContinental

We enjoyed the beautiful beach and walking along the coastline. The pool and jacuzzis were fun for the kids. The room was nicely renovated and the floor was peacefully quiet. Easy check in/out and no one constantly hasseling you to purchase things or buy a timeshare. Location and laid back atmosphere make this hotel superb. Hotel needs to reopen their Kids Club though - we would have even happily paid to get a little rest from entertaining the kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a rental car and go out and see Cancun, Riviera Maya, and all of the infamous archeological wonders. It is very easy to drive in Cancun and its surroundings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Valderee
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 4, 2009

What you expect

A nice, clean hotel. Cheerful and helpful concierges, a variety of services. In short, everything you expect from a five-star hotel. A few caveats - you can't really walk anywhere (this IS Cancun), crossing the street can be risky, and there is no airport shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephenman
Business
Calabasas, Ca
Aug 21, 2009

Good Beach, Mediocer Hotel

This hotel was ok. I liked that it was on the beach. The pool was big and felt warm when you got into it. The location was ok, the Hyatt Regency Cancun was better. Sometimes very noisty. Overall hotel wasn´t bad, but I wouldn´t pay to stay here again unless it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Aug 16, 2009

You may want to skip this one!

Our flight was delayed by a day and we called to inform the hotel. They reminded us that we would be charged-ok. We arrived next day and neither of our two rooms were ready-did get credit for them but very inconvenient. Had to wait until after 4:30 pm to get into our rooms. Not close to each other and we had asked to be (different wings!) Major construction zone directly under one room-could NOT sleep during day after long excursions!!!!!Loud, LOUD noises from 9am-6pm every day!!!!!Every time we had to remind the restaurant/bar staff about the 20% discount on food/beverages. Not much choice for dinner at restaurant. Chairs in all restaurants not accomodating for large people. One room did not have a safe, bathroom scale or rug on floor in vanity area. Other room did but worse view. We paid extra for better views-not really worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Chitchen Itza and Isla Mujereas-Wonderful!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chef Don
Business
Houston
Aug 14, 2009

The greatest of all paradise

Both me and my wife had fun made the best out of everything there were some problem with somr of the staff,but mostly me and my lovly wife enjoy our 30year honeymoon.we would had love to have coffee before going to breakfast we always do but some staff would not sell it to us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

some of the local have great cheap food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cali newlywed
Business
McKinleyville, CA
Aug 13, 2009

Wonderful honeymoon!

Absolutely loved this hotel and location! The best beach in Cancun is a perfect description. It wasn't too crowded, the staff was so friendly, and the accommodations were lovely. Splurge and get the rooms facing the ocean with a balcony. Soooo worth it! We did not pay for the buffet breakfast downstairs, but we did get a continental breakfast in our building, on our floor every morning, and it was free and the service was perfect. The food was simple but good, plenty for a full day of activities. Food in the snack area was yummy, but my one complaint would be that the other places to eat in the hotel never seemed open for dinner. Very confused about when they were open. But other than that, would love to come back soon! Cancun was paradise for my new husband and I and this hotel was all that we wanted. I had a massage on the beach, my husband got to jet ski and the drinks kept coming!Can't wait to come back! Must do's are the catamaran sail to Isla Mujeres, zip-lining and Chichen Itza. Skip CocoBongo's, unless you like super crowded nightclubs that blast eardrum damaging music until 4 in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Lorenzillos on the pier, beautiful setting right on the lagoon with fresh fish.And for a short walk,and lot's of cheesy tourism, go to Carlos and Charlie's. try the enchilada tower for two. So good and sooo much food!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Aug 9, 2009

Great resort Great beach

Clean, food OK, Pool clean and very nice, beach awesome, Staff Very very helpful, free open top ocean canoe was fun, the villas next door had a great beach front restaurant, beach service for drinks and food the best, no bothersome beach peddlers, busses are the way to get around, not in party district which makes it very relaxing but close enough to get there quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Xel HA vs. Xcaret... Xcaret was our favorite

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luz super mom
Business
houston tx
Aug 7, 2009

fantastic family getaway

good hotel spend most of the time outside i only used fot sleep and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eaglerockmark
Business
Los angeles, CA
Aug 7, 2009

Vacation to Cancun

Hotel wasnice and staff were friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

go across the street and to the left for food, very inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top