$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
188 out of 188
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cali newlywed
Business
McKinleyville, CA
Aug 13, 2009

Wonderful honeymoon!

Absolutely loved this hotel and location! The best beach in Cancun is a perfect description. It wasn't too crowded, the staff was so friendly, and the accommodations were lovely. Splurge and get the rooms facing the ocean with a balcony. Soooo worth it! We did not pay for the buffet breakfast downstairs, but we did get a continental breakfast in our building, on our floor every morning, and it was free and the service was perfect. The food was simple but good, plenty for a full day of activities. Food in the snack area was yummy, but my one complaint would be that the other places to eat in the hotel never seemed open for dinner. Very confused about when they were open. But other than that, would love to come back soon! Cancun was paradise for my new husband and I and this hotel was all that we wanted. I had a massage on the beach, my husband got to jet ski and the drinks kept coming!Can't wait to come back! Must do's are the catamaran sail to Isla Mujeres, zip-lining and Chichen Itza. Skip CocoBongo's, unless you like super crowded nightclubs that blast eardrum damaging music until 4 in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Lorenzillos on the pier, beautiful setting right on the lagoon with fresh fish.And for a short walk,and lot's of cheesy tourism, go to Carlos and Charlie's. try the enchilada tower for two. So good and sooo much food!!

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Aug 9, 2009

Great resort Great beach

Clean, food OK, Pool clean and very nice, beach awesome, Staff Very very helpful, free open top ocean canoe was fun, the villas next door had a great beach front restaurant, beach service for drinks and food the best, no bothersome beach peddlers, busses are the way to get around, not in party district which makes it very relaxing but close enough to get there quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Xel HA vs. Xcaret... Xcaret was our favorite

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luz super mom
Business
houston tx
Aug 7, 2009

fantastic family getaway

good hotel spend most of the time outside i only used fot sleep and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eaglerockmark
Business
Los angeles, CA
Aug 7, 2009

Vacation to Cancun

Hotel wasnice and staff were friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

go across the street and to the left for food, very inexpensive.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yakima,Washington
Aug 5, 2009

Location is excellent, beach is perfect

After 3 days of using the refrigerator, hotel locked the refrigerator door, took out my 3 snacks and water indicating that it is not a refrigerator, is a snack bar used by the hotel only, not for guest. suggested to management to put up a sign, snack bar is actually a vending machine. hotel removed water and coffee on the third day as i did not buy any water/cofee in 3 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to malls, night clubs, shopping, public transportation can be taken outside the hotel .75 cents per person.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deatsville Daredevil
Business
Alabama
Aug 3, 2009

Nice Vacation

Hotel: The room was small but accommodating for two people. Three or more people would be cramped in this room. It has all the basic things you will need but it was not plush and luxurious. The prices are marked up very high in the hotel store and mini-bar. You will find much lower prices in the convenience stores located in various places in the hotel zone. So, when you are out at the mall shopping, buy a bottle of water for 50 cents instead of $3.00 at the hotel. The restaurant was good but limited. You will find more variety and better options by dining away from the hotel. The beach at the hotel is large and nice but the hotel is located on an inlet from the Caribbean Sea. So, there are no waves. It is like being on a lake where the water is very smooth. Avoid the time share and condo sales people. You do not have to deal with them. Beach: You will need to stay on the main strip in the hotel zone in order to be on "The Beach" where waves actually break in front of the beach behind the hotel. Beware! There are many very large rocks on the beach and in the water where the waves break. You do not just walk out into the water without surveying where these rocks are located or you will get all cut up and abraded. The flip side is that the turquoise water is very beautiful and there are nice waves. The water can get deep quickly and can be powerful so take precautions. But, once you figure it out, the water is so nice you will not want to get out of it. Unlike some of the Florida beaches I have visited, there is not really any evidence of many fish swimming around in the water. This, and the fact the water is so clean and clear, I never really felt threatened or had any fear that sharks might be an issue while being in the water. I may not have been any safer with regard to sharks but I certainly did not have the fear or awareness of them like I do when in the Florida waters. Transportation: Do not rent a car unless you plan on driving outside the hotel zone to attractions or destinations away from Cancun. The cost for two people taking the bus for one week was less than $25. We (two people)took the bus an average of two times per day. Renting a car for the week will be $250 or more plus the hassle and frustration of finding parking. Shopping: There are five key places to consider when shopping in Cancun: Caracol Mall, The Forum, Flamingo's, La Isla, and Luxury Avenue. Restaurants: Too many to mention! You should not have any problem finding good places to eat. Your problem rather will be deciding where to eat because you will not be able to eat at all the places in a week's time. Street Vendors: Beware the Street Vendors! Everybody, everywhere in Cancun is going to try and sell you something. Keep your game face on and either ignore them or politely just say "No Gracias". Else, you are going to take a lot of expensive taxi rides, visit expensive attractions and have a lot of stuff like seashells and necklaces to pack in your suitcase for the return trip home. Just Say NO and you will be fine! If this is what you want, then you will be in Cancun Heaven. Attractions: There are a lot of them. However, our objective on our first trip to Cancun was to keep the "Vacation Quotient" as high as possible. We achieved this by not buying things and by not buying things to do while there. Instead, we took what Cancun had to offer and made the best out of it. Final Result: Mission Accomplished! The Vacation Quotient was high. And, my girlfriend is already looking into booking our next trip to Cancun (this year, not for next year!). Thanks to Cancun, I will never see the Florida panhandle and Alabama beaches the same again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't fall into the trap that you must pay for and do a lot of recreational activities in Cancun in order to have a good time and enjoy yourself.

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First timer in Cancun
Business
Florida
Aug 2, 2009

Beautiful Beach

The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful. It is overall an excellent hotel, if anything a little dated but you probably won't be spending too much time in your room. The negative are the salespeople along the edge of the lobby. They will scope you out as soon as you get there and try very hard to give you discounts and a free breakfast in exchange for "an hour and a half of your time". I was not interested at all and found myself having to fend off these salespeople just about everywhere I went including Walmart. If you are not interested at all just tell them up front that you don't have a credit card... that rules you out. Besides that I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel, the beach, the beautiful pools. (One is set aside for adults only). And of course the beach. After walking up and down along the beaches I would say this is one of the most beautiful and calm beaches along the hotel zone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jul 29, 2009

excellent beach

Great location and the best staff on the best beach in cancun!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Abundant choices of restaurants

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Famman
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 28, 2009

Great Beach for Family Vacation

The Presidente is a good hotel at the top nothern part of the hotel strip. It's located close to shopping areas, clubs and restaurants. The rooms were a good and clean. We noticed that the hotel is one of olders ones on the strip but it did not lack in service compared to newer hotel on the strip. It was a good fit for our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids, 8 and 3). One really nice part of the hotel is it's beach...it was what we wanted for cancun, clear beach, with white soft sand, no waves, it seemed like your own personal pool in the ocean. Our kids enjoyed this very much. The hotel also has two pools, one which is pretty large for families and a smaller one where only adults can enjoy. Our overall experience was pleasent and we had no issue with the hotel and the staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing you need to watch out for are the timeshare and package specialist that want to waste a couple minutes of your time. They can seem very pushy, we just ignored and past them by. Our room had a view to the lagoon and at times, specially in the early morning hours you can here some noise from the clubs accross the lagoon. If you are a deep sleeper then this will not be an issue. We were very satisfied for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheMaggards
Business
Richmond, Ky
Jul 27, 2009

Stayed here for Honeymoon...fantastic!!!

My husband and I just stayed there for our honeymoon. We couldn't have been any more pleased with our stay and I don't think we could have picked a better resort to stay at. All of the staff was very helpful and friendly. Unlike the other posts, we did'nt have anyone in the lobby trying to sell us timeshares. We did sit down and book at tour on a sail boat to the Isle of Mujeres via Albatros. It was our favorite part of the trip! I definitely recommend it to anyone visiting! The restaurants at the hotel all had great food, we ate there the majority of the time. The outside bar is FANTASTIC and had a great bartender. I would definitely recommend anyone to go here, we have already started planning a trip back next summer. The room has a mini bar that has everything you would want to drink and to snack on. Prices aren't that bad, but I would suggest going right down the street to the little store and buying your own snacks. Also, I wouldn't exchange my money at the hotel, the exchange rate was pretty low, we found much better exchange rates out in town. The pools were great, the adult pool was even better!! Perfect for honeymooners that don't want to be around screaming children. Also, one of our favorite features of the hotel was the beach side service. They were very helpful & brough you anything and everything that you wanted. We had a great, amazing, wonderful stay & we can't wait to go back to the resort!! It was just about 8-10 minute walk to anywhere you needed to go, the location was fantastic! It was definitely the best beach in cancun. They also have parasailing, jet skis, sail boats, scuba diving, etc at the hotel. We definitely enjoyed ourselves!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top