$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cancun travelers
Business
Denver, CO
Feb 14, 2010

Has Cancun priced itself out of reach?

Presidente is undergoing an almost completed renovation that has been badly needed. But almost is the key word. We stayed on the "club" level where the rooms are hotel spa quality. Upgraded fixtures, marble showers, separate tubs, heavy glass doors and spa type lighting. The bed was comfortable, the pillows were average at best and, although we had a suite, the only sitting area in the room was a very uncomfortable couch. The club floor was supposed to have included breakfast buffet. But that was unfinished so we didn't have that or the afternoon wine and snacks. But the hotel did immediately write-off the breakfasts we had at the main restaurant when requested and gave us a 20% discount on other food and drink purchases. The maids and front desk personnel were great. The bellhops promised two important things that they absolutely did not do - make tee times and have flowers brought to the room for our anniversary. Very disappointing. Presidente has only one restaurant and it has the typical breakfast buffet. The main menu items are extremely pricey and not well prepared. The breakfast buffet itself is $20 per person and there is no carving station - just omelettes, fruit, juices and some other buffet type entrees. Very pricey. Cancun itself seems to have priced itself out of the market. We were there for Valentine's Day and President's Day weekend - usually very full. We went to several of our favorite restaurants which were half full at best. The beach was empty. The cab drivers had no fares. But rather than trying to reduce prices to attract tourists, it seems that prices have been raised. We liked getting into places easily, but we didn't like the prices. We have been going to Cancun for over 25 years and we'll go again because we love the beach and the weather. We'll just spend less time and do less because of the prices. Presidente is an average hotel on a great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try to hook up with one cab driver to take you where you want to go. Cabs are very expensive and having one driver can save you money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chi town
Feb 7, 2010

great beach

Great Beach, Excellent Service and Convenient location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Oh
Feb 5, 2010

Nice place

Very nice hotel in a great location. The rooms in the tower are very nice and the grounds and lobby were spotless. I've read bad reviews about this hotel on other sites and I don't know what they were reviewing. It might be an older hotel, but it's been updated. The staff was extremely nice and remembered what we drank and where we preferred to sit. The breakfast buffet was a little pricey (to my standards), but it was pretty good. I would prefer this place over the all inclusive.....it was less crowded and less desireables. The beach was the best beach in the area and there was plenty of room to spread out. The other beaches in the area were cramped and didn't have as much room. I would recommend this place and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Venture out and try the different dining choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Farbonimo
Business
Plainview, NY
Feb 3, 2010

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resor

The staff couldn't have been nicer, in every possible way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 1, 2010

Weekend Getway

Hotels looks nice. Check in and out was easy. close to a grocery store and mom/pop fast authentic Mexican food. Easy 20 minute walk to restaurants and entertainment. Bus stop right out front to get around inexpensively. Not a lot of people staying at hotel so quiet and lots of room. Rooms are nice even lagoon view. Room service staff were nice and breakfast food was very good. They forgot some items we ordered but ran down to get what we needed. Friendly staff. Not a lot of night life at this hotel. Very quiet. Would have been nice to have some activities at the hotel to entertain the guests. There were water related activities like wave runners and such you could rent for a fee. Beach was clean and sand was very soft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dine out at the local restaurants. You can save money and enjoy people watching. also the grocery store across the street is reasonable. Sun screen is very expensive at the stores so pack what you can and try purchasing away from hotel zone. We did not go on the day trips. We like to be on our own schedule. You can take the shuttle to Isla Mujeres and rent a golf cart all day for $40 and explore the island on your own. Port Juares shuttle is less than one by hotel zone. We had fun taking the bus into downtown Cancun and looking around. Explore on your own and you can have fun at your own pace! Ask the locals where they would go if they were to have fun on the island. We really enjoyed our day on Isla Mjueres. Spend a whole day there exploring and you will not regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GT_Marketing
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 18, 2010

Great location, room needs to be updated

We just got back from a 3-day weekend at this hotel. It is in a great location, easy walking distance to Forum and other shopping / restaurants, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel and an easy bus ride to downtown Cancun. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beach is beautiful, hotel provides plenty of chairs, tables, umbrella shades for hotel guests. What I did not like this hotel was our room. The carpet in the hallway to our room was old and needed to be replaced. It is obvious in our room that the hotel is 20 years old. There was an in-room safe, but no lock on the in-room safe. I think there is a nicer wing to this hotel, but I did not get to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Cancun vactioner
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 16, 2010

Best service in Cancun

The staff at the hotel was great with us and answered all my questions. Everything was 2 bus stops away. The beach was great for children because there aren't big waves. The only things I didn't enjoy was the over priced breakfast buffet, the noisy air conditioning an slamming doors throughout the entire hallway. Compared to other trips I've taken, this resort is best for couples with children since everything can be found within the hotel. Going to Isla Mujeres or Cozumel would be better for romantic spots and adventurers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't buy the tours. Take a bus to the bus terminals and get there for REALLY cheap. Once your there you can purchase your own things at YOUR own time and go wherever you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bronzed Chica
Business
Richmond, VA
Jan 14, 2010

Awesome beach, close to town!

This hotel has great staff- friendly, knowledgeable, helpful. The beach is great, and the pool area is lovely. The rooms are a bit outdated but very comfortable- and the view of the lagoon is just as lovely as the view of the ocean! The hotel is a bit older, but its close to both a shopping mall and restaurant area, and to downtown Cancun, so it's perfectly located. It seemed like the hotel catered mostly to big groups- conferences, weddings, etc. That was a little distracting. The only thing that was a negative was the prices- the prices for food were outrageous, even compared to other restaurants in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into town to stock up on bottled water and other necessities- it cost over $5 for two cups of coffee at the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 12, 2010

Nice hotel for couples

Nice hotel, but, if you have kids bring a cooler for drinks/snacks, movie player.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You must go to the Coco Bongo night club for their show. It was well worth the money and all the drinks are on the house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Makoto IIIMPACT
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 21, 2009

Great service and friendly staff!

The food, staff and service was perfect. They were very attentive, helpful and always great to talk with at any time of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Crab house was one of the best restaurants for sea food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top