InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulcan Km. 7.5 ZH, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
190 reviews
My favorite hotel on the best beach in Cancun

Have returned to this hotel more than once a year for the past ten years. It is on the best beach,... See full review

  • Bedro
  • Aug 4, 2014
On Vacation from Boston

Let me say this, I have traveled to many destinations and have stayed at many hotels in my life... See full review

  • N.R.
  • Jul 29, 2014
Tropical Cancun beach retreat near the convention center and nightlife

The tranquil, upscale InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is steps from the sparkling Caribbean Sea. The resort is convenient for both leisure and business travelers with an address near the convention center and nightlife. Two outdoor pools, a whirlpool, massage services and a 24-hour fitness center are met by offerings such as water sports, two restaurants, two bars and a casual cafe. Contemporary guest rooms feature ocean, garden or lagoon views and are swathed in marble with Herman Miller chairs, rain showers and ambient lighting.

 

Highlights
  • Modern guests rooms decked in marble with Herman Miller chairs and garden, lagoon or ocean views
  • Two pools, one of which is adults only, as well as five whirlpools
  • Palm and palapa-punctuated beach overlooking Isla Mujeres
  • InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort is near the convention center and nightlife

 

Rooms

Each of the 289 guest rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort have one king or two double beds and are adorned in marble and tile with expansive windows or balconies facing the ocean, lagoon or verdant grounds. Additional amenities include direct-dial telephones, air-conditioning, mini bars and bathrooms with shower-bathtubs and vanity mirrors. Renovated rooms also feature iHome radios, Melitta coffee machines, LCD TVs, rain showers and Herman Miller chairs as well as ambient LED lighting. Club-level rooms on a private floor feature continental breakfast.

 

Features

The beachfront InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort has two outdoor pools, five whirlpools and a 24-hour fitness center. The resort is near the convention center and the entertainment district in downtown Cancun. Offerings include water sports, wireless Internet service and massage services. Two restaurants, one specializing in Caribbean seafood, and a tequila bar pouring more than 600 labels completes the experience.

 

Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (15 mi/24 km)

 

Attractions
  • Cancun Golf Club (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Downtown Cancun (5 mi/8 km)
  • AquaWorld (5 mi/8 km)

 

Business
  • Flexible indoor and outdoor meeting spaces accommodating up to 450 theater-style
  • Three meeting rooms at the InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resort
  • Exhibit space
  • Business center with high-speed Internet access, computer, photocopying, printing and secretarial services

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort Rooms

Deluxe Garden View Smoking/Non Smoking
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms are located on the ground floor with large terrace are spacious (51sqm/549sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology these are Non Smoking /smoking rooms marble floor deluxe amenities bathroom hs internet in room safe i home deck led light lamp tv cable
Deluxe Lagoon View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the amazing hotel strip and lagoon rooms are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Deluxe Ocean View Room
The newly refurbished Deluxe Rooms overlook the stunning Caribbean Sea are spacious (34sqm/366sf) and feature the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar coffe maker led light lamp phone tv cable tv flat screen
Club Room Lagoon View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer an amazing view over the hotel strip and lagoon are spacious (34sqm/366sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Club Room Ocean View
The newly refurbished Club rooms offer from their balcony an amazing view over the Caribbean Sea are spacious (60sqm/645sf) with the latest in design, comfort and technology hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Junior Suite
Junior Suites are generous in size (65m2/700sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea or the Lagoon and hotel strip and hs internet in room safe marble floor deluxe amenities I home ipod minibar balcony complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.
Deluxe Suite
The new Deluxe Suites are generous in size (68m2/730sf) with stunning views over the Caribbean Sea. The suites feature the latest in design, comfort and technology. Complimentary access to Club Lounge offering continental breakfast and selection of drinks in the evening.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.1355 -86.7543
Area served
Cancun.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN)- 15 miles or 25 minutes.
Area description
The perfect location on the very heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, next to a 18- hole professional Golf Course, 5 minutes walking distance from shopping malls, restaurants and the best nightlife: a mile away from Cancun's Convention Center and nested on the best beach in the destination.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 0.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 1.8 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 1.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.5 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.9 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 4.5 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 4.9 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 5.2 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 7.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 7.7 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 9.2 mi

Dining

El Caribeno
Fully renovated, this restaurant offers a casually elegant atmosphere and delicious seafood dishes as well as a dazzling view of the beach and ocean.
Cana Brava
Located next to the beach, this is a casual Snack Bar with an extensive menu, from a traditional hamburger to a fresh seafood cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Farbonimo
Business
Plainview, NY
Feb 3, 2010

InterContinental Presidente Cancun Resor

The staff couldn't have been nicer, in every possible way

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 1, 2010

Weekend Getway

Hotels looks nice. Check in and out was easy. close to a grocery store and mom/pop fast authentic Mexican food. Easy 20 minute walk to restaurants and entertainment. Bus stop right out front to get around inexpensively. Not a lot of people staying at hotel so quiet and lots of room. Rooms are nice even lagoon view. Room service staff were nice and breakfast food was very good. They forgot some items we ordered but ran down to get what we needed. Friendly staff. Not a lot of night life at this hotel. Very quiet. Would have been nice to have some activities at the hotel to entertain the guests. There were water related activities like wave runners and such you could rent for a fee. Beach was clean and sand was very soft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dine out at the local restaurants. You can save money and enjoy people watching. also the grocery store across the street is reasonable. Sun screen is very expensive at the stores so pack what you can and try purchasing away from hotel zone. We did not go on the day trips. We like to be on our own schedule. You can take the shuttle to Isla Mujeres and rent a golf cart all day for $40 and explore the island on your own. Port Juares shuttle is less than one by hotel zone. We had fun taking the bus into downtown Cancun and looking around. Explore on your own and you can have fun at your own pace! Ask the locals where they would go if they were to have fun on the island. We really enjoyed our day on Isla Mjueres. Spend a whole day there exploring and you will not regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GT_Marketing
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jan 18, 2010

Great location, room needs to be updated

We just got back from a 3-day weekend at this hotel. It is in a great location, easy walking distance to Forum and other shopping / restaurants, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel and an easy bus ride to downtown Cancun. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beach is beautiful, hotel provides plenty of chairs, tables, umbrella shades for hotel guests. What I did not like this hotel was our room. The carpet in the hallway to our room was old and needed to be replaced. It is obvious in our room that the hotel is 20 years old. There was an in-room safe, but no lock on the in-room safe. I think there is a nicer wing to this hotel, but I did not get to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Cancun vactioner
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 16, 2010

Best service in Cancun

The staff at the hotel was great with us and answered all my questions. Everything was 2 bus stops away. The beach was great for children because there aren't big waves. The only things I didn't enjoy was the over priced breakfast buffet, the noisy air conditioning an slamming doors throughout the entire hallway. Compared to other trips I've taken, this resort is best for couples with children since everything can be found within the hotel. Going to Isla Mujeres or Cozumel would be better for romantic spots and adventurers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't buy the tours. Take a bus to the bus terminals and get there for REALLY cheap. Once your there you can purchase your own things at YOUR own time and go wherever you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bronzed Chica
Business
Richmond, VA
Jan 14, 2010

Awesome beach, close to town!

This hotel has great staff- friendly, knowledgeable, helpful. The beach is great, and the pool area is lovely. The rooms are a bit outdated but very comfortable- and the view of the lagoon is just as lovely as the view of the ocean! The hotel is a bit older, but its close to both a shopping mall and restaurant area, and to downtown Cancun, so it's perfectly located. It seemed like the hotel catered mostly to big groups- conferences, weddings, etc. That was a little distracting. The only thing that was a negative was the prices- the prices for food were outrageous, even compared to other restaurants in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into town to stock up on bottled water and other necessities- it cost over $5 for two cups of coffee at the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 12, 2010

Nice hotel for couples

Nice hotel, but, if you have kids bring a cooler for drinks/snacks, movie player.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You must go to the Coco Bongo night club for their show. It was well worth the money and all the drinks are on the house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Makoto IIIMPACT
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 21, 2009

Great service and friendly staff!

The food, staff and service was perfect. They were very attentive, helpful and always great to talk with at any time of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Crab house was one of the best restaurants for sea food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time in Cancun
Business
Folsom CA
Dec 13, 2009

Check everything!

Not the best experience at this hotel. Everything started off well enough with a nice bellman who let us know that the water and coffee is "on the house" for the first night(more on this in a second). From the outset, we noticed that the air conditioner in our room did not work. A few hours later we asked the front desk to have someone look at the unit for us, only to be told that everything was fine. I wanted to tell him that the thermostat was stuck on 80 degrees but he did not speak English and he left before I could tell him anything else. The next day we asked another service person to look at the AC again and this time they actually fixed it. Nevertheless, we asked for another room since the first one had hard granite flooring. Turns out all of the rooms have hard granite flooring. Furthermore, the walls are paper thin. Closing doors down the hall sound as if it is your own door closing. Needless to say we heard "everything" the neighbors were doing. Be on alert for charges when you are at the hotel. We were told that dining at the hotels restaurant includes a 20% discount off the bill. Very nice perk. Nevertheless, even though we told the waiter what room we were in when ordering, they never bothered to deduct the 20% discount from our bill until we pointed it out to them. This happened every time. The most annoying thing was when we checked out, we discovered there was a charge for the coffee and the water from the first night. I tried explaining to the front desk person how one of their employees told me that it was free to no avail. He happened to be on duty that morning and even when she confirmed what he had told us, she still said she couldn't do anything about it. She first told us there was no such policy. Then when she talked to the bellman, she said that the policy didn't start until the day we left. It was not a lot of money. They just didn't get that when we rely on something one of their employees says, they should honor it. I won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't try to do your tours on the cheap. You really do get what you pay for. We did the Xcaret trip at the regular level and it was just an unpleasant experience. We upgraded our package to Chichen Itza and were extremely satisfied.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geezman
Business
South Elgin, IL
Dec 4, 2009

Very nice hotel

Very friendly staff that always greeted with a smile. Only minor complaint is that in room wireless internet had to be purchased. It was 200 pesos for 24 hours. The beach was awesome! Nice size with plenty of white sand. We looked at other hotels beaches while there and they didn't compare to the beach at the Presidente. Some didn't even have a beach because of recent Hurricane damage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental Presidente Cancun Beachfront Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
deborahthedancer
Business
Little Rock, AR
Nov 29, 2009

Holiday Inn Affiliated hotel

The music at the pool was progressive jazz and it sounded like the record was stuck. It was very annoying. There were too many children and the noise from constuction was just about as bad. They need two pools operating. One for adults only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top