$35 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Hotel del Sol

2 stars
Av. Lopez Portillo Mz 2Lt 1A SM85, Cancun, 77520
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
17 reviews
Hotel del Sol

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was immaculate but A/C had an odor however. See full review

  • LAKX
  • Dec 11, 2012
Spring Break - 2012 in Cancun

I loved this hotel, friendly staff, clean room and bathroom and very reasonably priced. It is... See full review

  • JR From Florida
  • Mar 19, 2012
Hotel Del Sol is a Boutique Hotel located near crystalline beaches and just outside the hotel zone in the quiet seaside fishing village of Puerto Juarez in front of the Maritime Station were you can take a boat to Isla Mujeres and get to the Island in a few minutes.

The welcoming facilities and elegant accommodations will encourage much lounging, providing enough reasons you should frolic here some more. For Business or Vacations accommodate singles, couples and families who seek the comfort & relax, with a beautiful Ocean Front view. This totally new property has a unique style.

This property offers:
-Lobby bar
-Restaurant
-24hrs Front desk
-FREE Parking
-Laundry Services ($)
-Beach Club Access close to the Hotel
-Meeting room
-Currency exchange
-Wake up Call
-Multilingual staff
-Internet center (1 computer) ready for complimentary use

Amenities includes Lobby, Reception, Smoke-free hotel.

Hotel Map

21.1839 -86.8083
Area served
Cancun.
Nearby airports
Cancun International Airport (CUN).
Area description
Close to Cancun, Hotel Del Sol is the ideal choice for both seekers of recreation and pure relaxation.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel del Sol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel del Sol Rooms

Standard Room
Room with one double bed or two single beds includes Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer on request, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Telephone, fan, Bathroom with Shower, Vanity mirror, FREE Wireless internet, Continental Breakfast Included and Direct Dial Telephone. Rooms rooms are furnished in wood,, decorated in a contemporary style.
Jr Suite Ocean View
Room with one queen bed includes Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer on request, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Telephone, fan, Bathroom with Shower, Vanity mirror, FREE Wireless internet, Continental Breakfast Included, and Direct Dial Telephone. Rooms are furnished in wood, decorated in a contemporary style.
Suite
Suite with two queen beds includes Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer on request, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Telephone, fan, Bathroom with Shower, Vanity mirror, FREE Wireless internet, Continental Breakfast Included, and Direct Dial Telephone. Rooms are furnished in wood, very spacious and some with ocean front view, decorated in a contemporary style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Avenida Tulum: 1.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 2.9 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 4.5 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 5.9 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 5.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 6.4 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 8.5 mi
  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 8.7 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 9.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 10.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 11.5 mi

Dining

Lobby bar / Restaurant
The Lobby bar / Restaurant, where breakfast is served daily, are the ideal place to meet people and share holiday experiences. Likewise, the helpful services of hotel do little to stop you from relaxing inside all day during your stay.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Sol

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.1
Location:
2.3
Value:
3

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RachelandRyan
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 30, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE! ARMED MILITARY NEXT DOOR!

Location: Directly across the street from the main ferry to Isla Mujeres. No beach access. Not close to tourist activities. Next to a government boat-housing location with armed military guards. Neighborhood is seedy. Staff: Front desk man very polite and helpful. Room: Sparse, no room safe. Very small bathroom, but large shower. Bed not comfortable. My husband arrived at the hotel for our honeymoon last week. The man at the front desk was very nice. After hauling our luggage up two flights of stairs and showering after a long morning of traveling, we set out to find the beach and a place to eat. The front desk indicated a cheap, good restaurant across the street, next to the ferry. He also told us the beach was 200 meters Northwest of the front of the hotel. After walking along the road, we realized there was no beach access because it was restricted access/government property. Across the street from the beach and next to the hotel was a fully guarded government boat-housing location. We soon gave up on the beach and went to look for the restaurant. As soon as we entered, a woman on staff took one look at my husband and I and shouted "no, no service!" We went back to the hotel and immediately contacted our travel service to find another hotel - this was not the place for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All tourist-friendly activities can be found near the airport (Wet & Wild) or off of Cancun on Kukulcan Blvd./near all the major hotels.

Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia
Mar 9, 2011

Don't Stay Here

This hotel is a dump , the internet doesn't work, the rooms smell like raw sewerage, the plumbing rattles all night, its in a very dodgy area miles out of town and nowhere near the hotel zone. Its a [*] hole.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Never using [...]again
CT
Mar 3, 2011

[...]lied - not near Cancun airport

We needed a hotel near Cancun airport for 1 night because we arrived late with 2 children under 5. [...] said it was less than 1 mile from the airport and instead it was a $70 (USD) and 35 minute taxi ride. None of the taxis knew where the hotel was located either so it was a BIG hassle. The beds were terribly hard and uncomfortable and the shower and sink in the bathroom barely dripped enough to rinse the soap off. Though the staff was nice, I was outraged at the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia
Mar 9, 2011

Don't Stay Here

This hotel is a dump , the internet doesn't work, the rooms smell like raw sewerage, the plumbing rattles all night, its in a very dodgy area miles out of town and nowhere near the hotel zone. Its a [*] hole.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Never using [...]again
CT
Mar 3, 2011

[...]lied - not near Cancun airport

We needed a hotel near Cancun airport for 1 night because we arrived late with 2 children under 5. [...] said it was less than 1 mile from the airport and instead it was a $70 (USD) and 35 minute taxi ride. None of the taxis knew where the hotel was located either so it was a BIG hassle. The beds were terribly hard and uncomfortable and the shower and sink in the bathroom barely dripped enough to rinse the soap off. Though the staff was nice, I was outraged at the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Jan 13, 2011

Beauty Before Comfort

Although the Hotel Del Sol has a lovely modern atmosphere, I would not suggest it to anyone needing to stay more than a night. The hotel its self is actually located north of Cancun in a suburb called Puerto Juarez with no entertainment at all within walking distance. There were mainly residential homes surrounding the hotel and their residents were extremely loud during the night. Our view also consisted of a heavily armed guard looking over a boat storage area. The beds were horribly uncomfortable and the showers either didn't have enough water pressure or wouldn't drain. There "breakfast" consisted of frosted flakes and bread with jelly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are interested in visiting Isla Mujeres, you can walk across the street to catch the ferry. This ferry is half the price of the more "tourist" ferry down the block.

Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Rosa, CA
Jul 17, 2010

close to port for isla mujeres

The hotel was fine. Nothing special, but cheap for Cancun and perfect for just spending the night and hanging out all day in Isla Mujeres, which is what we did. The only reason I'm posting a review is that it would have cost me $30 US if I had booked in person when I showed up, but with [...] fees, it was $44. I booked a number of hotels through [...] while I was traveling in Mexico for the convenience, but I would caution other travelers that, during off season, it might be cheaper to do it yourself!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Jan 13, 2011

Beauty Before Comfort

Although the Hotel Del Sol has a lovely modern atmosphere, I would not suggest it to anyone needing to stay more than a night. The hotel its self is actually located north of Cancun in a suburb called Puerto Juarez with no entertainment at all within walking distance. There were mainly residential homes surrounding the hotel and their residents were extremely loud during the night. Our view also consisted of a heavily armed guard looking over a boat storage area. The beds were horribly uncomfortable and the showers either didn't have enough water pressure or wouldn't drain. There "breakfast" consisted of frosted flakes and bread with jelly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are interested in visiting Isla Mujeres, you can walk across the street to catch the ferry. This ferry is half the price of the more "tourist" ferry down the block.

Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
queen ranitas
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 5, 2011

vacation

the hotel overall was what we paid for. one thing i did like was that it was clean. the furniturewas cleaned with furniture oil that it stained our clothes. i was very upset because at one point my husband left the key in the room and the hotel didnt have an extra key to let us in .they had to call a locksmith to come open the room, so after an hour we were able to make use of our room. the nxt morning the personel asked for my key so they coyld make a copy. when we got back late that evening no one knew the where abouts of my key neither had they made copies. i was very upset and tired from our long day. the continental breakfast was nothing but plain cereal, coffee, juice, toast. there was no fruit or muffins or any viriety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal,QC
Jan 12, 2011

good clean hotel for a budget price

Very good clean hotel. Beds were hard and a little uncomfortable. Far from the hotel zone but across from the marina where you can go to Isla Mujueres. Friendly staff and free wifi and a computer in the lobby. Bus station is a few minutes away by taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top