$32 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 17, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Hotel del Sol

2 stars
View map of Av. Lopez Portillo Mz 2Lt 1A SM85, Cancun, 77520

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
12 reviews
Hotel del Sol

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was immaculate but A/C had an odor however. See full review

  • LAKX
  • Dec 11, 2012
Spring Break - 2012 in Cancun

I loved this hotel, friendly staff, clean room and bathroom and very reasonably priced. It is... See full review

  • JR From Florida
  • Mar 19, 2012
Hotel Del Sol is a Boutique Hotel located near crystalline beaches and just outside the hotel zone in the quiet seaside fishing village of Puerto Juarez in front of the Maritime Station were you can take a boat to Isla Mujeres and get to the Island in a few minutes.

The welcoming facilities and elegant accommodations will encourage much lounging, providing enough reasons you should frolic here some more. For Business or Vacations accommodate singles, couples and families who seek the comfort & relax, with a beautiful Ocean Front view. This totally new property has a unique style.

This property offers:
-Lobby bar
-Restaurant
-24hrs Front desk
-FREE Parking
-Laundry Services ($)
-Beach Club Access close to the Hotel
-Meeting room
-Currency exchange
-Wake up Call
-Multilingual staff
-Internet center (1 computer) ready for complimentary use

Amenities includes Lobby, Reception, Smoke-free hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel del Sol also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel del Sol Rooms

Standard Room
Room with one double bed or two single beds includes Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer on request, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Telephone, fan, Bathroom with Shower, Vanity mirror, FREE Wireless internet, Continental Breakfast Included and Direct Dial Telephone. Rooms rooms are furnished in wood,, decorated in a contemporary style.
Jr Suite Ocean View
Room with one queen bed includes Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer on request, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Telephone, fan, Bathroom with Shower, Vanity mirror, FREE Wireless internet, Continental Breakfast Included, and Direct Dial Telephone. Rooms are furnished in wood, decorated in a contemporary style.
Suite
Suite with two queen beds includes Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer on request, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board on request, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Telephone, fan, Bathroom with Shower, Vanity mirror, FREE Wireless internet, Continental Breakfast Included, and Direct Dial Telephone. Rooms are furnished in wood, very spacious and some with ocean front view, decorated in a contemporary style.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Avenida Tulum: 1.9 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 2.7 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 2.9 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 4.5 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 5.9 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 5.9 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 6.4 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 8.5 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 9.5 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 10.1 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 11.5 mi

Dining

Lobby bar / Restaurant
The Lobby bar / Restaurant, where breakfast is served daily, are the ideal place to meet people and share holiday experiences. Likewise, the helpful services of hotel do little to stop you from relaxing inside all day during your stay.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Sol

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 12
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.2
Location:
2.5
Value:
3.2

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JR From Florida
Tampa, FL, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Spring Break - 2012 in Cancun

I loved this hotel, friendly staff, clean room and bathroom and very reasonably priced. It is across the street from a port terminal where you can take a ferry to Isla Mauharej island. The only thing i didn't like were the beds, they were not very comfortable. The hotel did not have any clocks in the lobby and rooms. Also, it is far away from the main tourist attraction (Hotel Zone) but once I got a hang of it it took me two buses to get there in < 20 mins for 1 1/2 dollars. I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

shops in downtown area are a lot cheaper than Hotel Zone but do negotiate and don't give what they ask for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAKX
Business
USA
Dec 11, 2012

Hotel del Sol

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was immaculate but A/C had an odor however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JR From Florida
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Spring Break - 2012 in Cancun

I loved this hotel, friendly staff, clean room and bathroom and very reasonably priced. It is across the street from a port terminal where you can take a ferry to Isla Mauharej island. The only thing i didn't like were the beds, they were not very comfortable. The hotel did not have any clocks in the lobby and rooms. Also, it is far away from the main tourist attraction (Hotel Zone) but once I got a hang of it it took me two buses to get there in < 20 mins for 1 1/2 dollars. I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

shops in downtown area are a lot cheaper than Hotel Zone but do negotiate and don't give what they ask for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solveig
Business
Minnesota, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Very Nice Staff and Very Clean Rooms

I stayed at Hotel del Sol for 4 weeks with my 1 year old son. The Hotel is located about 10 min. from downtown and 20 min. from the hotel zone if you go by bus, which leaves right in front of the hotel. The ferry to Isla Mujeres also leaves right in front of the hotel and it is worth a trip or more to go to the island as it has the most beautiful beaches and nice restaurants. The rooms of the hotel are very clean and nicely furnished. The shower worked fine for me. The matrass was really a little bit hard, but durable (I had no back pain sleeping on it for 4 weeks ;o)). The neighborhood was very quiet at night, only some hotel guests were not that considerate of others sleeping. The public beach is not far from the hotel and is okay, but with some seagrass and unfortunately also glass pieces in the sand. I preferred going to the island for a day at the beach. The breakfast at the hotel was good with cereals and milk, toast with butter and jelly, juice and coffee or tea and fresh fruit. There is a little supermarket across the street, where you can buy snacks and the staff allowed me to store items, that needed to be refridgerated in their hotel fridge. By the way, the staff of the hotel was very nice and helpful, whenever I had a question. They truly made us feel like "at home". :o) Regarding the military station across the street. This is really nothing to be scared about. They are very nice people, too, and I never heard any gun shots in the 4 weeks I was there. The whole area around the hotel felt very safe to me - also at night. All in all, a nice place to stay and worth more than what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a laundry service just down the block, if you have any laundry to do which costs just 10 pesos per kilo. Ask the hotel staff where exactly it is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pipi
Business
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Jan 9, 2012

Vacations

Hotel is good, room size and bathroom are ok, but bed is so hard / tough and the room has a very bad smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

I went on a single trip plan, looking for night life, and the hotel was really far from the discos and tourist zone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RachelandRyan
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 30, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE! ARMED MILITARY NEXT DOOR!

Location: Directly across the street from the main ferry to Isla Mujeres. No beach access. Not close to tourist activities. Next to a government boat-housing location with armed military guards. Neighborhood is seedy. Staff: Front desk man very polite and helpful. Room: Sparse, no room safe. Very small bathroom, but large shower. Bed not comfortable. My husband arrived at the hotel for our honeymoon last week. The man at the front desk was very nice. After hauling our luggage up two flights of stairs and showering after a long morning of traveling, we set out to find the beach and a place to eat. The front desk indicated a cheap, good restaurant across the street, next to the ferry. He also told us the beach was 200 meters Northwest of the front of the hotel. After walking along the road, we realized there was no beach access because it was restricted access/government property. Across the street from the beach and next to the hotel was a fully guarded government boat-housing location. We soon gave up on the beach and went to look for the restaurant. As soon as we entered, a woman on staff took one look at my husband and I and shouted "no, no service!" We went back to the hotel and immediately contacted our travel service to find another hotel - this was not the place for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

All tourist-friendly activities can be found near the airport (Wet & Wild) or off of Cancun on Kukulcan Blvd./near all the major hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
queen ranitas
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 5, 2011

vacation

the hotel overall was what we paid for. one thing i did like was that it was clean. the furniturewas cleaned with furniture oil that it stained our clothes. i was very upset because at one point my husband left the key in the room and the hotel didnt have an extra key to let us in .they had to call a locksmith to come open the room, so after an hour we were able to make use of our room. the nxt morning the personel asked for my key so they coyld make a copy. when we got back late that evening no one knew the where abouts of my key neither had they made copies. i was very upset and tired from our long day. the continental breakfast was nothing but plain cereal, coffee, juice, toast. there was no fruit or muffins or any viriety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
callilily
Business
Corvallis, Or
Mar 15, 2011

"Nice, clean, and friendly"

We stayed our last night in Mexcio at hotel del sol. It is out away from most of the busy part of the city right next to the port to Isla de Mujeres. The service was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean, and it seems we were the only guests there at the time! There was a nice continental breakfast in the am. There is also a great view from the roof and areas to sit up there. If you don't have a lap top there is also a computer for guest use which was very helpful. Overall it was a nice and affordable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are ferries right across from this hotel to Isla de Mujeres. This is worth a day trip. We checked it out. It may also be wise if you want to see the whole island to rent a golf cart. This looked like a lot of fun and our feet wished we had done this originally.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Mar 9, 2011

Don't Stay Here

This hotel is a dump , the internet doesn't work, the rooms smell like raw sewerage, the plumbing rattles all night, its in a very dodgy area miles out of town and nowhere near the hotel zone. Its a [*] hole.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Never using [...]again
Business
CT
Mar 3, 2011

[...]lied - not near Cancun airport

We needed a hotel near Cancun airport for 1 night because we arrived late with 2 children under 5. [...] said it was less than 1 mile from the airport and instead it was a $70 (USD) and 35 minute taxi ride. None of the taxis knew where the hotel was located either so it was a BIG hassle. The beds were terribly hard and uncomfortable and the shower and sink in the bathroom barely dripped enough to rinse the soap off. Though the staff was nice, I was outraged at the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Sol

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Jan 13, 2011

Beauty Before Comfort

Although the Hotel Del Sol has a lovely modern atmosphere, I would not suggest it to anyone needing to stay more than a night. The hotel its self is actually located north of Cancun in a suburb called Puerto Juarez with no entertainment at all within walking distance. There were mainly residential homes surrounding the hotel and their residents were extremely loud during the night. Our view also consisted of a heavily armed guard looking over a boat storage area. The beds were horribly uncomfortable and the showers either didn't have enough water pressure or wouldn't drain. There "breakfast" consisted of frosted flakes and bread with jelly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are interested in visiting Isla Mujeres, you can walk across the street to catch the ferry. This ferry is half the price of the more "tourist" ferry down the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top