$282 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd, Kukulkan KM 16.9, Lote 52-04, Zona Hotelera,, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYhotelier
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Not great service

When I arrived the room I had reserve was not available and I believe they downgraded me and I was ok with it since it had an extra bed for my child. I enjoyed the spacious room and service from the bellmen and well as room cleaning and towel designs from room attendant Luis. I did however did not enjoy the lack of personalize service in the entire hotel. The food quality was very poor and they always serve the same in the buffet. I also didnt enjoy the lack of helpfulness all around. I will not be returning to this property, I work in a hotel myself in NYC and this hotel needs major improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

about a ten minute drive to La Isla shopping Mall, the name of the restaurant is called baby lobster

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theboys2
Business
Rochester NY
Apr 12, 2012

Fun Family Vacation

My husband and I traveled with our 2 boys who are 9 and 10. We ALL loved it. Hotel very clean, wide variety of restaurants, lots of fun activities. Very funny/friendly acitivity staff. Maximilian Lopez was our waitor in the Magnus Restaurant and he treated us like gold, the best waitor we have EVER had. Our room was very spacious and quiet. I have NO complaints at all about our stay here and will be back thanks to our new friendship with Max.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel glasses are small bring your own travel glass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joanizzy
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Overall Satisfied

For the most part we enjoyed our stay and the value was exceptional. Our son loved the entertainment staff, who always seemed to have something happening for the kids. Food was not the best (especially in the sit down restaurants-took forever, poor quality, scattered staff/service), food court was actually decent. Pool bar staff (Ricardo & Cesar) were wonderful, engaging, friendly, quick, & accomodating! Repairs/updates were in progress (but mostly painting/touch up), many areas needed more than that, broken floor tiles, worn/gapping/curled up laminate floors (in gym & karoke bar especially) Gym equipment not all in working order, seats in theater hard as rocks, beds hard, tub had chips in it, etc. Noise that is commented on, is true, due to design with central courtyard and doors suctioning/slamming closed from cross draft of patio doors, this happened all night. We received massages at spa, which were average for what we have received in Cancun, but were very suprised there wasn't a shower or spa/sauna area to relax in afterwards. Adult pool literally had no one in it (this is tough to locate in the hotel at first). The "secret" mexican resturant is only open 12-6 limited, and not great. Buy your internet online, it's cheaper than the cards in the lobby. We spent most of our days at the beach and hopped back and forth to the pool. It's a busy place, lot's of kids, so definitely more oriented to family travel. Swim with dophins/Wet and Wild trip (very nice! price is negotiable, especially with group) no one was at the water park (be sure to remove your jewelry before you leave, not allowed with dolphins). Day trip to Isles Mujeres (boat ride, snorkeling, lunch, shopping, golf cart rental) price also negotiable for group. Coastal scenery beautiful, food was wonderful, boat ride fun/a little rough though, town/locals rustic!!! Overall the kids all loved the resort/trip, adults had to adjust expectations somewhat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dirty Bit
Business
Rochester, NY
Feb 27, 2012

Very average.

I will start out with the good: The beach and the pool were excellent. Towels were easily available at all times. Great locations. Food and drink were in close proximity. The staff was attentive and spoke english very well. Entertainment and kids activities were very good! Food was ok and room service was timely. Not a lot for the kids to eat, but what they did have tasted good to them! Public restrooms inside the hotel were very, very clean! Was an ok value for the money! Now, the not so good: The beds were not very comfortable. The room towels were small and not very soft (not a good feel with sunburn on the kids). Bathroom did not smell very clean and fresh. The BIGGEST problem was the noise! The way the hotel is designed, noise ressonates throughout the entire building! We were on the 11th floor and could hear everything that was happening on the ground floor even with our door closed! The bar on the bottom floor was not enclosed, so you could hear people yelling ALL NIGHT LONG! So, there were no quiet hours at a "family" resort. Because of the wind, you could hear doors slamming (and I mean really loudly) every couple of minutes all DAY AND NIGHT! It was pretty annoying and made it tough to get a good night's sleep! Luckily the kids slept thru it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the city buses to get around. It is pretty quick and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeanV
Business
Chicago
Jan 9, 2012

Great Parnassus Family Friendly....but...

Friendly & Helpful Staff in all areas of the hotel, restaurants, pool, check in, etc. This place is fairly noisy by virtue of the large enclosed foyer, and indoor food court and lobby areas, also lots of families with children, so naturally louder. Noise echoes through this facility. Every guests that I spoke with (all had multiple children) all enjoyed this hotel and liked the food. I was a little suprised by all the positive comments. My wife and I have one child, so we are family oriented as well. We did not think the food at any of the restaurants was very good. In some cases it was downright bad. The food court was pretty good, but that shuts down before dinner. Our room was located on the food court side of the hotel, and our room had a very strong smell of cooked food. We requested a room change and we were accomodated to the opposite side of the hotel and this was fine for getting away from the food smell, and was also quieter, but still a bit noisey. The pools are not heated and in our opinion very cold. Not many people swimming in the icey waters. If you are not very particular about food and have a large family, then this place will be fine, otherwise I suggest you move on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SK AK
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Yeah....soooo Never Again!

In my opinion, the hotel is in a crumbling state of disrepair. You can tell that in its prime, it was a lovely hotel. However, it is aging quickly and is in need of a renovation that would come along with a pretty hefty price tag. I would NOT stay at the Great Parnassus ever again because it comes nowhere close to meeting my standards. Our hotel room walls and ceiling were poorly repaired after what seemed like water damage. There was badly replastered walls without a paint touch up. Also, there was mildew in the shower, a roach in the bathroom and one of the bars, a broken jacuzzi, etc. The only reason why I suffered through this trip was because my companion urged me to "go with the flow" and make the best of the trip. The only redeeming quality was the service staff. They were very pleasant and took pride in hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Live to Travel
Business
IL
Jan 5, 2012

It'll do.

Nice variety of food compared to many all inclusive resorts. Way too many kids in swim up bar pool. All pools need some sprucing up. Never had a warm shower and was only given two bath towels my entire stay. Rooms need major updates but were clean. Great staff serving drinks on the beach and in the bars but the entertainment staff was annoying at best and seemed primarily interested in flirting with the teenage girls. Spa was nice but overpriced. Nice fitness center. I'd stay here again for a long weekend but no longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dharmendra
Business
Milpitas, CA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Very bad experience with Great Parnassus Resort

My experience about staying at great parnassus resort was extremely bad and reasons are as below: 01) I was scared to go to Lobby because hotel promotion guys catch as soon as you go there and kill you vacation time and try to buy your time and in return nothing. 02) There was no towel and toilet paper in the room and after multiple call we got those in second day. 03) Linen at room was in so bad shape and even towel we got like 10 year old because thread was coming out. 04) Back support of patio chair was broken 05) Not much variety in the food and it was just ok and same menu for everyday. 06) Beach towels was also like 10 year old with torn threaded. 07) Drink at the bar was not good and seems like they have bad drink in branded bottle and once I almost throw out after having first sip of my drink. There was many more bad experience but overall I was ruined with bad experience at great parnassus resort. I will never ever go to this hotel even I get free deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MacSJC
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Had sleepless nights

I have only one advice to the future visitors - Never stay in this hotel. Here are the issues I had and some of them were taken care during my stay with repeated attempts to get attention- - TV not working - Room AC not working (not taken care at all) - Balcony door doesn't lock, and few more cosmetic issues like no towels etc. The room was given in a location where I couldn't open the balcony door. There was a power house (generator) from the other resort next to the hotel and it was way too loud. Room AC was not working and I couldn't open the balcony door due to VERY LOUD noise, I had sleepless nights; even tequila shots were not effective :-) One more thing- there will be people in the hotel guest desk who will bug you to attend 90min session (kind of time share) and that is a complete rip off. They will provide some 2000 pesos promising to be used in SPA and their internal shop but none of them will honor those certificates. The shop has a bogus section and will ask you to buy from that section only which you will never buy. So it will be a complete waste of your time. Never fall into that trap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
palpanther
Business
Chicago
Dec 26, 2011

clean nice hotel

Clean and new hotel...great fo kids but it also has some good activities for the adults too ( Adults only bar, a karoke ba, adults only pool and jacuzzis...etc) , friendly staff, nice pool area and activities , and beautiful beach. Cons: - $15 per day for the internet. - Elevators are slow and insufficient for a big hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco Bongo .. Nice Show

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top