$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd, Kukulkan KM 16.9, Lote 52-04, Zona Hotelera,, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2 Vacationers in August
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 31, 2013

Very Disappointing Overall

We have been to this hotel many times and always enjoyed our visit. This time was an exception. The cost cutting measures have gone to extreme. Even the soap in the bathroom sucked. Workers are everywhere cleaning all day but the maintenance issues and run down look are getting worse. Lowest of the low was the food. The difference in the ambience, food and service between the Big Barn at the Golden and Big Ben's is glaringly apparent. The entertainment staff has had some shake ups and was rather blase about the whole experience. We did manage to get a couple of hand waves out of them. The newest member Danko is the exception, funny, fresh and energetic. Sadly the shows in the theatre were not worth a quick look even. They were funny at one time. The air conditioning was broken for a couple of days while it was 90+ degrees. We called housekeeping, the concierge, went to the manager on duty and everyone assured immediate action. That came at the end of 3 days while the room sweltered at 85 degrees. It was impossible to sleep. On day ONE we discovered we did not have a room service menu. We called room service, housekeeping and the concierge daily (all 3) for the 7 days we were there and never did receive a room service menu. The change in attitude among the staff is huge. They really couldn't care less if you ever get what you want or ask for. Management certainly doesn't care. They'll promise you anything to get you to leave or hang up the phone and that will be the end of it. It is not the sort of resort that provides a relaxing experience when you are dodging ill-mannered children dropping ice cream on you and all over the hotel while waiting for a packed elevator many times throughout the day. I loved the Great Parnassus during our many past visits. We will not be returning there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dad and company
Business
watsonville, ca
Jul 18, 2013

family vacation

Lobby was impressive and most of staff was friendly except for reception area.They did't seem to be happy working their.As for room cleanliness, the bed sheets were all stained! We used a flourescent light to check out sheets and they looked like a crime scene splattered w/ some kind of stains.Housekeeper was shown the sheets and she didn't know how to reply.She replace sheets but they were just as bad.We left message w/ management but we never got a reply.They were also painting w/ some oil based paint which gave my wife a headache but nothing can be done so we just had to adjust to the conditions.Will not recommend this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely take the city bus! Only about .65 cents.R2 bus takes you around hotel zone and great way to see area.Bus drivers very helpful! Felt very safe in area check out market 28 for all your souvenirs!Vendors deal in dollars and pesos but be prepared to convert dollars to pesos.Also bring lots of small bills for tipping!

Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Belka2013
Business
IA
Jul 1, 2013

Awesome !!!

Great Family Hotel if you dont have kids DONT GO HERE,.. is a 100 % FAMILY HOTEL a lot of kids around activities for kids everyday, very friendly personal.. very clean very good experience and very cheap for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Mom Nichole
Business
Manassas
Jun 27, 2013

Great if you like Cold Showers, Long Waits, and Broken Everything

First, I never received my $200 resort credit because nobody knew what I was talking about. After waiting hours for our room I find a dirty bathtub and cold water only. For two days the front two elevators were broken which meant rush hour and full capacity elevators with no AC on the only two working ones. The food was okay. The internet went down for two days and I was told it wasn't their problem. Restaurant staff was not friendly and took forever. THE ENTERTAINMENT STAFF made the whole trip for us. Lots to do and great for kids of all ages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall outside is very nice! Internet access available. Short bus ride.

Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auntshellruns
Business
New Mexico
Jun 18, 2013

Always a fun time

This was our second trip to Great Parnassus and we enjoyed it just as much. There were some minor maintenance/upgrade projects going on but we weren't at all bothered by them. We spent our days by the pool sipping margaritas and taking part in the many activities. The entertainment staff was great. It was fun to have the whole family hanging out together at the pool. One of our big excitement was waking up every morning and look out our window to look for sea turtle tracks on the beach to see if any sea turtles had made their way to the beach to lay eggs. I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Skip the taxi ride to go downtown - take the city bus

Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mleb
Business
Groton, MA
Apr 23, 2013

Pros & Cons

This hotel was rec. by a friend. The friend considers the hotel to be a 5 star hotel & has stayed here for the last 5 years over April Vac. With that said, my idea and his idea of 5 star are different. I will try to sum up my experience in the shortest manner. 1. If you are a pool bar/swim up bar person, this is NOT the hotel for you. Small swim up bar, in the shade a majority of the day, in a tiny pool which attracts a lot of kids. In fact, activities for kids are run out of this pool. 2. Pool decking, pool trim is crumbling and rusty. patched pieces of concrete and mediocre pool chairs. 3. The AC has trouble keeping up with the heat throughout the hotel. The cafeteria is very warm. Almost too warm to eat in. Somewhere between 75-80 degrees. Many restaurants are warm, stuffy and humid. Additionally, we stayed in a sweet on the 7th floor facing the ocean. The AC could not keep up with the sun hitting our windows all day even if the blinds were closed. Our room averaged 78 degrees for the 4 days we were there. 4. Smoking is permitted - so remember that the bars are very smokey. 5. No outdoor lighting around the pool at night, thus no evening swimming or hot tub. 6. Our room was clean but lacked a fridge for bottled water or soda. This was disappointing. 7. Room service all day, all night was fabulous. The BLT is by far one of the best!! We ordered BLT sandwiches every day! 8. Staff is very friendly and very willing to help. 9. Food is a mixed bag. The restaurants are great, the cafeteria/buffet is good, but the late night option (only 1) is horrible. (Cold burgers, hot dogs, fries and chicken fingers) This is why we ordered room service late night. The fruit bar and smoothie station is great. All in all, we stayed for 4 days for approx. a $100 dollars a day. This included our room and food and alcohol. Given this... I would NOT complain. You can't stay at home for that price. BUt, if you are a seasoned traveler, who truly enjoys good food, a great swim up bar, this isn't the place for you. IF you are looking for a quick and cheap getaway, this is is a GREAT option. We would probably not go back but would rec. to friends for an inexpensive trip, certainly with kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Absolutely, take the ferry to Isla Mujueres for the day. Rent a golf cart, drink and eat your way around the island. Take advantage of the amazing beaches and shopping. We have done this several times and it never gets old. The food on the island is amazing. We had lunch at the sunset grill on this last trip. Can't say enough about the garlic and caper fresh grilled fish, the margharitas and the guacamole! To die for!

Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maureen needs a vaca
Business
Long Island , New York
Apr 13, 2013

quick cancun getaway

Nice hotel,, lots of restaurants,, needs more bathrooms by the pool/beach. Great Family Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

/Spa treatments are negotiable..

Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
teacher the best
Business
chicago,il
Mar 30, 2013

think before you go

we know before we went that it was not a 4 star but tried it anyways. same food every day nothing changes, bed and sheets were bad, if you tip u will get good customer service witch is what mexico is all about. good games for kids, and music going all day. building need some improvement, adult hot tubs were very cold and it was 85 degrees out.we go to cancun 2 a year and will not return 2 this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

if u stay on the hotel zone strip u are safe u can take the bus for 1 dollar

Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raghu Bala
Business
NY, NY
Mar 27, 2013

All Inclusive Means Charges for Trivial Stuff

The hotel charges for Mexico Toll Free Charge connections (USD 5) and even calling Taxi service from the concierge department -- Laundry charges are on a average USD 3 for smallest garment. Be Prepared for rip off of such small charges when they mean "All Inclusive" -- All else was ok -- just be prepared for such surprises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoRam
Business
Rochester, Minnesota
Mar 25, 2013

Great Parnassus

We liked this resort for the appearance, staff & nice size beach. But would not go back as this is a family resort & lots of young kids. Plus we'd like to be closer to more restaurants & shopping, which this one you have to bus to. Food was ok, except for us late-nighters there's only hot dogs, cold chicken sandwiches & cheeseburgers, which in Mexico are not good. We spent most of our time at the Golden Parnassus as our friends were there. That's adults only so they have an outside tiki bar, a karaoke bar (which there was NO kids, unlike the Great), they had excellent nightly shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top