$282 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd, Kukulkan KM 16.9, Lote 52-04, Zona Hotelera,, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sgtspare
Business
Terrebonne
Mar 9, 2014

Great family vacation

Good food , Good wheater, very nice and smiley staff, excellent service, warm pools (next to ocean), good animation, did not ran out of towels, our rooms was big with bunk beds for the kids. Water slides were appreciated. Sea is warm and the beach is super fun. Ask for a room on the royal islander side (more quiet than the Iberostar side), drinks werw ok, liittle bit week on alcoohol, unless you ask him to put little more (for adults) Perfect place for family vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you like to eat early show up 10 min before opening to give your room number at opening (1800h). You will be served very shortly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Erin94
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 23, 2014

So so

So, here is an honest review. We read a lot of reviews and were prepared for the resort, so thankful for that. Here are the pros and cons: PROS - Baby and kids club - fantastic, great workers, they put babies (under 4) down for nap, great indoor time (and sometimes outdoor) for kids - Pirate ship is great, although the large castle waterslides (separated from pirate ship) are off limits unless 48 (or maybe 50 ) inches; the smaller castle slides that are part of pirate ship are also off limits to kids under 4 - Everyone at the resort was great - at times, service was slow, but that was more the fault of the resort because they under -staff; everyone had a smile and was so nice; no issues with check-in or maid services, as others noted - The pool was pretty and kept well. - Bathrooms outside and inside nothing to complain about. - Beach was beautiful (a little dirty), but did not use much with little kids. - Spa was nice and relaxing (average prices for resort - 50 min massage at about $100 USD). - We had a 1st floor room, which worked well with kids. We thought the view would be bad, but was not. We had an extra large balcony (only on 1st floor), but ended up with some garbage from upper floors. Others complained about elevators being slow, but we used at off times, so not bad. - Family room bunk beds were pretty cool. Kids only used to play, but nice to have in case. - Bathroom was quite large. - Mexican restaurant by pirate ship was pretty good - try the soups and the ceviche! - Overall the best food was the Mexican food - taco station at buffet was open for every meal. CONS - The food was mediocre at best - my husband lost 5 pounds on the trip because he never found anything besides the tacos that was good. We did not go to Michelle restaurant because we had kids and the wait for Big Ben was 2 hours, so did not go there. Samurai was ok, but left hungry. - The distance between the pirate ship and kids/baby club and the pool was large, but good exercise. - Weird smell from bathroom (smelled like sewage at times). - Beds were a little hard, but slept ok. - There would be a wait for the restaurants, but they would not be half full. - The buffet is not a typical buffet - it is more like food stations, some of which have waits. This was a little difficult with kids - only one of us could go up at a time. - Drinks were a bit watered down, but some people gave a $10 or $20 tip to the bartenders on day 1 and had no issues. Overall, my comment would be that you get what you pay for. We went for the pirate ship and knew the place would be lacking on food, etc. The kids amenities were not disappointing. We've stayed at over a dozen all inclusives and have had much better food. We knew what we were getting into, so could not complain too much. I would recommend for families with small children, but not for anyone without small children (up to maybe 10).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lay super Cancun.
Business
Plymouth,MI
Feb 23, 2014

Good for families with children

The hotel itself needs updates and the service takes too long. The amenities ie. entretainment for families and kids were great. It is very family oriented. The hotel is great, however, little things take away from that. For example, there is no free wifi and even buying the very expensive time for wifi doesn't work that great. The room service took way too long. We needed to remind them thy there were 4 of us every day to get the right amount of clean towels, and when we called for them it took very long. The workers were very friendly and we had a great time in spite of the little difficulties

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

If you schedule any trips to the parks such as Xel-ha or xcaret so it through your hotel concierge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Sexy Couple
Business
Minneapolis
Feb 15, 2014

Couples getaway

This was our second visit to this hotel. We purchased a Ocean view room with a hot tub but upgraded to a Ocean front room with a hot tub on the terrace upon our arrival. We were very pleased with this decision. The room and views were awesome. The hotel is a little dated but you get what you pay for. There were a lot of kids but when we wanted the adult only experience we took advantage of the shuttle to their sister hotel (Golden Parnassus). We enjoyed the variety of food choices at both hotels. We will probably try a different resort during our next visit but I would recommend this hotel to friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the city bus. They run every 3-5 minutes in the hotel zone. Inexpensive and convenient

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aabb
Business
new york
Jan 25, 2014

you get what you paid for

Over all is alright. kids friendly. You got what you paid for. But It may take hours to get room services. Rooms on the west are noisy in general. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
usmc0978
Business
north platte nebraska
Jan 24, 2014

our second trip to this place

we have 3 kids range from 5 years old to 12 years old. Everyone had a great time, the entertainment staff are very dedicated to their jobs. They treated my kids special and with respect. Our favorite restaurant is the French place called the MICHELLE, the waiter named josue will make your dinning experience wonderful. Please tip thes guys if you can, they dont make very much at all. And they will treat you like VIP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CK in Ct
Business
Ct
Jan 5, 2014

family vacation

The staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. The facilities were average, and could use some updating. One suggestion would be to offer free wifi. There is an option to pay for wifi or to use the pay internet at one of the bars, but an upgrade by the hotel would be a worthwhile modernization, The food was overall good. The regional foods were better than the international meals. The elevators can be very slow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dad Of TeenageTwins
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jan 3, 2014

Great family All-inclusive resort

We went with teenage girls and it was a lot of fun. The staff is wonderful and very accommodating. This travel company goofed up on two things; gave us FREE sunset cruise that did not existed. Another disappointment was the room itself since it offers plain vanilla two double bed room with lot of noise from neighboring resort all day+night. Next day we begged to Managers to move us to other side of the resort. We were lucky but ask whether your room is on the side of next door neighbor named Iberostar then ask for opposite side. The salad/smoothie bar was life-saver while Karaoke club was a big hit for youngsters. Other important tip - if you are Vegetarian then be prepared since your food choices will be severely limited even from eleven claimed restaurants on-site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For excursions, buy your time-share type tickets from airport itself from Palace resorts. You'll enjoy nice tour of Moon Palace with breakfast and then keep saying NO to time-share to get FREE roundtrip transportation and $40 for two attraction tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spcmcp
Business
Minneapolis, Mn
Jan 2, 2014

Great for families with younger kids

We enjoyed our stay. It's great for families with younger kids. My only substantial gripe would be the service. At times it takes some pretty serious effort to get them to help you, whether it's with getting food or drinks, and especially with getting new bathroom towels. Also, be prepared for a lot of pressure from the staff to get you to buy excursions or other stuff. It seems pretty tasteless that every time I go to get a new beach towel I have to listen to a sales pitch. But overall, good amenities, surprisingly good food, and a good resort for younger kids. Kids over 10 might get bored.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EMCVM
Business
Las Vegas
Dec 27, 2013

Perfect family resort

This place is great for families. There are a lot of activities for the kids, water slides, mini golf, beach soccer and volleyball. The entertainment staff is wonderful, they make everybody feel welcome and happy. They work really hard to make your stay enjoyable. The food and drinks are just OK, could be better. The rooms are clean and spacious but a little noisy. The hotel itself is really clean but needs some TLC. The beach is great, lots of chairs and palapas for shade. Overall pretty good value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top