$232 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd, Kukulkan KM 16.9, Lote 52-04, Zona Hotelera,, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jacks mom
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 29, 2011

Par NASTY! AWFUL! BEWARE--DON"T STAY H

Roaches!! Roaches in the eating area and our room. We arrived at 10pm and left for another hotel by 10am the next day. This place was dirty, crumbling/disrepair and the food was inedible. We are not picky people, but if I spend the money to go on vacation, want to feel good where I am and enjoy the beach and food. There was nothing good about this place. Everything is inside (eating, relaxing, etc.) built like a cruiseship-- a sinking one at that. There was even scum around the pool. We immediately left. I took pictures of the roaches and other dirty places. They served my daughter a raw hotdog and the fries were cold hard rocks. I would give this place less than a one star. Go to one of the "Dreams" resorts-- you won't be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

YUCK!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cjwink
Business
CT
Jun 29, 2011

Destination Wedding

Very accommodating staff, great food, clean but shower and some appliances worn out. Wine choices were not the greatest. Overall, hotel was very good and I would most likely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 23, 2011

The best all-inclusive in Cancun

The Great Parnassus Hotel is excellent! I give it 5 stars! The hotel is clean and gorgeous. It is quite new, about 4 years old. The rooms are spacious and have great views of the ocean. The service is excellent. The staff is friendly. The food is superb. There are 11 restaurants and 4 bars to choose from. There is food 24 hours. Great selection - continental, Japanese, Mexican, French, Italian, steaks, seafood, etc. The location is great, right on the beach. There are large swimming pools for kids to play, even waterslides. There was a beach party for us and many pool games. There is a Karaoke bar. We also played pool, ping pong, and watched shows. The luxurious spa is a must! We were sad to leave, but we are going again next year. Can't wait!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kissimmee, FL
Jun 7, 2011

Mostly A Terrific Time........

This was our first trip to Cancun and the Great Parnassus was also our first experience with an all-inclusive resort (which we LOVED!)We chose to upgrade to a Club Level room and we LOVED the one they assigned us on the 12th floor (Room 1223). Our view was GREAT! The only better view I think that we could have had would have been one of the suites at the very front of the hotel (which we are considering getting the next time we come to Cancun.) The jacuzzi in the room was an additional plus to our anniversary trip.... We totally enjoyed the food and the attention to detail and service that we received in the adults only Sanctorium on the 10th floor, especially from two people in particular, [...] and [...]... They went above and beyond in making us feel special. The food choices for breakfast were good, too, and we enjoyed having our mimosas and looking at the beautiful view of the beach and the pool from that 10th floor restaurant area. The lagoon boat trip on the Cancun Queen was also fun and the food and drinks were good while on board. [...] The strip tease by a few of the drunken passengers at the end of the day wasn't appreciated though....We absolutely LOVED having our own romantic dinner served to us in our club room! We had our choice of food from two of the restaurants, and we had everything from appetizers to dessert served to us by our very own waiter, Alex, who was very attentive to our needs. We had our choice of wines to accompany the courses, as well, which was awesome....and the table they wheeled into the room was complete with a pretty flower arrangement....Our favorite restaurant by far was the French one, Le Maison De Michelle. We ate there for our anniversary dinner and two other times as well. The two people who made it very special and memorable for us were [...] and [...] who both showed EXCELLENT attention to detail and were our favorite waiters by far! Also, each evening whenever we passed by their restaurant, [...] would go out of his way to say hello to us (which was appreciated.) The show that the waiters at the restaurants put on with the Mexican liquor that they light on fire is a terrific addition to their desserts. We enjoyed that immensely, too!I arranged with the Concierge for them to decorate my daughter's room (while they were at dinner for their 10th anniversary) with balloons and rose petals in the shape of a heart & the words "happy anniversary" spelled out on their bed and tuxedo strawberries, which was a terrific surprise for them and they enjoyed it..... We can report only three major things that weren't good that happened at the Great Parnassus while we were there May 21st through May 30th: first of all, the hotel hosted the Jaegermeister Beer people who had set up a big orange tent on the beachfront, complete with beer bong beds; and the d.j.'s played non-stop rap and head-banging music at ear-splitting decibels, as well as songs that contained vulgar, offensive language to a pulsating beat...which totally ruined any family enjoyment of the beach area. And when asked to lower the music, they looked at US like we had two heads....Second, the hotel also hosted several hundred Mexican seniors who had just graduated from school and they arrived in busloads, and they were unchaperoned and unruly. They were also served alcohol and drank until they were visibly drunk or some of them even passed out. As each evening wore on though, they would became louder, ruder, and more boistrous and disruptive. The boys pounded on the doors of their rooms (or on the girl's rooms trying to get in), starting at about 3:00 A.M. and they would also yell and chant in the Manhattan Restaurant which was open 24 hours in the lobby area (which resonated LOUDLY and was amplified in the atrium area) which woke us up all the way up on the 14th floor!!! That was entirely unacceptable and we, along with several other families complained to the management after our second sleepless night.Thank G...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely eat at the French restaurant as soon as you arrive. It had the BEST food and service. Big Ben also had wonderful food and the Mexican restaurant had GREAT salsa and top shelf drinks (which were hard to come by.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CMP's mom
Business
New Haven county, CT
Jun 4, 2011

DONT GO DURING HS GRADUATION TIME!!!

The food was good & the room was excellent. We traveled with our 2 year old who is SUPER well-behaved & we lucked out by getting a room right next to the 2nd floor adult only breakfast restaurant, so we only had to deal with one side room with unsupervised, drunk high school students. There was about 500 kids from all over Mexico & they ruined LOTS of peoples vacations while we were there, I'm SURE of it. Screaming, banging, running, blasting music, etc. And got away with it all because there were NO chaperones! THAT IS THE MAIN REASON WE WOULD NOT RETURN OR RECOMMEND THE HOTEL TO ANY FRIENDS OF OURS! The housekeeping was great when they showed up. We had 2 days were we had to call & ask them to come, once they did show & once they didnt show. That was nothing compared to dealing with the HS kids. We will be staying at an all-inclusive adult only next trip & leaving the little ones at home, unfortunately bc our daughter was 1000 times more well-behaved then the high school deviants that were there the same time as us. Also, the waves were HUGE on the beach so it wasn't conducive to a toddler had to travel to a calmer beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

the round self-serve restaurant on the 1st floor had great food & was super consistant! [...], the waiter/server was GREAT! Super nice & accommodating! Also, crab house down the street from the hotel was superb! Ask one of the bellboys & they'll give you a card for a free appetizer there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
May 28, 2011

AMAZING

Food was amazing, hotel was clean, staff was GREAT!!!! It was a family friendly resort. Would def go back. For those that wrote bad reviews..... not sure what your thinking.....I would suggest this as a family vacation, not a couples retreat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
May 23, 2011

Great Value

Beach was great, found out Cancun had new sand brought in a year ago, service couldn't be any better. We went with our 8 yr. old son and he said it was best vacation ever.We arrived at 12 noon & they said our room was ready, we were unpacked & on beach by 12:30. Food was OK ,buffet was better than sitdown dinner. We will definately go back & I recommend this hotel to anyone.Also drinks were very good and kept comming.remember to tip staff.but service was great weather you tipped or not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
silver spring, md
May 14, 2011

awesome place for families

This hotel was amazing! We went with our kids (4 yrs old). The staff was very friendly, helpful and always there to serve you. This is a great place to stay for families. Although we were very bummed when we found out the water slides were for kids taller than 48" so we couldnt enjoy that part of the resort. The food was good. You could never go wrong with the meat they served. Many places to eat within the hotel. There was always someplace open to eat all day and room service 24 hours. Loved the bar on the beach and if you took care of the server, she will make sure your cup was always full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Hook was incredible. Perfect for adults and kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Strawberry Margarita
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 10, 2011

A Great Vacation

This was 4th visit to GP and we will return again this year. The best thing about the hotel is the entertainment staff. [...] do everything possible to make sure you are having fun. Other staff that's great: [...] in the Atlantis Bar and [...] and [...] in the lobby bar. All have become friends to us and we return to see them.The hotel is comfortable. The rooms are spacious. After a few days the food does get old. On our last trip we noticed more restaurants were closed more often, Magnus (the food court) was closing at 6 instead of 9, and the staff days/hours were cut back to two or even three days off. The hotel did not seem emptier though that is apparently the reason for staff hour cutbacks.On the whole, the GP is a good value for the money and I will return again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Aquaworld snorkeling excursion to the reefs at the south end of the hotel zone is not nearly as nice as the snorkeling at Isla Mujeres. Further away, Cozumel is the best. The Aquaworld snorkeling was very bland with very few fish.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Great Parnassus Family Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethesda, MD
May 6, 2011

Great resort

We had a very nice vacation at the Great Parnassus. We traveled with our kids (8 and 10) and felt very safe and comfortable there. The place was set up very well for kids and most of the people staying there were families with kids. The food was not great, but good. We always found something for both adults and kids.[...].Overall I would say this is a very nice family place and I would go back again.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We went on a Xel-Ha / Tulum tour. Xel-Ha was great, but we didn't have enough time there. If you go to Xel-Ha, plan to spend all day there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top