$293 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Retorno Sn. Miguelito # 37 Zona Hotelera, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
284 out of 284
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cheesehead pool player
Business
wisconsin
Jan 27, 2014

Golden fraud

Warning! If you think you are reserving your stay at the Golden for an ALL ADULTS experience then don't get too excited because they just might be full and send you down the road to their "sister" resort the GREAT Parnassus Resort that has a water park, lots of seagulls with digestive issues and a whole lot of screaming, crying kids! That's right. We spent thousands on a group of 8 adults to go to Cancun and enjoy a nice relaxing time in an Adult resort, only to be told that it was full and that they were sending us to their other resort. When we got our rooms, some had fridges, some didn't work. Then were told that all our rooms were ocean side. Well sure they were because the resort faced east/west so if you looked out your room you could see a portion of the ocean. The view below was of a open sand area with hobo shacks put together with rope.There was your ocean view. Then we sat in the lobby having a drink during the rain and dozens of towels were strewn around the floor because the ceiling leaked. The staff was nice, the rooms had a wirlpool in them and the adults only areas were pretty nice but the fact was that we paid for adults only and did not get it. Did I complain? You bet I did but try as I may, they "couldn't locate the manager". There are plenty of other resorts in Cancun and I strongly suggest you go to them if you are dead set on staying at an adults only resort. Now you might be thinking this just happened to us? No. We talked to over 24 people and all of them went through the same thing we did. Big groups and couples alike. I gave this resort one star because they don't have an option for any negative stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you still go here, call to make sure you're going to the right resort of theirs.

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria la Mayimbe.
Business
Long Island, New York
Jan 25, 2014

Excellent stay!

Our check in was easy and fast so we could enjoy right away all the amenities. Everybody is very nice. We will come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RobShan
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jan 22, 2014

Bad Experience...

Sunday, January 12, 2014.. After spending the last 8 hours in an airplane, excited to begin our vacation, when we arrived, we were greeted with "sorry, the hotel is full, you need to move to our sister property"... after going back and forth, with the front desk employees, explaining the reservation was paid in full 5+ months ago, their only response was, "I understand"... their sister property is a family resort, we clearly purchased the suite at the adult resort for a reason... my husband stood his ground and insisted they fix their mistake. The hotel did not take any responsibility in the room not being available, instead pointed the finger at the agency... Thankfully, a suite would be available on Monday. Sunday night was spent in a standard room with (2) double beds. This in an "all-inclusive" resort... their attempt to accommodate us was to set up a romantic dinner in their gazebo which is located at the pool, in front of their jacuzzi, next to a very loud bar... No offers to credit us for 1 night of not using the suite we paid for. They ended up sending us chocolate covered strawberries and champagne... During our stay, we observed on a daily basis, couples arriving were being told they had to move to a different property. The towels are so old and shaggy that they are coming apart. The towels are stained... the food in the restaurants is horrible, The best food was found in the buffet which is only open for breakfast and lunch. Will never go back to this resort EVER again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the R1 or R2 bus to go shopping. Have singles for bus fair. Taxis will rang from $10-$15... depends on who the driver is.

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OscarDC
Business
DC
Jan 15, 2014

Great New Years trip!

Staff was very friendly, always had a smile on their face to help. Great location, only negative was that wireless was spotty and needed to be paid for daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruce Massie
Business
Hull, England
Dec 20, 2013

Stayed 7 Dec to 14 Dec 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable, with good amenities. the swimming pool, beach bar (Kiki's?) and beach were very good and the staff were excellent. Several of the staff doubled as activity organisers during the day and dancers/actors in the theatre at night, together with serving and helping guests - they work hard and well. The food was quantity rather than quality but certainly decent. We ate once in the Shangri-La restaurant and it was awful witht he staff seeming to want us out of their way and it was only 8pm. Al in all 7/10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cancun regular
Business
New York, NY
Dec 2, 2013

Great value

Definitely the best adult all inclusive hotel in Cancun for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TorTasCT
Business
Connecticut
Nov 10, 2013

Unexpected room upgrade

Well, we had reservations at the Golden Parnassus, however upon our arrival we were informed that there were several leaking ceilings in many of the rooms. They then informed us that they were willing to upgrade us to a VIP suite at their sister hotel, the Great Parnassus. Was an incredibly enormous room but I had made the original reservation at the Golden Parnassus due to it being an adults only resort whereas the Great Parnassus wasn't. They offered free shuttles back and forth tho, so although inconvenient, it was still doable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nebraska Dan
Business
Lincoln, Nebraska
Nov 3, 2013

Great adults only place

This hotel is not about the hotel but more about the staff. The hotel itself is showing its age and in need of updating. The staff was so friendly and willing to help you save money while there. We saved $350 on one our excursions thanks to Eric showing us how to do it on our own. The entertainment staff goes all out to make sure you have fun and keeps the party hopping. Thanks Eric, Denise and all the staff for making it a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RaiderMikePA
Business
PA
Oct 23, 2013

it was awesome!!

The resort is, as many have stated, smaller sized but to us it was perfect sized. It wasn't busy at all, never a wait at the bar or for any of the restaurants. The resort is not brand new and the rooms aren't fancy. Some area's of the resort will show its age especially if you compare it to the sister property, however, it is clean and comfortable. We stayed on the second floor and you could hear the music from the lobby at night - I think we were right above it but it was over by 11pm and then it was mostly quiet for the rest of the evening. If you are a light sleeper definitely get 4th floor or higher. We loved how you never had to make a reservation for any restaurants and there was never a wait. We loved the food, but they do love to cook w/ onions in everything lol as in your chicken & rice soup except onions aren't cooked they just throw them in at the end and lots of them, so if you aren't an onion fan just order w/out the onions! problem solved :) You have to try the french restaurant at the Great Parnassus - it was amazing!!! and again the staff was superb! We loved the Sumo but we didn't get sushi, we got chicken / beef terriyaki which was delish, got to try the fried cheese and the fried ice cream - yummy! I loved Pier 12 - seafood was great. Breezes has awesome hamburgers and tasty fries. Shrangra La & Old Barn had excellent beef meals, my fiance said as I'm more of a chicken eater! The beach was clean!! The pool was clean. The entertainment staff had something going on at all times and were super accommodating. We wanted to watch the Raiders football game and they opened the sixties bar for us and checked every channel to see if it was coming on. The staff is amazing! they go above and beyond to make you feel welcome! I'm not a big drinker I can't comment if they water down the drinks - I did ask for more raspberry vodka once in my drink and they obliged - problem solved :) The night shows were cute - we found the shows were slightly more advanced at the great parnassus but we are a cheesy couple who enjoy the shows regardless! We loved that you could walk around the main street and take the bus all over and feel safe. there is a short walk to the main road since the resort sits back but it is no different than these mega resorts that sit REALLY far off the road - the things people complain about lol Take the bus to the Isla Mall (I think that is it) mall for $1 and walk around - you will enjoy it! There is a nice aquarium there and you can swim with dolphins and even have some play time with sea lions! We did the time w/ sea lions and had a blast it was $65 /e which included entry to the aquarium and worth every penny! There is also a place there to have a fish pedicure (as seen on keeping up with the Kardashians lol ) we did it and really liked it! The rooms on the lagoon side have the most breath taking sunset and the higher up you are the better the view! We were in 227 and wished we were one (min) floor up to really take it all in! We did do the "club tour" that they mention when you check in - it isn't a time share - a bit different but similar. The tour is about an hour but the whole presentation is about 90 mins start to finish. You get 2 free nights for doing it on a future trip, plus $80 to use at the spa or gift shop, it wasn't high pressure sales at all and when I said NO, it was NO and we just left with our goody bag! To be completely honest if you are expecting a 5 star resort and a super fancy place go stay somewhere else. But if you appreciate GREAT service, in a beautiful ADULT ONLY resort (can over look a few aging spots) with a gorgeous beach, a wonderful sister property w/ many great amenities (and annoying kids lol), and MANY delicious restaurants to choose from, all at a GREAT price - then give Golden Parnassus a try - we loved it and will be back!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SailingCat
Business
Annapolis, Maryland
Oct 15, 2013

Very Bad Last Impression - Golden Parnassus

After one week of an otherwise nice stay, at checkout, the staff said we owed $2.00 US for a phone call that was made from our room, to an eyeglass store at the local mall, no less. We said we did not make the phone call. She said, nevertheless, you have to pay your bill, in effect calling us liars. We said, we have been in the hotel, you know we are pleasant people, offering tips around, why would we lie about this charge? We said, can you get a manager? She said no manager is available, you must pay the $2,00 charge. Within moments, we were surrounded by four men, blocking our exit from the hotel.. We felt threatened. She was accusing us of being liars. Finally an assistant manager came and let us leave. No apologies. VERY BAD EXPERIENCE. Lovely beach, for beach walkers, but that is true for all of Cancun. Swimming pool at the Golden Parnassus does not have a deeper end for swimming. Pool more for just floating, cooling off, socializing, playing games. Food so-so. Drinks watered down, even though they make a show of pouring from name-brand bottles, which is weird. Wine was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sky Flying was great fun. Easy to ride bus, ADO to R1, from airport.

Back to menu Return to top