$230 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 30, 2015

Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Retorno Sn. Miguelito # 37 Zona Hotelera, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
234 out of 234
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger O
Couples
Champaign Il
Mar 15, 2014

Perfect once we got moved back

Do not expect to get a room here because they overbook and send you down to the great Parnassus. We wanted an adult only resort and got moved to Disney World. Lots of young children at the Great Parnassus. That is ok if you are traveling with children which we were not. After finally getting moved back the Golden it was just what we were expecting and was very relaxing. The employees at the Golden are excellent and very personal but this place needs to quit overbooking just to fill their other resort which is the Great Parnassus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The locals will drive you crazy at the local Flee Market hounding you to buy something

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marathoner1967
Couples
Lapeer, Michigan
Mar 13, 2014

A week in the sun

This was our second time in 3 years staying at this hotel. Breaking it down, here are the pluses and minuses. Note: altho i mention more Cons than Pros, i still think this hotel is a good value and will probably return the next time we go to the Cancun area. Pros: 1. good value - was the best price per night we found among the hotels near it. 2. good entertainment staff - the employees are friendly and helpful - a lot of fun to talk to. 3. it's all-inclusive - no need to worry about paying for anything at checkout unless there's unusual circumstances. 4. they have a affiliated hotel 2 miles down the road that you can shuttle to for free. this hotel offers more dining options and expanded hours which is part of the all-inclusive price. Cons: 1. altho it's all-inclusive, there's still "tip pressure" from the employees. it's not outright pressure but you'll feel it. 2. this hotel "over booked" a # of its guests (including us) which meant we had to go to a less adult-friendly affiliated hotel the first night. this was a lot of hassle and shouldn't have happened. 3. much of the staff speaks very poor english so it wasn't always easy to communicate. 4. the desserts were pretty lifeless - easily the weakest part of the dining experience. 5. noise - we were woke up quite often in the middle of the night by drunks returning from their night out. the hotel isn't really at fault for this but it is part of the deal if you stay there. 6. smoking - altho the official policy of the hotel was "no smoking" it was allowed down by the pool so it felt like we were constantly exposed to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angie22
Family
Muskegon, mi
Mar 13, 2014

Golden time

We got bumped to the Great upon arrival at the Golden. Although this was a major disappointment, since we had been guaranteed by Or biz hat this would not happen, we were able to return the next day. We always enjoy our selves at the Golden and this time was no exception!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Horn
Couples
Racine, Wi
Mar 10, 2014

Had a GREAT time.

When we arrived at the Golden we got word that we were going to be bumped to the sister resort. Kind of a bummer, but we were upgraded to VIP level. Turns out we had a great time either way. Staff was very helpful and service was great. Hotel was not far from a Bus stop. the fare is $1 US I would suggest if you go, you might want to bring a travel type mug/ of the larger size. Drink glasses maybe 8 oz. the Beach was clean and Beach chairs could be found at all times of the Day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Did not like the market 28. It was a long ride and not worth it.

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SteveV614
Couples
Oregon, Wisconsin
Mar 5, 2014

GOLDEN BAIT AND SWITCH (AGAIN)

We arrived at the Golden on Feb 8th to be told they did not have a room for us and they were moving us t0 their water park resort. We booked an adults only vacation. I produced our confirmation from our travel agent and an email from the Golden Parnassus reservations rep which I had contacted two weeks prior to our arrival. This resort has a reputation for bumping and I thought I had taken precautions. Do not assume that your reservations are confirmed based on what agent booked your trip. It does not matter to them in the least. They wanted us to sign a contract agreeing to the terms of the move. We refused and they asked us to make a decision. We do not have a room and you can't stay here. We had booked this trip with eight other people for my birthday which also made no difference to them. We spent our entire trip in taxis between their two resorts in order to be with the friends that came to see me. The buffet food is ok and service is very slow at the restaurants which are open on a limited basis. Bartenders and wait staff are great but in NO way make up for the awful management of this resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
aw88071
Friends
Royal Oak, MI
Mar 3, 2014

Bumped to kids resort

Group of 8 people were split between adult and kids resort. Many more at front desk were being bumped also. I upgraded to second best room only to be told I would not be able to stay here for the length of my trip. Shuttling back and forth is a pain in the butt as it only runs on the hour, and only until 10PM. Staff was good, but management is terrible. Will never stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Book somewhere else

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ketiw
Couples
Orlando
Feb 27, 2014

Married couple getaway

This was just a quick getaway for us ( 4 days/3 nights). We really enjoyed our stay at the Golden Parnassus! After booking our trip I read some reviews from guests who had gotten bumped to the Great Parnassus due to overbooking but thankfully that did not happen to us. I don't know if this helped but I contacted the hotel directly through their 1-800 number to confirm. Although this is an "older" resort, we thought it was very well maintained and beautiful. The only problem I had with the room is that the bathroom is too dark and makes it impossible to put on makeup. The staff is very friendly and hardworking. We especially enjoyed the service of Alphonso (Fonzi# and Gaby at the pool bar! Fonzi makes awesome drinks! Most folks are over 40 but there were some that were younger...all in all a nice mix of people! We ate our meals at Paradise #buffet), the Pier, and the Barn. Overall I thought the food was good with plenty of choices. Don't miss the Breeze, a little snack bar down by the pool for really good cheeseburgers! We left the hotel one afternoon to go shopping and another to take the ferry to Isla Mujeres. The city bus stops right by the hotel and is clean and efficient. Hotel staff will direct you and you can tell the drivers where you want to stop. No need for pesos, they accept $1 per passenger. The ferry costs $19 per person round trip and is definitely worth the visit to Mujeres, a small island with a beautiful, calm beach for swimming and much better prices for souvenirs! Be prepared to haggle! Everywhere we went they accepted American dollars. Plenty of activities if you want to participate or just chill. The beach is beautiful and that turquoise water is stunning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A1w2f3u4l5
Family
Fort Worth TX
Feb 19, 2014

Switch

On arrival they indicated the hotel was full and we would have to go to the Family hotel. We went there and the rest of my family was at the Golden. Moved again. Very unprofessional service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buckeye Nic
Couples
Ohio
Feb 3, 2014

Great bang for your buck

Very affordable and was very impressed with the staff and the food. Be sure to get a room third floor or higher for ocean view side! Only complaint was the lack of free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Shangri La has awesome food. Make sure to bring clothes to meet the dress code!

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nadia F
Couples
Fremont, CA
Feb 1, 2014

scam!!!!!!

I'm giving this hotel one star on each point because WE NEVER GOT TO STAY THERE! Upon arrival we were told that they didn't have any rooms available (what's the point of making a reservation?) and they sent us to their "sister hotel" - Great Parnassus, which is about 2 miles away and is a family resort. Apparently, this happens often and it is their way of selling the rooms in Great Parnassus, which btw is more then twice cheaper, for the price of an upscale resort. We were promised a VIP suite at the other hotel as a compensation, with a Jacuzzi on the balcony and stuff, but the room was very mediocre for a suite and poorly maintained too...Bottom line, we booked Golden Parnassus specifically because of its amenities and because it was adults only resort, and we didn't get what we paid for. TOTAL RIP OFF!!!! If you book Golden Parnassus, check out Great Parnassus as well, there is a good chance you will end up there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

for good cocktails in the area, go to Captain's Cove Bar. Happy hour till 6 pm - by one get one free :)

Back to menu Return to top