$255 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Retorno Sn. Miguelito # 37 Zona Hotelera, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Oct 26, 2009

Wild and Crazy!! But definetely FUN!!!

If you have realistic expectations you will not be dissatisfied! It is not the Ritz, but do you really spend that much time in your room while in Mexico anyway?? Rooms clean, Staff was terrific, drinks were good! Food good. Pool nice, and best beach in area! what more can you ask for? Noticed that this was the only hotel in both directions that actually had guests! Hotels on both sides were almost empty! Over a week stay, the guests flow changed from wild to more conservative, so be prepared for both! Just enjoy!! it's Mexico!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You must get a hamburger at the pool grill!! unbelievably good!! and also got one of the best massages at the spa!! they will come around beach/pool area with discounts!! worth it!

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 20, 2009

Great Vacation

Great place for the value we got. Fun, but needed a swim up bar at pool and some updated music. Overall a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
rising sun, md
Oct 6, 2009

Perfect

This was perfect for a couple day get away. Everyones relaxed and just trying to have a good time. Will absolutely stay again next time im in cancun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FW Hank
Business
Newburgh, New York
Sep 21, 2009

Like a retirement home with a good beach

I tried not to believe all the bad reviews that i had read about this hotel. Well, from the minute i walked in and was handed a damp towel to wipe the sweat that was dripping off of me in their lobby; i became worried. After listening to the welcome tour in the hot lobby, we went to our hot room with furniture that looked like it was made in the 70's. We had a wonderful view, a great jacuzzi.....and not much else. The bed is small and hard. The TV has basic cable. We got the gold package with jacuzzi on the 6th floor. Our champagne was not on ice and our welcome basket was a couple of fruits and some stale cookies. The A/C in our room was fixed however pretty quickly, But the rest of the hotel was very hot. The outside late night snack area was unbearably hot. Plus all you could order was a hamburger or cheeseburger or some stale nachos. Most importantly, The bars dont open up until 10am and they close at 2am. We had the lights turned off on us while we were having a drink at the bar and were basically told to go to our room. I felt like i was in a retirement home. I like a nice bloody mary ,a red beer ,or screwdriver with breakfast while on vacation and i want it served to me. This will not happen here. Other resorts allow you to drink all day and keep their lights and a/c on all night. The beach is great however. It is small,but has nice sand and clear blue water. Be very Careful getting to the beach as there is a dropoff that is kind of dangerous and some rocks near the dropoff. The food is very bad and i lost weight while on vacation. Every other time i went to Cancun at other resorts , I gained weight because the food was so good i wanted to keep eating. So if you just want a good tan, want to stay sober, and lose weight while feeling trapped in a retirement home in the 70's....this is your place. Nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay away from Market 28. Alot of drunk troublemakers there. We saw three people getting arrested in one day and the deals are not worth the hot bus ride or cab ride. Go to the fleamarket if you want to haggle and deal. The fleamarket is closer and just as cheap with plenty of selection. STAY AWAY FROM MARKET 28......

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Sep 8, 2009

Great Beach Getaway

We visited the Golden Parnassus over Labor Day Weekend and had a great time. This was our first time at an all-inclusive resort and we felt we got a good deal overall. Plenty of activities if you like that sort of thing. We brought a stack of $1's and I'd recommend bringing 10-15 for each day your there. We tipped the maids a few dollars each day, the waiters at dinner, and any bartender if we were going to be getting more than 1-2 drinks from them. We're early 20's and had plenty of fun, I'd say there were two main groups of people: people in their 20's and then the 40+ crowd Room: Our room was nice. Fairly standard but nice hotel room, nothing special but definitely more than sufficient. The cleaning staff does a great job. Beach: The beach front by the hotel is great! There's a bar right on the beach. There are 10-12 thatched shade providing poles and plenty of lounges. It is only 50 ft or so from the hotel steps to the water and the beach is approx this wide all along the hotel zone. The sand is soft and there are many water sport providers right on the beach (NOT included with hotel) for parasailing/etc. The water was great but the slop of the beach and the waves are NOT conducive to good boogie boarding. Pool: We thought the pool was very nice. No swim-up bar which seemed to disappoint a lot of people. As for as swimwear, most was standard US beach stuff, though you did see a few women sunning topless and the occasional speedo. Food: The breakfast/lunch meals didn't have a lot of variety but were good quality each day and we were satisfied with each. 3 of the resort's 4 dinner restaurants are open each night. While we were there, we ate at the Shangri-La, the Barn, and Pier 12 and all were very good. The Shangri-La is the only one with a dress code but is definitely worth it. Check the schedule for which restaurants are open and I'd eat there often. The Barn was good, though they overcook the steaks a bit so order your steak more rare than you normally would. Drinks: Plenty of bars all over the hotel. Great service. Not top shelf booze but it's still good. Beer selection is basically Dos Equis or Corona. Good mixed drinks. ***BRING YOUR OWN WATER BOTTLE*** the glasses they serve you in are about 8 oz but they're happy to fill up something bigger if you bring it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at Shangri-La the most often!

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B & C From Pa.
Business
PA
Sep 6, 2009

Room Sevice Lacked

They were to have a basket of fruit in room, was4 apples&couple grapes, also wine, wasn't on ice. The first night there was in jacuuzi and someone opened our room door without even knocking. called room service &sometimes would have to call them back,before they would even come. was suppose to stock fridge dailey & didnot,when complained about it ,they said give us what you hav in the fridge & we'll trade you. The luncheon boatwas a joke,food was cold. didn't last long. Activties were stupid,had to beg guests to play.Nothing to do at night, no shows etc....Small portions of food served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London Ohio
Sep 5, 2009

great vacation

The employees at this hotel did an excellent job along with the entertainment staff especially the people involved with the pool activities. We are an older couple who still like to party and have fun, but the noise in the a.m is bad in your room from the people just getting in from the bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Got to do the jungle tour, it was great.

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Dude
Business
Downey, Ca
Sep 3, 2009

Good location and away from the noise

I really enjoyed the variety of food available at the hotel. The five restaurants located in the hotel, each have a unique taste. These restaurants made it fun to dine in at the hotel. The best part is it was all inclusive! Most of my time in Cancun, I spent it out doing excursions and activities outside the hotel. However the time I was there at the hotel I spent it out at the beach, swimming, and soaking up the sunrays. In the evenings I spent it either by the bar or in the yacussi/pool drinking pina coladas. I really didn't feel that anything was missing because I went with friends. So we had each other to entertain ourselves, not to mention all the friendly people I met from different parts of the world. This was an enjoyable trip for me. I had never been to Cancun but I could say for sure that it was one of the best trips I have taken. I would definetly return to Cancun and bring my kids next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you stay at the Golden Parnassus then you also have access to the Great Parnassus, the sister hotel of the Golden Parnassus. This will open up more options to your dining experience. Unfortunately I did not take advantage of this detail because of time. There is a free shuttle that will take you from the Golden Parnassus to the Great Parnassus and back. Another hint: You can also use their facilities. If you are into working out, the Great Parnassus has a much better workout room, by far, than the Golden Parnassus!

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doomie
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 2, 2009

Great and charming all-inclusive

This was a nice opportunity for us to relax at the beach. The hotel has an actual beach with lots of sand and no rocks - something that other hotels in the hotel zone actually lack!You can go to the sister hotel - Great Parnassus - using the free hotel shuttle and enjoy their amenities for free.The pool-side bar is lively at night and the bartender ([...]) is simply awesome.Not the most modern hotel in the area, but it's not too shabby either. If you absolutely require freezing AC, then the rooms will probably not be for you. The AC did a good enough job for us though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

"Sumo" restaurant is meh in terms of food. "Old Barn" has most people and much better food. "Shangri-la" has a pants&shirt&shoes policy. "Pier-12" has the nicest view.

Review of Golden Parnassus Resort and Spa Cancun- Adults Only All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New york
Sep 2, 2009

Home away from home

Me and my husband spent seven days at this hotel for our honeymoon. We had a great time and meet some wonderful people. The entertainment staff are great and you will never be bored! We had no problems with our air conditioning and we were plenty cool. The beach is by far one of the best, way better than the other hotel. We did have a golden room so we had a mini bar in the room and i had to call down repeatedly to get someone to come up and restock it, the food was okay but not great....The buffet was definetley the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top