$321 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 4, 2015

GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulan Lote 59-2 ETAPA, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
917 reviews
Awesome vacation

This hotel has very good service. The staffs are very friendly and like to serve for you. See full review

  • ddyy
  • Jan 28, 2015
Great stuff

So much fun! Crystal clear water!! Stuff is super friendly and the Michael Jackson show was... See full review

  • Barby84
  • Jan 24, 2015
All-inclusive, cost-conscious comfort in Cancun, along the Caribbean

The GR Solaris Cancun Resort & Spa is a budget-minded beachfront property in the hotel zone featuring nightly entertainment, water activities and dining at five restaurants. Rooms are comfortable with balconies and picturesque views. The resort has four swimming pools -- including adults only and relaxing pools -- a private marina with non-motorized water sports, spa with fully equipped gym. Kids find something to love, too, at the on-site club.

Highlights
  • Reasonably priced, all-inclusive accommodations for couples and families
  • Nightly theme parties and professional live performances in an on-site theater
  • Private marina offering non-motorized water sports
Rooms
Warm, comfortable guest rooms with vibrant touches, such as yellow and blue bedspreads, have one king or two double beds as well as private balconies and 24-hour room service with views of the tropical grounds, lagoon, garden or ocean. Additional amenities include 27-inch satellite TVs, clocks with CD players, direct dial phones with voicemail, in-room safe and bathroom with shower, vanity mirror and hair dryer. Spa deluxe rooms offer added luxuries, such as a 30-minute hot stone or Hawaiian massage.
Dining
Guests of this all-inclusive resort enjoy unlimited meals, snacks and beverages at all restaurants and bars. Options range from a seaside Mexican restaurant to a casual cafe and international gourmet dining room. Two bars give grown-ups a place to relax. The hotel offers special menu choices for vegetarians, diabetics and gluten-free diets. Feel free to ask the waiters for the special hotel menu. Also available are special menus  and delicious cocktails designed for children at any of  our  restaurants.
Entertainment
Professional performances including a Mexican dance show, folkloric ballet, disco-themed fete, spectacular magician and circus-theme show.
Recreation
There are many activities for guests of all ages including a central pool, adults-only relaxing pool, fitness center and marina with non-motorized water sports. Aqua aerobics and beach games provide additional ways to pass the time. There is also a spa (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • El Rey ruins (1.3 mi/ 2 km)
  • Parque Nizuc aquatic park (1.3 mi/ 2 km)
  • Playa Delfines (2 mi/ 3.2 km)
  • Kukulcan Plaza (4 mi/ 6.4 km)
  • La Isla shopping plaza (4 mi/ 6.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room w/balcony
- One king bed or two double beds
- Balcony or terrace furnished with two chairs and small table
- View of resort grounds, garden view (based on availability). 32 square meters (344 square feet).
- Caramel-colored furnishings including two-chair dining set.
- 27-inch satellite TV. Clock radio/alarm clock with CD player.
- Direct-dial phone with voice mail.
- Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water.
- Coffee/tea maker.
- Bathroom with shower, vanity mirror, and hair dryer.
- In-room safe.
- Iron/ironing board.
- Air conditioning.
Ocean View Room w/balcony
- One king bed or two double beds.
- Balcony or terrace furnished with two chairs and small table.
- Spectacular partial Ocean view, 32 square meters (344 square feet).
- Caramel-colored furnishings including two-chair dining set. 27-inch satellite TV. Clock radio/alarm clock with CD player.
- Direct-dial phone with voice mail.
- Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water.
- Coffee/tea maker.
- Bathroom with shower, vanity mirror, and hair dryer.
- In-room safe.
- Iron/ironing board.
- Air conditioning.
Honeymoon Ocean view with Jacuzzi and balcony:
- One king size bed
- Terrace with private jetted tub facing the ocean.
- Spectacular Ocean view, 32 square meters (344 square feet).
- Caramel-colored furnishings including two-chair dining set. 27-inch satellite TV. Clock radio/alarm clock with CD player.
- Direct-dial phone with voice mail.
- Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water.
- Coffee/tea maker.
- Bathroom with shower, vanity mirror, and hair dryer.
- In-room safe.
- Iron/ironing board.
- Air conditioning.
Romance Ocean view room w/balcony
- Deluxe Ocean view room
- Bathrobes and slippers
-A bottle of sparkling wine
-A deluxe candlelight dinner for two, either in restaurant, pool area, ocean-view gazebo, or private room terrace.
Panoramic Double Ocean View Room
One king size bed with ocean front view and ocean view room , Balcony facing the ocean, furnished with two chairs and small table, TV satellite, soft green and beige colored furnishings including two-chair dining set. 27-inch satellite TV. Bathrobes and slippers , clock radio/alarm clock with CD player. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water. Coffee/tea maker. Bathroom with shower, scale, vanity mirror, and hair dryer. In-room safe. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning
Deluxe Lagoon view - jetted tub
1 king bed. Terrace or balcony facing the lagoon with jetted tub , 2 chairs and one round table. Desk. In-room safe. Cable/satellite television channels. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Shower only. Makeup/shaving mirror. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Climate control.
Super Saver Ocean View Room
Limited Time offer! Deluxe room with splendid ocean view in one king size or two double beds and terrace or balcony,
Caramel-colored furnishings including two-chair dining set.
- 27-inch satellite TV. Clock radio/alarm clock with CD player.
- Direct-dial phone with voice mail.
- Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water.
- Coffee/tea maker.
- Bathroom with shower, vanity mirror, and hair dryer.
- In-room safe.
- Iron/ironing board.
- Air conditioning.
b) Categora: Deluxe Ocean Front
One king or 2 double beds. This room opens to a balcony. Wireless Internet access (surcharge) keeps you connected. A minibar and a coffee/tea maker are supplied. You will have a shower, as well as complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a safe, and a desk are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Playa Delfines: 0.7 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2.4 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.9 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 6.5 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 6.7 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 6.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 7.9 mi

Dining

Deli
- Casual fare - enjoy casual snacks including baguettes, bagels, sandwiches, paninis and croissants with a wide variety of meats and vegetables.
- Locates: In the main pool area
- Air Conditioned
- Open from 4 pm to 6:30 am.
- Dress code not required
Marco Polo
- International cuisine - enjoy splendid cuisine from all over the world.
- Seven different cuisine types weekly including: Italian, Mexican, Mediterranean, Asian, and French.
- Dinner only
- Air Conditioned
- Reservation required.
- Casual attire: long pants, no beach sandals.
Rosmarinus
- International specialties - enjoy buffet lunch in this spectacular palapa with ocean view.
- Menu includes: Mexican specialities, vegetarian and low carb or italian, accompanied with wide menu of fruits daiquiris. Also fell the marine breeze and enjoy our theme a la carta dinners

- No reservation required.
- Informal attire: No swimming suit
CafeSolaris
- International cuisine - enjoy a delicious breakfast buffet at Caf Solaris with spectacular ocean view.
- Dinner buffets several nights per week highlight international cuisine
- Air Conditioned
- Reservation not required.
- Dress code no required
The Snack
- Serves burgers, nachos, pizza, French fries.
- Lunch
- Dress code not required
Pool Bar
Swim-up bar serving alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages; no food. Open from mid-morning to late afternoon
Lobby Bar
Cushioned sofas and small tables for enjoying a variety of domestic and some imported drinks and live music nightly

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
GR Solaris Cancun all inclusive offers conference and convention facilities to accommodate up to 500 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (917)

Ratings and reviews for GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
917 out of 917
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed from NJ
Business
NJ
May 4, 2009

Poor Hotel

Have stayed in other hotels in Cancun and this was the worst one. Did not like the clinetelle, food, or amenities. Staff only allowed for one pool side towel and one room key.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M Goldie
Business
Minnesota, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Would not recommend

The one nice restaurant on the property required an in-person reservation to be made at 8:00 a.m. the same day. Because we on vacation, we were rarely up this early. Food at the other restaurants was mostly overcooked and cold. Deli was okay. Entertainment was poor. Got the "hard sell" the minute we checked in rather than allowing us to go to our room and relax. Would never stay at this resort again or recommend to anyone else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mail4cindyr
Business
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jul 26, 2012

Deceptively beautiful but lacking quality

We stayed for over two weeks which was eye opening. The hotel is all hard surfaces which makes the whole building an echo chamber. You can hear the neighbors and every footstep through the hallways. The concierge services are there to sell timeshares. Just tell them you've prebooked activities every day. The best values are to book activists online, before your travel dates. The restaurants have constantly changing menus, none of which they are good at. From canned ingredients to instant potatoes it is not what you expect for the price. Even the fine dining restaurant served the same basic ingredients and was inadequate when it comes to culinary arts standards. The dinner shows were decent. The karaoke nights were hard to walk by! Pool parties were lots of crazy fun. The front desk doesn't offer to confirm your transportation unless you pay. They will also not do online checking for you with the airlines. You can rent a computer but it's not connected to a printer. They are also cryptic about restaurant reservations if you speak english you are too late. If you speak Spanish they will direct you to another restaurant where they can help you. Don't leave valuables in your room! If your watch goes missing, be sure to let the front desk know you just want it to come back. It will reappear in an hour or so! The area is safe and secure. Bring ear plugs and plan to eat out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The tacos were usually decent but very well cooked. The best food item was the room service grilled chicken!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MD819
Business
NY, LI
Aug 13, 2012

GLORIFIED CHUCK E CHEESE

Went with 4 others and had 2 deluxe lagoon rooms, we had stayed 4 years ago and I must say this resort has changed dramatically. I had contacted the resort 2 weeks prior to arrival and two days prior to make sure they were aware that we were coming to celebrate the 30th birthdays of the other two guests. We had requested special arrangements at Marco Polo and room decorations and sure enough nothing was ever done even though "Maria Carbajal" said it was going to be ready and done, buffet use to be decent but has become nothing short of a stomach ache and bad service. Requested a cup of coffee 3 times and never got one..Adult only pool, filled with screaming jumping splashing children, some not even in swimwear. My airline lost my luggage and when I used the phone to make a call to the airport 3 or 4 times and it was only 10 minutes up the road, it racked me $70 in phone fees, bad draining system in bathrooms and pool and lobby bathrooms had urine and humane feces over the seats as well as over flowing with human waste tissues in garbage cans next to toilets..alcohol was poor to none. Our one room had gotten housekeeping services that were decent but our room was never as decent. Guest's are hounded by "Concierge" aka Salesmen for time shares or as they say "Club memberships" the only great service was by the Bell boys who would do what they could to make you laugh when your trip was not going so well...I find that this resort is ok for people that have children on a very tight budget and dont mind eating heat lamped food and very poor housekeeping services..The beach is ok but nothing grand like some of the other resorts down the strip, not allot to do have to venture out to find stuff. Needless to say after going there 2x I will not be returning, overall you get what you pay for.Disappointed t the extreme

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Senor frogs and ages 21-30 Coco Bongo any older your ear drums will rupture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MD819
Business
NY, LI
Aug 13, 2012

you get what you pay for

Rooms were dirty, poor draining system, toilets in lobby, pool bar and spa area always had feces or urine on them. Too many children in the "Adult only" pool half of them no bathing suits. Other guest letting their kids use the buffet as their personal grab food with their hands and putting it back system and the food was of poor quality, coffee trucks have better selection of food. Alcohol is limited to Bacardi, Smirrnoff or Jose Cuervo...drinks are unenjoyable and made with too much drink mix..I have had better Tortillas at Taco Bell. My second time staying here and now it is my last...will go to a diff resort next time, otherwise Cancun is a beautiful place to go and the residents are kind, happy and loving people. The culture is rich with history and family traditions that are not frequently seen in America..I love my Country USA, but I respect theirs for the traditions they so proudly carry. Love you Cancun..never again Gr Solaris..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Jungle tour, Lanzellos resturaunt and Senor Frogs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tropical routine
Business
US
Dec 1, 2012

star overrated. horrible customer service.

the hotel itself is by no means a 4-star (way inflated). food is soso. entertainment staff are bright though. customer service is the worst part. fairly cold front desk people not trying to be helpful at all. they get rude and start talking nonsense when you ask for more info. stay with better brand names.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Delly3985
Business
New York, NY
Dec 26, 2012

I Will Not Return

Where do I begin? I visited the GR Solaris from 12/6/12-12/10/12 for a friends bday. It was NOT at all what I expected. The food was horrible (pics attached), the service was atrocious, and my sheets were dirty! When you walk into the hotel for the first time it seems great with the wonderful view of the beach. However, things quickly take a turn for the worse. 1. They make it seem like there are many different dining options but fail to mention that only 1 or two places are open at a time. This means you really don’t have much to choose from. 2. The food is by far the worst I’ve ever had at a hotel. On the 1st night we attempted to eat at the buffet but had to leave because it was so bad. We then tried the deli but that was inedible as well. I mean, really, how do you mess up a turkey sandwich?!? We had to leave the property to find food worth eating. The only saving grace is breakfast. While it was far from gourmet, it was at least edible. 3. The service was not good. AT ALL. The employees at the front desk act as though you are bothering them when asking for basic things, i.e. extra blankets, someone to come up and change your DIRTY sheets, etc. One morning we asked the concierge to make dinner reservations at an off-site restaurant. We were late for a tour so asked her to leave word with the front desk as to whether the reservation was made and for what time. Upon our return, we learned that no note was left. We asked the front desk to call the restaurant to check and we were told NO. We would have to call from our room. Of course, that was so that they could charge us the connection fee for local calls. We went to the concierge on duty and he said he knows nothing about what the other concierge does. “That’s a different department”. Multiple concierge departments in one hotel? Really? We then asked him to make us reservations and he told us that his phone doesn’t work. That his job is only to tell people about the all inclusive program. No one was willing to help us by placing a simple phone call. While there is a lot to complain about at this horrible establishment, there were two employees that were absolutely wonderful and they must be acknowledged. George from the travel desk was absolutely amazing. We booked our tours through him and enjoyed every single one of them. He went out of his way to ensure that we got what we needed. Ray must also be acknowledged. He helped us find the best parties, gave us great restaurant recommendations and was nothing but pleasant each time we saw him. Overall, it was a bad experience. I will never return to this hotel or visit any of its affiliates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Girls from New Jersey
Business
New Jersey
Feb 7, 2013

Horrible experience!

the hotel was ok the people themselves were very nice ...the place was clean....beds were not comfortable....food was horrible....dont know how i gained weight cause i didnt eat...must be all the drinking i did....weather sucked....rained and cloudy half the time i was there....beach was gorgeous! over all i did not feel like a special guest by some of the staff if there was a problem.(the people at the front desk did not want to accomadate you) but the wait staff was over accomodating....so you decide i would consider this not a 4 star hotel more like a 2.5 or 3. Save your money longer and go for less time to stay at a 5 star hotel....it really is a difference......i dont know who rated this place but they must have drank too much Tequila

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JEH Mom
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Apr 1, 2013

HUGE disappointment

We got to the hotel & it looked nice from outside & the lobby was nice. That ended when we got to the room. It was small, even though we upgraded to a "deluxe ocean view". The beds were rock hard & my husband called to ask if we could change rooms, even offered to pay difference for an upgrade. He was told there were no more rooms available but they would send up a mattress pad. We waited for it about 3 hours & no one ever showed with a mattress pad even with 3 calls to the front desk. We were told when we got there that there was nothing open for us to get something to eat (all-inclusive?). We walked around the property & went by the brown pool with cloudy water. My son stuck his hand in the water & said it stunk. When we got back to the room still no sign of the mattress pad. We called Hard Rock, they had a room so we got over there as quickly as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kyleisnotHappy
Business
seattle
Feb 18, 2014

Be careful if you stay here

This was my 4th time staying at the GR Solaris Cancun I have had nothing but amazing things to say about the GR solaris until this trip. I was told this trip that the Gr is under new ownership, I'm not sure if that is true or not but by the end of the week it was obvious that the GR is headed in a new direction that is opposite the direction that has made me a loyal guest to the resort for many years. 1. During checkout, I was unjustly charged for 11 hours of internet use in my room that was never used. I was told that to use the internet I had to enter my room number and last name and accept the GR internet policy. that never happened and was told I was lying and would not be allowed to check out with out with out paying the false charges. They then told me they would only accept my credit card as payment and that they would not accept cash or pesos. they also said that they needed to take a photo copy of the front and back of my credit card to verify the funds, To which I said no! I was then told that I would not be able to checkout with out paying for this false charge. After waiting 20 minutes for the manager who was in a meeting and decided not to show up??? big surprise, and not letting them have and copy my credit card I realized that If they were not going to let me sign out I could potentially miss my flight. I told them that I would pay the false charge in cash or pesos if they would allow me to checkout and make my flight they then wanted to photo copy my passport and drivers license because the bank required those to deposit cash or pesos! to which I said no! and finally after way too long I was allowed to pay cash and check out! I'm not sure what the goal of all this was but don't let this happen to you. I wasn't the first or the only person to feel this way. As we were checking in the family in front of us was checking out and having the same problem and as I was checking out the couple next to me had a Issue as well. If you stay here remember they do not need to copy your credit card front and back and they do not need to copy your passport or drivers license for any reason! 2. they now give "members" different colored towels, wristbands and had at least 4 special members only meals during our week there. It seems like the GR is aiming to serve the members first and the regular guests second. Not how it used to be and not a good way to get return visitors. 3. After the front desk false fee fiasco and in a mad rush to get everything out of our room we forgot one of our wallets in the safe and didn't realize it until we were at the airport. I called the GR today and was told that they had the wallet but they would not do anything with it or help in any way to have it shipped back. I asked if I arranged a UPS pick up for it would they be wiling to put the wallet in and envelope for the UPS driver to which they replied no. It is very unfortunate that this is happening at a place that has been so very great in the past! the program staff, bartenders, and servers are still top notch and made our week great but the front desk staff's customer service and sketchy fees and credit card policies were enough to convince me to write this small novel about my most recent experience at the GR Solaris Very disappointed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top