$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 14, 2014

GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

4 stars
Blvd. Kukulan Lote 59-2 ETAPA, Cancun, 77500
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
824 reviews
Great Vacation!

This is my 4th time in 5 years to this resort and each time I come home so pleased with everything... See full review

  • Stonepoint
  • Apr 7, 2014
Love the GR solaris!!

It was our second time to the GR and again it was amazing. The location is perfect, the staff is so... See full review

  • Tori Buelow
  • Apr 5, 2014
All-inclusive, cost-conscious comfort in Cancun, along the Caribbean

The GR Solaris Cancun Resort & Spa is a budget-minded beachfront property in the hotel zone featuring nightly entertainment, water activities and dining at five restaurants. Rooms are comfortable with balconies and picturesque views. The resort has four swimming pools -- including adults only and relaxing pools -- a private marina with non-motorized water sports, spa with fully equipped gym. Kids find something to love, too, at the on-site club.

Highlights
  • Reasonably priced, all-inclusive accommodations for couples and families
  • Nightly theme parties and professional live performances in an on-site theater
  • Private marina offering non-motorized water sports
Rooms
Warm, comfortable guest rooms with vibrant touches, such as yellow and blue bedspreads, have one king or two double beds as well as private balconies and 24-hour room service with views of the tropical grounds, lagoon, garden or ocean. Additional amenities include 27-inch satellite TVs, clocks with CD players, direct dial phones with voicemail, in-room safe and bathroom with shower, vanity mirror and hair dryer. Spa deluxe rooms offer added luxuries, such as a 30-minute hot stone or Hawaiian massage.
Dining
Guests of this all-inclusive resort enjoy unlimited meals, snacks and beverages at all restaurants and bars. Options range from a seaside Mexican restaurant to a casual cafe and international gourmet dining room. Two bars give grown-ups a place to relax. The hotel offers special menu choices for vegetarians, diabetics and gluten-free diets. Feel free to ask the waiters for the special hotel menu. Also available are special menus  and delicious cocktails designed for children at any of  our  restaurants.
Entertainment
Professional performances including a Mexican dance show, folkloric ballet, disco-themed fete, spectacular magician and circus-theme show.
Recreation
There are many activities for guests of all ages including a central pool, adults-only relaxing pool, fitness center and marina with non-motorized water sports. Aqua aerobics and beach games provide additional ways to pass the time. There is also a spa (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Cancun International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • El Rey ruins (1.3 mi/ 2 km)
  • Parque Nizuc aquatic park (1.3 mi/ 2 km)
  • Playa Delfines (2 mi/ 3.2 km)
  • Kukulcan Plaza (4 mi/ 6.4 km)
  • La Isla shopping plaza (4 mi/ 6.4 km)

GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe Room w/balcony
- One king bed or two double beds
- Balcony or terrace furnished with two chairs and small table
- View of resort grounds, lagoon or garden view (based on availability). 32 square meters (344 square feet).
- Caramel-colored furnishings including two-chair dining set.
- 27-inch satellite TV. Clock radio/alarm clock with CD player.
- Direct-dial phone with voice mail.
- Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water.
- Coffee/tea maker.
- Bathroom with shower, vanity mirror, and hair dryer.
- In-room safe.
- Iron/ironing board.
- Air conditioning.
Ocean View Room w/balcony
- One king bed or two double beds.
- Balcony or terrace furnished with two chairs and small table.
- Spectacular Ocean view, 32 square meters (344 square feet).
- Caramel-colored furnishings including two-chair dining set. 27-inch satellite TV. Clock radio/alarm clock with CD player.
- Direct-dial phone with voice mail.
- Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water.
- Coffee/tea maker.
- Bathroom with shower, vanity mirror, and hair dryer.
- In-room safe.
- Iron/ironing board.
- Air conditioning.
Honeymoon Ocean view with Jacuzzi and balcony:
- One king size bed
- Terrace with private jetted tub facing the ocean.
- Spectacular Ocean view, 32 square meters (344 square feet).
- Caramel-colored furnishings including two-chair dining set. 27-inch satellite TV. Clock radio/alarm clock with CD player.
- Direct-dial phone with voice mail.
- Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water.
- Coffee/tea maker.
- Bathroom with shower, vanity mirror, and hair dryer.
- In-room safe.
- Iron/ironing board.
- Air conditioning.
Romance Ocean view room w/balcony
- Deluxe Ocean view room
- Bathrobes and slippers
-A bottle of sparkling wine
-A deluxe candlelight dinner for two, either in restaurant, pool area, ocean-view gazebo, or private room terrace.
Panoramic Double Ocean View Room
One king size bed with ocean front view and ocean view room , Balcony facing the ocean, furnished with two chairs and small table, TV satellite, soft green and beige colored furnishings including two-chair dining set. 27-inch satellite TV. Bathrobes and slippers , clock radio/alarm clock with CD player. Direct-dial phone with voice mail. Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water. Coffee/tea maker. Bathroom with shower, scale, vanity mirror, and hair dryer. In-room safe. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning
Deluxe Lagoon view - jetted tub
1 king bed. Terrace or balcony facing the lagoon with jetted tub , 2 chairs and one round table. Desk. In-room safe. Cable/satellite television channels. Direct-dial phone. Voice mail. Wireless Internet access (surcharge). CD player. Clock radio. Minibar. Coffee/tea maker. Shower only. Makeup/shaving mirror. Hair dryer. Complimentary toiletries. Iron/ironing board. Air conditioning. Climate control.
Super Saver Ocean View Room
Limited Time offer! Deluxe room with splendid ocean view in one king size or two double beds and terrace or balcony,
Caramel-colored furnishings including two-chair dining set.
- 27-inch satellite TV. Clock radio/alarm clock with CD player.
- Direct-dial phone with voice mail.
- Minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, and water.
- Coffee/tea maker.
- Bathroom with shower, vanity mirror, and hair dryer.
- In-room safe.
- Iron/ironing board.
- Air conditioning.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

21.0551 -86.7814
Area served
The GR Solaris is located on Cancuns most pristine strip of white sand beach and the crystal clear tourquoise water of the caribbean sea. We are conveniently located only 10 minutes from the airport and 20 minutes from the downtown.
Nearby airports
CUN-CANCUN International Airport 10 minutes.
Area description
Beach front hotel located in the hotel zone, only 15 minutes away from the convention center and Cancun's nightlife and restaurants.

Nearby points of interest

  • Iberostar Cancun Golf Course: 0.4 mi
  • Playa Delfines: 0.7 mi
  • Wet'n Wild Cancun: 2.3 mi
  • Dolphinaris Cancun: 2.4 mi
  • Avenida Kukulkan: 2.9 mi
  • Riviera Cancun Golf: 3.7 mi
  • Interactive Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • El Rey Ruins: 4 mi
  • Playa Tortugas: 6.5 mi
  • Dubai Palace Casino: 6.7 mi
  • Museo Maya de Cancun: 6.7 mi
  • Avenida Tulum: 7.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
GR Solaris Cancun all inclusive offers conference and convention facilities to accommodate up to 500 guests.

Dining

Deli
- Casual fare - enjoy casual snacks including baguettes, bagels, sandwiches, paninis and croissants with a wide variety of meats and vegetables.
- Locates: In the main pool area
- Air Conditioned
- Open from 4 pm to 6:30 am.
- Dress code not required
Marco Polo
- International cuisine - enjoy splendid cuisine from all over the world.
- Seven different cuisine types weekly including: Italian, Mexican, Mediterranean, Asian, and French.
- Dinner only
- Air Conditioned
- Reservation required.
- Casual attire: long pants, no beach sandals.
Rosmarinus
- International specialties - enjoy buffet lunch in this spectacular palapa with ocean view.
- Menu includes: Mexican specialities, vegetarian and low carb or italian, accompanied with wide menu of fruits daiquiris. Also fell the marine breeze and enjoy our theme a la carta dinners

- No reservation required.
- Informal attire: No swimming suit
CafeSolaris
- International cuisine - enjoy a delicious breakfast buffet at Caf Solaris with spectacular ocean view.
- Dinner buffets several nights per week highlight international cuisine
- Air Conditioned
- Reservation not required.
- Dress code no required
The Snack
- Serves burgers, nachos, pizza, French fries.
- Lunch
- Dress code not required
Pool Bar
Swim-up bar serving alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages; no food. Open from mid-morning to late afternoon
Lobby Bar
Cushioned sofas and small tables for enjoying a variety of domestic and some imported drinks and live music nightly

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (824)

Ratings and reviews for GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
456 out of 824
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
jchick25
Wilmington, DE
Apr 10, 2014

Nice Quick Getaway

My husband and I stayed at the GR Solaris for four nights as a quick getaway to get a little sun and relaxation. This was our first all inclusive experience, so we weren't quite sure what to expect. Check in was very easy and we were quickly served drinks while waiting for everything to be finished up. The lobby area is very nice and the lobby bar is great with delicious cocktails. The room was average but clean. Our room faced the hotel next door, but we could see the the ocean and the lagoon from the balcony. The major, major downside of our room was the noise level. Our room had an adjoining room (just a wooden door separating the two) and we could hear literally everything that was happening next door. Even with normal noise level, it was as if the other people were in our room. It was really uncomfortable hearing everything and knowing our neighbors could hear us as well. As far as the grounds were concerned, the pools were nice and the beach was great. The ocean was pretty rough but the water was beautifully clear. I preferred the beach over the pools most days as the pool was very crowded and everyone was on top of one another. The staff running drinks were fantastic. They always seemed to appear at just the right time! On the subject of drinks...the fruity cocktails outside were sickeningly sweet and they all tasted exactly the same, regardless of what you ordered. I will say, however, that did not stop me from over indulging! Lastly, the food, oh the food. This was my biggest fear about an all inclusive. My husband and I are kind of foodies and love going out to eat and trying new things. The food here was disappointing. Breakfast and lunch were fine (the pico de gallo and guac were great!) but dinner was often a big disappointment. We ate at the buffets 3 out of the 4 nights. 1 night we ate at the more "upscale" Marco Polo restaurant, which was equally as disappointing as the buffet. Overall, we had a lot of fun on our trip and it was fine for a quick getaway. If you are looking for a decent place to stay for a cheap price, I would recommend this hotel. Just go in with the expectation that you aren't going to be blown away by anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Fill up during breakfast and lunch because dinner is hit or miss.

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
Tori Buelow
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Apr 5, 2014

Love the GR solaris!!

It was our second time to the GR and again it was amazing. The location is perfect, the staff is so friendly, the pool has an awesome tropical feel. The beach is beautiful. The food is delicious! Anything you want, they will make it happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
May22
Dallas tx
Apr 4, 2014

Great hotel

The hotel is perfect in size. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus, it's only $1 fare.

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Mntim
Minnesota, USA
Mar 30, 2014

Good value resort

This is our 3rd trip to Mexico and our third resort. Our initial impression was the size of the resort being really small. We were a little disappointed at first, but ended up really liking the fact that there was very few times we needed to wait in lines for food or bar. The staff was exceptionally courteous during our stay with exception to the front desk. Front desk persons were not friendly and did not provide any information to us when we first checked in. We had to wander around looking for the elevator, then guess which floor our room was on since all room number start with 8. When we finally asked which floor to go to, we were laughed at. The rest of the staff deserved a 6 out of 5 stars. Hamilton and Luis were so great we tried to talk them into moving back home with us. Food was great once you found what you liked. Resort is good for couples and groups of friends but there are better resorts geared for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Big Pappi bear
New Brunswick, Canada
Mar 28, 2014

NICE BEACH GREAT SERVICE

IT WAS A GREAT HOTEL FOR THE PRICE AND SERVICE WAS GREAT ALSO. WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE. FOOD WAS GOOD AND DIFFERENT CHOICES WAS AVAILABLE AT DIFFERENT NIGHTS AND SERVICE WAS GREAT AT RESTAURANTS AS WELL AS BARS. DON'T BE FOOLED BY NEGATIVE COMMENTS ITS NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL BUT 4. WILL GO BACK FOR SURE. THANKS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

GO CHECK WHAT THEY HAVE ON MENU BEFORE SITTING DOWN, THEY WILL LET YOU GO AND CHECK AROUD IF NOT INTERESTED GOT TO ANOTHER RESTAURANT ON LOCATION.

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
jam 342
Shakopee, MN
Mar 26, 2014

Great trip!

We had a great time at GR Solaris. We especially had exceptional service from Luis and Hamilton, bartenders. Would return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
RSR92113
Boston
Mar 10, 2014

Nice Stay

The hotel was very well kept. The beach and pool were GREAT! The staff at the pool with the activities were very friendly. The shows at night were entertaining. They could use another bar on site because the lounge got busy. The snack bar was good and the food was alright at night. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Traveling Couple 123
Cancun
Mar 8, 2014

Great Location, good value

We stayed in this hotel in Feb 2014 just the wife and I. The hotel is on the beach in a great location. That being said, the beach is area is public and people walk around freely throughout. It is a crowded strip of hotels but it never really felt over crowded and we took several walks throughout the stay. There are beach chairs, umbrellas, and cabanas available on the beach, first come first serve but, there we did not have times where we could not locate a chair. There are 4 pools, 2 in the center which are relatively large, 1 has an in pool bar, 1 adult, 1 general and 1 for very young children in a separaeted area. we went without our children on a short getaway so it was very nice.With a family you need to be mindful that they will have activities throughout the day in the main pool area that perhaps are not appropriate for children to witness, with that, there were other areas of the hotel you can enjoy during these events. The food was not bad at all, there are several restaurants available depending on what time in the day you eat with a variety of foods and ala carte dishes that can be made. We opted for the all inclusive which was good as we did not have to worry about food at all. If you like to drink this is your package, we on the other hand would opt not to do the all inclusive if we were to go again as there are options to eat elsewhere and if you have an excursion they are all inclusive so odds are you will not eat at the hotel anyway. With kids I would get the all inclusive since you would have to travel to eat in the morning which can be a hassle with young children. The staff was friendly but make sure you get the room you paid for as several guests complained through our stay that they were placed in rooms which were incorrect or had issues. This happened to us as well and we were relocated the next day without incident. Overall it was a great experience in a wonderful conutry. We had nothing major to complain about. If you want luxury, this place is prob not for you, if you want a good time, affordable prices,and a great location, you hit the right spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel does not have ATM, but there are other hotels and locations where they have the ATM's and you can do your money exchange through the atm. Bus is 1 dollar or 10pesos/way and about 5 minutes drive up the road towards the night club area there are Malls and Markets one can visit to dine, shop, HAGGLE on prices for mementos etc...

Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Tacoma vacation
Tacoma, WA
Mar 6, 2014

Great staff, great beach...about it though

Good location only 10 minutes from the airport. The beach was nice and had plenty of chairs. The pool was smaller than expected but still nice with a swim up bar and an adults only hot tub. The rooms were comfortable and clean but nothing special. The wait staff and bartenders were great even though they were working with inferior liquor. Don't expect the good stuff here. The food was on the average side. Good enough to fill up on but nothing to get excited about. The front desk was not very helpful or available. Could not get them to answer the phone. They will try to add on expenses when you check out as well. Overall we had a good trip because we were in a warm place on the beach. We will be looking for a new vacation spot next time though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Two Old Marrieds
Denver, CO
Mar 2, 2014

Great Beach!

Soft, clean sand and fabulous beach-not a rock in sight. Nice waves for playing in the surf. The staff were anxious to please and housekeeping had our room ready by the time we were done with breakfast. Too bad there were lines for everything-drinks, food and tables and food was not promptly restocked. Staff was hard-working but there were not enough of them. Food was average, but since I don't drink a lot of alcohol, it was distressing that the coffee was so bad. The cappuccino from a machine was nasty. And no fat-free milk or yogurt was available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top