$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Blvd. Kukulan Lote 59-2 ETAPA, Cancun, 77500

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
950 out of 950
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stanwood, WA
Oct 18, 2009

Great spot for a fun vacation

This hotel was a better than average all inclusive hotel. Location is just great. We spent the bulk of our trip by the pool and chose to avoid the sales pitches for all the side trips. I think if you work a little bit you can make your own side trips. The bus line runs up and down the strip to the tourist areas (and beyond) and is cheap and easy to use. You can also find ways the locals travel to Isla Mujeres without paying $80 for a party boat. There's a Mayan ruin (Ruinas El Rey) within walking distance (1/4 mile) of this hotel, it took about an hour and a half to go and explore and we were in the pool cooling off before 11 a.m. I've read other reviews complaining about the beds being hard but we didn't find it bad. The staff works incredibly long and hard hours, the entertainment staff has great fun and interacts with everyone. We laughed long and hard the whole time we were there, and met some great people! Food selections are ample but remember you are eating buffet food prepared in large quantities. Take advantage of the prepared to order (breakfast omelettes, fajitas) options available at mealtime. The "high end" restaurant still isn't that high end, but you are getting a great deal. Have another tequila and it gets better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

El Rey ruins are nearby and cheap ($3 admission).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington
Apr 25, 2011

great time in mexico

We actually never left the resort. The entertainment staff did a great job of keeping things loose and fun. I loved how i never felt obligated to tip. It truly was all-inclusive with no hidden upcharges either. Free room service brought the best breakfast daily upon request too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food isn't spectacular. That being said, there's plenty to choose from and the dining experience is very easy, flexible, and low pressure. Also, pool bar is awesome and they even have waitresses taking orders around the pool and down on the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blairsville, Georgia
Oct 19, 2010

Good vacation

Experience was very good. The staff at the hotel were helpful with our every need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daydreaming
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 27, 2010

It was Great~!

pricewise... i can't ask for more!!! it was great~! friendly staffs and i liked the pool area so much.. i had tour activities set up for everyday and couldn't enjoy the pool and i wished i could stay one more day without any activity and relax in the hotel pool... i don't like mexican food and so i was so thankful to have american food 24 hours a day :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

i had bought tour packages through the agency.... it is much cheaper to buy the activity at the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Mar 4, 2008

Relaxing and Entertaining

GR Solaris is breathtaking! The the tropical scenery is out of this world and the balcony ocean view is phenomenal. I reccommend upgrading to an ocean veiw room. There is unlimited entertainment at this resort. I was especially satisfied with nightly shows and the pool-side activities during the day. The food was alright but I would've expected more mexican food to be offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

My favorites were swimming with the dolphins and sky riding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 21, 2011

GR Solaris

A good hotel well located and served by good employees who care for their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedar Creek, TX
Dec 19, 2010

You cant get closer to the beach!

This trip was great. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. The hotel also exchanged money for us which was nice, but almost everybody took US currency. The beach was feet from our pool and resort, which was great (no need for taxi or travel). We will definitely be back to Cancun and GR Solaris.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

To save money I would recommend taking the bus to town for shopping or eating out. It only took about 10 min and was less than a dollar US.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Dec 3, 2010

Great Place!!!!

Background: 28 yr. old Male & Female from Ohio. Both professionals, college grads, like nice things and aren't hillbillies. I've been to Cancun 4 other times than this visit each at a different hotel. Overall this was the best hotel I've stayed at in Cancun. Pros: - Great service. - Decent liquor choices (Smirnoff, JW Red, Jack Daniels) - Rooms are nice with decent furniture - Nice large tile shower (No bathtub) - There was always some sort of entertainment each night at the hotel. Cons: - The food wasn't that great (Marco Polo is your best option for dinner and you must make a reservation between 8-10AM). Although the buffets aren't the best I was always able to find something that was ok and filled me up. - Bars in the pool area close around 4PM, leaving only the bar inside to get drinks. - Resort is small. You will find more food options, more bars & bigger pools at larger hotels. - As soon as you check-in they will sit you down tell you about the hotel, show you were everything is and then try to make you schedule an appointment with them for a timeshare meeting. I let them schedule the meeting and never showed up for it and after that I never heard from them again about timeshares. - Bed is hard, but I didn't find it to be uncomfortable. Recommendation: - Bring a lot of singles and tip on everything, as the employees (hotel staff and excursion staff) only get paid $10/day and mainly rely on tips for income. Plus you get better service the more you tip. I took $125 for 6 days and that was sufficient. - Venture out downtown to Market 28 - Go out to eat at least 1 or 2 nights. There are some great places to eat in Cancun and they aren't that expensive. Head toward downtown. - Take the bus everywhere (Although we left COCO Bongo at 4AM and none of the buses would stop for us and take us back to the hotel b/c there weren't enough people heading that way) ***Note there is typically a direct correlation between price and the hotel quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to COCO Bongo or at least check out downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loss
Business
Chicago IL
Nov 23, 2010

Exelent location beautiful beach front

There is so much to do and so many tours that one week alone isn't enough

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of GR Solaris Cancun Resort and Spa- All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, QC
Nov 2, 2010

Good location for the price

Good service. Good wheather, good beach Food Ok, but they need to reduce salt, grease and sugar. Cocktail excellent, but wine really bad. If you want to save your time don't give attention to the sollicitation in the lobby about membership to the Premier club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus just in front of the hotel and go directly downtown to Wallmart or Plaza Las Americas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top